WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Wonder Woman" Searching for Female Director
Oct 24th, 2014
"The Mummy" Reboot to Follow Navy SEAL in Iraq?
Oct 24th, 2014
Noomi Rapace Discusses "Prometheus 2" Storyline
Oct 24th, 2014
Christian Bale Confirmed For Steve Jobs Biopic, To Appear in Every Frame of the Film
Oct 24th, 2014
"Insidious Chapter 3" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"The Hobbit" Trilogy Becomes Most Expensive Production of All Time
Oct 23rd, 2014
Quicksilver to Return For "X-Men: Apocalypse" and Maybe Solo Film
Oct 23rd, 2014
Restricted Trailer For Mark Wahlberg's "The Gambler" Thriller
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Evangeline Lilly as Hope Pym on Marvel's "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 23rd, 2014
New Trailer for "The Woman in Black" Sequel
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Johnny Depp as The Wolf in Disney's "Into the Woods"
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!
Oct 22nd, 2014
"John Carter" Reboot in the Works, Disney Not Involved
Oct 22nd, 2014
James Wan to Direct "The Conjuring 2," May Direct DC Superhero Film
Oct 22nd, 2014
Ghostface Will NOT Appear in "Scream" TV Series
Oct 22nd, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Oct 22nd, 2014
Adam McKay Plans to Make "Step Brothers 2" in a Few Years
Oct 22nd, 2014
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood
Oct 21st, 2014
"Cabin Fever" Remake Started Filming, Using Eli Roth's Original Script
Oct 21st, 2014
Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Oct 21st, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Location Revealed
Oct 21st, 2014
Is Key and Peele's New Comedy a Spoof of Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Thriller?
Oct 21st, 2014
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Clive Owen Wants to Quit Acting

Posted: December 4th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Clive Owen Wants to Quit ActingSubmit Comment
Clive Owen told German TV station Tele5 that he is considering leaving Hollywood in order to focus on his theater career. "I'm actually pretty sure that this will happen soon," he said. "I would imagine I'd have to stop the films in order to concentrate entirely on my stage career. I've always played theater roles."

He added that sometimes you just have to do the things which make you happy. "I often have to pinch myself to make me realize what I achieved," said Owen. "But perhaps you should, on the peak of your career think about the fact that it probably can't always go on like this and that there are other things that make you happy, too."

Owen is now part of an ever-growing list of celebrities who have been considering quitting acting, including Viggo Mortensen, Angelina Jolie and Robert Downey Jr.

Source: PA Entertainment


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
barley_cat writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:00:23 AM

Sounds like dear old Pat Swayze (RIP) Didn't know what to do with himself bless.
Johnny Neat writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:36:13 AM

Everybody wants to quit working and move down to their Costa Rican compounds for the apocalypse. We no one is talking about it is beyond me.
Osiris3eagle writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:37:56 AM

None of these actors and actresses will go through with it
Bold Wrecks writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:40:54 AM

He won't quit. He might take a break, but he won't quit. Neither will Viggo Mortensen, Angelina Jolie, and Robert Downey Jr. They all love attention. They're even saying this for attention.
VDODSON writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:49:32 AM

He can quit if he can come out with one more good movie. He'll be older than Connery before its time to call it quits.
Spankfish writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:53:27 AM

Its all bollocks. Just reminding agents, producers and the the rest that they are still out there, available for work.

I might announce my retirement from Hollywood as well, see what happens. Might get a part in Iorn Man 2 or something, as my farewell performance.
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 10:27:56 AM

On this one who really gives a sh*t?
workingdead writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 10:44:52 AM

I think this is a new trend to create a need...ie If only we could get xyz actor for his last role etc.
pomme writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 10:54:13 AM

Bla bla bla!
welcome to my douche club,Owen with RDJ,Jolie or Baldwin.

Do it and shut up!
Stuntastic writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 11:37:33 AM

When will this Brett Favre syndrome stop. This is a pretty serious condition and needs to be discussed more in depth
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 11:45:22 AM

Fine...Quit and shut the f*ck up!!
warlord writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 12:45:04 PM

must be nice to quit a high paying job
rocketman writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 12:50:49 PM

must be nice to get one in the first place.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 12:53:51 PM

NO! Dammit Clive dont quit acting, what the hell?!?
Eben1277 writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 2:19:57 PM

If he goes to theater, how is that considered quitting acting? Don't actors on a theater level still, um, act? Nowhere, either, does it say he will never ever make another film, just that he wants to concentrate on working in theater right now, which I would think many actors would find more emotionally rewarding than being in movies.
Ranger writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 2:36:00 PM

So... the big $ offers from Hollywood are thinning out eh, Clive, so you're thinking of quitting? What a coinky-dink! Go shovel you sh*t at the circus.

'Peak of your career' -- what have you been smoking?!

'Pinch yourself because you can't believe what you've accomplished' -- ummm, yeah, pinch away.

Aren't you just a dandy?!
KirkLazerus writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 2:43:18 PM

he didn't say he was gonna quit, he just said he was gonna take a break so he can do Theater, he will probably do some theater then come back to acting
Spankfish writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 3:14:29 PM

@ Ranger. Dude, if you had seen some of the sh*te he's done on UK TV, you would agree hes had the peak of his career. Clive Owen would not have been my bet for a small time UK actor to get any success in hollywood.
Ranger writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 3:46:37 PM

@Spank - lol.
bloodgear writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 3:50:34 PM

Most of you, besides the ones that read the article, are idiots. Doesn't say he's going to quit acting, just FILM.

Theatre is what drives real actors though. It's what they should start with.
Ranger writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 4:05:14 PM

I read it.

I know he's not quitting acting.

Yes, theater is a good place to start. But no one gives up Hollywood money by choice. Choices have been made for him and his offers are getting thin. This is just the latest barrage of attention-getting crap these actors are pulling.

This year an interviewer asked Tom Cruise if he'd ever do theater. He politely dodged the question and didn't answer. It's hard (nay, impossible) to give up Hollywood pay willingly and go to your start theater, if you still had good Hollywood offers. That would be such a pay cut for Cruise... it wouldn't even be funny (not to mention the millions of $'s he makes annually just sitting on his ass with royalties).

So Clive... sell it someplace else. I'm not buying.
otis writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 11:40:40 PM

It's not a matter of if, but when he'll move on to theater. Just his name will get him in. Look at Katie Holmes in All My Sons or Jude Law in Hamlet or Daniel Craig/Hugh Jackman (stage vet.) in A Steady Rain or Jane Fonda in 33 Variations. It's practically a shoe-in so that these theaters can get ticket sales.
Now, as I am a working theater actor myself who has dabbled in films, I find live theater more personable and free. You miss something on the set doing a take to a camera 50 times, whereas on stage you're doing it to people once a night. In a way, one could say Clive wasn't quitting acting, but beginning the real acting.

But again, he's probably just an overrated douchebag looking for any work he can.
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 2:31:30 AM

Well, good for him. I for one don't care, but if he's doing what makes him happy, that's all that matters. Good luck dude, and take Children of Men with you.
Montana writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 6:35:12 AM

thank goodness
Long Rod VonHugendong writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 5:55:24 PM

Good for him, there is more in life and do what makes you happy

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer

Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved