WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Nicolas Cage's "Sorcerer's Apprentice" Trailer is Here

Posted: December 9th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Nicolas CageSubmit Comment
Today we have the official trailer for the upcoming "Sorcerer's Apprentice" movie, starring Nicolas Cage, Jay Baruchel and Alfred Molina. Check it out below.

Plot: Balthazar Blake (Cage) is a master sorcerer in modern-day Manhattan trying to defend the city from his arch-nemesis, Maxim Horvath (Molina). Balthazar can't do it alone, so he recruits Dave Stutler (Baruchel), a seemingly average guy who demonstrates hidden potential, as his reluctant protege.

The sorcerer gives his unwilling accomplice a crash course in the art and science of magic, and together, these unlikely partners work to stop the forces of darkness. It'll take all the courage Dave can muster to survive his training, save the city and get the girl as he becomes "The Sorcerer's Apprentice."

The new film is directed by Jon Turteltaub (National Treasure) and is scheduled to hit theaters on July 16th, 2010.

Trailer:

If you cannot see the player, click here.


Click here to read more about "The Sorcerer's Apprentice."

Source: Apple


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 46 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
NatG83 writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 10:16:53 AM

So...Cage had to look like a homeless crack addict for this?

I hope it pays the tax-man.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 10:29:18 AM

where the hell is Monica Bellucci in this trailer?!?...lame.
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 10:33:22 AM

Honestly, that looked decent. I thought it was going to be filled with one-liners and american, swiss, provlone, etc. The overall tone seems pretty dark. Also, the director seems to have the right idea with less lines from Cage and a naive Baruchel that isn't as annoying as Shia LaBitch. This will probably spawn a sequel or two. Hopefully, history doesn't repeat itself as Disney seems to usually drops the ball on most live-action sequels.
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 10:45:17 AM

I may give it a look on DVD
lawman writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 10:47:53 AM

Damn. He seems to be a pretty good sorcerer to me. Look at all that hair he MAGICALLY grew!
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 10:50:52 AM

Cage hasn't figure out by now that people with seriously receding hairlines shouldn't grow their hair long?
SACdaddy writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 10:53:10 AM

That looked pretty damn good! Good move keeping the wig from the other witch movie he has coming out soon with Ron Pearlman. Its about the only wig that seems to work so hold on tight and dont let the creditors take it!

rabid writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 10:59:38 AM

Looks good!
Chinese magic strooong!
Bob82 writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 11:11:25 AM

Looks like fun and Alfred Molina is in it. That's enough for me.
barley_cat writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 11:11:47 AM

Looks get-out-of-your-seat boring. Lame
triggax writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 11:44:33 AM

That looks pretty dope... I watched Bad Lieutenant the other day and I thought Cage was fantastic, its been such a slew of garbage from him lately that it's actually kind of nice that hes trying so f*cking hard... so who knows... he might be able to redeem himself..

Also, I will watch ANYTHING Jon Turtletaub directs... he had me at 3 ninjas and cool runnings... I f*cking love Cool Runnings...
Peter Parker writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 12:02:37 PM

Just watched the trailer. Looks like fun!
grizzle writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 12:13:15 PM

Looks pretty sweet, gotta say. I really enjoyed Cage's response to "are you crazy?" @Mink: I think his hair looks pretty good! Actually, homeless crack addict or not, I think the look they have for him in this just right: it's not too sorcerer/"old world" looking for the times, but it's not street clothes either (like HP for example)

Will prob. see in theaters. Mostly just to support Cage, I feel bad for that guy. And now I'm seeing his wife's suing him when he's already on his ass. What a horrible person she is.
BayHarbor_Butcher writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 12:14:46 PM

every where i look theirs cage with crazy hair. it has to be in his contract or something!
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 12:17:37 PM

You know, how long will I have to wait before a mind-blowing film appears? Like when I saw the Matrix? Its been ten years, and still I'm waiting.
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 12:18:19 PM

"every where i look theirs cage with crazy hair. it has to be in his contract or something!"

At least it isn't Bangkok Dangerous crazy.
atn5022 writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 12:37:04 PM

ill watch this for jay baruchel and nothing else
BayHarbor_Butcher writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 12:45:44 PM

I dont think its possbile to get crazier than BKDangerous! --Thats it! you hear me Cage! this is an official Double Dare Challenge! We the Anons of WP challenge you to have Crazier hair then BKDangerous! If you lose you must shave it and glue it to your face. if you win... eh.. ~what do we have?~ Fine! you can have Dandy... Deal???


~sucker~
rabid writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 1:30:47 PM

He was great in Bad Lieutenant! I wasn't expecting alot from the film, but it easily lived up to the original.
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 1:36:32 PM

@Minkowski Personally, Matrix didn't blow my mind. I felt in the past that "Bullet Time" was overrated and I still feel it is because it wasn't completely original. Everyone is entitled to their opinion, though. Some movies that blew my mind from this decade were Requiem for a Dream, Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, Sin City, Oldboy, Pan's Labyrinth, Children of Men, Grindhouse, A Scanner Darkly, Walking Life, Tony Jaa's movies, most films by Michel Gondry, most films by Spike Jonze, and most films by Richard Kelly.

This isn't a list of my favorite films from the decade. I love many of these films but the common link between them for me is that they all contained moments or scenes where I audibly said, "What the f*ck !?! Someone sold their soul to accomplish that!"

@Minkowski I know that you believe Children of Men to be vastly overrated but I think the long takes (as you can see by the list I can't get enough of long takes) in that movie are more impressive than "Bullet Time" in the Matrix (even though "Bullet Time" has been much more influential).
TRUEMAN writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 2:15:51 PM

I love the sound track from Depeche Mode, thats give the darker touch of the tralier, maybe the movie will suck but a least it has a nice music!
RickPeters writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 2:30:18 PM

This actually looks pretty fun. Cage has always been one of my favorite actors, but I'll admit that a lot of his recent stuff has been...weak, to say the least. This looks like fun in the National Treasure-vein. Plus Baruchel is always funny to me.

This won't be mind-blowing cinema, but it'll be good fun I'm sure.
Spankfish writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 2:40:18 PM

Doesnt look that bad. Just hope it pays his bills.
U-BMCS09T writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 3:00:21 PM

those damn nesting dolls will be the end of us, also I was waiting for the fantasia rip off
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 3:09:29 PM

I was so depressed last night thinking about the economy, the wars, jobs,
Savings, Social Security, retirement funds, etc......

I called Lifeline.
Got a freakin' call center in Pakistan.

I told them I was suicidal. ........................
They all got excited and asked if I could drive a truck...
Stevetheheb writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 3:36:25 PM

I appreciated the brief Fantasia nod.
eddie499 writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 3:54:23 PM

Looks fun. Alfred Molina rarely disappoints and Jay Baruchel is pretty funny.
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 5:12:53 PM

More than likely, Vin and dandy are complaining. Then again, he's deleted several posts entirely unrelated to either of those two posters. So I don't know what the deal is with him lately, and I don't care. Its his place, he can do what the hell he wants. But he should display just a little appreciation to the people responsible for growing the place.
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 5:28:29 PM

Hey look everybody they deleted again!!!

He should get a job with Iran for his censorship skills.
georgecostanza writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 6:07:37 PM

They could've done worse
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 6:25:31 PM

When I mentioned Matrix, I wasn't necessarily referring to the imagery per se. Knowing a little about Cg, I can usually dissect a scene into elements. What got me with the Matrix was the combination of stellar action, graphic sci-fi elements, bad ass shots all painted with breakthrough VFX. It was the entire synthesis that appealed to my nerdy tech mind.

And I didn't think A Scanner Darkly was much of anything to be honest. The effect used I had seen in one form another well before that, and it seemed to me it was used merely to convey the story's drug culture overtones. Considering who wrote the story, that doesn't surprise me. A rather simple technique, applied to one frame, doesn't impress me. And it doesn't impress me when the same technique is applied to 30*60*90 frames any more.

The thing about Children of men is that you've got live plates with rather conventional shots, and a sh*t load of CG post production. Yeah long shots are nice, but that's understandable considering our contextual minds. We like to see how action on object relates to many others in the milieu. I like them myself, because they depict grand scope, but I can't say they make or break a film for me. I was far more impressed with the Fountains macro photography than anything I saw in CoM. Once you stripped off CoM's voxels, applied during post production, the films CG becomes a lot more pedestrian.

Pan's Labyrinth went the extra mile, so to speak, using that old cliche, and I respect it for doing so. As a matter of technical appreciation, I'll give that film major kudos, even though I'm not a fan of subtitles, as reading during a primarily visual form of entertainment is an impediment to immersion. In other words, try reading a book, which requires the imagination to provide the visuals, while watching a commercial. But all that aside, as it should be, Pan's Labyrinth is a breathtaking spectacle of visual effects.

Oh and Sin City. Where the film didn't break boundaries in purely digital visual FX, it stormed the gates of conventional cinematography, employing very bold angles and brilliant use of green screen. The film's trailer is my very favorite trailer of all time. It's a work of art that transcends the entirety of many a whole film.
Long Rod VonHugendong writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 6:35:04 PM

Im actually one of the few that likes Nic cage, Ive always liked him as an actor. so yea this looks good
Ranger writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 7:18:09 PM

As for Nick...

I liked him in Windtalkers, Matchstick Men... and a few others. Actually I don't know if I liked the story in Windtalkers and they could have cast anyone in that role.

I haven't seen alll real trash he's done... that I hear about on here (like: 'Knowing' - f*ck me! Let's me ruin it for you and save you 90 minutes - it's Aliens related for the 2nd. half. Bullsh*t, crap!). But this is the niche' Cage fits. He makes Hollywood 'decent' money, so they offer him the roles.

@AA - I like your posts and your contributions here, so my comment re: your Matrix opinion isn't an attack... just another side of the coin.

By the look of your profile... if you age is correct... I'm quite a bit older.

10 years ago, digital effects, spectacular movies (visually) were the norm. In MY day... the first TRON blew you our of your seats in the theater. You would have to admit that the younger generation: cell phones, 24 hour convenience stores, credit, Internet, uTube, MySpace, Twitter (ugh!), and all that other sh*t has created an 'instant gratification' society. So it's a LOT harder to dazzle that generation because they've had so much, they see something as revolutionary as 'bullet-time' and go: 'Great, wowie... what's next?!' When... that should be enough for a few years... lol

Even the T-Rex in Jurassic Park is still amazing... and that's older yet.

So just saying... from watching f*cking H.R. Puffinstuff (no it's was a dandy of a porn... it was a kid movie then series), The Matrix is quite the leap.

Thx. for reading.

OK WP... delete away.

God Bless.
Ranger writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 7:19:28 PM

And before any whining d*ck posts to bitch that some posts on here are too long... suck it up you f*cking Princess. Either learn to read, scroll past, or post relative to the topic you worthless bag of sh*t!
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 7:25:16 PM

@Minkowski Thanks for your reasoning behind the Matrix and your take on a few of my favorites. I do agree that the film as a whole is an impressive feat.
Ranger writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 8:13:15 PM

Hey... what about my post, f*cker?!

LOL (yankin' yer chain Bud).

Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 8:27:44 PM

@Ranger I agree with you. My generation is pretty spoiled in that sense.
Ranger writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 8:28:39 PM

@AA - thx. for taking my post in the light in which it was intended.
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 9:00:20 PM

lol @ ranger.
Ranger writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 1:43:37 AM

I wonder if they filmed this in one of Nick's castles?

(oops... sorry Nick).

Jedimax writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 6:04:50 AM

Whoa sequel to Percy Jackson already!
SACdaddy writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 6:17:43 AM

@Ranger: Are you kidding me, WINDTALKERS!!! That's easily Nic Cage's worst film and may be one of the worst films ever made. Even with all the crap the man has done lately, I'm sure a cold chill runs up nic's spine everytime someone mentions Windtalkers. In the interest of Cage's health I suggest you never mention that film by name ever again.
Dre-EL writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 6:35:02 PM

Why is this guy broke when he has so many movies coming out?
Did he work for free?
ozymandiass writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 12:12:41 AM

This really doesn't look that bad for a cage movie. Amazing effects
MadHatter writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 8:43:55 PM

@The5thBeatle5-
I was thinking the same thing! it looks like we wont see her until there is another trailer for the sorcerer's apprentice. We'll be lucky next time, i think.
seveltoto writes:
on November 11th, 2017 at 1:10:46 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved