WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Peter Jackson Says "The Hobbit" Prequels are Not Delayed

Posted: December 6th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Peter Jackson Says "The Hobbit" Prequels are Not DelayedSubmit Comment
About a week ago, Peter Jackson revealed that that filming on "The Hobbit" prequels will not begin in March as planned. The plan is now to complete the script for the second film and hopefully get in front of the cameras by summer.

Since the first film is scheduled to hit theaters in December of 2011, that leaves Jackson and director Guillermo Del Toro only 18 months to complete the film. This sparked rumors that the released date would be pushed back, especially since the first "Lord of the Rings" began filming 26 months before appearing in theaters.

Collider has now caught up with Jackson to find out if the shooting delay would affect the previously announced release date. Here is what he had to say:

"Nothing has changed as far as I am concerned. Somebody wrote something on the internet and a lot of nonsense happened. You don't want to believe everything you read on the internet. We were due to deliver the scripts and be shooting sometime around April and now I think I said in an interview we were shooting in June. And somehow people are now saying the film is delayed. As far as I am aware, they are not delayed at all. I am not even sure when we are going to start shooting. We are delivering the scripts. Just after Christmas they'll be finished and we'll be shooting as soon as we possibly can. But you need a certain amount of time to finish the pre-production."

Click here to read more about "The Hobbit."

Source: Collider


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 8:49:20 AM

"Somebody wrote something on the internet"

Alex, stop spreading rumours!
Randal Graves writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 12:03:50 PM

I always liked the Hobbit more that the lotr trilogy. finally a story that won't take 3 movies to tell.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 12:53:37 PM

"Peter Jackson Says "The Hobbit" Prequels are Not Delayed"

And then he added:

"The prequels are on track. It's TIME that's moving too fast and the days are shorter now, and not the movie that's getting behind!"
Goober3000 writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 4:09:18 PM

hobbits are gay
minkowski writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 4:47:44 PM

I can't wait to not see this film.
triggax writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 5:14:13 PM

You're gonna see it mink... Trust me... You'll see it... It's gonna blow but it does have Del Toro and Jackson attached to it, so it's probably worth the rental at least... Even for the mindless visual appeal..
TeemSelami writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 5:31:34 PM

gain the weight back you *sshole. there is no one more untrustworthy than a skinny fatman
minkowski writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 5:44:23 PM

Trig, I only saw the first LOTR films. I tried watching the second, but I stopped after 15 minutes, so I doubt I'll ever watch The Hobbit.
minkowski writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 5:46:19 PM

Actually, Jackson needs to do this: lose some more weight. Seriously. Another forty pounds. Trim that godawful beard. get a f*cking hair cut. Take a shower. There, I bet the dude would look a million times better. Not that looks are important, but jeeze, he looks like he doesn't take care of himself at all. Only dandy would sniff his underwear.
vwkombi writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 6:22:28 PM

I have to get around to re-watching the LOTR trilogy. They blew my mind back when they were first released. (I was twelve when Return of the King came out)
vaodsi writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 8:15:57 PM

lord of the rings was pretty sweet.
actually.. i think those are some of the best films ever made.. and they were one of those rare instances in history where they were overwhelmingly praised by both audiences and critics. even fans of the books enjoyed them (like myself). Those books seemed unfilmable, but jackson some how did it. did the return of the king deserve eleven academy awards? of course not! But neither did titanic or ben hur.
in short.. my ticket is sold... hell.... my FIVE tickets are sold.. unless it blows.. then hey.. they still got my ten bucks. these movies will be huge (duh) but more importantly, these directors have built up enough cred to the point where the studio is gonna be giving them money saying "HERE! TAKE IT!"
this could be bad... cause look at the star wars prequels! YUCK! Annakin! You're breaking my heart!
Just being around her again is intoxicating!
worst lines ever.
thank goodness though both these director producers are good.. no... GREAT script writers. adapting the lord of the rings is nothing short of a miracle of modern cinema.
The Phantom 95 writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 10:13:09 PM

just another two years left for me to see this. this will be good
rabid writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 4:43:14 AM

I hated Lord of the Rings yet I showed up at the theatre for each of them. They were all a complete snoozefest regardless of the stunning visuals. I imagine Hobbit to be more of the same. But I'll be there in that theatre seat, if only in honor of the cartoon version that dazzled me as a kid. Del Toro brings some hope too.
I'd rather Peter Jackson go back to making goreschlock movies, he was so much more inventive and witty then.
thedudeman69 writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 11:12:15 AM

OMFG WOULD HE TAKE ALL THE TIME DISPELLING RUMORS AND MAKE THE f*ckING MOVIE ALREADY
seveltoto writes:
on November 11th, 2017 at 1:26:01 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved