WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "Men, Women and Children," Directed by Jason Reitman
Aug 20th, 2014
Daughters of Johnny Depp and Kevin Smith to Star in "Yoga Hosers"
Aug 20th, 2014
Photo: Is Scoot McNairy Playing The Flash in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Aug 20th, 2014
Trailer For "A Good Marriage" Thriller, Based on Stephen King's Short Story
Aug 20th, 2014
New Trailer For "Ouija" Supernatural Thriller, Based on Board Game
Aug 20th, 2014
Benedict Cumberbatch is Shere Khan in "The Jungle Book" Film
Aug 20th, 2014
First Look at Paul Rudd in Marvel's "Ant-Man"
Aug 20th, 2014
Mark Wahlberg in Talks for "Deepwater Horizon" BP Oil Disaster Film
Aug 20th, 2014
Photos of Henry Cavill as Superman on Set of "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 19th, 2014
Alfred Molina Wants to Return as Spider-Man Villain Doctor Octopus in "Sinister Six"
Aug 19th, 2014
Trailer for Lifetime's "Saved By the Bell" Movie
Aug 19th, 2014
"Olympus Has Fallen" Sequel Hires Director, Filming to Begin in October
Aug 19th, 2014
"The Fault in Our Stars" Director in Talks for Anne Rice's "Lestat" Vampire Film
Aug 19th, 2014
Milla Jovovich is Pregnant, "Resident Evil: The Final Chapter" Gets Delayed
Aug 18th, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Star Wants More Money, May Get Replaced
Aug 18th, 2014
"The Devil's Advocate" to Become a TV Series
Aug 18th, 2014
Photo: Marc Webb Unveils Concept Art From "The Amazing Spider-Man" Spin-Off "Sinister Six"
Aug 18th, 2014
Video: Robin Williams Recorded Message of Hope For Terminally Ill Woman
Aug 18th, 2014
First Posters for Antonio Banderas' "Automata" Sci-Fi Film
Aug 18th, 2014
"The Expendables 3" Bombs at the Box Office, "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Still On Top
Aug 17th, 2014
Concept Art of Main Villain and Han Solo From "Star Wars: Episode VII"
Aug 17th, 2014
Leonardo DiCaprio, Tom Hardy and Tobey Maguire Sign On for Animal Poaching Film
Aug 17th, 2014
Jackie Chan Discusses "The Expendables 4" and "Rush Hour 4"
Aug 16th, 2014
Sylvester Stallone Started Training For "Rambo 5"
Aug 16th, 2014
New "Dumb and Dumber To" Posters Parody Scarlett Johansson's "Lucy" Film
Aug 16th, 2014
Sylvester Stallone Recalls His Terrible "Star Wars" Audition
Aug 16th, 2014
First Look at Paul Thomas Anderson's "Inherent Vice," with Joaquin Phoenix and Josh Brolin
Aug 16th, 2014
New Trailer for Elijah Wood's "Open Windows" Thriller
Aug 16th, 2014
Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" Attached to "Sin City: A Dame to Kill For"
Aug 15th, 2014
First Look at Stormtroopers From "Star Wars: Episode VII"
Aug 15th, 2014
First Clip From Robin Williams' "Merry Friggin' Christmas"
Aug 15th, 2014
Simon Cowell Making a "Betty Boop" Movie
Aug 15th, 2014
Trailer for "Rudderless," with Billy Crudup and Anton Yelchin
Aug 15th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Clive Owen Wants to Quit Acting

Posted: December 4th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Clive Owen Wants to Quit ActingSubmit Comment
Clive Owen told German TV station Tele5 that he is considering leaving Hollywood in order to focus on his theater career. "I'm actually pretty sure that this will happen soon," he said. "I would imagine I'd have to stop the films in order to concentrate entirely on my stage career. I've always played theater roles."

He added that sometimes you just have to do the things which make you happy. "I often have to pinch myself to make me realize what I achieved," said Owen. "But perhaps you should, on the peak of your career think about the fact that it probably can't always go on like this and that there are other things that make you happy, too."

Owen is now part of an ever-growing list of celebrities who have been considering quitting acting, including Viggo Mortensen, Angelina Jolie and Robert Downey Jr.

Source: PA Entertainment


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
barley_cat writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:00:23 AM

Sounds like dear old Pat Swayze (RIP) Didn't know what to do with himself bless.
Johnny Neat writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:36:13 AM

Everybody wants to quit working and move down to their Costa Rican compounds for the apocalypse. We no one is talking about it is beyond me.
Osiris3eagle writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:37:56 AM

None of these actors and actresses will go through with it
Bold Wrecks writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:40:54 AM

He won't quit. He might take a break, but he won't quit. Neither will Viggo Mortensen, Angelina Jolie, and Robert Downey Jr. They all love attention. They're even saying this for attention.
VDODSON writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:49:32 AM

He can quit if he can come out with one more good movie. He'll be older than Connery before its time to call it quits.
Spankfish writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:53:27 AM

Its all bollocks. Just reminding agents, producers and the the rest that they are still out there, available for work.

I might announce my retirement from Hollywood as well, see what happens. Might get a part in Iorn Man 2 or something, as my farewell performance.
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 10:27:56 AM

On this one who really gives a sh*t?
workingdead writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 10:44:52 AM

I think this is a new trend to create a need...ie If only we could get xyz actor for his last role etc.
pomme writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 10:54:13 AM

Bla bla bla!
welcome to my douche club,Owen with RDJ,Jolie or Baldwin.

Do it and shut up!
Stuntastic writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 11:37:33 AM

When will this Brett Favre syndrome stop. This is a pretty serious condition and needs to be discussed more in depth
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 11:45:22 AM

Fine...Quit and shut the f*ck up!!
warlord writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 12:45:04 PM

must be nice to quit a high paying job
rocketman writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 12:50:49 PM

must be nice to get one in the first place.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 12:53:51 PM

NO! Dammit Clive dont quit acting, what the hell?!?
Eben1277 writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 2:19:57 PM

If he goes to theater, how is that considered quitting acting? Don't actors on a theater level still, um, act? Nowhere, either, does it say he will never ever make another film, just that he wants to concentrate on working in theater right now, which I would think many actors would find more emotionally rewarding than being in movies.
Ranger writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 2:36:00 PM

So... the big $ offers from Hollywood are thinning out eh, Clive, so you're thinking of quitting? What a coinky-dink! Go shovel you sh*t at the circus.

'Peak of your career' -- what have you been smoking?!

'Pinch yourself because you can't believe what you've accomplished' -- ummm, yeah, pinch away.

Aren't you just a dandy?!
KirkLazerus writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 2:43:18 PM

he didn't say he was gonna quit, he just said he was gonna take a break so he can do Theater, he will probably do some theater then come back to acting
Spankfish writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 3:14:29 PM

@ Ranger. Dude, if you had seen some of the sh*te he's done on UK TV, you would agree hes had the peak of his career. Clive Owen would not have been my bet for a small time UK actor to get any success in hollywood.
Ranger writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 3:46:37 PM

@Spank - lol.
bloodgear writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 3:50:34 PM

Most of you, besides the ones that read the article, are idiots. Doesn't say he's going to quit acting, just FILM.

Theatre is what drives real actors though. It's what they should start with.
Ranger writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 4:05:14 PM

I read it.

I know he's not quitting acting.

Yes, theater is a good place to start. But no one gives up Hollywood money by choice. Choices have been made for him and his offers are getting thin. This is just the latest barrage of attention-getting crap these actors are pulling.

This year an interviewer asked Tom Cruise if he'd ever do theater. He politely dodged the question and didn't answer. It's hard (nay, impossible) to give up Hollywood pay willingly and go to your start theater, if you still had good Hollywood offers. That would be such a pay cut for Cruise... it wouldn't even be funny (not to mention the millions of $'s he makes annually just sitting on his ass with royalties).

So Clive... sell it someplace else. I'm not buying.
otis writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 11:40:40 PM

It's not a matter of if, but when he'll move on to theater. Just his name will get him in. Look at Katie Holmes in All My Sons or Jude Law in Hamlet or Daniel Craig/Hugh Jackman (stage vet.) in A Steady Rain or Jane Fonda in 33 Variations. It's practically a shoe-in so that these theaters can get ticket sales.
Now, as I am a working theater actor myself who has dabbled in films, I find live theater more personable and free. You miss something on the set doing a take to a camera 50 times, whereas on stage you're doing it to people once a night. In a way, one could say Clive wasn't quitting acting, but beginning the real acting.

But again, he's probably just an overrated douchebag looking for any work he can.
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 2:31:30 AM

Well, good for him. I for one don't care, but if he's doing what makes him happy, that's all that matters. Good luck dude, and take Children of Men with you.
Montana writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 6:35:12 AM

thank goodness
Long Rod VonHugendong writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 5:55:24 PM

Good for him, there is more in life and do what makes you happy

"Sharknado 2" Breaks Records with 3.9 Million Viewers

Ronda Rousey Says She Should Have Been Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

TJ Miller Explains Why He'll Never Work With Director Michael Bay Again

Bruce Wayne's Age in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed

Robin Williams' Cause of Death Revealed

Anthony Mackie Says He's Ready to Become Captain America

James Gunn Says "Guardians and the Galaxy" and "Avengers" Superheroes May Soon Meet

"Batman v Superman" Director Zack Snyder Defends Aquaman's Powers

"The Expendables 3" Bombs at the Box Office, "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Still On Top

Jackie Chan Discusses "The Expendables 4" and "Rush Hour 4"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved