WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"American Sniper" Still Dominating at Box Office, Johnny Depp's "Mortdecai" Flops
Jan 26th, 2015
"Birdman" Wins at PGA Awards, Becomes Favorite to Win Oscar
Jan 26th, 2015
Trailer: Keanu Reeves in Eli Roth's "Knock Knock" Thriller
Jan 25th, 2015
DreamWorks Downsizes, Delays "How to Train Your Dragon 3"
Jan 25th, 2015
Julia Roberts to Star in "Batkid Begins" Film
Jan 25th, 2015
Trailer for "She's Funny That Way" Comedy, with Owen Wilson and Jennifer Aniston
Jan 25th, 2015
Trailer for Anton Yelchin's "5 to 7" Comedy
Jan 25th, 2015
Photos: "Avengers: Age of Ultron" LEGO Sets Reveal Lots of Story Details
Jan 24th, 2015
Jesse Eisenberg Would Return as Lex Luthor in Future Films
Jan 24th, 2015
New Restricted Trailer for "Hot Tub Time Machine 2" Arrives Online
Jan 24th, 2015
"Con Air" Director Simon West to Remake "The Blob" Horror Film
Jan 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Rewrite" Comedy, with Hugh Grant and Marisa Tomei
Jan 24th, 2015
Oscar Isaac on Playing Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse," Plus Jean Grey, Cyclops and Storm Have Been Cast
Jan 23rd, 2015
"Project Almanac" Cuts Out Controversial Scene One Week From Release
Jan 23rd, 2015
Chiwetel Ejiofor in Talks for "Doctor Strange" Role
Jan 23rd, 2015
Video: Will Ferrell Hits Cheerleader in the Face at Basketball Game
Jan 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Vincent Cassel's "Partisan" Sundance Film
Jan 23rd, 2015
First Look at Leonardo DiCaprio in "The Revenant" Thriller
Jan 22nd, 2015
Photo: Will The Hulk Turn Grey in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"?
Jan 22nd, 2015
Four Actresses Considered for Female Lead in "Star Wars" Spin-Off
Jan 22nd, 2015
"Resident Evil: The Final Chapter" to Begin Filming in August
Jan 22nd, 2015
Nicolas Cage to Hunt Osama Bin Laden in "Army of One" Comedy, Directed by "Borat" Helmer
Jan 22nd, 2015
Fox Planning New Season of "24" Without Kiefer Sutherland
Jan 22nd, 2015
Promo Art: Batman's Armored Suit From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jan 21st, 2015
Trailer for "Kidnapping Mr. Heineken" Thriller, with Anthony Hopkins and Sam Worthington
Jan 21st, 2015
First Poster for Tom Hardy's "Child 44" Thriller
Jan 21st, 2015
"Mortal Kombat: Legacy" Actor Darren Shahlavi Dead at 42
Jan 21st, 2015
New Trailer for Salma Hayek's "Everly" Action Thriller
Jan 20th, 2015
New Trailer for Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Action Film, From Director of "Taken"
Jan 20th, 2015
Trailer for Dustin Hoffman's "Boychoir" Film
Jan 20th, 2015
"Batman v Superman" Choreographer Teases Fight Between Batman and Superman
Jan 20th, 2015
"The Purge 3" Will NOT Be a Prequel
Jan 20th, 2015
Trailer for "All the Wilderness," with Kodi Smit-McPhee and Danny DeVito
Jan 20th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Producer Reveals "Gears of War" Movie Details

Posted: December 8th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Producer Reveals "Gears of War" Movie DetailsSubmit Comment
Producer Wyck Godfrey (Twilight) sat down with MakingOf to talk about the upcoming big screen adaptation of the "Gears of War" video game, with Len Wiseman (Underworld, Live Free or Die Hard) attached to direct.

The game thrusts players into humankind's epic battle for survival against the Locust Horde, a nightmarish race of creatures that surface from the bowels of the planet. The story unfolds as a ragtag group of soldiers use every last ounce of strength to survive the onslaught from the forces of evil, which begins on the historic Emergence Day.

"The hard part is to make it into something that doesn't feel a world torn asunder and people in battle," said Godfrey. "I think we really want to focus on the idea of the world that's running well and then it's Emergency Day, make it impactful and immediate. [What its like during those 48 hours for people who have survived Emergence Day.] It's more like 'Cloverfield'."

He added: "Trying to tell the epic story of an alien planet that's living in a horrific environment just feels like the wrong mood right now."

Source: MakingOf


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 10:08:09 AM

Could be good. Len Wiseman is definitely a competent director is a workman like way. No real style his own, just what he emulates, but that's ok. I just hope this looks nothing like Doom. A decent writer, please, and none of that video-game to movie camp crap. Just for once take a video game adaptation seriously.
Stuntastic writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 10:12:41 AM

Now if there ever was a game to movie that could be really successful this is the one to do. This definitely needs to be rated R cuz there's just too much gore, but of course they're gonna want more money so they may go for PG-13
ian_918 writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 10:22:15 AM

Yeah this seems very promising. Very excited to see this movie. @Stuntastic.. It will more than likely be a hard R rating there is no way this could be a pg-13. And if it somehow did get a pg-13 rating i would not go see it.
minkowski writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 10:26:09 AM

It's going to be Pg13.
Stuntastic writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 10:47:21 AM

@IAN: I understand where your coming from, but to appeal to a more diverse demographic they want to appeal to just 21 and up. Think about it the majority of gamers are in there tweens and for them not to see it would mean a serious monetary loss for the studio. Look at Twilight for example
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 10:57:23 AM

You did notice the producer is attached to twilight so expect PG-13 and gay vampires
VDODSON writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 11:06:28 AM

Im sick and tired of these gay ass vampires. What happened to the vampires on Fright Night/Vampires/ Blade/even Underworld.
VDODSON writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 11:06:29 AM

Im sick and tired of these gay ass vampires. What happened to the vampires on Fright Night/Vampires/ Blade/even Underworld.
minkowski writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 11:09:03 AM

They're not going to spend millions and millions on a niche gaming film just to make it rated R. Maybe they've done that with some RE films, but I think they've learned a lesson. Also, I don't see this film getting produced as cheaply as any RE film, so the comparison is even less apt.

Either a cheap as f*ck R rated film, or a much better looking Pg-13 film. Those are your choices.
Popcorn101 writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 11:27:44 AM

game's single player great, online sucked ass...twilight producer GAYYYYY!!! although im liking the director
victor arroyo writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 11:44:28 AM

@jeffw1978:

hehehe
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 1:26:50 PM

Disagree with you to an extent Stunt, I still believe Halo ODST could be the most interesting film from a video game, I mean just some of the live action commercial stuff proves that. I do agree however on the R rated point. You can't even buy this game unless your 17.

I mean I'll take a violence cut if that means we get characters with substance and a plot I can't fall through.
KindredMac writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 1:27:46 PM

What is up with these mutha f*ckin Vampires on this mutha f*ckin plane?!?!?!

**** whoa... just blacked out there for a second. Did I channel SLJ again?
rabid writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 2:16:03 PM

Is there even a real plot to HALO though? It's just humans vs aliens. If it ever got any deeper than that, then I missed it.
Blank x2 writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 2:26:40 PM

@VDODSON

Fright Night. Amazing.

"Meet Jerry Dandridge". LoL
ian_918 writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 3:28:07 PM

@minkowski..Yeah that is true. It sucks though cause it has potential to be damn good with a R rating but to bring in the bucks they would need the gay ass teenagers to be able to see it. But just think.. What if they made it so kick-ass that people 18 and up would consider it a must see. I know its a video game adaptation but this is a awesome game and since it is being made into a movie it will be one of the best 2010 action flicks. If it was up to me i would gamble and make it a R rating.
LegacyAR writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 3:56:35 PM

I think this movie would be sweet and I agree with what Mink said fully. This movie will definitely be Rated R. Remember 300 made a ton of money and that was rated R. And don't rip on the man for producing Twilight. He put hardly any money into it and he made a sh*t ton back. That's just a good business decision.
TeemSelami writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 5:10:13 PM

how can this work pg-13
RoadDogXVIII writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 5:35:58 PM

"Think about it the majority of gamers are in there tweens and for them not to see it would mean a serious monetary loss for the studio. Look at Twilight for example"

Didn't that film make tons of money when it came out?
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 5:55:45 PM

@rabid Does Gears have a real plot? Do most of these video games have real plots? I can think of a couple, Bioshock, Uncharted 1&2 (just finished 2 which is an easy tie in for a game, the writing in that game rivals movies these days), and GTA. But Halo 3 ODST is an incredible opportunity to really expand upon the world while still making it relevant.

What you do is you take Saving Private Ryan or a Black Hawk Down, keep it just as dirty as it is now, and transport it into the world of Halo. You don't have to follow the story of the game, all you need to do is craft a story among a young marine. The world is what's important.

I feel as though an ODST movie is much more interesting than a Master Chief movie. I mean MC is just a shell, as where ODST that's a real being underneath there, flesh and blood just like us. It would be a lot easier to garnish an emotional connection between the audience and the protagonist if it were an ODST. You can throw Chief in for a cameo at the end or something.
vwkombi writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 9:00:20 PM

Well, since the majority of hardcore gamers are actually over 30, they can still go for the hard R without abandoning a built in auidience.

The Cloverfield idea is bullsh*t. One of the main aspects of the Gears games is the idea that humanity is on its knees trying to hold of extinction for as long as possible. We already know what it was like for people who survived 48 hours after emergence day, it's far more interesting to know the hell the others have gone through three f*cking years after it.

Hard R-rating, solid cast, scrap the producer of Twilight (seriously, keep that sh*t away from our Gears) and setting more the future scenes from the original Terminator.

TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 10:05:35 PM

I seriously doubt that claim of over 30. Hardcore gamers range from 15-30 if anything. Certainly not over it. Maybe gaming press is 30 and up but certainly not the main audience. HELL NO.
disturbed01 writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 10:35:48 PM

PLEASE DONT f*ck THIS UP!!!
vwkombi writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 2:34:43 AM

@ TH3D4RKKN1GH7

Yep, 25-38 is the age of most hardcore gamers. Then there's the 18-25 crowd. Then of course the people who are going to see a badass marine with a chainsaw bayonet on his machine gun f*cking up everything in sight crowd.

Pretty built in audience if you ask me.
MoH writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 3:42:41 PM

Who should play Markus and Dom?
Stuntastic writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 11:06:49 AM

@RoadDog: "Didn't that film make tons of money when it came out?" It came across the wrong way, but what I meant was if it wasn't for the tweens they wouldn't have made any kind of money


skooterz writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 12:56:44 PM

I'll watch it if it's a fairly loyal interpretation. Gears of War is a good game, and could probably work well as a movie.

Actor Edward Herrman Dead at 71

Chris Pine Says "Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit" is One of His Deep Regrets

Henry Cavill Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Split

Julia Roberts to Star in "Batkid Begins" Film

Tim Burton Was Replaced on "Batman Forever" Because of McDonalds

Adam Sandler is Hollywood's Most Overpaid Actor, Again

Anthony Mackie Discusses Becoming Captain America in Marvel Films

Sam Raimi Says He Messed Up "Spider-Man 3"

Ohio Man Demanding Refund for 50 "The Interview" Tickets

Brad Pitt, Christian Bale and Ryan Gosling to Star in "The Big Short"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved