WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First "Avatar" Reviews Arrive, and They are All Positive

Posted: December 10th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First "Avatar" Reviews Arrive, and They are All PositiveSubmit Comment
Many movie critics (including us) have already seen "Avatar," which is set to hit theaters on December 18th. Unfortunately, 20th Century Fox has asked not to post reviews until the day of the release. Most are abiding by this rule, but after the release in London, two publications couldn't resist posting their thoughts.

The Guardian didn't write a full review, due to the embargo, but hinted that "Avatar" is an incredible film. "It is not a breach, however, to report that other journalists leaving the screening were also positive: the terrible film that some had been anticipating had not materialised. It was good."

The Sun saw the film as well and had a few more things to say. The paper called it "truly an event movie," adding: "The final battle scene is 20 minutes long and absolutely mind-blowing."

Meanwhile, other sites posted a few comments on Twitter, calling the film brilliant and amazing.

Click here to read more about "Avatar."

Source: The Guardian, The Sun, /Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 129 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
c-prime writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 7:11:22 PM

Whoa nelly. Either those reviewers were baked for three hours or they must think that "Thundercats" was, like, the best show ever made.

In all seriousness, I wanna be hopeful about this movie, but my doubts are kind of superseding everything. I guess I'll know in a week.
Ranger writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 7:12:43 PM

I want to see some blue taco!
ironhide-autobot writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 7:17:57 PM

like expected people will like this movie,but im asking worstpreviews.com weather or not they liked it.
c-prime writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 7:19:50 PM

I don't think the meat in those tacos would be fresh, Ranger. Or for that matter, deloused.
shayhiri writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 7:22:19 PM

Your doubts, young ones, are your worst enemies.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 7:39:09 PM

So... has the movies industry been forever changed already?

Or will that only happen when the rest of the world sees it?
vwkombi writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 7:43:39 PM

I'm looking forward to this, i think it will be a pretty sweet sci-fi flick. Nothing groundbreaking, but solid entertainment.
TheStig writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 7:45:40 PM

i feel the same way as kombi...if i go in assuming it will be groundbreaking ill probably just be disappointed.
tcu21 writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 7:52:09 PM

Word is at the premiere in London there was a pretty loud and positive response at the end. The non critics were saying it was 'unlike anything they've ever seen before'. I'm am very optimistic about this movie now. Maybe good critical review and word of mouth will boost its sales enough for Cameron to produce another hit.
c-prime writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 7:53:29 PM

@ TheStig & vwkombi: I really should just resign myself to both your attitudes. It'll be harder to be let down then.
fraazjo writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 7:55:32 PM

@ c-prime

But... Thundercats was the best show ever made...
Peter Parker writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 7:59:11 PM

I'm looking out my window and I don't see anything different yet.
How will the revolution look like? Did it start already?
Osiris3eagle writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 8:00:28 PM

I haven't been one of the haters of Avatar. I was underwhelmed by the trailer and think the Na'vi' look goofy, but I still had an open mind about it. If all these positive reviews are true I can just picture Cameron yelling "suck it!" to all the trash talkers claiming this would be a disaster.
johnny_boy writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 8:04:24 PM

so i guess cameron used that 500 millio to bribe critics?
lost_addict writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 8:07:35 PM

James and Cameron think the movie is brilliant...
ian_918 writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 8:11:34 PM

Im going to go into this movie with just alright hopes that it won't suck. But i have a feeling i will leave very pleased and happy. I have to say out of all of my friends im the only only one somewhat excited to go see this.
pomme writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 8:16:44 PM

on several bloggers, it said "hope you like blue color" LOL and "for once,the digital image isn't cold"
nope.com writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 8:19:07 PM

lol @ just the UK Sun being on the list of reviewers negates any truth to the matter
rabid writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 8:28:30 PM

Excellent director? check.
Big budget? check.
Good special fx? check.
Original plot? check.
Talented cast? check.

I can't fathom why anyone would think this film would suck, other than highly contagious bandwagon-itis.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 8:33:53 PM

Aren't these two of the "reputable publishers" that keep releasing articles naming random celebrities that are supposedly signed on to star as villains in the next Batman movie?
Ari Gold writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 8:36:44 PM

Rabid your check list needs a cross next to the original story section.

I don't care too much for this movie, I'll see what you guys say about it after it's out or what my mates think. I'm more pumped for The Expendables.
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 8:37:38 PM

I want to see if the carpet matches the drapes are both of them blue. How about some blue tits?
carl4prez writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 8:38:10 PM

A big fat I TOLD YOU SO!!! To the nay sayers!!!!
Peter Parker writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 8:39:55 PM

@ rabid:

It's not that it' gonna suck. I'm pretty sure it will be an entertaining movie.
What bothers me is some claims that were made in respect to what this movie would mean to the industry.
There was a lot of arrogance there. The responsible for those claims can also say it's just marketing but, nonetheless, it's arrogant.

I would be happily surprised, though, if a week from now I'd be here saying how wrong I was and how the movie defeated my skepticism.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 8:42:23 PM

@ carl4prez:

Have you seen it?
triggax writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 8:45:02 PM

"Rabid your check list needs a cross next to the original story section."

I get that the theme is something we've seen before but you're saying that 10 foot tall blue aliens living on a floating planet 200 years in the future has been done before?......................... I don't remember which movie, you'll have to enlighten me.
triggax writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 8:47:00 PM

@Peter Parker..

I want this movie to make a billion dollars and to have not one single bad review based solely on the fact that I believe Spooky needs a kick in his scrotum... Other than that I'm stoked on it and I'll be seeing it regardless of the reviews... I like 3D anything... f*ckin' cares... its dope.. im stupid in a lot of areas of my brain, especially the one that receives images...
minkowski writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 8:52:26 PM

Wow, you guys ar ethe biggest bunch of vacillators I've ever seen. Months bashing the film, and now everyone is an Avatar fan because of some early reviews. sh*t at least wait till you see the damned thing yourself before you change your mind.

I wonder how long before even Spooks claims its the greatest thing he's ever seen.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 8:55:06 PM

@ trig:

Like I said, this would be one time I'd be happy to be proven wrong. I remain a skeptic, but I'll give the movie his fair shot.

"im stupid in a lot of areas of my brain, especially the one that receives images"

- Tell me about it! I see tits and immediately loose all the ability of reasoning!
RoadDogXVIII writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 9:06:47 PM

If the good reviews come piling in, then everyone might shut their mouths. Additionally, did anyone read the news at HitFlix that Avatar may be up for Golden Globes in both the Best Picture - Drama and Best Director categories. View the link here.

http://www.hitfix.com/blogs/2008-12-11-awards-campaign-2009/posts/golden-globes-ready-to-go-gaga-for-avatar
RoadDogXVIII writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 9:08:16 PM

Oh, and it's JAMES f*ckING CAMERON, PEOPLE! All of his films were critical and financial successes. Let's not throw nerdy hissy fits.
minkowski writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 9:16:00 PM

"I can't fathom why anyone would think this film would suck, other than highly contagious bandwagon-itis."

Or they read the treatment and hated the story, or they're simply not washed over by pretty colors. But yeah, who knows right?
minkowski writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 9:20:28 PM

"I get that the theme is something we've seen before but you're saying that 10 foot tall blue aliens living on a floating planet 200 years in the future has been done before?......................... I don't remember which movie, you'll have to enlighten me."

You're focusing on the sepcifics. Every element of the plot is not only unoriginal, many of them have their own subsection in the literary department of your local library.

Who knows, maybe it'll be better than I expect. I doubt it. Only Cameron has the talent to recklessly and effectively mix melodramtic romance with rollicking tragedy and bombastic action. See Titanic for an example.
c-prime writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 9:29:17 PM

@ fraazjo: Well, of course it is, man. Everybody knows that. Ha ha. Frankly, I'm more of a "Max Headroom" guy.*

@ Triggax and minkowski: We've all been wondering the same thing. He's been clamoring like a jilted lover about this for four months. I do believe some comeuppance are in order.

*A LIE
minkowski writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 9:37:01 PM

Spooks spent most of time bashing the technology without knowing anything about it. Everybody knows Avatar is going to rule tech wise, everybody with half a brain knows Avatar is a cinematic milestone and will alter film for years and years. We all know this, and many knew even years ago.

The question for me is, will the story ruin the film? Is it almost three hours filled with evil humans raping and killing a new Gaia, while the worlds smallest violin plays the serenade of alien romance, or will Avatar offer plenty of old-school cameron action?

Because Avatar is even half and half, that will ruin it for me. I just cant take another f*cking conquistador-meets-the-indian parable again, especially not if its going to replay the chattering and whimsically naive Last of the Mohicans/Dances with Wolves love trope.
rabid writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 9:37:51 PM

You can break nearly every film down into some sort of formulaic plot, especially sci-fi films. Avatar doesn't remind me of anything I've ever seen. If there are similar movies, let's hear them.
Ranger writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 9:38:04 PM

I will go see this because it's NOT Twilight.
Ari Gold writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 9:39:20 PM

@trig

Not only what Mink said but if you actually go back a few weeks, you'll find a WP article on how similar this actual plot is to an existing novel. Feline features and all!
minkowski writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 9:43:31 PM

The book you're taking about was Edgar Rice Burroughs 'Princess of Mars'.
blinkbomber writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 9:44:36 PM

But I'm all for a sci-fi Last of the Mohicans!!! lol. Plus, i thought that chase scene posted here a few weeks ago was pretty damn sweet. So, I'm excited. I could be let down, though... that IS a possibility. but i hope not.
vaodsi writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 9:47:16 PM

PSYCHE!!!!!
i've been predicting this for ever!!!
but... all the first reviews of pirates 3 were fresh and pirates 3 went on to be VERY rotten... so my fingers are crossed....
minkowski writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 9:49:21 PM

"Avatar doesn't remind me of anything I've ever seen."

Well it sure as hell reminds me of every film that depicts the colonization of the Western Hemisphere. It sure as hell reminds me of John Smith and Pocohontas. It sure as hell reminds me of Dances with Wolves, Last of the Mohicans, Delgo and Smurfs. In space.

Yeah, he came up with something slightly different for the animals and the plants. Big deal. There are millions of concept ideas on the internet by pr and amateur artists. That's not enough. Yeah, he's got floating mountains, but I've seen that before and it's not even that great of an idea. He's got Star Wars ROTJ type battles. He's got the loader from the Matrix/Aliens. And he's got basically the same concept from Being John Malkovich, the very, very old idea of swapping/sharing minds.

Avatar is a somewhat unique synthesis of unoriginal ideas and concepts placed into a box of evolved 3D and CG. Nothing more.
minkowski writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 9:50:59 PM

And rabid, buddy, for a guy that claims he has a house full of books, you sure don't seem to recognize the literary influences of many movies. What sort of books DO you have in your home? Zinn and Chomsky?
Ranger writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 9:51:15 PM

Isn't this story similar to the Star Trek movie 'insurrection'... even to the point that the initial 'alien invasion' was by Data in an invisibility suit?
Ranger writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 9:51:58 PM

eye ave 'em wit lotts ov pikchures!
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 9:53:16 PM

I agree with trigax on spooky needing a kick in the scrotum, not because I have anything against him I think it is hilarious to see someone get kicked in the sac.
minkowski writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 9:56:56 PM

And yeah, I can diss him because I do actually try to conjure up fresh ideas. But it's f*cking hard. I recently discovered that an idea I've carried aroound for a decade was actually turned into a book by a some guy name Neil Gaimen. He didn't elaborate on it nearly as much as I have, mentally, but the point is, I think I can criticize Cameron because I'm interested in ideas, know they come about and I'm aware of how difficult it is to come up with something totally fresh and unique. Cameron is an excellent example of an old adage, referring to writers and other commercially creative people: Amateurs immitate, professionals steal.

Read more: http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=16085#ixzz0ZLSj2ELY
Peter Parker writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 9:57:46 PM

Well this thread is already shaping up to be one of the longest ones here on WP... which, in a way, could be an indicator of how the movie will do commercially...
minkowski writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 9:58:04 PM

Actually, very good point Ranger, regarding Insurrection. I forgot all about that film entirely. Not a difficult thing to do, btw.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 9:59:46 PM

... and it STILL doesn't impress me.
minkowski writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 10:00:12 PM

I love how every time you copy a comment, WP adds some useless HTTP garbage. Thanks Alex. Thanks a whole f*cking bunch, dude!
Peter Parker writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 10:06:06 PM

This movie can actually be traced back to anything, movie, book or script, that involved an individual sent to fight a group of people different from his kind, half way through he takes the side of the people he was supposed to fight against, and ends up by joining the minority group's side, with the typical love story in the mix.

And I've just described "The Last Samurai".
rabid writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 10:08:29 PM

By Mink's logic, one shouldn't enjoy Iron Man because Batman and the Rocketeer already made that story. Literary references hardly count toward the originality of a film. They're two completely different arts.
I still haven't heard any logical reason to think this movie might suck.
minkowski writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 10:10:26 PM

That's pretty much it, PP. It's a very, very old trope, and Cameron has just dressed it up in high-tech CG clothing and decorated it with a few snazzy toys, some we've seen before, some that remind us of other things.

And I swear by god, when the blue guy rides the tiger thing, it reminds me of He-Man and his Battle Cat. Every f*cking time. I think, there goes Smurf Heman on his Battle Cat. And then you've got She-Ra.
minkowski writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 10:16:32 PM

"By Mink's logic, one shouldn't enjoy Iron Man because Batman and the Rocketeer already"


I'm not saying Avatar looks boring because it isn't original. Please pay attention. I said it's a very cliched trope we've seen a thousand times. We haven't seen The Rocketeer or Batman in theaters a thousand times. Big difference.

"Literary references hardly count toward the originality of a film. They're two completely different arts."

The hell you say! You mean books and films aren't just different names for the esact same disciplines? Well shut my mouth and call me George!

The point is, when you're a reader, something you claim to be, you start to see the same sh*t oever and over and over. And remember, films are a secondary art to literature, as literature has several thousand years on films. The thing to take from this is, if you actually READ, films stop being mystifying, original and climactically novel and take on the more correct form: an art that is almost always derived from a literary form.

"I still haven't heard any logical reason to think this movie might suck."

There is no logical reason, rabid and had you paid attention you would know that I myself stated very subjective reasons why I do not care for this film.

I don't recall tossing up a mathematical formula that ends with an equal sign and the words 'Avatar Sucks'.
minkowski writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 10:21:35 PM

Sorry, rabid, I got a little carried away. I'm in a truculent mood tonight. Nothing personal dude.
Ronsauce writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 10:35:16 PM

"Literary references hardly count toward the originality of a film."

Literary references don't even need to be...well, referenced to make a point regarding the story's unoriginality since in this case, there are SO many(already mentioned) movies that use the same general idea.
rabid writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 10:49:19 PM

Enough with the reading insults. Why do you have a hardon for my library card?
I'm such an avid reader that I know practically every fiction plot and plot device ever used. I understand how it takes away the enjoyment of watching films because I haven't been surprised by a film ending since The Sixth Sense. It sucks. But I still haven't seen enough films with a common them to consider Avatar trite material. The superheroes have been done and done again, and they're pretty much all the same mix of parental issues, vigilante justice, and kidnapped love interest. What themes does Avatar reuse: Outsider switching sides? I can't think of any film other than Dancing With Wolves, and that's not even sci-fi. I keep hearing it compared with Delgo, but I don't remember that theme in Delgo. Maybe people recall Delgo because the movie poster had an alien riding a dragonfly creature. If so, that's a pretty superficial resemblance.

Some people just take their theatre experience too seriously. Just try to have fun watching it. It's a roller coaster ride, not a religion.
rabid writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 10:51:31 PM

"Sorry, rabid, I got a little carried away. I'm in a truculent mood tonight. Nothing personal dude."

It's the internet. Only retards take interweb debate seriously.
Ranger writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 10:58:55 PM

Like... VINDANDY!!!
scarface85 writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 11:03:11 PM

nice i love this movie
triggax writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 11:05:36 PM

@mink, ari...

I've been told, I stand corrected.. unscathed..

minkowski writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 11:06:17 PM

Hey bud, I apologized. Don't mistake my kindness for weakness. Or next time, I won't be even that nice.
minkowski writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 11:09:12 PM

"It's the internet. Only retards take interweb debate seriously."

Nonsense. The internet is like any other form of communication. Phone, letters, video. Saying you don't take it seriously, and doing so makes you retarded, is to admit your failure in discussing successfully.
minkowski writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 11:14:29 PM

"I can't think of any film other than Dancing With Wolves, and that's not even sci-fi"

Yes, we know DwW isn't sci-fi, but that's not the point. It's a matter of similiarity between the two tropes employed in the films is what's iportant, I think. A comparison of the two. And sci-fi is genre, not a trope.
minkowski writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 11:18:18 PM

Wow, I mangled that one pretty bad.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 11:30:13 PM

Well the world is what's supposed to be interesting. The creativity thrown into everything else. Nothing is original anymore Mink as you know. Stories have been done to death, we now have to look for other ways to impress and immerse. Cameron seems to have done that with his tech infused noggin and hundreds of millions of dollars.

Mark Kermode implied it was at least good on his twitter account saying it flew by faster than the runtime would suggest. This is why I didn't get the hatred, I mean sh*t at least give it a shot lol. Can't wait to see how many IT WAS AMAZING posts there will be next week from the AVATARD KILLERS Connection.
vwkombi writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 11:36:41 PM

My interest in this film has gone up and down. Since seeing the teaser on the actual movie screen, i'm looking forward to this movie. But i am keeping a healthy amount of skepticism towards it.
minkowski writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 11:39:03 PM

Yeah, and that's going to piss me off. Hearing how great Avatar is from the same people that bashed it for months. Hell, either stick to your guns or refrain from pre-judging. sh*t. f*ck.

Whatever. I have no plans to see it now or ever on the big screen. And I mean that. I'll wait for the DVD. Or I'll wait for a good cam just to check it out.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 11:41:45 PM

Really? Why not? Dude seriously it looked INCREDIBLE in the IMAX 3D preview. I mean I know IMAX is expensive, but for a film junkie like yourself, it almost seems like a necessity to view this in a theater. Cam or DVD just won't do it justice.
wonderBOY writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 11:44:31 PM

did you honestly think it was going to be bad look at his filmography
aliens
terminator 1n2
true lies
titanic
and others
wonderBOY writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 11:46:58 PM

@ TH3D4RKKN1GH7
In australia a normal movie ticket is like $15
and a imax ticket $16.50 not really a difference in price but a big difference in quality
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 11:49:24 PM

Oh its not the same in the states man, at least not here in NYC. IMAX on the legit IMAX screen which is in Lincoln Center is 18.50 right now. In 2005 it was 15 but I think its 18.50 now. A full six dollars above normal theater price and the new puny IMAX screens are 14.50-16.50 depending on the area.

The new IMAX screens are in theory fine for something like Avatar but bad for something like The Dark Knight.
minkowski writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 11:55:04 PM

I'm just not interested in it. From what I've read and seen, it has all the appeal of Titanic, but without Winslett's Irish beauty. The older I get the less I care about big space battles and explosions. I like good, grounded relatable human drama. Space Kitty Romance meets The Phantom Menace just doesn't appeal to me. IMAX or not.

The last good film I saw was Felon, and that's as far from Avatar as you can get. people j*zzed for Star Trek, and I just didn't get that either. And I like ST. Just not into scifi that doesn't explore ideas. Dark City, that's a different story. Hell, Blade Runner. Avatar? Meh. Nothing thought provoking. Two jungle cats fighting whitey.
ozymandiass writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 12:01:51 AM

c prime..where in the world are you getting your facts??? Have you even seen the movie? I really think we should all wait to trash this movie till it comes out and we see it.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 12:04:40 AM

Fair enough!
minkowski writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 12:06:23 AM

You don't have to yell. lol.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 12:10:34 AM

LOL just emphasizing! Woops I've done it again! and again! okay I'm gonna stop now. Back to Final Draft.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 12:14:20 AM

I only ask that the plot rocks. The FX can be ordinary but the plot better blow my mind with all the hype this is getting.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 12:18:19 AM

Erm, you might want to look somewhere else for a rocking plot.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 12:31:31 AM

I've never bashed Avatar, I'm actually going to see it next week in theatres. I also think it will make it's budget back (2012 have earned 600 so far), but will the box-office shatter? No. It'll have a great opening, probably won't match New Moon's (g'damnit) though.
TheHundreds writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 12:35:41 AM

This is JC were talking about here, not Mr. Bay. I'm expecting an explosive visual experience AS WELL AS a very intriguing plot. I attended Avatar day and am already happy with the visuals, and Cameron's past plots have all been way above your average action movie. Avatar has become something thats cool to hate, but I have strong hopes for it
BayHarbor_Butcher writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 12:40:57 AM

Ill let you guys know as soon as it finishes downloading. lol. jk. if i had a theatre that actually played new releases i might see it. What else would i be doing? trolling WP?....Probably.
c-prime writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 12:45:08 AM

@ ozymandiass: I have absolutely no idea what "facts" you are referring to. I've made no real assertions about how this movie will be at all. My first comment on the thread was said merely in jest (hence the "in all seriousness" remark that followed it). I, like you and everybody else here, have no possible idea what "Avatar" will be like. I kid around about it for the convenience to make a funny quip, but as you can plainly see, I'm not one of the the hellbent douchers on WP that's been bombastically bitching about this film like I somehow know it will suck. COUGH! COUGH! Spooky Cupcakes! COUGH! Pardon me, I've got a terrible cold. You can review everything I've ever said on here since that trailer premiered in August - I assure you, I have made no declaration of "facts" concerning "Avatar" in the slightest bit. Mere speculations only. I think you've got me confused with somebody else.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 12:47:10 AM

Dark Knight: All the hype I'm hearing makes this seem like a movie that will shatter all expectations. I hope so since I don't like to pay full price for a movie unless it's something that I really REALLY want to see. Otherwise, I go to my favorite theater, pay to see one movie and then spend the rest of the day seeing the other movies for free.
SACdaddy writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 12:55:05 AM

Damn I need to see this Felon movie! Everyone that's ever seen it has told me to run to Blockbuster and rent it ASAP. I find it pretty amazing that Mink likes anything so i've got to see where everyone is coming from.

I'm still trying to figure out why everyone was hating on Cameron in the first place. As a film fan how can you not like the guy unless you only watch comedies? What qualifies as a great sci-fi action film if Aliens and Terminator don't. Where would Arnie, Sigourney, Paxton, and Biehn be without the guy? Where would the industry be without his innovation? Cameron is a trend setter who's always been able to merge his passions with that of his audience. Best of all, he's always respected the audience and has never taken us for granted like other big directors (ie Michael Bay or George Lucas). I've learned to give the guy the benefit of the doubt. He's earned!

@Mink: Go see the f*cking movie for Christ's sake!!!
TGDirector writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 1:07:26 AM

I read a few of the comments here for this article. I finally have something to say.

And I have to say, I have a problem with this "Good Review" It's a funny feeling I have about this Project.

I mean think about it, the studio is going all out over-budgeting, over-advertising, and over-hyping this movie trying to make it's money back on this "Revolutionary movie". Right there that already shows a huge amount of desperation of earning their money back.

While knowing James Cameron already grabbed them by the balls by contracting the right to all the technologies. That's where the money is.

So I could be wrong....But does any of this sound like the reviewers were paid off by the studios to spread "The word of mouth" for Avatar? Getting people to the theaters to see James Cameron f*cking a blue alien? For 2 1/2 hours...

I'm not trying to sound hateful of this movie and I know I have been and I still might just be hateful of this movie...

I'm just saying, it seems fishy to me. Anybody else?
SACdaddy writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 1:08:30 AM

Ok here it goes, Avatar will make (cue sinister Dr. Evil voice) ONE BILLION DOLLARS!!!
Moooahahahahahahahahah!!!!!!
Moooahahahah!!!
Mooahah.
TGDirector writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 1:31:07 AM

Better hope it doesn't SACDaddy.

Let's put all this stuff into a bowl:

Similiarites from literatures, movies, music. Stealing/borrowing all these unoriginal things from original things.

All those things put together into this movie becomes the most negative thing in the world. Why? It's saying that it's okay to do that. It ruins our imagination with what OUR brains can come up with. We only use what? 10% of our brain compacity and we only come up with borrowed sh*t now?

To me, that's what this project is telling me. That's what a few people here are showing me as they argue on and contridicting themselves. A SELECT few seem to be really on top of things here, Mink for example, awesomme job. Keep raping them bud! Long time no see by the way.

But other than that, this project sends a very horrible message. I didn't get a chance to hear the theme song because it was deleted before i got to it. Which is fine, I can read the comments from it. And the comments says ALOT.
TGDirector writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 1:45:52 AM

And if all we can do is re-invent from borrowed originalities, reboots, remakes, rewhatever and sequels.

IF that's all we can do these days as human beings. Then I fear for humanity...Seriously.
SACdaddy writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 2:57:31 AM

It's getting harder a harder to know what some of you want out of a film these days. Believe me, with all the sh*t thats out or on the way, I understand where the skepticism comes from. But face it, originality went the way of the dinosaur, a long time ago. Films are usually based on pre-existing text and concepts anyway so what's the fuss? There was nothing new about the plot of Star Wars (knights rescue a damsel is distress from an evil Lord). It was a hit because it was set in a context we had never seen before. Lucas was able to create entirely new universe around a very old and often used story, and it became a masterpiece! Cameron's just trying to do the same with Avatar. But if you think its evil, I would stay away. Although for $400+mill I'm sure Satan owns James Cameron's soul by now :)
dbreuning writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 5:29:13 AM

Well it may not be the most original idea but I think Cameron will throw in something special, something unique. It just can't be average for the sake of it. Cameron knows what he's doing so it will probably a big CG sci-fi movie mixed with drama like Titanic. I have high hopes for this movie, always have, always will.
blinkbomber writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 6:21:23 AM

jesus christ i cant sleep tonight. oh boy.

but true dat @SAC... originality's scarcity isn't a reason to "fear for humanity" or anything. i mean, obviously there's going to be a point in time where everything that can be artistically created, will be. but that's just my late night deep thought mind at work.
ifakos writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 6:30:32 AM

For those who think it will suck will love it when it's seen, because of the low expectation.
Spankfish writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 6:37:04 AM

AS im from the UK, i know both of the guys commenting on Avatar are pretty credable.

My hope just rose slightly.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 6:55:07 AM

TG... relax. The fate of the world isn't resting on the shoulders of Hollywood directors and studio execs. There hasn't been much creativity in the art world for a while. Yes I'm looking at you Modern Art.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 7:34:11 AM

I think this will be good. The reviews will certainly get boosted by the visuals with the story taking a slight back seat.

I will only see this how its meant to be seen, 3D iMax.

If you watch this on a pirated copy on your pc then you really cant judge this at all.
BigUnit writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 8:23:44 AM

master peice. mind blowing. its like nothing we've ever seeeen befor. :)
BigUnit writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 8:24:09 AM

master peice. mind blowing. its like nothing we've ever seeeen befor. :)
Ronsauce writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 8:24:31 AM

"I can't think of any film other than Dancing With Wolves, and that's not even sci-fi."

The Last Samurai.
TRUEMAN writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 10:32:26 AM

Sucks my balls! SAM W. GAYVATAR SUCKS BECAUSE OF YOU MOTHER f*ckER BE A GOOD SOLDIER AND GIVE ME TEN AND QUIT ACTING!
minkowski writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 10:56:26 AM

'If you watch this on a pirated copy on your pc then you really cant judge this at all."

Right, because films aren't visual stories any more, they are non-interactive games? Like watching someone else play Crysis 2? Right? I mean, I have to see it on IMAX to judge the story, the music, the script, the direction, audio mixing, the dialog, et cetera? I don't think so. And suggesting so is the height of absurdity.
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 11:01:48 AM

f*ck
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 11:02:37 AM

""The final battle scene is 20 minutes long and absolutely mind-blowing."

Hmm... that sounds like... Oh I dont know

TRANSFORMERS 2.

""It is not a breach, however, to report that other journalists leaving the screening were also positive: the terrible film that some had been anticipating had not materialised. It was good."

Lol guardian
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 11:03:28 AM

"Original plot? check.
Talented cast? check."

AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 11:04:34 AM

"I wonder how long before even Spooks claims its the greatest thing he's ever seen."

well, don't hold you breath!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 11:05:28 AM

"Right, because films aren't visual stories any more, they are non-interactive games? Like watching someone else play Crysis 2? Right? I mean, I have to see it on IMAX to judge the story, the music, the script, the direction, audio mixing, the dialog, et cetera? I don't think so. And suggesting so is the height of absurdity."

f*ckING. AGREED.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 11:09:11 AM

"It's getting harder a harder to know what some of you want out of a film these days."

A good movie.

This story has a SUPERAWESUMBIGBUDGETOMFG but asides from that its pocohantus in space and its one Al Gore cameo away from being a sequel to "an inconvinient guilt-trip".

Lets take a look at Dr. Horrible's Sing-Along Blog, this movie was made for $200,000 out of Joss's own pocket, and look how much profit it's generated. He didn't need any f*cking blue thundercats or SUPERAWESUMMACHINERIES OMFG because he knew that good movies just need to be good, and good word-of-mouth will spread like aids in africa.
triggax writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 11:12:12 AM

So lots of reviews are in now, I haven't read one bad review of this film out of countless reviews so far... It's got a 92% on RT... that says... something... right?
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 11:14:43 AM

MINK: You best not be watching pirated movies on your touch phone because I know a David Lynch who would bitch slap you...

"I want to see some blue taco!"

-Haha, so many exotic plants and fruits on that island that thing must taste fressssshhhhh
triggax writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 11:22:26 AM

@Spooky, you couldn't have fit that into one post? Ridiculous.

I don't think anyones arguing you anymore spooky, its become completely rhetorical and pointless.. Its like trying to tell a brick wall its made out of jello...

This movie will be an entertaining jaw dropping spectacle... That's all I give a sh*t about... I dont f*cking care about story... I'll go see Invictus this season if I want to be a little wiener because my choice in a movie lacks story.. f*ckin gives a sh*t... Can't you pull the stick out of your ass for a few hours and check it out.. christ all mighty man, I thought you were a teenager spooky... You sound as bitter as a 90 year old russian woman...
Blank x2 writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 11:40:01 AM

Well said Trig.

Spooky will see this movie, he will enjoy it, and we will never tell us about it. The sooner he tries to stop impressing us with his "knowledge of all that is cinema", the better off we'll be. Guarantee he was one of the people who "couldn't finish" the Bay Victoria Secret commercial.

And I also would like to see some blue taco, Ranger.
theslayer writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 12:17:13 PM

they should call it james c*nteron`s the smurfs
Salvador writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 12:31:38 PM

Yeah!

I have Faith in James Cameron.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 12:45:06 PM

@ Salvador:

"I have Faith in James Cameron"

- Kinda funny that you mention faith, given your name...
rocketman writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 1:07:49 PM

I was and still am not excited at all about this film.I thought the trailers looked shoddy,what i had read about the story made me cringe and i openly expressed my negative opinion.I HOLD MY HAND UP.
But after all these reviews stating it's a masterpiece (5 stars from the brit mag total film?) i will go and see it,i have to as a film fan,i only hope i enjoy it.
Do i get custard with my humble pie?
Rich k writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 3:33:09 PM

f*ck you spookycupcakes i new it would be good!
TRUEMAN writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 4:18:28 PM

my preditions are:

is going to suck because Sam w. is in this sh*t!
is going to suck because Sam w. is in this sh*t!
is going to sucks because Sam w. is in this sh*t!
is going to sucks because Sam w. is in this sh*t!
is going to sucks because Sam w. is in this sh*t!
triggax writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 4:44:53 PM

TRUEMAN!!! Is your name Truman? Or do you just speak the truth.. Whichever one... I must admit im picking up what you're puttin down man...

darkraven28 writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 4:48:26 PM

Zoe's blue now, and as per Jim's instructions, we all want to sleep with her even more. SPECTACULAR.
chiefone writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 5:17:25 PM

I've already bought my ticket for the friday night showing.

Too all the haters out there you're either trying to be cool by being the minority or you're just plain stupid and I mean stupid in terms of being so closed minded and skeptical about something YOU HAVNT EVEN SEEN!!!
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 5:22:01 PM

@Mink

I may have structured that sentence incorrectly. What I mean is that you should judge the visuals on how they are meant to be presented. I made it sound like I meant whole film, my bad.

So many people have said the film looks visually poor from a trailer played on their pc screens.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 5:32:20 PM

"Spooky will see this movie,"

Well, I do have to see it if I do want to continue to tell you people why it sucks.

"he will enjoy it,"

Not a chance, scriptment sucked, the trailers sucked, the "original" story sucked.

"and we will never tell us about it"

No, I'll gladly tell you if I enjoyed it, but I won't.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 5:33:21 PM

"f*ck you spookycupcakes i new it would be good!"

Oh, yea, you 'new' it'd be good, eh?
triggax writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 7:04:25 PM

you no spooky... i new it would be good too... i told you sew....
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 7:20:13 PM

While that is all true Mink, a large part of this film is the visual component. You just called films "VISUAL stories" so don't all of a sudden ignore the visual part. That's what makes film a fascinating art form, not the writing. It's the performances, the set pieces, cinematography, soundtrack, story is great and vital but it isn't what makes this medium what it is. By watching this on your PC you are doing yourself a disservice. But as I said earlier FAIR ENOUGH! Lol.

LOL @ Spooky you know I actually missed your commentary.

BTW bought my tickets already. 20.50 for Lincoln Square IMAX... GOOD GRIEF!
borat writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 12:28:25 PM

does the carpet match the drapes is all i wanna know
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 1:14:05 PM

No I bought them online so its an extra two dollars. That's how it always is. I didn't have the cash that day so I didn't buy them.
knowledgehammer writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 12:42:52 PM

I’ll be perfectly honest. This movie was an astonishing dissapointment. First off, who the f*ck gives a rats ass about the CGI… it will ALWAYS get better… so much so, that it seems morons of this day and age believe a good movie is based on graphics. NO< it is NOT something new and unique, as the storyline is a rehash of every simpleton plot out there for the last 100 years. Lets get to the heart of the issues, the inconsistencies. Shall I list them…
1. Horrible MAIN character – Played out Marine character, with no background other than ' he wouldn't quit ', but yet not revealing anything about how in the hell a parapeligic could get recruited as a MARINE???
2. The Economy??? – In nearly every reference to earth, they said, we killed our mother and now it seems we are raping another planet just the same. If the resources of earth are literally so dwindling, how in the hell then are we still money based in our society. Money is printed by the world banks to increase or decrease the value of it worldwide… how bad is it then that earth is a husk of a world, with everyone desperate to leave, YET, they have what seems trillions & trillions to spare for weapons, private contracted military (Who seem to work directly for the corporations), tons and mega-tons of construction equipment, and so much more… yet all I hear is about how the economy is crumbling and the main dude can't even afford basic spinal surgery. C'mon guys…
3. CGI the Best? – Seriously, the CGI is outstanding, but it does not make a movie that much better, if those very same characters are doing and saying sh*t I have heard from disney films and the like. If the CGI makes a movie, then it must mean that every new movie that comes out with graphics equal to 2012 or Avatar are by DEFINITION, excellent movies…. give me a break. Its an animators future portfolio… thats all. I mean, SVA students in NYC can create this sh*t for college projects! lol
4. The Villain! – Sadly, many movies are taking the leap of faith and grasping for political venues to move their concepts forward. This is no different, with a seriously Ferned Gully approach to realizing that life is all connected. So without further a due, we present the anglo-saxon aggresive… the texas ranger without a care in the world other than shooting blue coons… as the movie seems to imply multiple times in dialogue as well as appearance. He talks worse than a cartoon or video game dialogue character, h for some reason or another has no mention of earth,or why he so adamant to defend it, and never does he actually say anything other than sh*t to start the war… very boring.
5. Technicalities Galore!!!! – If the atmosphere is toxic enough to cause death in 4 minutes due to lung exposure, why then are their skins exposed during the entire movie. If they lack economy to maintain the planet earth, why then do we have private companies with vast resources mining rocks across the galaxy? If they are all connected thru a network of energy and wisdom and voices, why then did they have to fly around to communicate with the other clans.. and for that reason, why have clans anyway? If they are all woven into the cycle of life on Pandora, why then are so many left standing without a clue until big blue marine rides in on his ultra-colored dragon butterfly (Thats exactly what they look like!) If most of the species on Pandora breathe through gills on their chests, why then can they propel massive grunts and yowls… where is the logic of that? Why did they not reveal the nature of the ribs and massive structures surrounding the 'tree of life', a common theme in many, many medieval and fantasy movies and anime. Why is every species bigger than a rabbit on Pandora equipped with fiber-optic cabling in their horns or hair? Do the Na'Vi all have a tentacle growing out the back of their heads, and if so, why does it have hair braided around it in a seemingly perfect fashion when Sully's Avatar is being grown in the tank on base. If the tribes of the Na'Vi are all linked thru a network of energy across the planet, and all tribes listen and follow the words of their spirit guide who interprets the 'well of energy', why did the ancient bitch have to ask so many questions and why were not the other clans aware of the dangers presented by the humans. Why weren't the plants glowing until she turned off the torch… wasnt it nighttime already? Why would humans, who are ludicrously worried about money and efficiency, spend trillions upon trillions to exploit resources sitting UNDER a native village, when it seemed that an ENTIRE PLANET was available to cultivation. They were so cheesy with the plot, they explained it was the richest source of materials within 200 clicks… meaning 2000 kilometers. Seriously, if you travelled millions of miles in space to reach a planet to collect resources, would'nt you scan the whole planet for better spots than one sitting under a whole civilization who just might cost more to your company than just time or money… maybe lives? Why, if the magnetic & energy properties of the valley of the tree of life was so distorted that instruments and lock-on wasn't available… why then could he fight within the field without having his AVATAR transmission signal interupted by the distortion 'flux'. Do the Na'Vi have mating organs, or it their main reproductive organ their fiber-optic connection? Because if so, it would mean that every species can inter-procreate, since they ALL seem to share the neuro-interface in their horns. If the planet has more connected synapse branches than a human brain, then why did the planet not think to defend itself with its indiginous animal population sooner than when the marine called upon its help. Why was every single creature of decent size loaded with 4 arms and 2 legs, yet the Na'Vi are humanoid to the core, even lacking feral claws or toe nails… which made absolutely no sense! If they are of nature, they would have such attributes… even natives of earth who dwell in the forests and jungles, have stronger teeth, nails and toe nails that protrude slightly out and are incredibly resistant to breaking. If the Na'Vi are so loving of life, why do they hunt and not live off of the natural plant life??? Even f*cking human vegans would have a problem with this ' eco-friendly- way of living. Why are they flying around on x-wing styles raptor butterflies…. for what reason? They have no enemies to defend against other than humans, as it seems the tribes of the Na'Vi are all peaceful to each other????? If there are entire mountains floating around, powered by the electrical current of the vines connected to them, why then did they not simply cut the vines to one of the massive floating rocks and let it simply fall to mine it??? Why are there not insects of any kind in this movie?…. a human outpost with everyone skin's exposed, yet they are not worried about bacteria, atmosphere exposure nor local insects????
And thats the SHORT list of errors!
This movie was a travesty of time, money and waste of time. The budget spent on this crap could have created schools, helped the starving or even been put to the development of technologies to help people. Instead, it was used as a means to lock people into the false idea of 'save the planet from humans' who on this planet are not to blame for the corporate structure surrounding them and destroying their ' mother'. I know many of you love saying this movie is unique, outstanding and the best there is…. but if that were true, why would they have to spend so much time, effort and money in trying to convince you its the closest thing to meeting jesus christ??? Bottom line, it was a college project gone CGI. If anyone has an answer for the questions I put out there, other than ones defending the mainstream nonsense of the herd… I'd love to hear them!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved