WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Taylor Lautner to Star in "Max Steel" Toy Movie?

Posted: December 4th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Taylor Lautner to Star in "Max Steel" Toy Movie?Submit Comment
Back in July, we reported that Paramount Pictures was looking to bring the Mattel toy property Max Steel to the big screen. And now, LA Times is reporting that "Twilight Saga: New Moon" star Taylor Lautner's representatives are trying to convince the studio that their client is the right actor to play the teenage superhero lead.

The 17-year-old Lautner is a huge celebrity right now, but his only other project is a character role in the ensemble romantic comedy "Valentine's Day." And that has already wrapped filming, so the actor has nothing on his calendar, except for hosting "Saturday Night Live" on December 12th.

If cast, Lautner would play Josh McGrath, a 19-year-old extreme-sports athlete who is accidentally exposed to the unleashed power of nanotechological machines, which become part of him and give him increased strength, near-invulnerability and the ability to change his appearance.

The Max Steel toy line first came out in 1999 and was immediately turned into a CG-animated television series that ran from 2000-02. It also later spawned a video game, five animated movies, as well as the "Turbo Missions" series of one-minute clips that ran on the Cartoon Network in 2008.

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
barley_cat writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 8:53:04 AM

Hell i'll watch that IF it comes out, Taylor is buff as hell, and i like superhero movies! Loved turbomissions
VDODSON writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:48:03 AM

If you think he's buff, you would think Im a younger version of Arnie. German women scream when I walk into the club. Got so many girls on my jock, I think my phone is tapped..Im bad!
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 10:25:40 AM

He is a martial arts expert so it may actually work.
barley_cat writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 10:28:41 AM

Lol what the hell VDodson?
MontoyaWA writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 11:06:42 AM

Could this guy actually turn into a serious action star? The chicks dig him, and if you throw him into some good action flicks, girls would flock to see them, and any man worth his salt is always in for a good action flick.

IDK...
Stuntastic writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 11:10:10 AM

@VDOD:LMAO
takai writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 1:04:35 PM

@jeffw1978 - 'martial arts expert'? hahahaha. Are you kidding me? Watch his interview on Conan; he did "Xtreme Martial Arts" for a couple years, (which isn't even applicable martial arts) and stopped doing it when he was like, 13.
rabid writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 1:31:22 PM

Chicks dig this guy? If I saw him on the street, I might assume he has Downs Syndrome... not joking.
TeemSelami writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 2:47:17 PM

f*ck THIS FAGGOT! i hope he does his own stunts and there is a giant accident. (ie. vic morrow, brandon lee)
Ranger writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 2:49:08 PM

@VDOD - priceless.
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 3:14:07 PM

@Takai - He is a black belt that used to be ranked #1 in the world prior to acting.
Goober3000 writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 4:33:07 PM

wtf is max steel
takai writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 4:47:56 PM

@Jeff - Ten year old girls can be black belts, that doesn't mean they can be action stars, or that they're martial arts experts. Most belt systems are very flawed and pretty much useless, especially in Americanized martial arts. Belt systems are more for self-esteem boosting, than showing how good of a martial artist you are, or even how much you know.

Taylor was number one in NASKA (North American Sport Karate Association) at the age of 11 having only started martial arts at the age of 6.

American Karate is one of the worst martial arts out there, not only in application, but also in film. It just doesn't look good outside of The Three Ninjas. hahaha.

Having said all of that, I don't think it'd be impossible for Taylor to pull off a Hollywood action roll, but he sure as hell won't be a martial arts star, and if he tries to utilize the training he got from his black belt days, he'll look like an even bigger tool bag.


Sorry for that being so long. All of the facts in regards to Taylor was taken from Wikipedia and The Tonight Show. I'm not that big of a fan, I swear.
takai writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 4:49:10 PM

all of the facts WERE taken*
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 5:39:41 PM

Well there are plenty of action stars that have no fighting background so I guess it does not matter. I don't know jack sh*t about martial arts so any one who has a black belt in my limited knowledge is an expert.

I do know the art of the .357 Mag though hehe.

Besides he will always be gay since he was in twilight.
Ranger writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 8:45:12 PM

None of the 3 principal actors in The Matrix had any former martial arts training (to my knowledge), and they did just fine.
takai writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 1:52:23 AM

The Matrix had awkward hand to hand fight scenes, it was gunplay and wire use that were done well. So I guess if it's your standard for good martial arts on film, then yes, Taylor could do really well.



and yes, the art of the .357 Mag is a good art to know. haha
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 2:34:47 AM

Buff as hell???? OMG. The guy is SKINNY as hell, but not buff as hell. He worked his abs and he has no body fat. That's not buff. That's 'I'm anorexic and in between puking because I'm a fag, I do crunches just to see my own d*ck'. Buff. Puhleeze. I'm more buff than that kid, and I don't really even work out any more.
lawman writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 11:21:58 AM

Mink>>>> Credit where its due. The kid put on over 25lbs of muscle in s few months. He was double sessioning and stopped sweating due to such a high mnetabolism. He's still a gaylord though!
Flav writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 1:12:29 PM

Like the kid, but his fan base will cary his career. Don't think he's a good actor like most hyped actors are.... when is Kris Lemche gonna get a shot at FAME.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 7:40:23 PM

If you training to gain muscles, just for looks, and you stopp being able to sweat, you're and a dumbass and a pig (pigs can't sweat either). Having man-boobs haven't killed anyone (just doomed them to have a social-life through WoW)
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 7:42:01 PM

And by the way, Lautner's presence aside, this idea sounds lame as f*ck.
Hollywood1086 writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 2:17:30 AM

omg hes so hot, so whatever he does i'll go see it
rabid writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 4:51:17 AM

hot? the kid looks like he's got extra chromosomes.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved