WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Why Award Shows are Corrupt

Posted: December 5th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Why Award Shows are CorruptSubmit Comment
Awards shows in Hollywood are a big deal, with studios spending millions of dollars pushing their films and actors to be nominated. But the nominee selection process always has room for corruption.

The Screen Actors Guild (SAG) Awards, for example, randomly chooses 2,100 people out of their 120,000 members to the nominating committee. Some don't bother participating and some use this opportunity to play favorites.

Howard Stern announced on his radio show that he was selected to the SAG Awards nomination committee this year and will make his choices on air with an explanation for his decisions. "I'm going to take this seriously, and reward our friends," he said. "I don't give a sh*t if they were good or not."

When his selection process started, he began picking people who appeared on his show or were nice to him at one point. He picked Robert Downey Jr for "Sherlock Holmes" and Kevin Back for "My One and Only." He then chose Jimmy Fallon for his performance as Hot Tub Johnny Rocket in "Whip It."

Actors like Robert De Niro, Daniel Day-Lewis, and Larry David were all ignored because none of them have ever been guests on Stern's program. But Renee Zellwegger and Sarah Jessica Parker all got a nod from him because Zellwegger sent him a wedding gift and Parker was nice to him at a party.

"I don't care if they're good actors, who gives a f*ck if someone can pretend to be somebody," Stern said. That's what happens when you choose your nomination committee randomly.

Source: The Wrap


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 7:05:28 AM

of course the awards are corrupt. heath ledger didnt get that oscar for his brilliant performance as the joker,a great performance we might not see for a long time.we all know the awards are corrupt.and this just in, did you know that britney spears lip syncs?
ilovemovies82 writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 7:21:40 AM

Heath Ledger DID win.
vwkombi writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 7:24:42 AM

This just in: the sky is blue.

We all know that almost all awards shows are bullsh*t.
johnny_boy writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 7:34:34 AM

but did heath ledger win best actor,movies82? maybe he did i dont follow these award shows.did you know that they were corrupt?
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 7:58:51 AM

Jim Carrey were snubbed twice, just because he was Jim Carrey. I never expected Heath Ledger to recieve a nomination, or win for that matter, for his Joker. Award shows are filled with pretentious douchebags, who think they know what's good.

And smashing news: Dandy (or Vin) is a buttboy
pomme writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 8:25:22 AM

of course,award nod is corrupted!
last year,Brad Pitt nominated for "benjamin button"?!
"the reader" nominated for best movie or best director and no nod for "dark knight" in the same categories?!
no nod for best movie to "wall-e"?!
no nod for "requiem for a dream"?!
no nod for "fight club"?!
no Jim Carrey nod?! no Christian Bale nod?! no Jennifer Jason Leight nod?! no Willem Daffoe?!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 8:48:09 AM

And the list can go on. Hell, even the Scream-awards are f*cking rigged. And I used to respect them.
BigUnit writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 9:23:01 AM

heath ledger deserved an award for his performance as joker regardless if he died or not, have a little respect. RIP Heath! loved your performance in lords of dogtown!!!!!
nope.com writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 9:50:58 AM

lol we all saw this when The Reader was nominated for best picture and Kate Winslet's "performance" in The Reader won her an oscar when she was much better in Revolutionary Road

though you can thank Harvey Weinstein for buying the movie an oscar candidacy in the best picture race
lawman writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 9:52:25 AM

I LOVE the fact that Howard Stern is not even trying to bullsh*t about what he is doing!!! I have always been a fan and now, because of this, even more so!
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 9:56:30 AM

Its all a popularity contest run by narcissistic. pretentious people with lots of money and fame, all made off the backs of people like you and me that pay to see their drivel. Award contests should be decided by either a small cadre of educated people with scruples, and not the Nobel Prize committee either, or by popular vote. When you let a bunch of wealthy *ssholes pull the strings, what do you expect? Fairness? Skilled decision making?
Popcorn101 writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 10:06:18 AM

award shows is as rigged as sport allstar teams or the heisman(ala tebow possibly winning this year...wtf!?)
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 11:09:15 AM

Jim Carrey shouldve definitely got an Oscar for portraying the legendary Andy Kaufman in the awesome Man on the Moon!....i think he got a Golden Globe or some other crap award for it...wow.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 11:15:28 AM

Was I the only one disgusted with the Oscars last year? It was so f*cking bloated with wealth and self-importance, as though their achievements were the f*cking pinnacle of mankind's greatness. And you know what? I almost felt PRIVILEGED to see it.
Flav writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 1:09:27 PM

Yep, Corruption with a capital "C".... the academy is filled with corrupted officials. All of my favorites actors have been snubbed all these years, even Matt Damon spoke out about the process. If George Clooney wins best actor, I say its FIXED.
Flav writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 1:14:13 PM

SAG are made up of old farts who haven't watched films in years.
Ranger writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 2:28:30 PM

I've found all these award shows are like a heavy metal contamination in your system... it takes years to build up. It was about 15 years ago I had my fill of their crap (no dandy, I'm not making a reference to bum sex). One that really stuck out in my mind was Cruise being overlooked for 'Born on the 4th of July.' Hoffman has done better work than Rainman. Although I liked his performance there, it was just another way to rub it in Cruise's face - hey look... your much older co-star is getting one and you're not! Plus Hoffman had done better work elsewhere. Like giving one to Henry Fonda for 'On Golden Pond' - sure, a fine movie... but he was on his deathbed, couldn't attend the awards, and had better work in better movies previously.

I don't even watch the Oscar's anymore. At best, the TV is on and I'll glance to see what's going on when I leave my office to get something to drink.

The ONLY thing an Oscar benefits is the actor's pay. Which IS the name of the game, isn't it?

But I lost faith in their crap long ago. And this article is another reason like Stern makes the huge money he does, and has the fans he does. He call it the way it is.
ian_918 writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 5:13:18 PM

We all know this already? And as long as twilight is sh*tting out good movies they will continue to dominate the award shows. Which is pretty gay. Oh and Howard stern is a funny motherf*cker. But then again we all know that too.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 6:33:10 PM

Howard Stern obviously did this to make a point, i love his political incorrectness. It something this world is slowly loosing!!

Yeah, give RDJ an oscar again, the man deserves it for jsut being RDJ!
Alfonzo3000 writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 6:55:22 PM

I Like Howard Stern But This Seems Kinda Soft
holtlt writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 7:12:43 PM

That's why Hollywood is so fu#$%d up, because *ssholes like him just let people do sh*tty movies for the money
Ranger writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 8:00:35 PM

@Skippi - Howard's political 'incorrectness'? I tend to think of it more as political correctness (although, granted, Howard is too honest and straight-forward to even set foot into the political arena... so your point (in that light) is well taken).

I don't think many would disagree about Forest Whitaker's performance in Last King of Scotland was Oscar worthy (I liked the guy since Fast Times), and even he spoke before his Oscar win about all the Hollywood parties he attended and all the palm-pressing that went on. I think it was well-deserved. But he too had to do a ton of appearances. The squeaky wheel and all that.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 8:04:19 PM

Award shows aren't corrupt, PEOPLE are corrupt.

Guns don't kill people, PEOPLE kill people.

Dandy isn't an annoying faggot... no wait, Dandy IS an annoying faggot.
Ranger writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 8:32:26 PM

Bwwhahahahahaaaa!!!

CCBlev writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 8:59:17 PM

@pp
Dandy isnt all that he's just missunderstood, lol, all hes saying is that he wants to be held lol
Ranger writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 9:01:07 PM

... and oiled down... and penetrated.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 9:20:33 PM

... and pissed on...

... and craped on...

... and killed by erotic suffocation...

... and raped after dead...

and who knows what more!
vwkombi writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 9:57:26 PM

@ The WP community

You know Dandy probley doesn't even read the comments in this site anymore. But your cruel insults are probley still keeping him awake at night.

In other words, a job well done!
Ranger writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 10:47:14 PM

@vw - probably one of the nicest things anyone has ever said to me.

Thank you.

God Bless.

And Happy Holidays to you my friend!

Ranger writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 10:47:39 PM

And dandy is a twat!
Kindlegolas writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 11:02:19 PM

You guys are idiots, its the Film Actors Guild, not the Screen Actors Guild..

And of course they are f*cking riged. When amazing movies like the dark knight get snubbed just because it is a superhero movie, just yet another sign of the apocalyse
Ranger writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 11:04:38 PM

'idiots'?

Spin my dreidel!

And by 'spin' I mean suck, and by 'dreidel' I mean c*ck.

minkowski writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 3:36:05 AM

Yeah, we're idiots, but he's no, even though he's saying the 'apocalypse' is near simply because an imperfect film like TDK didn't carry the best film award. What a moron. And by moron, I mean dandy.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 4:37:52 AM

Isn't there a Gay Actors Guild where Dandy is president?
CCBlev writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 6:32:37 AM

@vwkombi
I do agree Ranger and PP have done a great job, I salute them lol, and dandy's gay by the way just thought id mention that in case someone didnt know lol
pnkntndr writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 10:12:41 AM

I kinda want to move back to the twat who first commented on this post.

Johnny boy... Are you retarded?
Peter Parker writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 2:12:39 PM

@ CC: I appreciate that, bud!
Ranger writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 6:26:24 PM

ditto.
moseshatesyou writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 6:56:45 PM

I used to have a bad habit of picking up movies that had a ton of awards on it and after a terrible experience with a very sh*tty movie. I realized that if you take your movie to enough film festivals, you will eventually get an award.
Ranger writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 5:44:16 AM

That's ok.

Dandy has a bad habit of picking up little boys in playgrounds (that f*cking creep-o!).
Vin12 writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 9:46:34 PM

@all of u
Stay on topic girls. Heath got the award because he died. i thought aaron eckhart gave a better performance

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved