WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You
Sep 19th, 2014
Trailer For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Sep 19th, 2014
Matthew McConaughey NOT Returning For "Magic Mike" Sequel
Sep 19th, 2014
Restricted Trailer For "V/H/S: Viral" Horror Film Arrives Online
Sep 19th, 2014
"Insidious: Chapter 3" Unveils First Poster
Sep 19th, 2014
"X-Men" Spin-Off "Deadpool" is Finally Happening, Release Date Announced
Sep 18th, 2014
Trailer For "A Most Violent Year," From "Margin Call" Director
Sep 18th, 2014
Sony Unveils Animation Test For "Popeye" Movie
Sep 18th, 2014
See Batmobile in Action on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Set
Sep 18th, 2014
"Jason Borne" Producer Says Both Matt Damon's and Jeremy Renner's Films are in the Works
Sep 18th, 2014
"Paranormal Activity 5" Gets New Title and Release Date
Sep 18th, 2014
New Posters For Matthew McConaughey's "Interstellar" and Brad Pitt's "Fury"
Sep 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Robert Downey Jr's "The Judge"
Sep 18th, 2014
David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull
Sep 17th, 2014
Tom Hardy Says Making "This Means War" Was a Bad Experience
Sep 17th, 2014
Jack Huston to Star in "Ben-Hur" Remake
Sep 17th, 2014
Poster for Disney's "Into the Woods," with Meryl Streep and Johnny Depp
Sep 17th, 2014
Tom Hiddleston to Star in "King Kong" Prequel, "Skull Island"
Sep 16th, 2014
Poster for Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Arrives Online
Sep 16th, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Plot Synopsis Revealed
Sep 16th, 2014
"I Know What You Did Last Summer" is Being Rebooted
Sep 16th, 2014
Leslie Mann in Talks for "Vacation" Sequel as Audrey Griswold
Sep 16th, 2014
"You're Next" Director to Remake "I Saw the Devil" Thriller
Sep 16th, 2014
Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"
Sep 16th, 2014
First Look at "By the Sea," with Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie
Sep 16th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Arrives Online
Sep 16th, 2014
Massive Banner For "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies"
Sep 15th, 2014
First Look: Adam Driver on "Star Wars: Episode VII" Set
Sep 15th, 2014
"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office
Sep 14th, 2014
Lou Ferrigno Says "Hulk" Movie and TV Series are Coming
Sep 14th, 2014
Photos: "Gotham" Star Ben McKenzie Injured on Set
Sep 14th, 2014
First Look at "Transporter" Reboot, Plot Synopsis Revealed
Sep 14th, 2014
First Look: Mark Wahlberg on "Ted 2" Set
Sep 14th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Clive Owen Wants to Quit Acting

Posted: December 4th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Clive Owen Wants to Quit ActingSubmit Comment
Clive Owen told German TV station Tele5 that he is considering leaving Hollywood in order to focus on his theater career. "I'm actually pretty sure that this will happen soon," he said. "I would imagine I'd have to stop the films in order to concentrate entirely on my stage career. I've always played theater roles."

He added that sometimes you just have to do the things which make you happy. "I often have to pinch myself to make me realize what I achieved," said Owen. "But perhaps you should, on the peak of your career think about the fact that it probably can't always go on like this and that there are other things that make you happy, too."

Owen is now part of an ever-growing list of celebrities who have been considering quitting acting, including Viggo Mortensen, Angelina Jolie and Robert Downey Jr.

Source: PA Entertainment


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
barley_cat writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:00:23 AM

Sounds like dear old Pat Swayze (RIP) Didn't know what to do with himself bless.
Johnny Neat writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:36:13 AM

Everybody wants to quit working and move down to their Costa Rican compounds for the apocalypse. We no one is talking about it is beyond me.
Osiris3eagle writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:37:56 AM

None of these actors and actresses will go through with it
Bold Wrecks writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:40:54 AM

He won't quit. He might take a break, but he won't quit. Neither will Viggo Mortensen, Angelina Jolie, and Robert Downey Jr. They all love attention. They're even saying this for attention.
VDODSON writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:49:32 AM

He can quit if he can come out with one more good movie. He'll be older than Connery before its time to call it quits.
Spankfish writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:53:27 AM

Its all bollocks. Just reminding agents, producers and the the rest that they are still out there, available for work.

I might announce my retirement from Hollywood as well, see what happens. Might get a part in Iorn Man 2 or something, as my farewell performance.
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 10:27:56 AM

On this one who really gives a sh*t?
workingdead writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 10:44:52 AM

I think this is a new trend to create a need...ie If only we could get xyz actor for his last role etc.
pomme writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 10:54:13 AM

Bla bla bla!
welcome to my douche club,Owen with RDJ,Jolie or Baldwin.

Do it and shut up!
Stuntastic writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 11:37:33 AM

When will this Brett Favre syndrome stop. This is a pretty serious condition and needs to be discussed more in depth
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 11:45:22 AM

Fine...Quit and shut the f*ck up!!
warlord writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 12:45:04 PM

must be nice to quit a high paying job
rocketman writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 12:50:49 PM

must be nice to get one in the first place.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 12:53:51 PM

NO! Dammit Clive dont quit acting, what the hell?!?
Eben1277 writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 2:19:57 PM

If he goes to theater, how is that considered quitting acting? Don't actors on a theater level still, um, act? Nowhere, either, does it say he will never ever make another film, just that he wants to concentrate on working in theater right now, which I would think many actors would find more emotionally rewarding than being in movies.
Ranger writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 2:36:00 PM

So... the big $ offers from Hollywood are thinning out eh, Clive, so you're thinking of quitting? What a coinky-dink! Go shovel you sh*t at the circus.

'Peak of your career' -- what have you been smoking?!

'Pinch yourself because you can't believe what you've accomplished' -- ummm, yeah, pinch away.

Aren't you just a dandy?!
KirkLazerus writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 2:43:18 PM

he didn't say he was gonna quit, he just said he was gonna take a break so he can do Theater, he will probably do some theater then come back to acting
Spankfish writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 3:14:29 PM

@ Ranger. Dude, if you had seen some of the sh*te he's done on UK TV, you would agree hes had the peak of his career. Clive Owen would not have been my bet for a small time UK actor to get any success in hollywood.
Ranger writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 3:46:37 PM

@Spank - lol.
bloodgear writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 3:50:34 PM

Most of you, besides the ones that read the article, are idiots. Doesn't say he's going to quit acting, just FILM.

Theatre is what drives real actors though. It's what they should start with.
Ranger writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 4:05:14 PM

I read it.

I know he's not quitting acting.

Yes, theater is a good place to start. But no one gives up Hollywood money by choice. Choices have been made for him and his offers are getting thin. This is just the latest barrage of attention-getting crap these actors are pulling.

This year an interviewer asked Tom Cruise if he'd ever do theater. He politely dodged the question and didn't answer. It's hard (nay, impossible) to give up Hollywood pay willingly and go to your start theater, if you still had good Hollywood offers. That would be such a pay cut for Cruise... it wouldn't even be funny (not to mention the millions of $'s he makes annually just sitting on his ass with royalties).

So Clive... sell it someplace else. I'm not buying.
otis writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 11:40:40 PM

It's not a matter of if, but when he'll move on to theater. Just his name will get him in. Look at Katie Holmes in All My Sons or Jude Law in Hamlet or Daniel Craig/Hugh Jackman (stage vet.) in A Steady Rain or Jane Fonda in 33 Variations. It's practically a shoe-in so that these theaters can get ticket sales.
Now, as I am a working theater actor myself who has dabbled in films, I find live theater more personable and free. You miss something on the set doing a take to a camera 50 times, whereas on stage you're doing it to people once a night. In a way, one could say Clive wasn't quitting acting, but beginning the real acting.

But again, he's probably just an overrated douchebag looking for any work he can.
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 2:31:30 AM

Well, good for him. I for one don't care, but if he's doing what makes him happy, that's all that matters. Good luck dude, and take Children of Men with you.
Montana writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 6:35:12 AM

thank goodness
Long Rod VonHugendong writes:
on December 8th, 2009 at 5:55:24 PM

Good for him, there is more in life and do what makes you happy

Director James Gunn Comments on "Guardians of the Galaxy" Becoming Highest Grossing Movie of 2014

"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died

Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

"Captain America 3" Director Hints at End of Chris Evans as Captain America

Warner Bros Has a "No Jokes" Policy For Its Superhero Films?

What Happens to Jimmy Olsen in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?

Lou Ferrigno Says "Hulk" Movie and TV Series are Coming

David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved