WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Cameron Already Developing a New Sci-Fi Film

Posted: December 9th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Cameron Already Developing a New Sci-Fi FilmSubmit Comment
Production Weekly posted an interesting update today, stating that James Cameron is developing a Shane Salerno-scripted sci-fi action script for Fox, described as an "event" film set in the future.

This could be something completely new or it could be "Doomsday Protocol," the film that was announced last year and had both Salerno and Cameron attached.

At the time not much information was revealed for "Protocol," except that it is an epic sci-fi adventure in the vein of "The Seven Samurai" involving a group of aliens and humans with various abilities, who are brought together to save Earth.

Since "Avatar" is set to hit theaters in about a week, Cameron will likely participate in many press conferences and will be asked about this new project. Stay tuned.

Source: Production Weekly


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 7:28:23 PM

God, please just get back to serious sci-fi man, Give the testosterone masculine crowd something. No more of this romance bullsh*t. No more love stories. Just guns, aliens and explosions. Hot babes optional.
Spankfish writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 7:29:28 PM

And so it begins. CGI will take over the world.
Spankfish writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 7:30:27 PM

Plus no more f*cking eco/save the f*cking whales/blue aliens sh*t.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 7:40:08 PM

"James Cameron Already Developing a New Sci-Fi Film"

No he's not. He told me.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 8:02:22 PM

To even mention "The Seven Samurai", he better be very sure of what he's doing...

Anyway, he never said if he'll direct this or if he'll just produce it. Until now, all rumors say he's developing it, it's still uncertain in what capacity.

Most importantly, this new movie will be post-Avatar, hence, post the so called cinema revolution, the "new era" (yeah, right), so he's got my attention...
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 8:12:44 PM

AVATAR IS COMING OUT NEXT WEEK?!

Damn, how time flies by when you pick apart flaws in basic physics in a sh*tty sci-fi made by a Has-been sci-fi director.

Can't wait to download the torrent.
Ari Gold writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 8:21:27 PM

Just make another True Lies film you f*ck!
Ranger writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 8:27:56 PM

@Ari - no argument here. But that would be pretty tough to top... agreed?

Someone(s) on here posted they didn't like True Lies. What's there not to like?! Cameron even got Arnold to be funny!
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 8:38:37 PM

Any man that doesn't like True Lies is either a stuck up c*nt or some homo that j*zzed in a salty, buttery popcorn bucket during Twilight.
Ranger writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 8:41:02 PM

Exactly!
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 8:44:24 PM

True Lies is two movies worth of badass. And funny as shoot to boot. Where else can you get Curtis, Paxton, Ahnold and Arnold? Nowhere.
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 8:44:39 PM

shoot, sh*t, wtf ever.
triggax writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 9:07:39 PM

"Any man that doesn't like True Lies is either a stuck up c*nt or some homo that j*zzed in a salty, buttery popcorn bucket during Twilight."

Thats just science man... True Lies was probably the best raw action movie made in the last 20 f*cking years...
I personally think Cameron should pull his f*cking socks up and do another espionage style film, or go balls out and do a remake of Commando except with aliens instead of..... Serbians, and f*ck using this super advanced motion capture sh*t to make blue aliens, lets get Andy Serkis in the suit and make him a 25 year old Arnold... casting problem solved forever... and its cheap... f*cking slam dunk

minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 9:13:44 PM

"True Lies was probably the best raw action movie made in the last 20 f*cking years..."

Truer words have never been spoken. I've seen the film a thousand times. It's vastly under appreciated.
Ryanlawson writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 9:35:49 PM

horray for mink,
posting something positive!
how lovely.
Ari Gold writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 9:36:57 PM

It'd definately be hard to top the first one, but it would be amazing come-back material for Arnold! I'm sure the rest of the old cast wouldn't mind another. Tom Arnold is keen! Lol.

I'd even settle for a Commando 2, you could bring back Alyssa Milano! Haha.
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 9:44:47 PM

Blow me faggot. Or would you like that too much?
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 9:45:49 PM

"how lovely."

Just kill yourself now because you'll never be a man. You might be a man's man, but never just a man.
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 9:47:07 PM

It's never going to happen, not with Cameron anyway. They've all grown apart. Cameron is stuck on this Smurf in Space sh*t and Arnold is probably looking at the Senate.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 10:12:10 PM

"True Lies 2" would be awesome. I bet Eliza Dushku would get all excited and start telling everyone how great it's gonna be . . . then they'll cast Scarlett Johansen for her role.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 11:49:08 PM

You say already like he should wait a while. I'm writing five scripts at once right now. Cameron is certainly a more capable filmmaker than I am so working on one film while promoting another is light work. I really don't care what he does next as long as he's passionate about it, I'm sure it'll turn out grand. Unless I go see Avatar next Friday and it blows, but I don't think that's going to be the case.
ksplatt writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 1:54:37 AM

@mink--why do u appreciate awesome movies? oh wait, u a TRUE man.
ksplatt writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 1:58:08 AM

true lies was awesome...even tho curtis looked kinda weird when she dance on the pole (poorly)...i still got a chub. and ahhhhhhhhhnold is an awesome action star. they shoulda cloned him in preparation that hollywood might fail in action movies. god i f*ckin hate these ppl. me, sacdaddy, mink, spooky, and PP need to get together and make an awesome action movie. agree?
ilovemovies82 writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 2:58:40 AM

Correct me if I'm wrong, but didn't I hear somewhere that Cameron said after 9/11 he had no interest in a sequel to True Lies? I could have sworn I remembered him saying something to that effect. Which sucks, because I've always wanted to see a sequel to that movie. Of course, he would have to wait for Arnold to be out of office and be done being the governator but I think that is pretty soon.
warriors187 writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 3:07:35 AM

haha no lie, i have my True Lies VHS still among my DVD collection. Along with Kindegarden Cop and Twins. Arnold is the man.
Cbr writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 4:07:06 AM

Dark Void or copy off? Seems often 2 movies come out about the same thing these days.

I`m waiting for what Neill Blomkamp does next. Hope it`s a Scifi. Have higher hopes for him, with no marketing suits far up his ass.
Carpen7er writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 4:58:52 AM

True Lies is one of the most enjoyable movies ever made. I think a sequel would ruin it.
dbreuning writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 6:55:26 AM

I REALLY want to hear what you guys think about Avatar AFTER you've seen it. Why all the hate about the film? Maybe it won't be his best movie ever but it certainly will be entertaining. I for one, already love it because of the trailer(s).
Peter Parker writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 7:29:08 AM

@ ksplatt:

"me, sacdaddy, mink, spooky, and PP need to get together and make an awesome action movie. agree?"

- Ranger would be a valuable contributor as well. And yes, it does sound like a great idea. Way better that the idiots that pick youtube "stars" to base their movies on.

Nevertheless, not all is lost, since we already have something close to that happening in the near future, it's called "The Expendables".

Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee...
takai writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 7:40:25 AM

"James Cameron already developing a new sci-fi film"

and I already don't care.

As for "Protocol"; it could be good if it utilized the best parts of the 'Seven Samurai' formula, including its run time.

But who knows. Maybe the man dies before he has the chance
ksplatt writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 11:13:29 AM

@PP--i'd like to make a public apology for not including ranger. drunkenness leads to laziness, laziness leads to less typing, less typing leads to not including ranger. sry dude. ahahahah

and YES! EXPENDABLES!

(and i heard lohan's vashjeen was gonna be the villian)
TRUEMAN writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 11:28:27 AM

he is so deseperate for get any attention, because he knows GAYVATAR sucks! i hope the next one will be without Sam W.!
Peter Parker writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 11:29:01 AM

... and Jeff with the military knowledge, and Lawman with the federal forces input, and Ari, and rabid, and freudian, and Stig, and c-prime, rocketman, TeemSelami...

hell, I'm sure everybody would have something cool to add to the fan-made movie.

As long as vindandy was stapled to the wall to serve as dartboard, it would certainly be fun!
SeWerin writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 12:07:46 PM

Are you kiding me?!??!

Shane Salerno is the genius who wrote such brilliant SF scripts as Armageddon, Alien vs Predator 1 & 2, and other noteable garbages.

Why this guy, still has a job is beyond my logic?!?

Why would Cameron want to have anything with that guy?
padfootbob writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 1:12:40 PM

Even though I've pretty much lost my faith in Avatar, I haven't lost my faith in Cameron. COME ON YOU f*ck!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved