WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Romancing the Stone" and "Overboard" Being Remade

Posted: December 8th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Romancing the Stone" and "Overboard" Being RemadeSubmit Comment
Pajiba is reporting that two Hollywood remakes of 80's films are now moving; Michael Douglas' "Romancing the Stone" and Kurt Russell's "Overboard."

Last year, 20th Century Fox announced that it would begin work on a "Romancing the Stone" remake and hired Dan McDermott (Eagle Eye) to pen the script. As the studio gets closer to heading into production, it has hired Robert Luketic (Legally Blone, 21, The Ugly Truth) to direct.

The remake is likely to be fast-tracked now that project's producer Emma Watts has been promoted to President of Production at Fox. Unfortunately, it may be fast-tracked to become another worthless comedy, since John Davis (Norbit, Daddy Day Camp) has also been hired to oversee development.

Meanwhile, Sony Pictures is moving forward with a remake of "Overboard," the 1987 film starring Kurt Russell and Goldie Hawn. Writers Bill Collage and Adam Cooper (Accepted) are now writing the script, and producers are eyeing Katherine Heigl (Knocked Up) to play Hawn's role in the original.

Source: Pajiba


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 8:52:58 PM

Sounds like sh*t to me.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 9:14:59 PM

Why rewrite something when you remake the film?

Just stick in different actors and shoot it in 3D, then pump it out with the rest of the sh*t coming out at the moment.
SHONUFF01 writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 9:22:11 PM

I might be late on this but it seems to me that Hollywood has run out of ideas or talent for movies and they're left with making remakes! Someone once said on here that if Hollywood would read some of these comments, they could come up with some better movies!
Dre-EL writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 9:37:43 PM

Why havent they shot the person who comes up with these ideas.
Seriously, somebody needs to f*ck these muthers up.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 9:44:12 PM

I have scratched out my eyes and cut my ears off, cause i disagree with this!
RICKYN85 writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 9:46:54 PM

Damn remakes. poor hollywood. They just cant think of anything original theses days. Always depending on remakes and 3d movies. U just gotta feel sorry for them. I just cant wait to see what remakes or reboots lay ahead.
CCBlev writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 10:10:44 PM

and yes the remakes will be sh*t like all the rest,
workingdead writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 12:52:10 AM

I wonder if Heigl will don the hawn thong!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 12:58:28 AM

Why fight it? Let's just remake the whole f*cking 80's. Why can have mullets, tight pants and some glitter around the eyes...hmmm...sounds like Dandy. What are the odds for that?
skatemaster62 writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 12:59:00 AM

dandy the wussy boy
Ryanlawson writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 2:32:45 AM

BHAHAHAHA i looked at this story cause its the latest post and i thought to myself. i bet that minkowski c*nt will be saying "well that will be sh*t"

wow. very predictable.
im starting to get the feeling thats what worst previews is about... constantly keeping up to date with the latest movies that you despise so much, made by an industry you hate.
Ranger writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 3:13:40 AM


Oh Ryan my friend. Wouldn't you rather post something relative to the topic on here, lest you become the next... dandy?

On topic: do I think these movies are worth re-doing. NO. GET ORIGINAL HOLLYWOOD (for a change)!!!!!!!
BayHarbor_Butcher writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 4:22:07 AM

When there is no more room in hell, remakes will walk the earth.
Ryanlawson writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 6:33:21 AM

i do however find Rangers comments to be one of awesomest parts about this site! hahaha...
i just see it as mink may as well go on an opera website and bitch about how much he hates opera.. yet continue to follow every story about it like an opera fanboy.
u no i think mink secretly jerks off to the Navi women of avatar then comes on worst previews to bash on them cause of post Masturbatorial regret.
ps, i know nothing about these old school films so i have no comment. sorry ranga

lokopr writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 6:47:47 AM

well if it comes out and is sh*t...at least we know that chris rock would remake it a few months later so...thats hopeful...not
TRUEMAN writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 7:44:28 AM

no MOREEEE REMADES f*ck FOX!
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 7:56:37 AM

Don't be a bitch Ryan, and stop sucking Ranger's ass you syncophant.

And no, you're not funny, intelligent or entertaining.
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 8:05:02 AM

"i just see it as mink may as well go on an opera website and bitch about how much he hates opera.."

I don't think you understand how an analogy works. opera is a category of entertainment, and so are films. Your analogy claims I hate films, and that's incorrect. Not sure where you got that idiotic assumption.

I don't care about all these sh*t movies coming out. You do because you have no f*cking taste. I can tell the difference between garbage and what passes for cinema these days, but you seem to eat it up like a sow at the trough.

And yeah, stop sucking Ranger's ass. Its disgusting. Have some pride man.
Spankfish writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 9:21:33 AM

f*ck Hollywood, f*ck movies, f*ck everything. Whats happening to the world?

Has no-one got an orignal idea? Whats next? A re-make of beverly hills cop with chris rock? I give up. Im going to start watching Bollywood films.
Ryanlawson writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 9:56:00 AM

haha im not sucking rangers ass, im giving credit where credits due. i have never seen you post something positive... ever...
hence my opera analogy.
hence why i think your a dooche.

Peter Parker writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 10:15:06 AM

MAAAAN, has Alex been busy here, total deletion mode!

"it may be fast-tracked to become another worthless comedy, since John Davis (Norbit, Daddy Day Camp) has also been hired to oversee development"

- That's not conditional anymore. It's a certainty. John Davis simply cannot be involved in comedies. He has the opposite of the Midas touch, when it comes to comedies. Every comedy he touches turns to sh*t.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 10:16:27 AM

Also, romancing the stone sounds like something dandy does with his marble dildo.
Bold Wrecks writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 10:20:56 AM

$20 says if the "Romancing the Stone" remake makes any money they'll have a "Jewel of the Nile" sequel remake.

@Ryan
Mink kind of spanked you, dude. I'm sorry.
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 11:34:16 AM

"i have never seen you post something positive... ever..."

Then you're obviously not reading. In fact, I do offer positivity, but you know what, since day one here, little bitches like you haven't been able to handle any opinion that differs from your own. I've tried to offer input, discussion, and honest f*cking replies.

Instead, what do I get? Whining, cryping moaning and pissing because what I think conflicts with you THINK I shoud think. I'm so f*cking sick of you little small-minded net fascists who automatically believe that everything out of the other guys mouth must be to your taste. That if its critical or 'negative' its worthless. The world isn't lollipops and candycane, and most things are sh*t.

I mean, have you noticed that most movies nowadays are indescribable crap? Or do you just have such low expectations and such base taste that you really don't care what you watch?

I have thousands of movies. I know what I like. I am very picky, and I can intelligently say PRECISELY why I hate or love a film. Can you?

And you know what, I don't post here for you. I am not here to make 'Ryan Lawson' some 21 year old spolied brat, feel comfy and cozy.

I'm not here to make endless poop jokes and Lindsay Lohan jokes. I know that's your flavor of humor which mirrors obviously your taste in films, and most likely your taste in music. And I am NOT here to amuse you. My life is not that of the class clown, debasement for your entertainment.

Some of us try to be more intelligent, and that means we dissect things. The more intelligent are often times the lesser pleased because he can see flaws, big and small. We don't ignore them because we feel a duty to be HONEST, and everythig I have EVER said here is what I see and what I feel honestyly? can you say that?

And what may I ask, Ryan have you contributed? Nothing, just jumping out of the woodwork to call me a c*nt, without one oopinion on the film itself. What does that say about you? No opinion? No imagination? You can't even bother to express your self beyond hateful attacks on me? Pathetic.

The fact is, Ryan, if you don't want to read my replies, do what most people do here: ignore them. Youc an do that can't you? It's obvious that you can't handle me criticizing your films. I mean, I'm sorry I don;t care for Toy Story or Lord of the Rings. I can't help that I'm not a twentysomething child. I can't help that I don't find ragging on the same slut eveeryday endlessly amusing, or constant sh*t, fart gay jokes tirelessly bellybusting. And I can't help that I don't like most sh*t that comes out these days. I can't f*cking help that Hollywood makes endless reams of utter bullsh*t and I simply can't find the gullibility to gush over every damned trailer news bite.

Adn to say I don't like movies is just ognorant. Why the f*ck wouold I come here? yeah, to make fun of films, these endless sequels, reboots, spinoffs and remakes. And to have good time, which I do by poking fun at all this cinematic trash. But to say I don't like films is just f*cking absurd.

And you know what? You can hate me. Hate my f*cking guts. Get in line. Join the crowd. You'll have LOTS of f*cking company. Because in the end, aas far as I can tell, the only thing you have to offer me is your hatred. Enjoy it, but don't expect me to keep my mouth shut because you selfishly think I should.
Spankfish writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 2:50:17 PM

@ Ryan and Mink

I think you need to understand Ryan, that not everyone agrees on everything. Just because your ideas differ, doesnt mean they are wrong. If that was the case, we would be living in Nazi Germany. I dont always agree with what people say on here, and definatly not always with Mink, but i dont see the point of personal attacks on someone charecter just because of it.

Make your point, discuss it with others, then shut the f*ck up. If you want attention, go on the Google chat sites or something, i'm sure theres plenty of 50 year old men just waiting to talk to you.

In some ways i agree with Mink. Hollywood turns out so much sh*te. All the same forula, just wanting to make the next buck.

And to be honest, if i agree with him or not, i always find his comments entertaining.
Spankfish writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 2:50:56 PM

formula
LordLlewellyn80 writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 4:35:14 PM

Coming to Cinemas in 2010:

Disney's THE PARENT TRAP


...need I say anymore on the whole remake subject...
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 5:10:06 PM

Thanks spankfish. But you know, he's not the type to stick around. Just a hit and run poster with a need to make other people shut up. So don't expect a reply. f*ck him.
Ryanlawson writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 9:29:33 PM

i dont have time to write massive long posts on wp to people that go on for ever.. its ok mink. its ok.
i can see where your coming from saying that the more you like to pull apart a movie intellectually, the more likely you are to be disappointed. but not all movies are made to suit 'mink'. and if you say that every movie you hate is universally "utter crap" then it think its you that doesnt take into consideration other peoples opinions... moviees are subjective,

which is my whole point, atm all i see is universal slamming of everything on this site,
when one day i see a positive comment from you i will be pleasantly surprised.
im sure other more avid WP posters can vouch for you for that, but i have yet to see it.
Just something to think about. not trying to make you mad so you get all angrrryyyy and post 500 word essays about how 21 year olds like toy story.
VDODSON writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 2:59:17 AM

I will watch this only if they get the chick from Harry Potter to star in it. I find her strangely sexy.
mrmonkeybars writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 10:13:55 AM

Ok Im not sure that you can get the same chemistry as Goldie and Kurt, but if you are going to cast someone, wouldnt Kate Hudson be a better choice for that role??? I mean her mom was the original, and she has the right attitude for it.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved