WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Blind Side" Overtakes "New Moon" This Weekend

Posted: December 6th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Blind Side" Overtakes "New Moon" This WeekendSubmit Comment
After coming in second behind "The Twilight Saga: New Moon" for the last two weeks, Sandra Bullock's "The Blind Side" finally took first place, beating "New Moon" and all new wide releases.

"Blind Side," which was made for $29 million, grossed $20 million from 3,326 theaters this weekend for a new domestic total of $129 million. "New Moon," meanwhile, added another $15.7 million to its $255 million domestic total, taking second place. The film has now brought in over $570 million in worldwide ticket sales. The second "Twilight" installment was made for only $50 million.

Among new releases, "Brothers," starring Jake Gyllenhaal, Tobey Maguire and Natalie Portman, fared best by grossing $9.7 million and taking third place. Sony's thriller "Armored" opening to $6.6 million to tie Sony's "2012" for sixth place.

On the limited releases front, George Clooney's "Up in the Air" opening in only 15 theaters, but took in an average of $79,000 per theater for a $1.2 million total. The film will expand on December 25th.

Meanwhile, the spoof comedy "Transylmania" completely bombed. It was released in 1,007 locations, but earned only $272 per location. That's a total of $274,000 for the weekend.

Click here to read our "Blind Side" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
OneTime writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 7:41:46 PM

"check out the ass on that"
minkowski writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 7:47:21 PM

The Blind Side, another preachy, patronizing sentimental movie that tells the story of a black guy that can't succeed without help from some smarmy, obnoxious white people. Ugggh. f*cking Hollywood.

The last primary black character I recall looking up to, admiring, was Blade. He didn't need some goddamned white guy...oh wait, nevermind.

Well, anyway, Blade was still f*cking badass as all get out. Since then? Not sh*t. We need more Blade films, and less of this condescending crap.
minkowski writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 7:47:52 PM

"check out the ass on that"

The chick, or the dude?
gimple writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 8:00:01 PM

I love Sandra Bullock
Ari Gold writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 8:48:37 PM

Did you hear about the alternative script for Blade 3. Apparently it was set in the future and vampires had taken over the world or some sh*t. That sounded quite promising.
jchavez12000 writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 9:24:47 PM

Finally!! New Moon being number one was starting to piss me off!!!
c-prime writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 9:57:16 PM

minkowski, I'd be 100% behind your suggestion "Blade" movies (hell, I'm sure Wesley Snipes and his creditors would be, too), if "Trinity" didn't conjure such painful memories. I mean, here we have Dracula, who would assumedly be depicted as the most unstoppable, fearsome vampire of all time, and Blade ultimately trumps him in less time than it took to defeat Nomak in number two (which, of all the movies, was number one in my book). Then, David Goyer sprinkles an extra hint of manic retardation by adding a chase scene with some f*cking vampiric terriers. And what's the best way to off a pack of murderous vamp dogs? Why, by sending them falling off a towering, 40-story skyscraper, of course, silly! Ugh, the rotten, unsightly memories.

If a sequel did get made, I would be miffed if they didn't secure del Toro again to helm it...or, at least, Stephen Norrington. (Cripes, I can't believe I said that last part!) But you just know that, considering his popularity as of late, the studio would demand that Ryan Reynolds also return and have a substantially larger part than before. Same for Jessica Biel (although, I wouldn't mind seeing more of her, ahem, parts). All I know is that bringing Kris Kristofferson back would be imperative. That could be a challenge, sure, 'cause they killed him off in the third movie, but if they can bring him back in number two, then, dammit, they can do it again in number four.
c-prime writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 10:01:58 PM

Oh, and in relation to the thread, I wouldn't mind sneaking up on Sandra Bullock's blind side. Mmmm, yeah.
Ranger writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 10:17:09 PM

I'll bet dandy wouldn't mind you doing that either... lol.
rabid writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 10:55:13 PM

I've never even heard of Blind Side. What's it about?
Ranger writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 10:58:57 PM

Bullock takes in a stray and he becomes somebody.
telur writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 11:13:07 PM

proposal and blind side is lucky movie
c-prime writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 11:13:52 PM

Ugh, Ranger. If he wants to see that sh*t go down, he's gonna have to watch the DVD like everybody else!
Ranger writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 11:14:54 PM

I think going down on sh*t is just dandy's thing!
BigUnit writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 11:24:04 PM

both movies a proolly the worst ever
MoH writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 11:55:47 PM

Sandra Bullok cupping her vaj in The Proposal...awsome
pikeman1 writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 12:40:52 AM

Oh, I think that's a good news
SACdaddy writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 6:45:43 AM

Bullock is one of the nicest, least pretentious celebrities I've ever met, so its good to see her get back to the top of the box office. As long as she's not doing some depressing rehab movie or Miss Congeniality 3 she's ok in my book.

As for Blade, I'm sure once Snipes is able to he'll be doing another installment good enough to make us forget Trinity ever happened. RR is probably too expensive to cast now so we wont have to worry about him ruining another film. These movies always made good money so Hwood will embrace the black vampire hunter again. I'm not the biggest fan of Underworld series but I wouldn't mind seeing Blade and take on some werewolves next. The supervamp crackhead was a great concept in Blade II, maybe they can do a good spin on the old (overused)werewolf concept too. Blade has always been a good launching ground for new directors too so maybe Blomkamp or Alan Ball (True Blood creator) can be brought in to give the series some much needed fresh air.
johnny_boy writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 7:18:12 AM

I'll bet dandy is pretty pissed of. But it's nothing a d*ck in his mouth and another up his ass with two more at each of his hands won't make him feel better


Peter Parker writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 9:17:08 AM

@ johnny_boy:

"a d*ck in his mouth and another up his ass with two more at each of his hands"

- That's just a typical Monday afternoon in dandy's life.
He needs animals to be involved, for it to be special.
TRUEMAN writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 9:26:26 AM

YES BLADE YES HELL YEAH! KILL ALL THE GAY NEW MOON VAMPIRES!
johnny_boy writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 9:41:23 AM

@peter....ha ha ha! you're right,man. to make dandy feel better about this situation would be to do all that i mentioned plus foot,thats right i said foot,banging with each foot 2 donkeys.hope i didnt leave anything else out of the equation.
barley_cat writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 10:54:35 AM

Great input there Truman lol
Jedimax writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 2:42:24 PM

I hate life.
Ranger writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 4:36:28 PM

Imagine being dandy for a day.
minkowski writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 6:33:39 PM

What, you mean the inability to hold your bowels and walk upright?
OneTime writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 7:02:31 PM

@ mink

is doesent really matter i suppose.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved