WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"New Moon" Director Upset Over Bootlegging Arrest

Posted: December 9th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"New Moon" Director Upset Over Bootlegging ArrestSubmit Comment
We recently reported that a 22-year-old woman was arrested for accidentally recording three minutes of "The Twilight Saga: New Moon," while filming her sister's surprise birthday party at a theater. The footage showed commercials that come before a movie and the family singing "Happy Birthday" while shots of "New Moon" are in the background.

Theater managers called the police, saying that they wanted to press charges for illegally recording a movie with the intent to sell bootleg copies. The woman spent two days in jail and now faces up to three years in prison.

After hearing of this story, "New Moon" director Chris Weitz has come to the woman's defense. "Needless to say, the case seems to me terribly unfair and I would like to do what I can to address this," Weitz wrote in an e-mail to the Chicago Sun-Times. "There is a difference between trying to protect the copyright of a film and making an unfair example of someone who clearly seems not to have any intentions towards video piracy."

He added that there isn't much that he can do since the film is not his property, but has already contacted Summit Entertainment with his concerns.

Source: Chicago Sun Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 7:29:13 PM

He should be. Anyone even watching the film is involved in a crime against heterosexuality.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 7:48:21 PM

I'm sure he's had many sleepless nights on his huge pile of cash due to his concern for some woman he's never met
Lloyd-Christmas writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 8:05:39 PM

with the sexy new dp pick mink is rockin im thinkin of going gay myself!!!
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 8:13:24 PM

They should give her a free copy of the film and then punch her in the f*cking throat for being a "Twilight" fan
Ranger writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 8:18:05 PM

LOL!
Chewbacca writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 11:36:10 PM

He should be upset for contributing to what many believe to be the catalyst for December 12, 2012.
soleberlin writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 3:14:23 AM

Chris Weitz is a great person
vivier writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 3:46:28 AM

A surprise bday party in movie theatre watching this piece of crap?She definitely deserves to be jailed.
Cbr writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 4:12:10 AM

They should have a age limit in here. U all talk like 14 year olds do ;)



Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 4:24:53 AM

@Cbr: Hope that's meant to be ironic
Ranger writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 8:19:02 AM

@Cbr - I know you are but what are we?
Joker1282 writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 9:47:28 AM

ohh now i know why there is a movie with a hbirday song in the background!!!!lol




-jkjkjk
let the girl wach her movie! is for little kids anyways who cares!!
nextttt
Johnny Neat writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 11:28:06 AM

Bravo to him. f*cking theaters are sweatshops who hire kids for grunt work and morons as managers. Sad.
Vin12 writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 11:45:10 AM

Sounds likw Weitz has a good head on his shoulders
Vin12 writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 11:45:41 AM

like
triggax writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 12:04:55 PM

GOD f*ckING DAMMIT!

Why are my comments being deleted constantly?

For f*ck sakes, I refrain from all, or most of the tom foolery around here, Im usually on topic and I'm extremely charming and attractive and yet it seems like my posts are being singled out...

Like damn near every f*cking comment I made yesterday, short of one got deleted and not ONE was offensive... Alex you d*ck sucker..
Chewbacca writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 3:18:18 PM

I hope this woman does not get jail time. This is really unfair in my opinion. But of all movies to ruin your life, ironically it was New Moon.
scarface85 writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 11:06:32 PM

nice thats a man that knows his work
Tyrkae writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 11:11:46 PM

Well if i lived in that town i would take a big sh*t in the theater im surprised she not getting her friends to picket around that theater some ppl just need to be shot in the face (her and mamanger of the theater)
Tyrkae writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 11:11:47 PM

Well if i lived in that town i would take a big sh*t in the theater im surprised she not getting her friends to picket around that theater some ppl just need to be shot in the face (her and mamanger of the theater)
Tyrkae writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 11:12:21 PM

double post!!! how did that happen???
ozymandiass writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 11:59:13 PM

I work at a movie theater and when we see people do that we never call the police. We just either take the device and return it back to them at the end of the show or we escort them out to the door. Seems a little unfair to me what happened to this womean
MoH writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 6:07:05 PM

Im going to rent one of those giant video cameras they film movies with, the ones on rollers with the big ass boom microphone and point that f*cker right at the screen just to piss off that manager lol
MoH writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 6:07:43 PM

with a directors cap
MoH writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 6:08:05 PM

and a sign that sais Bootleg Productions
Peter Parker writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 10:30:19 PM

@ MoH: LOL!

BTW, what happened to the Muppet?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved