WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Jurassic World" Trailer is Here!
Nov 26th, 2014
Trailer for Hugh Jackman's "Peter Pan" Prequel
Nov 26th, 2014
Ridley Scott Won't Direct "Blade Runner 2," Reveals Story Details
Nov 26th, 2014
Michael Fassbender to Star in Danny Boyle's "Steve Jobs" Biopic
Nov 26th, 2014
Trailer for Jennifer Aniston's "Cake" Arrives Online
Nov 26th, 2014
Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 25th, 2014
Michelle MacLaren Will Direct "Wonder Woman" Film
Nov 25th, 2014
Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Nov 25th, 2014
New Trailer For "The Interview" Comedy, with James Franco and Seth Rogen
Nov 25th, 2014
First Posters and Photos of Hugh Jackman in "Peter Pan" Prequel
Nov 25th, 2014
Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Nov 24th, 2014
First Footage From "Jurassic World" Arrives Online
Nov 24th, 2014
"Wanted" Producer Says Sequel is Still Happening
Nov 24th, 2014
New Photo of Arnold Schwazenegger as T-800 From "Terminator Genisys"
Nov 24th, 2014
"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Dominates at Box Office, Hits Franchise Low
Nov 23rd, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Director Says Shared Cinematic Universes Can Be a Mistake
Nov 23rd, 2014
Town Bans Winnie the Pooh for Being Half-Naked
Nov 23rd, 2014
First Poster for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Nov 22nd, 2014
Angelina Jolie Will Quit Acting to Focus on Directing
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for George Lucas' Animated "Strange Magic" Film
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "Pitch Perfect 2" Arrives Online
Nov 21st, 2014
"Zoolander 2" is Moving Forward, Penelope Cruz Joins Cast
Nov 21st, 2014
Stephen King's "The Stand" to Become Four Movies
Nov 21st, 2014
First Look: Patrick Stewart is a White Supremacist in "Green Room" Thriller
Nov 21st, 2014
Mel Gibson May Direct "Hacksaw Ridge," with Andrew Garfield to Star
Nov 21st, 2014
Ridley Scott Promises "a Fresher Form of Alien" in "Prometheus 2"
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Nov 20th, 2014
Trailer for "American Heist" Thriller with Hayden Christensen and Adrien Brody
Nov 20th, 2014
Melissa McCarthy to Star in Live-Action "Tinker Bell" Comedy
Nov 20th, 2014
Al Pacino is an Aging Rock Star in "Danny Collins" Trailer
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for "Peter Pan Live" Musical, with Christopher Walken as Captain Hook
Nov 20th, 2014
Six Actors in Talks for Cyclops and Jean Grey in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 19th, 2014
How Do Horror Fans Choose Movies? Not By Plot or Cast
Nov 19th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Producer Reveals "Gears of War" Movie Details

Posted: December 8th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Producer Reveals "Gears of War" Movie DetailsSubmit Comment
Producer Wyck Godfrey (Twilight) sat down with MakingOf to talk about the upcoming big screen adaptation of the "Gears of War" video game, with Len Wiseman (Underworld, Live Free or Die Hard) attached to direct.

The game thrusts players into humankind's epic battle for survival against the Locust Horde, a nightmarish race of creatures that surface from the bowels of the planet. The story unfolds as a ragtag group of soldiers use every last ounce of strength to survive the onslaught from the forces of evil, which begins on the historic Emergence Day.

"The hard part is to make it into something that doesn't feel a world torn asunder and people in battle," said Godfrey. "I think we really want to focus on the idea of the world that's running well and then it's Emergency Day, make it impactful and immediate. [What its like during those 48 hours for people who have survived Emergence Day.] It's more like 'Cloverfield'."

He added: "Trying to tell the epic story of an alien planet that's living in a horrific environment just feels like the wrong mood right now."

Source: MakingOf


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 10:08:09 AM

Could be good. Len Wiseman is definitely a competent director is a workman like way. No real style his own, just what he emulates, but that's ok. I just hope this looks nothing like Doom. A decent writer, please, and none of that video-game to movie camp crap. Just for once take a video game adaptation seriously.
Stuntastic writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 10:12:41 AM

Now if there ever was a game to movie that could be really successful this is the one to do. This definitely needs to be rated R cuz there's just too much gore, but of course they're gonna want more money so they may go for PG-13
ian_918 writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 10:22:15 AM

Yeah this seems very promising. Very excited to see this movie. @Stuntastic.. It will more than likely be a hard R rating there is no way this could be a pg-13. And if it somehow did get a pg-13 rating i would not go see it.
minkowski writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 10:26:09 AM

It's going to be Pg13.
Stuntastic writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 10:47:21 AM

@IAN: I understand where your coming from, but to appeal to a more diverse demographic they want to appeal to just 21 and up. Think about it the majority of gamers are in there tweens and for them not to see it would mean a serious monetary loss for the studio. Look at Twilight for example
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 10:57:23 AM

You did notice the producer is attached to twilight so expect PG-13 and gay vampires
VDODSON writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 11:06:28 AM

Im sick and tired of these gay ass vampires. What happened to the vampires on Fright Night/Vampires/ Blade/even Underworld.
VDODSON writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 11:06:29 AM

Im sick and tired of these gay ass vampires. What happened to the vampires on Fright Night/Vampires/ Blade/even Underworld.
minkowski writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 11:09:03 AM

They're not going to spend millions and millions on a niche gaming film just to make it rated R. Maybe they've done that with some RE films, but I think they've learned a lesson. Also, I don't see this film getting produced as cheaply as any RE film, so the comparison is even less apt.

Either a cheap as f*ck R rated film, or a much better looking Pg-13 film. Those are your choices.
Popcorn101 writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 11:27:44 AM

game's single player great, online sucked ass...twilight producer GAYYYYY!!! although im liking the director
victor arroyo writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 11:44:28 AM

@jeffw1978:

hehehe
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 1:26:50 PM

Disagree with you to an extent Stunt, I still believe Halo ODST could be the most interesting film from a video game, I mean just some of the live action commercial stuff proves that. I do agree however on the R rated point. You can't even buy this game unless your 17.

I mean I'll take a violence cut if that means we get characters with substance and a plot I can't fall through.
KindredMac writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 1:27:46 PM

What is up with these mutha f*ckin Vampires on this mutha f*ckin plane?!?!?!

**** whoa... just blacked out there for a second. Did I channel SLJ again?
rabid writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 2:16:03 PM

Is there even a real plot to HALO though? It's just humans vs aliens. If it ever got any deeper than that, then I missed it.
Blank x2 writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 2:26:40 PM

@VDODSON

Fright Night. Amazing.

"Meet Jerry Dandridge". LoL
ian_918 writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 3:28:07 PM

@minkowski..Yeah that is true. It sucks though cause it has potential to be damn good with a R rating but to bring in the bucks they would need the gay ass teenagers to be able to see it. But just think.. What if they made it so kick-ass that people 18 and up would consider it a must see. I know its a video game adaptation but this is a awesome game and since it is being made into a movie it will be one of the best 2010 action flicks. If it was up to me i would gamble and make it a R rating.
LegacyAR writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 3:56:35 PM

I think this movie would be sweet and I agree with what Mink said fully. This movie will definitely be Rated R. Remember 300 made a ton of money and that was rated R. And don't rip on the man for producing Twilight. He put hardly any money into it and he made a sh*t ton back. That's just a good business decision.
TeemSelami writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 5:10:13 PM

how can this work pg-13
RoadDogXVIII writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 5:35:58 PM

"Think about it the majority of gamers are in there tweens and for them not to see it would mean a serious monetary loss for the studio. Look at Twilight for example"

Didn't that film make tons of money when it came out?
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 5:55:45 PM

@rabid Does Gears have a real plot? Do most of these video games have real plots? I can think of a couple, Bioshock, Uncharted 1&2 (just finished 2 which is an easy tie in for a game, the writing in that game rivals movies these days), and GTA. But Halo 3 ODST is an incredible opportunity to really expand upon the world while still making it relevant.

What you do is you take Saving Private Ryan or a Black Hawk Down, keep it just as dirty as it is now, and transport it into the world of Halo. You don't have to follow the story of the game, all you need to do is craft a story among a young marine. The world is what's important.

I feel as though an ODST movie is much more interesting than a Master Chief movie. I mean MC is just a shell, as where ODST that's a real being underneath there, flesh and blood just like us. It would be a lot easier to garnish an emotional connection between the audience and the protagonist if it were an ODST. You can throw Chief in for a cameo at the end or something.
vwkombi writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 9:00:20 PM

Well, since the majority of hardcore gamers are actually over 30, they can still go for the hard R without abandoning a built in auidience.

The Cloverfield idea is bullsh*t. One of the main aspects of the Gears games is the idea that humanity is on its knees trying to hold of extinction for as long as possible. We already know what it was like for people who survived 48 hours after emergence day, it's far more interesting to know the hell the others have gone through three f*cking years after it.

Hard R-rating, solid cast, scrap the producer of Twilight (seriously, keep that sh*t away from our Gears) and setting more the future scenes from the original Terminator.

TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 10:05:35 PM

I seriously doubt that claim of over 30. Hardcore gamers range from 15-30 if anything. Certainly not over it. Maybe gaming press is 30 and up but certainly not the main audience. HELL NO.
disturbed01 writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 10:35:48 PM

PLEASE DONT f*ck THIS UP!!!
vwkombi writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 2:34:43 AM

@ TH3D4RKKN1GH7

Yep, 25-38 is the age of most hardcore gamers. Then there's the 18-25 crowd. Then of course the people who are going to see a badass marine with a chainsaw bayonet on his machine gun f*cking up everything in sight crowd.

Pretty built in audience if you ask me.
MoH writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 3:42:41 PM

Who should play Markus and Dom?
Stuntastic writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 11:06:49 AM

@RoadDog: "Didn't that film make tons of money when it came out?" It came across the wrong way, but what I meant was if it wasn't for the tweens they wouldn't have made any kind of money


skooterz writes:
on December 10th, 2009 at 12:56:44 PM

I'll watch it if it's a fairly loyal interpretation. Gears of War is a good game, and could probably work well as a movie.

It's Official! Channing Tatum to Star in "Gambit" Spin-Off

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot

Christopher Nolan Hates Post-Credits Scenes, Here's Why

"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed

Daniel Bruhl is Villain in "Captain America 3" and "Doctor Strange"

Margot Robbie is Harley Quinn in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film

Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy

Jared Leto May Play The Joker in "Suicide Squad"

"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved