WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Kevin Smiths' "A Couple of Dicks" Has a New Title, Plus Trailer News

Posted: December 9th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Kevin SmithsSubmit Comment
Kevin Smith's new comedy "A Couple of Dicks," starring Bruce Willis and Tracy Morgan, has been worrying Warner Bros. Even though the word "Dicks" refers to the fact that the characters are detectives and are likely jerks, the studio is foreseeing lots of marketing issues. Apparently, you can't promote a movie with naughty words in the title before 8pm and definitely no billboards.

Warners' suggestion has been to change the title to "A Couple of Cops," which is too simple and boring. And now, according to Smith, a brand new title has been chosen and he's very happy with it.

"The Movie Formerly Known as A COUPLE OF DICKS has finally settled on a replacement title," said Smith on his official site. "While we'll always have DICKS in our hearts, the title we just now locked makes me smile on a bunch of different levels including this 1: we can now advertise our movie properly (& ironically). And said marketing begins... on every print of SHERLOCK HOLMES, Christmas Day!"

So it seems that the trailer for the new movie will appear in front of "Sherlock Holmes," but we won't have to wait that long to find out what this new great title is. "WB will announce in a day or two," Smith said on his Twitter account.

Source: NewsAskew, Twitter


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Peter Parker writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 10:21:11 AM

"Apparently, you can't promote a movie with naughty words in the title before 8pm and definitely no billboards."

- Hypocrites all over America will applaud this.
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 10:37:03 AM

Not a fan of Kevin Smith at all, but anything with Willis is worth a watch. Hell, his cameo was the high point of Charlie's Angels.
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 11:04:26 AM

Let's see if we can figure it out before they reveal it.

-A Cup Full of d*ck
-Two Penises
-Gumshoe and Blue Balls
-A Couple of Shafts
-Shaft Meets d*ck
-Just the Tip
-Good c*ck, Black c*ck

barley_cat writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 11:08:14 AM

i agree Mink, Love Bruc Willis, shame he screwed Lohan!
Bold Wrecks writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 11:18:16 AM

@AA
I laughed at Just the Tip. That sounds like a wiener...uh, winner.
ian_918 writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 11:19:57 AM

What about Inglorious Basterds? And Zack and Miri Make A Porno? Those both have words in their titles with "naughty" words in them.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 11:21:03 AM

@ Anonymous Alcoholic:

That looks like dandy's list of must-see movies. Good job!

If they can't call it "A Couple of d*cks", maybe they could try "A Foursome Of Testicles".

.. "Mine Is Bigger Than Yours" could work too.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 11:22:36 AM

... or "Dark And White Meat Sandwich"...
Peter Parker writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 11:30:10 AM

... "Our Guns Shoot White"...
Peter Parker writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 11:31:09 AM

... "Hands Up, Pants Down"...
Peter Parker writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 11:34:25 AM

... "This Ain't d*ck Tracy"...
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 11:38:08 AM

OR simply call it BOHICA (Bend Over Here it Comes Again)
Peter Parker writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 11:49:23 AM

Sounds catchy!
Randal Graves writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 12:03:43 PM

This movie is gonna be awesome. Smith talked about it a little bit on Smodcast. sounds hillarious. kinda pissed at the name change tho.
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 12:05:34 PM

"What about Inglorious Basterds? And Zack and Miri Make A Porno? Those both have words in their titles with "naughty" words in them."

Neither the word bastards or porno are considered vulgar. Porno is simply a noun referring to an apparent aspect of modern life. Bastards is a legitimate term for illigitimate children, though not considered polite even in this technically accurate usage.

A couple of d*cks is simply Kevin Smith's perverted, crass, crude and juvenile sense of humor trumping common sense and intelligent titling. That he would even consider insisting on that title I think shows how immature he is, even at his age.
TeemSelami writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 12:09:42 PM

why not call it "racially diverse penises solving crimes"
Ranger writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 12:47:01 PM

So the shortened version of Richard is d*ck. How does WB explain that?! Every Richard is a d*ck then?

WHY NOT leave it as: 'A Couple of d*cks' and educate those (seriously) that it refers to Private Eyes, and is a shortened version of 'Richard.' When Jay Leno on The Tonight Show did their Jeopardy thing, a young contestant was posed the 'answer' - and the question was (regarding Nixon) - was 'd*ck!' And she thought too it was calling him a name (in that instance the double-entendre worked) and had NO idea is was his REAL name. And Jay tried explaining it to her... and she just went on about how ignorant that was... ugh! Educating that one was long lost (clearly since her dad molested her causing her brain damage when her little skull repeatedly impacted the headboard of the crib).

I'm not a fan of censorship (as some here has known from my posts). 'A Couple of Cops' - seriously... are they kidding?!

@AA - Good c*ck, Black c*ck = Priceless!

Warner's may as well just call this: 2/3rd' of a OREO.

Dumb sh*ts!

Ranger writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 12:47:30 PM

@makingcircles... LOL!
makingcircles writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 1:09:49 PM

Holy crap! The first "Dandy joke" I've ever made and my post gets deleted? Alex? Where's the love? Ironic that this article is about censorship....
DoucheNozzle writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 1:32:08 PM

I just hope Smith didn't change anything in the script. The script was on the Blacklist a couple of years ago and was pretty funny. Yeah, I hate that WB is changing the title, but this is the nation that made Going Rogue a bestseller, so that pretty much proves how ignorant and immature the majority of Americans are.
RickPeters writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 2:42:26 PM

First off, the title wasn't Smith's idea because he didn't write the script. Yes, he uses juvinile humor often, but not always, but he didn't make that title.

Second off, I'm a big fan of Kevin Smith so I'm looking forward to this but I think the title change is worthless. I don't think it'll be A Couple of Cops since I can't see that making Smith "smile" like he says. But it doesn't matter. The original title is A Couple of d*cks and there should be no reason to change that. I can't stand the squimishness of American advertisors.

The same thing happened to Zack and Miri Make a Porno and it was killed at the box office because theaters refused to play it (even though the were playing Saw V at the same time, but, whatever).

I can't understand how movies like Inglourious Basterds, Jackass, and even something like Mr. Woodc*ck can get through. Yeah, they're not sexual references but no one can say that "Mr. Woodc*ck" was chosen because of any reason other than an attempt at a joke. Kinda like "A Couple of d*cks"...
Peter Parker writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 3:26:09 PM

Change the character's names and call the movie:

"A Couple Of Johnsons"

There, problem solved.
Randal Graves writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 3:43:53 PM

too bad they lost the title. the sequel could be:
d*cks 2, It just got harder
wonderBOY writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 4:27:01 PM

this is to the 30 rock fans
black c*ck white c*ck
funky d*ck be tripping
and so on and so forth
LordLlewellyn80 writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 4:30:58 PM

"Neither the word bastards or porno are considered vulgar"

Well, I don't know where you're from Mink, but in the UK, they can't show an advert for Inglorious Bastards, it is referred to as Inglorious, whatever time of day it is. Zack & Miri Make A Porno was just referred to as Zack & Miri pre-watershed (9pm).

It's odd that A Couple Of d*cks gets all this sh*t, when films like Fun With d*ck & Jane get nowt. d*cks is known as slang for PI's. What next? All classic detective flix gonna be re-dubbed to remove all d*cks, God help what they'll do to d*ck Tracy, Bod*cker will no longer be working for d*ck Jones, and Bruce's ward will now have to be Richard. Soon, all the d*cks would be gone, and so will the hilarious speech from Team America (I challenge anyone to create a pre-watershed-friendly version of that!).

And I'm sorry Peter Parker, but Johnsons is american slang, and not as widely used as d*cks, so they would have to come up with regional variations, and I can't see that happening.
wonderBOY writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 4:31:05 PM

it makes no sense why they would change the name just to have advertising before 8 it is a R rated movie not everything on tv is for children
Vendetta150 writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 4:33:34 PM

A couple of d*cks..? Where the hell is dandy's post, I'm sure he thought this was gay porn.

Back to topic: Damn censorship!
zombie345trioxin writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 5:36:22 PM

Just call it pig d*ck
georgecostanza writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 5:46:40 PM

Kevin Smith tries to hard nowadays
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 5:57:02 PM

The word is nothing without the context. Fun with d*ck and Jane had nothing to do with d*ck. It was a reference to a child's first grade book, so an inclusion here to support your case is unwarranted.

The film d*ck was a reference to Richard Nixon, his actual nickname as he was commonly known, so the title was appropriate. In fact, historically, he was known as 'Tricky d*ck'.

I personally have no problem whatsoever with the title, but, in all the other cases I can think of, there was sort of reason for the title, something more than some hairy fatass trying to look clever.

And I know theaters often times short the titles appropriately. Most of you guys don;t have kids, so you probably cannot understand, but may parents simply want their children growing up in a clean environment. When you're a teenager, or a young adult, and all your thinking about is getting laid and mentally blowing sh*t up (I would know, I' m still there), it's very, very difficult to imagine that some people just don't want vulgarity and obscenity in a public, family oriented venue. Trust me, you'll think differently when you have a few kids yourself.

On the other hand, if you already h ave children, and you couldn't care less if theaters marquee porno films, than I weep for your kids.

Anyway, theaters are a business, and it does them no good to marquee titles some may find offensive. They may not care otherwise, but if they think "hey, we could lose money by putting the word 'porno' on our marquee, but we definitely won't lose money of we drop the word" then rest assured the word will get dropped. I would too.

Again, most of you are pretty f*cking young. So you may not get it. But you will. And one last thing. It's not censorship unless a social or political authority does the censoring. Theaters and producers CHOOSING to drop the title or word are doing so either out of respect for the differences of opinion people have on what constitutes 'vulgarity' or because doing so makes good business sense. Or both.

And one last thing. Not trying to f*cking preach here, but people have as much right to get offended over a vulgar title or offensive word just as much as you have the right to not. That sort of sh*t happens in free societies, and its just one of those things we have to compromise on in the name of unity and social cohesion.

Again and finally, for real this time, I don't give a f*ck about the title personally.

vwkombi writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 1:48:15 AM

Mink, i atleast disagree with you on the changing of this title. Children knowing that the word 'd*ck' colloquially refers to a private investigator isn't going to mess them up for life. I agree with Ranger, keep the f*cking title and educate people ignorant of the fact. Would have the name of a Richard Nixon biopic changed from "Tickey d*cky"? Same principle.

However, on a title like "Donkey f*cking pornstars performing necrophillia" i would agree that it should be changed.
minkowski writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 9:40:54 AM

I understand what you're saying, VK, but again, I have to reiterate that for theaters, it's a sound business decision. And for the producers as well. It makes perfect logical sense. Nothing to be gained by KEEPING the title, but plenty to lose if they do. From a perspective of financial responsibility, and respect for the fact that people don't always agree, it's the best decision possible. They did the right thing.

But I'm not sure you read all that I wrote. It's pure logic, man.
ksplatt writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 11:38:22 AM

DANDY LIKES d*ck.
ksplatt writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 11:38:33 AM

ALL of them.
vwkombi writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 6:18:46 PM

@ Mink

I know it's better to do for the money, but since the title isn't being used in a entirely vulgar way, they shouldn't have to change it to satisfy the sensibilities of a few conservative Nazis.

I can see where you are coming from, but i still don't think they should've changed it.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved