WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Nicolas Cage Turned Down Lead Role in "Lord of the Rings"
Oct 5th, 2015
First Look at Matthew McConaughey in "Gold"
Oct 5th, 2015
"Thor 3" Found Its Director
Oct 5th, 2015
"Power Rangers" Reboot is Testing These Eight Actors
Oct 5th, 2015
James McAvoy in Talks for M. Night Shyamalan's New Supernatural Thriller
Oct 5th, 2015
Final Trailer for "Spectre" James Bond Film
Oct 3rd, 2015
Trailer for Kurt Russell's "Bone Tomahawk" Western
Oct 3rd, 2015
Reboot of "MacGyver" TV Series in the Works with James Wan
Oct 3rd, 2015
Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Oct 2nd, 2015
Final Poster for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2"
Oct 2nd, 2015
Trailer for "The Forest" Supernatural Thriller
Oct 2nd, 2015
New Trailer for Leonardo DiCaprio's "The Revenant" Thriller
Oct 1st, 2015
First Look: Andrew Garfield in Mel Gibson's "Hacksaw Ridge"
Oct 1st, 2015
Matthew Vaughn to Direct "I Am Pilgrim" Thriller
Oct 1st, 2015
Vin Diesel Says "Furious 8" is Part of Last Trilogy
Sep 29th, 2015
Danny Boyle to Shoot "Trainspotting" Sequel Next Summer
Sep 29th, 2015
Matt Damon Would Play Daredevil if Christopher Nolan Directed
Sep 27th, 2015
Ridley Scott Says "Prometheus 2" Will Have Connections to Ripley
Sep 27th, 2015
Sigourney Weaver Joins "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Sep 27th, 2015
Matt Damon Discusses "Bourne" Plot Details
Sep 27th, 2015
First Look at Woody Harrelson as President Johnson in "LBJ" Biopic
Sep 27th, 2015
Title of "Prometheus" Sequel Revealed
Sep 26th, 2015
New "Men in Black" Film Moving Forward Without Will Smith
Sep 26th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Wants Tom Hardy to Replace Him as Wolverine
Sep 26th, 2015
Trailer for "Truth," with Robert Redford and Cate Blanchett
Sep 26th, 2015
Trailer for "Angry Birds" Movie is Here!
Sep 24th, 2015
Trailer for "The Big Short," with Christian Bale, Brad Pitt, Ryan Gosling and Steve Carell
Sep 24th, 2015
Ridley Scott Planning Three "Prometheus" Sequels
Sep 23rd, 2015
"John Wick 2" to Shoot this Fall, Keanu Reeves Will Return
Sep 23rd, 2015
New Trailer for "The Peanuts Movie"
Sep 23rd, 2015
Liam Neeson's "Taken" Franchise to Become a Prequel TV Series
Sep 21st, 2015
Brie Larson Joins Steve Carell in "Battle of the Sexes" Tennis Drama
Sep 21st, 2015
"Hardcore" Sells to STX for $10 Million After Week-Long Bidding War
Sep 19th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Clive Owen Wants to Quit Acting

Posted: December 4th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Clive Owen Wants to Quit ActingSubmit Comment
Clive Owen told German TV station Tele5 that he is considering leaving Hollywood in order to focus on his theater career. "I'm actually pretty sure that this will happen soon," he said. "I would imagine I'd have to stop the films in order to concentrate entirely on my stage career. I've always played theater roles."

He added that sometimes you just have to do the things which make you happy. "I often have to pinch myself to make me realize what I achieved," said Owen. "But perhaps you should, on the peak of your career think about the fact that it probably can't always go on like this and that there are other things that make you happy, too."

Owen is now part of an ever-growing list of celebrities who have been considering quitting acting, including Viggo Mortensen, Angelina Jolie and Robert Downey Jr.

Source: PA Entertainment

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
barley_cat writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:00:23 AM

Sounds like dear old Pat Swayze (RIP) Didn't know what to do with himself bless.
Johnny Neat writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:36:13 AM

Everybody wants to quit working and move down to their Costa Rican compounds for the apocalypse. We no one is talking about it is beyond me.
Osiris3eagle writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:37:56 AM

None of these actors and actresses will go through with it
Bold Wrecks writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:40:54 AM

He won't quit. He might take a break, but he won't quit. Neither will Viggo Mortensen, Angelina Jolie, and Robert Downey Jr. They all love attention. They're even saying this for attention.
VDODSON writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:49:32 AM

He can quit if he can come out with one more good movie. He'll be older than Connery before its time to call it quits.
Spankfish writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:53:27 AM

Its all bollocks. Just reminding agents, producers and the the rest that they are still out there, available for work.

I might announce my retirement from Hollywood as well, see what happens. Might get a part in Iorn Man 2 or something, as my farewell performance.
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 10:27:56 AM

On this one who really gives a sh*t?
workingdead writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 10:44:52 AM

I think this is a new trend to create a need...ie If only we could get xyz actor for his last role etc.
pomme writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 10:54:13 AM

Bla bla bla!
welcome to my douche club,Owen with RDJ,Jolie or Baldwin.

Do it and shut up!
Stuntastic writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 11:37:33 AM

When will this Brett Favre syndrome stop. This is a pretty serious condition and needs to be discussed more in depth
on December 4th, 2009 at 11:45:22 AM

Fine...Quit and shut the f*ck up!!
warlord writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 12:45:04 PM

must be nice to quit a high paying job
rocketman writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 12:50:49 PM

must be nice to get one in the first place.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 12:53:51 PM

NO! Dammit Clive dont quit acting, what the hell?!?
Eben1277 writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 2:19:57 PM

If he goes to theater, how is that considered quitting acting? Don't actors on a theater level still, um, act? Nowhere, either, does it say he will never ever make another film, just that he wants to concentrate on working in theater right now, which I would think many actors would find more emotionally rewarding than being in movies.
Ranger writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 2:36:00 PM

So... the big $ offers from Hollywood are thinning out eh, Clive, so you're thinking of quitting? What a coinky-dink! Go shovel you sh*t at the circus.

'Peak of your career' -- what have you been smoking?!

'Pinch yourself because you can't believe what you've accomplished' -- ummm, yeah, pinch away.

Aren't you just a dandy?!
KirkLazerus writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 2:43:18 PM

he didn't say he was gonna quit, he just said he was gonna take a break so he can do Theater, he will probably do some theater then come back to acting
Spankfish writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 3:14:29 PM

@ Ranger. Dude, if you had seen some of the sh*te he's done on UK TV, you would agree hes had the peak of his career. Clive Owen would not have been my bet for a small time UK actor to get any success in hollywood.
Ranger writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 3:46:37 PM

@Spank - lol.
bloodgear writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 3:50:34 PM

Most of you, besides the ones that read the article, are idiots. Doesn't say he's going to quit acting, just FILM.

Theatre is what drives real actors though. It's what they should start with.
Ranger writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 4:05:14 PM

I read it.

I know he's not quitting acting.

Yes, theater is a good place to start. But no one gives up Hollywood money by choice. Choices have been made for him and his offers are getting thin. This is just the latest barrage of attention-getting crap these actors are pulling.

This year an interviewer asked Tom Cruise if he'd ever do theater. He politely dodged the question and didn't answer. It's hard (nay, impossible) to give up Hollywood pay willingly and go to your start theater, if you still had good Hollywood offers. That would be such a pay cut for Cruise... it wouldn't even be funny (not to mention the millions of $'s he makes annually just sitting on his ass with royalties).

So Clive... sell it someplace else. I'm not buying.
otis writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 11:40:40 PM

It's not a matter of if, but when he'll move on to theater. Just his name will get him in. Look at Katie Holmes in All My Sons or Jude Law in Hamlet or Daniel Craig/Hugh Jackman (stage vet.) in A Steady Rain or Jane Fonda in 33 Variations. It's practically a shoe-in so that these theaters can get ticket sales.
Now, as I am a working theater actor myself who has dabbled in films, I find live theater more personable and free. You miss something on the set doing a take to a camera 50 times, whereas on stage you're doing it to people once a night. In a way, one could say Clive wasn't quitting acting, but beginning the real acting.

But again, he's probably just an overrated douchebag looking for any work he can.
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 2:31:30 AM

Well, good for him. I for one don't care, but if he's doing what makes him happy, that's all that matters. Good luck dude, and take Children of Men with you.
Montana writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 6:35:12 AM

thank goodness
Long Rod VonHugendong writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 5:55:24 PM

Good for him, there is more in life and do what makes you happy

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"

Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Universal Pictures Already Broke the Record for Highest-Grossing Year

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved