WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Roland Emmerich Earned $100 Million for "2012"

Posted: December 9th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Roland Emmerich Earned $100 Million for "2012"Submit Comment
Director Roland Emmerich (The Day After Tomorrow, Independence Day) had a little trouble getting funding for his "2012" disaster movie, mostly because the script was weak and the film would have to gross over $600 million in order to make a profit.

Why $600 million? Apparently Emmerich pitched the film with himself attached as a writer, producer and director. That many jobs, requires a hefty paycheck, which is why he asked for a $20 million advance, plus percentage of the profits.

Sony decided to fund "2012," which has currently earned over $650 million worldwide and will likely break $700 million. And since Emmerich had that amazing deal for himself, he ended up earning over $100 million for the movie.

The Wrap contacted several industry executives, even some that passed on the project, and all of them have confirmed that Emmerich will end up with $100 million payday. And I thought Michael Bay did well for himself when he earned $75 million for "Transformers."

Click here to read our "2012" review.

Source: The Wrap


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 7:38:31 PM

And I bet this guy is one of the first people to lobby for socialized medicine and restraints on the wealthy, while he takes bubble baths in Andrew Jacksons.

Hey, Emmerich, how about shirking some of that fortune back to the people that need it most? Guys all about politically correct causes, but he's up to his scalp in money. f*cking hypocrite.

And his stuff isn't even good. 10,000 BC? WTF? Walk three miles in the desert and your in a lush jungle? Yeah, he gets the past totally wrong, he gets the future wrong, he screws up American history and trashes Japanese classics, but he gets to belt back a cool 100 million. And I thought Bay was a douchebag. At least Bay's films are re-watchable.

This guy's films out to come in a paper sleeve for easy recycling.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 7:43:26 PM

Roland Emmerich Earned $100 Million for "2012"

Look on the bright side: maybe he'll stop making movies now.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 7:45:04 PM

with our luck, he'll probably make a sequel to "GINO"
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 7:49:58 PM

Not if 2012 goes onto make even more money. he's already talking about an ID4 sequel. ID42. yeah, that's the tag title. Or how about ID424u?

I hate to bitch, but there's starving people in the world. There's people without heat this winter. I believe in capitalism, I believe in wealth and I don't believe in taking from those that have earned it, but his greed just makes me sick and angry. I wish I could think of a joke or something but f*ck this guy. 100 million?? Feed some celebrities Roland! Take Kate Moss to dinner. This guy makes big budget blow em up garbage and he gets to clean the bank. D9 has to operate on a relatively shoestring budget. The Fountain got it's budget cut in half, and this guy gets to drive the Brinks truck home.

This doesn't piss anyone else off? I can't believe I'm the only one.
rabid writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 7:59:14 PM

No one person deserves to have 100 million dollars. It's an obscene amount of money.
Ranger writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 8:08:54 PM

I do NOT agree with ANY of the posts above.

But if someone gave me $100mil. I'd take it.

To quote the immortal Freddie Mercury: 'I'm a greedy bitch!'

Man... remember when it DIDN'T pay to be a Director?!?!
Peter Parker writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 8:16:10 PM

So, making very bad movies pays off, big time!
What else is new?
Ranger writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 8:17:39 PM

SORRY... LOL!

I MEANT to type, I do NOT DISAGREE with ANY of the posts above...

f*ck... AND I'M SOBER!!!!!!!!

eViL.kEv2 writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 8:19:47 PM

better start hittin' the bottle, Ranger!
Ranger writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 8:30:07 PM

Well, my typing couldn't get any worse!!!
Ryanlawson writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 9:40:31 PM

yer, cant disagree there...
100 million dollars for making that piece of sh*t movie...
CCBlev writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 10:06:10 PM

maybe rolands a generous man and let nic cage borrow some money to pay off his houses so he doesnt have to roomie with dandy
Chewbacca writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 10:55:43 PM

This is great news because Emmerich can now produce and direct another CGI overloaded disaster flick with laughable dialogue and a "1 hour and 47 minute" plot and expanding it to almost three hours.

I can't wait what he makes next, hopefully its a sequel to 10,000 BC because that was the pinnacle of modern filmmaking.
Ranger writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 11:22:45 PM

lol @CC
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 11:53:33 PM

Badass. Guy makes a sh*t movie and makes 100 mill off of it. I like this guy's style. Hopefully I can get 100 million on one flick in the coming years, don't worry you guys will actually enjoy my movie... it will have SUBSTANCE!
Peter Parker writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 11:58:51 PM

... and by substance, do you mean full figured ladies? Big round asses? Heavy tits?

If that's the case, you've got my vote!!
VDODSON writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 2:18:43 AM

Im with you on the heavy tits
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 3:22:29 AM

@Peter YOU KNOW IT!
SACdaddy writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 6:02:27 AM

Just sounds like a good business move on his part if you ask me. Its no different than Seinfeld raking in millions in syndication or Jack Nicholson opting for a SMALL percentage of the Batman revenues (which made him well over $50mill) instead of taking his normal salary. Remember when no one wanted to back Mel on his Passion of the Christ? That worked out pretty good for him too. Look, I'm all for the starving cold out there, but you cant blame a guy for rolling the dice and winning. If the movie had failed we wouldn't be having this discussion. He saw potential where others did not and now he's laughing all the way to the bank. Other directors should be taking notes.

I never saw 2012 or 10,000 BC so I could be praising the Antichrist for all I know, but if he made Independence Day (one of the best BAD movies ever) he cant be all that terrible. For all we know he could be giving half of his earnings to charities across the world.
SACdaddy writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 6:35:52 AM

To think, 2012 has already made $650 mill and yet people on this site think Avatar is going to fail. The film industry is making a killing this year!!!
Paths writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 7:19:19 AM

yeah, whats up with all the bitching about piracy? They dont seem to suffer all that bad.

Just for this, im gonna download 2012 a 100 times
CCBlev writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 7:33:02 AM

@ranger
you know if that happens, ole nice cage is gonna be woken up in the middle of the night, with dandy standing over him, breathing heavy, with sweat all over his forehead! Talk about having night terrors!!
Johnny Neat writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 11:31:02 AM

Why make a good movie if you make 100 million? I'd make Duke of Hazard a million time for crazy money like that.
Ranger writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 2:03:01 PM

@CC - Bwwwwhahahahahhahaaaa!!!
Ranger writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 2:05:04 PM

@SAC - well said.

And Avatar will have NO problem breaking $600mil. It'll do that easily.

If Transformers 2 can break $600mil, does anyone doubt that Avatar will be unable to do so?!
Nekros22 writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 2:22:12 PM

That film wasn't worth 1 dollar, let alone 100 million. f*ck this bourgeoisie, talentless, drummed up hack.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 4:24:18 PM

"with our luck, he'll probably make a sequel to "GINO""

HAHAHA I haven't heard that acronym since the Godzilla message boards of yesteryear!

Also, there was a demand for a 2012 disaster movie, and who else was gonna make it? Really? I'm no fan of substanceless garbage but clearly the world is not a just (or substantial) place. I guess he 'earned' it.

But really, what does anyone NEED a friggin 100 million for?
Vin12 writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 5:04:22 PM

@mink
cant say i disagree but it is hollywood
Vin12 writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 5:46:03 PM

ranger
yeah i do its point break in space
trickofthehand writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 2:08:46 PM

2012 was hilariously laughable, but watching sh*t break was enjoyable. Did that hot russian chick live? I forget.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 10:33:30 PM

@ trickofthehand:

She lives, and flips the bird at the fat Russian millionaire, just before he falls down the cliff.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved