WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Video: David Lynch Explains Why He Refused to Direct "Star Wars"

Posted: December 10th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Video: David Lynch Explains Why He Refused to Direct "Star Wars"Submit Comment
We've previously heard that David Lynch (Blue Velvet, Elephant Man) was offered the chance to direct "Star Wars: Return of the Jedi" and ultimately refused to take the job.

Now during a seminar at New York's Russian Tea Room, Lynch was asked for his reason, considering that "Star Wars" is one of the biggest franchises out there. He went on to explain his bizarre meeting with George Lucas and the giant headache he got when Lucas was introduced him to Wookiees.

Watch the video below to see Lynch explain all the details and why his headache was "getting stronger."

Video:


Source: YouTube


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Long Pants Tramp writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 7:39:51 AM

Too bad... he would've had fun with the ewoks.
nope.com writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 8:42:07 AM

Something's missing between Bizarre meeting with George Lucas and Wookies... maybe a strap-on
minkowski writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 9:06:32 AM

Oh, I thought this was David Fincher. Nevermind. Like I would want Return of the Jedi turned into a hallucinogenic mind f*ck.
Zubostl writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 9:31:22 AM

He should leave funny Hollywood stories to Kevin Smith, cause he passed his headache on to me while he went on and on and he should also have never lost that bet with his hair stylist.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 9:43:40 AM

"David Lynch Explains Why He Refused to Direct 'Star Wars'"

- He should just explain his hair!
lost_addict writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 9:44:57 AM

shut the f*ck up,Dave..and make a good movie,you've been silent since 'mulholand dr.',that amature empire island was a disgrace...now move your ass and make a decent thriller(no digital cam,thank you)

p.s

WP-keep using youtube vid instead of the other sh*tty format you usually do...
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 10:37:56 AM

@minkowski-Fincher worked on "Jedi" as a film loader. He was 18 years old at the time. He learned from that movie "what not to do". Years later, The gospel according to tyler and project mayhem was born.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 11:10:00 AM

"The gospel according to tyler and project mayhem was born."

- YES! Someone should make a religion out of that, and then the followers should shove flaming swords down Jediist's throats.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 11:18:14 AM

@Peter Parker-sh*t Yeah!! So Say We All!!
Johnny Neat writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 11:23:17 AM

That's like Nixon meeting Elvis or Elvis Meeting The Beatles or when The Beatles met Ali. Interesting.
minkowski writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 11:26:48 AM

I did not know that AF. Very, very interesting info. I've always been a Fincher fan, (I mean, come on FC and Seven??)and contrary to what some people think I said in the other thread, I thought Zodiac was great. It's just entirely inaccurate.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 12:08:28 PM

I'm no lynchian, but I think he would've done better with the ewoks. He would've slaughtered them like the tiny, hairy midgets that they are. I mean, c'mon! It was the last movie (or at least should've been), all things had been leading up to a final battle between good and evil. Instead we were stuck with some stick-wielding dwarfs (or "a typical Monday" according to Dandy). Bravo Mr Lucas
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 12:08:34 PM

@mink-"Zodiac" should have been his Oscar bait (along with Robert Downey Jr.)Now, Fincher doing a "Star Wars" movie would prove awesome. It's would be so bad-ass if Luke find out that him and Leia were the same person. The first rule of "Jedi Fight Club" is don't tell Yoda sh*t about it. LOL.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 12:10:01 PM

On a sidenote: I would kill to have hair like that
VDODSON writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 12:16:09 PM

When your super rich you dont care if your hair looks like a lama's c*nt.
Vin12 writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 12:51:32 PM

didnt know fincher was asked
rabid writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 1:07:19 PM

I really doubt George Lucas wanted to give up his crown to David Lynch for ROTJ.
I like David Lynch's stuff, even Dune, but he would have made a completely different film than the one we know and love.
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 3:14:31 PM

Rabid...lucas did give up his crown on episode 5 and 6. They were directed by a different guy. That is why they are the best of the 6.
Chewbacca writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 3:24:28 PM

Muholand Drive is one of my favorite psychological thrillers and this guy is a great director. That being said I feel very offended.
SACdaddy writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 1:35:51 AM

Still haven't figured out what the hell was going on in Lost Highway. Anyone? What happened to Bill Pullman anyway? He quit acting too?
SACdaddy writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 1:38:33 AM

Chewbacca liking Muholand Drive is pretty ironic :)
aphid regress writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 11:55:27 AM

SACdaddy, Lost Highway is a story about a man, played by Bill Pullman, who kills his wife and is sent to jail for it. He refuses to believe that he did it, and thus creates a false reality in his mind where he's this young kid that f*cks any and all hot chicks he comes in contact with, but ultimately this false reality spirals out of control and by the end of the movie, he is completely sideways. I could go into more detail if you'd like, but I thought the movie was pretty straight forward.

I'm for Lynch directing anything, BTW. He's an absolute genius.
aphid regress writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 12:02:16 PM

His hair is pretty stupid, though.
seveltoto writes:
on November 11th, 2017 at 1:07:28 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved