WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Marvel's $1 Billion Superhero Theme Park Concept Art

Posted: December 5th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
MarvelSubmit Comment
Marvel and Disney are currently in the process of merging, and once they do, Disney will take over the superhero company and its many properties, including a $1 billion theme park being built in Dubai, UAE.

Today we have several pieces of concept art for the park that will have rides and sections based on Spider-Man, Iron Man, The Hulk and X-Men. The art shows rollercoasters, 3D theaters and a Spidey freefall ride. Check out the images below.

Even though the plan is to have the park ready by 2012, there are many things that could delay it or completely scrap it. Disney may try to get out of the park deal, plus the Dubai economy is not doing all that well right now.

Concept Art: (click to enlarge)


Source: DisneyAndMore


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 43 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 7:10:15 AM

if it ever happened i'd go if the opportunity popped up.
wonderBOY writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 7:54:30 AM

why is there a city of superheros area isnt the whole thing a city of superheros

it looks so good it most likely wont happen
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 9:58:42 AM

There's only one superhero ride I want to take, and it's the Jean Grey Rollercoaster.
nope.com writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 10:02:01 AM

nice concepts, but they're overreaching it with most ... even with a billion
it'll be scaled down in reality, WAY down actually.

Now that Paul Levitz has stepped down though... where's the DC Theme Park??
Fortress of Solitude
Batcave
Arkham Asylum
The Iceberg Lounge
Luthor's Headquarter
Wayne Enterprises
Crime Alley
Themyscira
JL Watchtower
Green Lantern Sectors
Daily Planet
Noonan's Bar
Ace Chem.
Popcorn101 writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 10:02:13 AM

its going to be in dubai, so it never will
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 10:13:34 AM

Nope, I think it would be cheaper and esier to just build all of Gotham City from the ground up, rather than construct all those attractions.

And popcorn, I don;t know if you know this, but Dubai is like the heavy-construction capital of the world. They have billions and billions to spend. Next month, the worlds tallest building opens in Dubai. So it's a great place to invest, even now.
Popcorn101 writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 10:18:51 AM

yea mink i know, but do you see pictures of the place? like i dont know if they have it yet but they want islands in the shape of the globe its amazing(http://www.eikongraphia.com/wordpress/wp-content/TheWorldDubai.jpg)i just think they have more things to do 1st
Popcorn101 writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 10:24:53 AM

but it would be f*cking awesome if this happened, might go to dubai just for this...where is it? in saudi arabia? but at first i was thinking they were remaking universal's islands of adventure, considering i live like 3 or so hours from there
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 10:34:55 AM

Well, Dubai is a country, very near SA, on the east coast, across from Iran.
lawman writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 10:46:22 AM

Mink>>>> You WERE right about Dubai. Not anymore though. They ran out of money and halted production on MANY of their projects (whehn I say ran out, it must be the construction budget because those f*cks still are loaded). So I dont know if this will materialize. Plus, why the f*ck would they build that in f*ckING Dubai? Its not super American friendly and last time I checked, marvel was most popular in America. Granted, it is still huge in other coutries, but they would be greatly cutting down on the visits by the American fans (you know, the ones who made Marvel as big as they are).
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 11:05:07 AM

Hmmm, actually I believe the global stock market recently barely avoided free-fall after Dubai's bank said that the government wouldn't default on their billions of dollars of debt. So Dubai is building itself to be a global attraction but they haven't necessarily received a return on their investment yet. And really, the majority of their wealth came from corporate investment (good tax incentives) and the corporate world ain't doin so hot these days...

The only way Marvel could afford to do this is by doing it in Dubai, because of all their cheap-assed Saudi (slave) labor. Skilled laborers on Burj Dubai only get like $4.35/day, which is double what the unskilled get. Thats why they can build islands and epic monoliths and America can't.
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 11:28:22 AM

Actually Mink Dubai is a city in a country called UAE (United Arab Emirates), I was there not to long ago.

And was that spongebob by the hulk?
tcu21 writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 11:42:29 AM

why would they build this in Dubai, it would draw so much more sales in the US. Looks pretty awesome, but I'll probably be 30 by the time they build it.
lawman writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 12:52:40 PM

JEFF>>> Hows your brother doing?
lawman writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 12:54:19 PM

IT WAS f*ckING SPONGE BOB!!! DAMN MOTHERf*ckER!!!
fadeddragon2469 writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 1:04:04 PM

I hope they do not build this in Dubai. Like many of you have said, relations towards Americans are probably not the best in this region of the world, so it would seem pretty retarded to do so. My question is this though: With Marvel being bought by Disney, what is to come of rides on the grounds of Universal such as Island Of Adventure in Orlando? I love that place. Secondly, that one shot of a roller coaster going underwater: f*cking brillant. Probably the best concept for a coaster I've ever seen. Let's hope that if this does happen, it's not in the damn middle east but the US or even Europe. Hell, even Japan or something. Just not Dubai!
The_Joker writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 1:16:25 PM

The ride where they go underwater looks really amazing........lets just hope dandy doesn't go over there and take pics of younge boys in the waterpark
rabid writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 1:16:40 PM

hmm... I'm pretty sure that Disney already announced a couple months ago that this project was not happening. It never really got beyond the concept art phase.
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 1:41:25 PM

Dubai's stock market crashed 70% last week, this ain't happening
Goober3000 writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 2:00:22 PM

stupid....THIS NEEDS TO BE IN THE US!! Another note thanks for selling out Marvel!!
Ranger writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 2:19:31 PM

Dubai could make it for cheaper (labor)... but it won't happen.

Besides after it's built... who in America would make the trip to visit?

Marvel is an American as Disney. It would have to be built in the US to work.
skatemaster62 writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 3:30:21 PM

this actually looks great, except for the spongebob next to hulk (dont get what thats about). the only thing is id rather this be in the states, its bigger here
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 3:39:01 PM

My brother is fine he is on administrative leave for the next two weeks.

This theme park would be awesome. I really don't think they will put it in UAE due to their resentment of most things that are american.
lawman writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 4:04:37 PM

JEFF>>> Awesome news.
matternm58 writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 5:05:38 PM

If you guys look at one of the pictures you can see The Pineapple in the middle of the park lol. All these super heroes and Spongebob. Lol awesome.
Eben1277 writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 5:05:51 PM

Is Yondu one of the Na'vi?
matternm58 writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 5:07:16 PM

Along with squidwards house and patricks rock. lmao oh my god i would so go to that.
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 5:07:18 PM

"Actually Mink Dubai is a city in a country called UAE (United Arab Emirates), I was there not to long ago."

Yeah, I know, My mistake. United Arab Emirates. I had to memorize every country and its capital like fifteen years ago. I can't believe my geography is that rusty. But I can still remember the capital of Chad and Zimbabwe.
ian_918 writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 5:17:44 PM

News? no. And isn't there already amusement parks with superhero rides? Hmmmm.. seems to have been done before.
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 5:28:50 PM

Alex is to movie news what Sarah Connor was to the future. They both make it up as they go.
victor arroyo writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 8:07:51 PM

@jeffw1978:
"Actually Mink Dubai is a city in a country called UAE (United Arab Emirates), I was there not to long ago."

hehehehe once I said that paris was a country, I felt like a f*cking retard.

And the theme park looks sick man, I hope they get it right.

PEACE!



takai writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 11:44:05 PM

Take THAT little kids dying of starvation!

Entertainment > you!
jchavez12000 writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 12:25:41 AM

Dubai? Whats wrong with Orlando, San diego, or Los Angeles? Yeah that's smart "lets build an American theme park halfway around the world."
Ranger writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 12:29:25 AM

They did in Paris (Disney) and it's lost money from day 1.

Exactly.
jchavez12000 writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 12:48:02 AM

I dont think building this theme park halfway around the world will keep dandy from flying over there and rubbing up on the those poor unsuspecting actors.
rabid writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 2:45:30 AM

It had nothing to do with Marvel wanting to build in Dubais. There was a very wealthy builder from the UAE that happened to be a Marvel fan. He spent a couple of years trying to get the project rolling, but couldn't secure all of the financing. Then when Disney bought Marvel, they straight up said 'no way' and took the deal off the table.
Disney is also taking back Universal Studio's Marvel lease when their contract is up in a couple of years. So it's probably a safe bet that they are eyeballing American locales for a new Marvel theme park. I don't see any point in adding it onto Disneyland, but it'd probably still work out in Orlando.
Jedimax writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 3:44:21 PM

the last ride looks sick!
OwenWilsonsNose writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 4:44:24 PM

The 3D spiderman ride at Universal Studios is really fun. You follow spiderman around the city as he fights all the villians. its 3d and the seats you're on shake, it was the best ride there. hydroman splashed me with water =[
Ranger writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 6:25:25 PM

You're positive it was water?
Ranger writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 6:25:57 PM

Because if it was the day dandy was working the ride, I'll guaran-damn-tee you it wasn't water!
barley_cat writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 9:31:28 AM

OMG this COULD be awesome, shame it won't happen... actually if it does eventually happen then by that time i'll probably have kids i can take as an excuse to go there myself lol. Shame none of the concept art is done by the actual marvel artist himself- tim sale.
TRUEMAN writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 3:42:29 PM

TheHerpesOnRangersd*ck

hahahahaha jejejeje hahahahah OHOHHOHO why so serius! lets put a smile on ranger face!
MOVIEBEAST! writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 5:02:24 PM

WHO THE f*ck WANTS TO GO TO DUBAI!!!?????

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved