WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ryan Reynolds Wants Quentin Tarantino for "Deadpool"

Posted: December 7th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ryan Reynolds Wants Quentin Tarantino for "Deadpool"Submit Comment
Ryan Reynolds recently revealed that he has started meeting with writers for the upcoming "Deadpool" spin-off. But at this point, there is still no director attached to the project.

"You think directors for a movie like this and you immediately picture [Quentin] Tarantino or somebody like that," Reynolds told MTV News. "Obviously Tarantino is a guy that likes to direct his own material, so there's a good chance he wouldn't be the guy. We all have our lists of dream directors."

It's interesting that Reynolds mentioned Tarantino, since the director was recently offered to direct "The Green Lantern," Reynolds' other superhero film. Tarantino ended up turning down the offer, stating that as much as he loves comic book projects, he may be too old now to get involved in them. Plus, he would rather come up with his own heroes.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 108 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pomme writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 8:16:56 PM

ah ah ah ah !the joke of the year!!!!
Ranger writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 8:23:04 PM

Who gives a sh*t who you want Ryan. I'm a fan. But unless you're a Producer... you have sooooo little say in things.

Just stick to bangin' Scarlett.
WannaSeeDatThong writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 8:37:14 PM

^best advice of the century
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 8:46:29 PM

Agreed, Ranger. Didn't Hugh Jackman push for the guy that directed "Wolverine 4"? Look how that turned out.
minkowski writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 8:58:43 PM

I find it very amazing that Reynolds barely has much of a career, either co-starring in sh*t films or starring in sh*ttier films, but he seems to think, all of a sudden, that he now holds the reins on what a film should look like, who should appear and what director should get behind the camera.

I mean, I like the guy, but he hasn't had that many great films. Amityville might be the best he's come to that I can recall, character wise, whereas all his other roles are either garbage like Van Wilder or middling parodic schlock like Waiting.

Even when he gets a chance to break his stereotype, he seems to f*ck it up by lazily going back to classic Reynolds. Now he somehow thinks he can handle the role of producer when he barely find his ass with both hands.
OwenWilsonsNose writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 8:59:09 PM

Wolverine 4? There are 3 Wolverine movies I haven't heard of?
vwkombi writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 8:59:36 PM

@ Evil.kev

Gavin Hood had a pretty good track record before Origins with most of his previous work being critically successful.
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 9:11:03 PM

I would be happy just sticking it to Scarlett. So I would keep my mouth shut.
Vin12 writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 9:13:16 PM

@ranger
name one bad movie hes been in
AshTrey writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 9:14:48 PM

keep dreaming reynolds... just hope its not the same director as Wolverine. ITS CHRISTMAS TIME... EVERYONES GOT A WISH LIST!!
minkowski writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 9:21:30 PM

Van Wilder. Harold and Kumar. Foolproof. Blade 3. Just Friends. Chaos Theory. Defintely Maybe. The Proposal. X-Men Origins. Big Monster on Campus.
warriors187 writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 9:30:07 PM

"name one bad movie hes been in"

Ryan Reynolds is the man, but come on, thats too damn easy. The Amityville Horror remake sucked. and i could go on with his shiity movies, and personally i didn't like Smokin' Aces or Waiting (Just frieds, wtf>?)
But he's also got some good flicks under his belt, like Chaos Theory, Adventureland (small role but loved him in it), and The Nines wasnt half bad.
I think Ryan Reynolds is a lot better than 90 percent of the other hollywood queers and he's a damn fine actor (again, if you haven't already, check him out in Chaos Theory)
warriors187 writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 9:31:01 PM

haha you posted b4 i could, you didn't like Chaos Theory? At least you could admit that he showcased his acting skills pretty damn good.
Vin12 writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 9:32:28 PM

@ mink
u think all of those r bad movies? to each in his own
TheStig writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 9:34:14 PM

okay i realize reynolds has absolutely NO grounds on which to make demands or hopes like this...but if you know anything about teh comics they are pretty intense violence wise and tarantino would actually be a pretty good fit as long as they let him make it how he wanted and had it rated R. a really graphic and intense Deadpool would be okay with me....so even though he really is delusional in thinking he has any right to make this suggestion, it actually is a decent idea.
minkowski writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 9:35:23 PM

Oh, he has talent, he's just too damned immature to let it get the best of him.

And CT was ok, but it's funny that the movies you listed are my favorite RR films, not because he's in them, but in spite of that fact.

And yeah AH wasn't great by a long shot, but it was certainly better than the original, which isn't saying much and RR did get a chance to show the audience he can do more than gags and goofy facial expressions. I thought he conveyed the character very well, considering the film's limited depth.
lost_addict writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 9:35:47 PM

why does he waste time talking when he could do the motor boat all day with his sexy wife?
warriors187 writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 9:36:02 PM

I agree with mink on all of them excluding Chaos Theory. And yes, Van Wilder was a sucky movie, but i remember the last time i watched it a laughed a lot, but that was when it first came out like 6 years ago
warriors187 writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 9:38:42 PM

good call. He played a psycho well in that
warriors187 writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 9:40:03 PM

8 years ago...sh*t i was only 12 when it came out, no wonder why i laughed
ian_918 writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 9:41:27 PM

He is not right for the job. Obviously. But whatever director takes it on.. I WANA SEE SCARLETT GET PLOWED. Just one simple request.
Ranger writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 9:44:47 PM

VinDandy - where in my post I say Ryan was in bad movies?

I said I was a fan of his.
I said he has no say as he's just an actor.
And I suggest he bang the wife a little more.

Re-read my post, or learn to read, or learn to understand what you read. Douche Bag!
c-prime writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 9:48:53 PM

Well, since nobody's said it, I guess I'll be the first: I enjoyed Reynolds in "Smokin' Aces". That flick was hugely underrated in my opinion.
warriors187 writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 9:59:00 PM

My brother loves that movie, and I'll be honest I've only seen it once, there was just something about it...maybe one to many R@B "stars"...
Ranger writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 10:00:50 PM

I liked Smokin Aces a lot!
TheStig writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 10:35:46 PM

ian:

I think you can make the argument that tarantino would actually be a good choice to make this film have an interesting and unique feel as opposed to the same boring and unoriginal approach that we see almost every superhero movie use these days...you could see him combining the fun smart ass sarcastic humor of reynolds (perfect for Deadpool) with the intense action and ninja-esque swordplay of kill bill with the original approaches that we've come to expect from tarantino...if tarantino expresses interest why would you NOT take him?!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 10:41:24 PM

"Harold and Kumar."

You're retarded if you didn't think that movie was good.
TheStig writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 10:46:05 PM

NEEDED CLARIFICATION:


funny/entertaining does NOT equal good.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 11:15:55 PM

"Smokin' Aces" was definitely a good movie.
Reynolds could progress into a good actor and solidify his career, but he needs to stay away from romantic f*cking comedies.

He will never be taken serious until stops doing lame sh*t.

He didn't say anything outrageous here. He he'd like Tarantino to direct "Deadpool", but he's well aware QT isn't doing that. Sounds like a man with his feet on the ground.

Also: "funny/entertaining does NOT equal good"

- Exactly!
Kindlegolas writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 11:19:47 PM

No where in his quote does he demand Tarantino for director..All he is saying is that he would like him to be the director.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 11:52:33 PM

* He "said" he'd like Tarantino to direct...
Vin12 writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 11:59:54 PM

@ranger
sorry bout that keep typing ur name instead of mink, even when i did mink knew i was talkin him what's that say bout u
c-prime writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 12:00:16 AM

Well said, Peter. I have to admit that I typically enjoy Ryan Reynolds even in his weakest films. Sure, "Waiting..." and "Van Wilder" were, for the most part, trash, but his snarky attitude is so endearing, it makes them both watchable. I also find "Just Friends" to be mostly hilarious.

However, there are just some Ryan Reynolds films that are absolute drivel. I already ranted the other day on "Blade: Trinity". And "Harold & Kumar" is undoubtedly the worst "comedy" since "Ishtar". Hell, it's just a f*cking sh*tty movie in general.
RoadDogXVIII writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 12:16:05 AM

I'm down with that. We need a good X-Men film that won't get slammed by the fans.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 12:18:13 AM

@ c-prime:

I'm with you on that one. I dig Reynolds' witty remarks and his sarcasm. They usually add a touch of humor and coolness to the characters he plays. He made me laugh in "Blade Trinity"... and that's not an easy thing to do, considering the movie!!!

In case anyone's thinking "laugh in Blade Trinity???", here's why:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2VF8bXMEJFI
rabid writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 12:23:50 AM

It would work. Deadpool in the comics is a huge Tarantino fan.

Ryan Reynold's wit may be a acquired taste, but he is the only man in Hollywood who could ever pull off Deadpool.
rabid writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 12:25:40 AM

If Marvel is going to hire Tarantino, it should be for the Heroes for Hire movie... or Hands of Shang-Chi.
Ranger writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 12:26:47 AM

Or Dandy does Dallas.
Chewbacca writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 12:28:23 AM

Chewy respects Reynolds as an actor with decent films, but Chewy think Reynolds is a few beer cans short of six pack if he thinks this has slightest possibility.
Ranger writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 12:31:30 AM

I think Chewy should seek out a conversation with his High School Counselor to discuss why he sees the need to present himself in the 3rd. person.
TheStig writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 12:34:58 AM

TheStig agrees with Ranger...aww sh*t.
blinkbomber writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 12:51:35 AM

the best movie he'll ever be in is a sex tape of him and scarlet... and in that one he's just a sh*tty co-star!
DoucheNozzle writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 1:04:33 AM

Don't know if anybody has mentioned it, but the Zombieland writing duo are close to signing on to write the flick. Seems like a good fit to me, with all the humor Deadpool as a character exudes.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 1:13:17 AM

Oh, Mink, I get that Reynolds hasn't been in many good films, but his next film, Buried, has one of the best indie scripts I've read, where the entire movie takes place in a coffin that he had been buried in on a trip to the middle east. I'm not selling it well enough, but it's a very smart and exciting script, and gives Reynolds a chance to really show his acting chops. I'll wait to see that before passing final judgement.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 1:20:14 AM

He's "buried alive," I should have said.
rabid writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 1:26:14 AM

I don't know about the Zombieland folks being a good fit. Deadpool plots should be severely disjointed, subversive humor with wild schizoid direction and special fx overkill.
Guy Ritchie would've been nice. and Tarantino really would work. Zombieland was funny, but it was a bit on the boring side for a zombie film.
warriors187 writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 1:26:27 AM

At the beginning of Just Friends when RR is still in the fat suit and looks to the camera right after finding out that he gave Amy Smart the wrong yearbook and says "Oh my god" lol That was some funny sh*t-
But still a sh*t movie, though i admit, pretty damn funny at times
c-prime writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 1:29:26 AM

@ DoucheNozzle: That possibility could pose a thin glimmer of hope, maybe, but for starters, I'm still kind of uncertain about what Deadpool's appearance in this movie will. I mean, can viewers expect to see him look like a pasty, albino crimefighter with pink eye and his mouth seminally glued shut? An even more important question would be is this character even INTERESTING enough to center a feature-length movie on (without the aid of more prominent superheroes that is)? He is pretty obscure compared to most. Or is the studio simply relying on special effects and the probable snideness Reynolds will bring to carry most of the film? I have strong doubts about this film. Even more than I did about that turkey "Wolverine", in fact. But we shall see how it plays out.

@ Peter: You're right. I can remember sitting in the theater five years ago laughing my head off to that scene. Especially the quip "c*ck-juggling thunder-c*nt." They coulda cut Triple H. making out with that f*cking vamp dog from the movie though.
warriors187 writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 1:45:38 AM

Its cool how most everybody here agrees that RR is a bad ass, but 85 percent of his movies suck.
I know I shouldn't bring Nick Cage into the equation, but I'm a huge NC fan even though he has played in some god awful movies over the years.-- for me at least, his good movies overshadow the bad.
telur writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 1:52:13 AM

it's very stupid idea ryan
rabid writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 2:21:56 AM

I see Nic Cage as the anti-Reynolds. He sucks as an actor yet all his films are oddly enjoyable.
Bigcheese writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 2:35:28 AM

Not the best idea in the world, but still i can see where rynolds is coming from.
warriors187 writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 4:14:39 AM

The Weather Man is in my top 5 favorite movies of all time and I believe that Nicolas Cage's acting was amazing in that movie, no?

"He sucks as an actor yet all his films are oddly enjoyable."

Agreed/But he's a great actor when he wants to be. (Adaptaion, Matchstick Men, Bringing out The Dead, (Im a Lynch fan so Wild At Heart) Leaving Las Vegas...uhhhh Raising Arizone???)

I just wanted to share a quote from the great Chevy Chase-
(I feel like this applies to the situation)

"I made about 28 movies, and I think about five of them were good."
-Chevy Chase

P.S. Im right as the mail.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 4:49:56 AM

"sorry bout that keep typing ur name instead of mink, even when i did mink knew i was talkin him what's that say bout u"

Is there anyone here, that can make any goddamn sense from that sentence. It seems like Dandy's daddy is so white-trash, even his semen are loaded with alcohol. Learn spit Dandy, if you ever want to pass kindergarten.

Ranger writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 4:56:43 AM

'Learn spit Dandy, if you ever want to pass kindergarten.' = Priceless!

Yeah, VinDandy had me lost with that post as well.
minkowski writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 5:13:41 AM

"sorry bout that keep typing ur name instead of mink, even when i did mink knew i was talkin him what's that say bout u"

dandy to human translation;

I can't speak clearly. I have a big d*ck between my buck teeth and a rabid kangeroo f*cking my ass. I just wish Ryan was hear to help.
Carpen7er writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 5:13:43 AM

I want John Carpenter to direct my home movie
minkowski writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 5:20:52 AM

"Well, since nobody's said it, I guess I'll be the first: I enjoyed Reynolds in "Smokin' Aces". That flick was hugely underrated in my opinion."

One of my favorite films of all time, especially for the excellently well done ending with Clint Mansell's monumentally apt score layered over Ryan Reynold's excellent and gutsy closing performance.
minkowski writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 5:23:29 AM

"You're retarded if you didn't think that movie was good."

what was good about it, Spooky? Two lame actors laying down think stoner and gross-out gags? It was only marginally more intelligent than Date Movie.
Bigcheese writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 5:26:43 AM

I just read about the Zombieland guys writing Deadpool. I think they would do a Brilliant job, as long as they stick to the source material. I think the Deadpool Suicide Kings story would translate well to the Screen, but thats just my suggestion.
minkowski writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 5:33:36 AM

And personally, Tarantino is just over-rated. I'm sure that'll draw some screams from the critically challenged crowd, but let's face it, the guy made his rep off of Pulp Fiction, and has done the bare minimum to maintain it, He's hardly done much to push that reputation, that name acclaim by directing mostly middling films. I think some of have claimed Inglorious Basterds is something of a triumph, but I haven't seen it, so perhaps that's true, yet considering all that I've seen from him in the interval between Fiction and now, I have tow wonder if IB's critical acclaim is tied up more in the cult of Tarantino and less in critical analysis of the film.

To be honest, throwing a famous director at every damned project is not the answer. And I don't think Tarantino is right for this. neither is Zack Snyder or Bryan Singer. With Deadpool, I suspect you need a director with a fluid, loose approach to the cinematic process, not some tight-fisted perfectionist. And a writer, preferably the director himself to maintain consistency, that knows the subject material in more than a detailed way. Someone with an appreciation for the overall scheme and ambiance of Deadpool's persona and environment. Someone that gets the spirit even if he doesn't understand the canon.
RobertHolik writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 6:09:45 AM

You guys are out of your f*cking minds. This guy can get Tarantino to do it... he got Scarlett Johansson to marry him, didn't he????
minkowski writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 6:13:15 AM

He can't get someone like Tarantino to do it if Tarantino doesn't WANT to the film. He married Johansson because he's handsome, famous, wealthy and likable. I don't think any of those qualities will woo Quentin. Dandy perhaps, but not Tarantino.
Carpen7er writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 6:35:13 AM

Im sick of this Reynolds/Deadpool S*hit
TRUEMAN writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 7:51:07 AM

THis gay of RR is a stupid Douche Bag! all his movies are pure crap he is not definitively oscar material, he is only a regular actor for the moment and zoom he will be SAm W. bicht!
TheStig writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 8:55:07 AM

"he guy made his rep off of Pulp Fiction, and has done the bare minimum to maintain it,"

totally agree...i also like reservoir dogs, but since PF I just dont see much that impresses me. I also agree that a more unknown director would be good. someone who loves the comics and wants to stick to the character...


"Deadpool Suicide Kings story would translate well to the Screen, but thats just my suggestion."

yes yes yes. I definitely think that would work well...



and whoever said it Deadpool is easily a complex enough character to maintain his own full length film...he's a character who is different enough that his film has the potential to be very unique and a fresh breath from the superhero crap that has been coming out (Fantastic Four, Spidey 3, Wolverine, etc.)...he also is a character who would provide the opportunity to have some incredibly intense and entertaining fight scenes...few things cooler than katanas and machine guns in my opinion...plus his suit is one of the coolest in the superhero universe

TheStig writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 8:59:16 AM

plus teleportation...


if you havent figured it out i love this character
victor arroyo writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 9:09:22 AM

mmmm Tarantino might be afraid of getting out of his comfort zone, don't get me wrong, I'm a fan, but this project is a little different. But i have no doubt that it would be the sh*t if he did it.

How about zack snyder for the part, THAT would be awesome.

and I am reynolds fan but I have to agree, smoking aces is his only "good good" performance and maybe Amityville.

PEACE!
minkowski writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 9:28:16 AM

"How about zack snyder for the part, THAT would be awesome."

No.
TheStig writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 9:34:59 AM

hahahahaha the last thing we need is Deadpool to be an attempt at a deep or philosophical or pretentious film like Watchmen. If this movie is not laid back, sarcastic, funny, and entertaining like Deadpool should be then it will have missed the point entirely
SACdaddy writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 9:43:44 AM

Is Deadpool going to be R rated: NO
Does Tarantino do PG-13: NO
Is Ryan Reynold overexposed: YES
Will Marvel be bankrupt in 10 years: You bet your ass it will be if it keeps hyping sh*t it can't back up. This a company that screwed up Spider Man, the Punisher, Wolverine, and the Hulk! What makes you think it will do any better with DP. And before you start sucking Iron Man's metallic d*ck, let's see if it goes the same route as Spidey and X-men by its third installment.

At least Reynolds knows that using a director like Tarantino might be the only way to accurately portray the title character in all his glory. Really, who the f*ck knows how to run there mouth better than Reynolds, Tarantino, and Deadpool?!?! Marvel just doesn't have the balls or the brains to make it happen.
TheStig writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 9:50:04 AM

have we heard what it will be rated? Punisher was R so it's not outside the realm of possibility.
SACdaddy writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 10:16:42 AM

Yeah Pun was R, and it failed miserably! The studio wont take another chance like that if it means loosing money.
minkowski writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 10:18:41 AM

"hahahahaha the last thing we need is Deadpool to be an attempt at a deep or philosophical or pretentious film like Watchmen. If this movie is not laid back, sarcastic, funny, and entertaining like Deadpool should be then it will have missed the point entirely"

You nailed it perfectly. That's how it is. He's too damned serious, and that's all too wrong for Deadpool.
TheStig writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 10:19:06 AM

Punisher bombed because it was weak...not because it was R.
victor arroyo writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 10:19:21 AM

@minkowski:

hahahaha I see, graunchy as always man.

@TheStig:

what's a good superhero movie according to you?

@SACdaddy:

you made a motherf*cking solid poit my friend, well said.

"At least Reynolds knows that using a director like Tarantino might be the only way to accurately portray the title character in all his glory."

PEACE!
ian_918 writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 10:30:45 AM

@TheStig.. Well with his style it just dosn't quite fit. I get what your saying but superhero movies have had the same style for a while and it probably won't change any time soon. But if he actually said yes i want to do Deadpool then hell yeah i would want him to do it. Just to see how he would make a superhero movie. And its the perfect film to try on cause obviously it will be sh*t along with 2 or 3 more sequels or prequels to it.
TheStig writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 10:53:17 AM

something that is entertaining...not FX driven but uses FX well...portrays the character in a way that is consistent with the source material...gives me something unique and original that I have not seen done a million times before...push the envelope
victor arroyo writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 10:57:47 AM

@TheStig:

and example?
SACdaddy writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 11:02:32 AM

@VA: thx man.

@ian: Wasn't the Bride in Kill Bill pretty close to a superhero? She was indestructible, had superstrength, knew karate, had a cool weapon, and fought supervillains.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 11:12:10 AM

@ Vic:

"Sin City"!
I've said this before. Imagine a "Punisher" movie, Sin City style. The gore, the decadent city, the photography, the narrator and the FX. A "Punisher" movie, adapted into the "Sin City" style, would be a tribute to the comics and great way to bring Frank Castle to the big screen.
TheStig writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 11:13:50 AM

Iron Man was done well...Dark Knight was pretty good although it tended to veer away from being a superhero movie...unfortunately not many movies have all of the characteristics i listed. lots of them have random bits of entertaining or promising pieces though...opening nightcrawler scene of X2...aspects of Spidey 1 and 2 were solid...etc.

Too bad so few movies get together enough of these things in the same film



TheStig writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 11:16:56 AM

oh and as AWFUL as the fantastic four movies were...some of the FX of silver surfer was really well done...that could just be me loving surfer though
minkowski writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 11:27:13 AM

Hell, the Thomas Jane Punisher was the absolute worst of them all. I mean, how the f*ck do you screw up the story of a guy killing to avenge his dead family??
minkowski writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 11:29:38 AM

TheStig: excellent opinions on what you'd like to see in a superhero film. You nail down how I feel. Every Sh film gets something right, but none of them get it all right.

Peter Parker: A sin City type of Punisher sounds great. I'd like to see that, so long as it's done right and not as some lame The Spirit kind of sh*tty rip off.
TheStig writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 11:32:15 AM

sin city punisher could be really cool...but that's a huge hit or miss...not done well and it would be absolutely horrible
victor arroyo writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 11:32:56 AM

@TheStig:

the movies that you listed are great, and I really like them, but you said:

"original that I have not seen done a million times before...push the envelope"

come on, Iron Man falls into that category and so as TDK, I love those movies but a have to disagree dude, respectfully, but I have to disagree.

I think the only superhero or comic book movies that fall into your statement are:

300
sin city
watchmen
unbreakable
maybe Constantine

victor arroyo writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 11:41:16 AM

and I'm not saying that this movies are perfect, but at least they are a little different.
TheStig writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 11:42:24 AM

unbreakable, sin city, watchmen all good films...

DK and Ironman both did things that we hadn't seen before...the Joker was a villain unlike anyother so there's the unique aspect that sets that one apart. And Ironman had some scenes that were great...F-22s chasing a man in a suit that can fly: Ironman himself is a unique superhero which means in a solid movie like his we will see things that only he can do...
Ranger writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 11:46:10 AM

Well said Stig.
victor arroyo writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 11:47:15 AM

how about spawn hahahahaha
TheStig writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 11:50:22 AM

why thank you ranger...
Ranma-Irias writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 12:23:35 PM

reynolds is just taking control of the Deadpool movie because he wants it to be a very good movie and not crap...you don't see him talking about directors or writers on other movies.
rabid writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 12:26:00 PM

I thought the Jane Punisher film was decent. I disliked it because A) it was PG-13 and B) it pissed all over the comic character's story.

Punisher in Miami? Get a grip.
minkowski writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 1:39:40 PM

They turned him into a wuss!
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 1:52:38 PM

I wouldn't say a wuss, I'd say they made him human. The last Punisher film, the lead certainly looked the part and was badass enough, but every time he tried to show heart I cringed. Also, I'm a fan of Reynolds but he has done some meh films, I always think he does his job well enough. The film he did with that little girl and he was talking about who her mother was, that was enjoyable I thought. I forget the name of it though.
Bigcheese writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 2:06:08 PM

RR has made some "Meh" films, but all of them i have seen have at least one laugh out Loud moment. The man is simply brilliant.
ian_918 writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 3:34:17 PM

@SACdaddy.. Eh i still wouldn't consider that a superhero movie.. It was more of a vigilante driven woman.
darkraven28 writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 3:46:01 PM

If you want two and a half hours of self-indulgent talking, then by all means pick Tarantino. Then you'll get twelve minutes of action in the film and Tarantino's career will be over. Hey, sounds like Tarantino should do it! I'm sick of him anyway.
Chewbacca writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 4:09:52 PM

@Ranger

Yeah okay your right I'll speak in the first person. LOL I was bored. If it's annoying, i'll stop haha.
SACdaddy writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 5:19:00 PM

@Ian: Most normal people in revenge driven films cant benchpress bad guys on a sword, fly through the air, or take a shotgun blast to the chest or and .44 shot to the dome (especially if they're a woman!). She's a lot closer to Catwoman from Burton's Batman, Elecktra, Batman himself, or Robocop, all who I would classify as superheroes. Most of the time revenge is a big part of these charcters stories too.

@Mink and others: Thomas Jane's Punisher is really bad but Warzone was a complete embarrassment. Its maybe the worst SH film ever made! Dolph's 90s Punisher was by far the best. The imagery was on point, the weapons were just right, the plot (Italian gangsters vs. the Yakuza with Big Pun in the middle f*ckin everybody up) was something right off the pages of the comic, and Dolph was the perfect size and build for the part. The beginning of the film (mobster mansion massacre) is one the best introductions to a classic SH I've ever seen. Only Wolverine's intro in X-men and Snipes intro in Blade may have been better. Dolph's obvious foreigness, his lack of slicked hair, and the abundance of brightly lit scenes were the film's only flaws.

As for perfect CB films:

Batman (Burton)
Sin City
Blade 1 and 2
X-men 1 and 2
Superman 2
300
-------------
- Bale's voice nearly ruins the new BM films.
- There's not enough destruction in new IM film. Maybe War Machine and a few suit modifications can correct that.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 5:43:51 PM

You probably know that I strongly disagree with your notion on Nolan's Batman films.
Ranger writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 7:51:11 PM

@Chewbacca - you're a good sport.
Ranger writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 7:51:30 PM

But your 3rd. person sh*t was pretty funny.

Tyrkae writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 7:58:20 PM

I dont know but he hes not pushing the statment says he thinks quentin should do the movie better then some jackass whos going to PG the sh*t out of it and im sick of PG bad superhero movies(almost every marvel movie) and ya maybe tarinto might do a good job who know i just know its better then who ever they are going to hire to do it unless they get thier head out of thier ass and hier someone good but highly unlikly
Dre-EL writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 9:39:03 PM

Q would never do it.
SACdaddy writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 10:26:24 AM

@DK: Dont get me wrong, Bale's sh*tty Batman grunting is about the only problem with those films. I would be calling Nolan a genius (like everyone esle) if it weren't for the fact that he sat through hours upon hours of listening to that sh*t and didn't put an end to it. Burton on the other hand managed to take Michael "Mr. Mom" Keaton and turn him into a pretty tough SOB. Its too bad Bale's best American accent only works as Mr. Bateman and Bruce Wayne.
rabid writes:
on December 9th, 2009 at 1:39:38 PM

Burton made the superior Batman film. Sure, the Dark Knight was incredible to look at and it pulled off the true feel of the character and the city, but it still seems like there's thirty or forty minutes missing from the film, and some of the caracters' motivations are inconsistent or make no sense.
DK is in my top ten and Burton's film isn't, but I think Burton made the cleaner film.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved