WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

MGM Describes "Red Dawn" Remake as Live-Action "Call of Duty"

Posted: December 8th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
MGM Describes "Red Dawn" Remake as Live-Action "Call of Duty"Submit Comment
The upcoming "Red Dawn" remake is currently shooting in Detroit and while we have only seen random set photos, we have yet to see any footage. But MGM head Mary Parent has.

At an event for powerful industry women, THR caught up with Parent, who said that she has been following the production very closely and that first-time director Dan Bradley, who choreographed stunt work in "Bourne" and "Spider-Man" movie, "has really outdone himself."

She added that the movie plays like "a live-action 'Call of Duty'" video game. Hopefully a trailer will appear online soon so we can see this for ourselves. For now, "Red Dawn" is scheduled to hit theaters on November 24th, 2010.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 9:57:44 AM

If it plays like a live action call of Duty game, it's really not much of a Red dawn remake.
ian_918 writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 10:25:06 AM

Yes true but it sounds like she wanted to compare the action level with something to give us a tease of the movie. I think this is one of the promising remakes coming to us.
minkowski writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 10:40:31 AM

I was always under the impression that Red Dawn was a character driven type film. Much like Breakfast Club and many, many teen oriented flicks back then.

I just don't see how hyper-kinetic action plays too much into the film. Then again, flicks were a lot more subtle back then, operating with a higher level of tact, whereas today's film are pretty much right in your face, sloughing off the story with as much tact and subtlety as a landslide.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 10:45:11 AM

didn't MGM go under?

Also, f*ck Red Dawn, patriotic "rah rah amurica" bullsh*t.
The Dini writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 10:55:25 AM

Kind of cool they shot the some of the picture in my home town! My dad was an extra for one of the the military prison scenes.
VDODSON writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 10:57:10 AM

GO USA! You cant beat whole 'nobody f*cks with the usa and gets away with it'' concept. Its pretty much true, but other countries have grown irratable about it, and started badmouthing us. If I could, I would like to meet every anti US commie d*cksuck whose been talking sh*t, and beat them within an inch of their life, but I cant afford it. So, how about calming down with this sort of movie, even the Swedes have been talking sh*t!
minkowski writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 11:14:02 AM

Gotta agree with you there, Vdod.

"didn't MGM go under?"

Yeah, according to an idiot that used to hang out on here, MGM went under because of 'piracy', even though MGM hardly produced any films, and none of them were high market value films worth pirating.
minkowski writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 11:16:47 AM

"Also, f*ck Red Dawn, patriotic "rah rah amurica" bullsh*t."

Easy to say when you don't have your own military, Spooks, when you're Canadian national defense is subsidized by hiding under America's hat. I mean, who the f*ck are you going to go to war with? Eskimo's in ice tanks?
VDODSON writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 11:21:01 AM

Iceland has not military as well, we had their back until two years ago when we closed Keflavic air base. Now what will the bastards do if Vikings invade again. They love our blanket of freedom, but they just dont like the colors. Props go to the French, the all stars of american bashing. Chicken sh*t frog eaters, they couldnt even guard their Crepes.
minkowski writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 11:23:33 AM

lol.

I like you more and more every day dude.
minkowski writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 11:24:16 AM

Ahh, Germany. The people that invented ass-kicking. lol. f*cking stupid Romans.
VDODSON writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 11:33:13 AM

My landlord claims his brother was in the SS, not sure how I feel about that...
minkowski writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 11:40:29 AM

Depends. Not every guy in the SS was into genocide or supported Hitler. Some thought it was their patriotic duty, others were just doing what they had to do to stay alive.

Any signs of disloyalty could mean death. So that's understandable, and I don't think the Final Solution was advertised to every German. Many thought they were just still being relocated to camps for processing out of the country.

So it depends on him as an individual I think. What he felt. Since we will never know I guess he deserves the benefit of the doubt.
Ranger writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 11:45:19 AM

Well said Mink (not just the benefit of the doubt to vdod's landlord), but you're dead on (ugh... not an intended pun), but they did what they did out of duty, fear of death (or the threat of death to their family - Hitler was a cranky bitch!), and also true, a LOT of the German people (even some in the military) didn't know exactly what was going on. That era is such a fascinating study.
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 11:53:04 AM

Anyone notice similarities between a certaing germail furer and a current POTUS? Socialism all i am going to say.
ksplatt writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 11:58:16 AM

@mink--ur new epic glamour shot is, well...epic.

@V--"My landlord claims his brother was in the SS, not sure how I feel about that..." feel honored.
minkowski writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 11:58:24 AM

Thanks Ranger. I think a lot of 'Nazis' caught the bad rap just like every communist in mother Russia. Just because you're under the tyrannical thumb of a dictator and his evil henchmen, doesn't mean you as an individual are just as evil.

Back during the Bush rancor, Americans took enormous flack because of our president. Regardless of whether you voted for him or not. So it became a situation where the guy that ran the show made the reputation of every citizen. Stalin's bad rep as a communist painted all Russian's negatively, as did Hitler.

And I feel that during those days, being a 'Nazi' was just the way to redeem national pride. It wasn't necessarily an endorsement of every act the high command signed off on.
minkowski writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 12:00:20 PM

Thanks Ksplatt.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 1:47:44 PM

""Also, f*ck Red Dawn, patriotic "rah rah amurica" bullsh*t."

Easy to say when you don't have your own military, Spooks, when you're Canadian national defense is subsidized by hiding under America's hat. I mean, who the f*ck are you going to go to war with? Eskimo's in ice tanks?"

LMAO!!!!

Moving on, I liked the original Red Dawn. I saw it about a year or two ago on HDNET for the first time. Good stuff man, if they can get a good cast of young actors and focus on the writing, I'd be down to see it. First film was definitely more about the individuals than the battle itself.
ian_918 writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 3:31:29 PM

Maybe they will some how be able to keep the emotional strength the first had with interesting dialouge and kick-ass action.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 3:48:22 PM

"So, how about calming down with this sort of movie, even the Swedes have been talking sh*t!"

Hell yeah. When we starting to bad-mouth you, you know you're in trouble. We will send angry letters and make you pay for the postage.

SACdaddy writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 5:54:57 PM

@Freudian Nightmare: LOL!!! You Swedes just get funnier and funnier everyday.

What do Tiger Woods and a baby seal have in common? They've both been clubbed by a Swede :)
SACdaddy writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 6:10:55 PM

I'm getting pretty interested in the film being set in Detroit. A major metropolitan staging ground offers so many possiblities for street warfare and massive destruction. It can be even better if it has the same multiseasonal span that the first one had. Maybe the bitter Detroit winter can be the turning point in the battle for the city like a Waterloo or Stalingrad. Lets just hope this bitch knows what she's talking about when she says "a live-action 'Call of Duty'" video game. Sounds like codeword for first person shaky cam bullsh*t. Please don't ruin another film with this horrible technique.
vwkombi writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 9:09:16 PM

@ Mink

Did you ever see the American clothing company whos tags said "Sorry about our President, we didn't vote for him".

But i believe that Red Dawn was actually a movie that could benefit from a remake. It had a high-concept plot that could've explored the effects that war could have on American children and upholding your patriotism in the call of duty. But it focused more on shooting and explosions. It would be awesome if the remake delved into those themes a little more.
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 12:08:51 AM

Yeah I saw those, and I'm starting to see all the anti-Obama sh*t. Not like I like the guy or that I even liked Bush, but I get so effin weary of all the political bickering. I can the dangerous beauty in a one party only system: an organic cohesion you can't get in multi-party system. I can see why fascism had its appeal, not that I would ever remotely endorse it.
vwkombi writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 1:29:47 AM

@ Mink

I know what you mean. But half the problem is finding enough human beings with enough intelligence and common sense fit enough to rule without becoming corrupt.
barley_cat writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 10:59:51 AM

Are you freakin kiddin me!? No way are they remaking this!!!!!! OMG i'm pissed off.. i love the original and refuse to watch the remake. The original cast for red dawn worked amazingly hard on this, god Patrick swayze would be turning in his grave.
barley_cat writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 10:59:51 AM

Are you freakin kiddin me!? No way are they remaking this!!!!!! OMG i'm pissed off.. i love the original and refuse to watch the remake. The original cast for red dawn worked amazingly hard on this, god Patrick swayze would be turning in his grave.
Horsemoney5 writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 5:23:00 PM

She dropped the "Call of duty" line because she knows that will grab peoples attention but honestly this wont work and whose gonna invade this time?.....

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved