WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Jurassic World" Trailer is Here!
Nov 26th, 2014
Trailer for Hugh Jackman's "Peter Pan" Prequel
Nov 26th, 2014
Ridley Scott Won't Direct "Blade Runner 2," Reveals Story Details
Nov 26th, 2014
Michael Fassbender to Star in Danny Boyle's "Steve Jobs" Biopic
Nov 26th, 2014
Trailer for Jennifer Aniston's "Cake" Arrives Online
Nov 26th, 2014
Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 25th, 2014
Michelle MacLaren Will Direct "Wonder Woman" Film
Nov 25th, 2014
Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Nov 25th, 2014
New Trailer For "The Interview" Comedy, with James Franco and Seth Rogen
Nov 25th, 2014
First Posters and Photos of Hugh Jackman in "Peter Pan" Prequel
Nov 25th, 2014
Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Nov 24th, 2014
First Footage From "Jurassic World" Arrives Online
Nov 24th, 2014
"Wanted" Producer Says Sequel is Still Happening
Nov 24th, 2014
New Photo of Arnold Schwazenegger as T-800 From "Terminator Genisys"
Nov 24th, 2014
"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Dominates at Box Office, Hits Franchise Low
Nov 23rd, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Director Says Shared Cinematic Universes Can Be a Mistake
Nov 23rd, 2014
Town Bans Winnie the Pooh for Being Half-Naked
Nov 23rd, 2014
First Poster for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Nov 22nd, 2014
Angelina Jolie Will Quit Acting to Focus on Directing
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for George Lucas' Animated "Strange Magic" Film
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "Pitch Perfect 2" Arrives Online
Nov 21st, 2014
"Zoolander 2" is Moving Forward, Penelope Cruz Joins Cast
Nov 21st, 2014
Stephen King's "The Stand" to Become Four Movies
Nov 21st, 2014
First Look: Patrick Stewart is a White Supremacist in "Green Room" Thriller
Nov 21st, 2014
Mel Gibson May Direct "Hacksaw Ridge," with Andrew Garfield to Star
Nov 21st, 2014
Ridley Scott Promises "a Fresher Form of Alien" in "Prometheus 2"
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Nov 20th, 2014
Trailer for "American Heist" Thriller with Hayden Christensen and Adrien Brody
Nov 20th, 2014
Melissa McCarthy to Star in Live-Action "Tinker Bell" Comedy
Nov 20th, 2014
Al Pacino is an Aging Rock Star in "Danny Collins" Trailer
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for "Peter Pan Live" Musical, with Christopher Walken as Captain Hook
Nov 20th, 2014
Six Actors in Talks for Cyclops and Jean Grey in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 19th, 2014
How Do Horror Fans Choose Movies? Not By Plot or Cast
Nov 19th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sylvester Stallone's Paintings Sell for $90,000

Posted: December 4th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sylvester StalloneSubmit Comment
Sylvester Stallone is branching out from writer, director, producer, action star. He is now a successful painter and has already had his collection of art on display at a gallery in Miami, Florida.

Stallone has been a part-time painter for thirty years, but its only now that he is making money off of it. At the art gallery, Las Vegas casino billionaire Steve Wynn bought one of Stallone's abstract pieces for $40,000. Maybe this painting will show up in one of Wynn's hotels.

In addition, a self-portrait of Stallone, that the actor painted close to forty yeas ago, was purchased by $50,000. Check out a photo of Stallone with Wynn, along with his two paintings.

Photo: (click to enlarge)


Source: Various


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 36 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
barley_cat writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 8:46:27 AM

Succesfull painter my arse, who wouldn't buy a filmstars art if he called it art? Hell, if f*cking Jordan started painting with her nipples then someone would call it art and buy it just because she done it!
Peter Parker writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:04:24 AM

Painting with nipples?
Barely, I like where your mind is at!!! ;)
barley_cat writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:09:52 AM

Lol apparantly its an art form, i saw it on graham norton once lol
Peter Parker writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:15:13 AM

In that case, I'd make one hell of an artist!

And I already have a really good idea for what to use as a paint brush... apart from the nips, naturally...

(kinky... huuuummmmmm)
barley_cat writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:25:46 AM

Well that's where i'd fail as an artist, being a girl and everything. Darn it.
Bold Wrecks writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:31:20 AM

He better be donating the money he makes to charities or something. The fact that he's selling these mediocre paintings for so much money that he doesn't need for personal gain is ridiculous.
barley_cat writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:33:14 AM

Here here Bold. i mean look at them, they freakin SUCK. Clearly NOT a fan of modern art me, but seriously, look at the picture of stylone trying to justify the scribbles to that potential buyer haha.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:35:38 AM

"Well that's where i'd fail as an artist, being a girl and everything. Darn it."

- LMFAO!!!
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 10:19:34 AM

My 5 year old does better paintings than this.
victor arroyo writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 10:48:46 AM

@jeffw1978:

dude I'm sure your 5 year old speaks better than him.

PEACE!
Ari Gold writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 11:30:42 AM

That's a bit gay..

Please don't hunt me down Rambo!!
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 11:43:41 AM

The paintings are a product of the many canvas placed behind the actors of "Rambo 4" for when the squibs loaded with 40 gallons of "reel blood" would go off and bang!...you got your modern art piece. The collection is entitlee "Pretentous f*ck-Rags will by anything"
Stuntastic writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 11:49:13 AM

@Victor: LMAO too true.
Kill-the-director writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 11:54:20 AM

i think i was a better painter when i was 5
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 12:39:54 PM

I can see the irony, he does have a face of a Picasso painting himself.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 12:39:55 PM

I can see the irony, he does have a face of a Picasso painting himself.
Ranger writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 2:46:30 PM

Clearly...

The larger painting (squiggling lines) is of a woman... in pain (as indicated by the fiery colors). Most likely hormonally imbalanced, potentially thinking of throwing her newborn up against a wall for just farting, maybe thinking (if she hasn't already) of killing her husband while he sleeps for snoring (and farting), and undoubtedly she's 'straddling the gauze!' Her soul is in pain... and the world must suffer.

The next one is just Sly feeling the weight (hence the brick walls, closing in around him) of his self-imposed responsibilities to remain a 'man' in light of his fans, despite his advanced years. The wall is further indication of his fear of just blending in with the other 'brick' (actors) of Hollywood, and in his eyes - becoming a nobody as he was before his fame. Not the rage of the hue of the bricks chosen. Clearly... this is a man in pain.


That... or I just made all this sh*t up.

TeemSelami writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 2:53:38 PM

@barley and pete you would love the art by shigeko kubota.

http://katkategnm2003.files.wordpress.com/2009/02/skubota-vaginapainting.jpg
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 3:10:34 PM

LOL nice interpretation ranger
Peter Parker writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 3:19:02 PM

@ TeemSelami:

I LOVE IT!!!! Thanks for the link, couldn't be more appropriate.

I'm sure Barley will love it too, it's the opening she needed to get into art! (opening... get it?)

I'm LMFAO at myself right now and that's soooooo lame... but I can't help it!


... still laughing...

... stopping now...

... OK, I'm done.
Ranger writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 3:25:40 PM

lol.. thx. jeff.
TeemSelami writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 3:41:18 PM

opening lol
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 4:54:03 PM

Always thought art was for c*nts and that link proved it.
vwkombi writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 8:19:56 PM

They are not very good pictures. But of course they sell for 50,000 dollars and a pint of virgin blood. Stallone f*cking painted them! The 7PM project sold a red bull drunk by Dave Hughes for 7 thousand something.

People will buy anything if a celebrity has to do with it.

On an unrelated topic: I have the official pair of sunglasses Clive Owen thought about buying during the filming of Shoot 'Em Up. I start the bidding at $30,000
Ranger writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:00:35 PM

I've read the posts above (and I like the posters... and I'm just offering my thoughts on those posts) suggesting Sly pics aren't worth those kinds of $'s, and he should give the money to charity.

First... it's not Sly that sets the value on his work... it's the buyer. So, the people that did pay the $90K total did think they were worth the $'s... so to them, they are. Same as a Hollywood actor getting $20mil. a movie. Is he or she worth that money? Of course. How do we know? Because someone pays them that much. Everyone is worth what they're paid because they have accepted that job for that money. And I hardly believe there are many that would say... '$20mil...oh no thx. $1mil. is enough for me. Give the rest to charity.' Ummm... yeah.

Are his paintings (good or bad in your eyes) worth the combined $90K? No... because you're not buying them. And to the people that did... that's lunch money. Literally... $90K to some is like the rest of the masses deciding on buying a chocolate bar.

Are his paintings worth more because he's a movie star? Sure. Clearly at $90K they are.

Ask yourself (honestly) if you comments are 'jealously' based. I've known some really, REALLY wealthy people in my life. And what I do know about them... is that they earned every penny they have.

As for giving to charity. I've read on other sites of the $'s Bran and Angelina have given. $8.9mil. in one year alone. And WHAT were the comments? Oh... they do it through the Foundation and therefore get a tax write-off (ahh, duh, no sh*t! Why would they give up that much money and STILL have to pay taxes on it). At the end of the day... THE CHARITY STILL BENEFITS from their generousity. What was a comment when Brad donated $1mil. towards a cancer hospital ward to be put in his Mother's name? Oh... he did it for more attention? Ques: do Brad need to give up $1mil. for any more attention than he already gets, and didn't that hospital benefit? And couldn't he get as much attention for free by just going to the beach with his shirt off?

These celebs get bashed for being wealthy, for giving to charity (when many don't post the figures). The can't wind for losing.

So... not disagreeing with any posts above. Just shedding an opinion. Thx. for reading.
Ranger writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:01:06 PM

I had NO idea my post was going to be that long!

Ouch!
Ranger writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:02:38 PM

And uhhh... 'Brad' = 'Brad'
Ranger writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:02:56 PM

Bran ---- f*ck, AND I'M SOBER!!!!!!
barley_cat writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 10:22:24 PM

Na ranger, i'm just pissed as i'm an artist myself and that sh*t aint art, he has no talent (in drawing as he can definately act lol)

Ok so maybe your right actually, i'm DEAD jealous one of my drawings hasnt sold for 90 k lol.

BUT i know the way forward! become a movie star first! Duh
Ranger writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 1:18:56 AM

@barley - you're honest.

And thank you for taking my comments in the light in which they were intended. I wasn't just siting your comments.

And I thank Mr. Stallone for all the years of entertainment he's provided me. If he makes 90 large on a couple of 'art' pieces... great on him.

Re: an artist becoming a star first before an art piece can go for that kind of cash... kind of a mixed up world we live in (no argument here).

Thx. for your post.
rabid writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 1:44:58 AM

I've seen some of his work. He definitely doesn't have an artistic eye, but some of it is still interesting. The man builds up lots of layers, and you can tell that he puts alot of sweat, alot of hours into them.
I've seen a couple of abstract pieces I wouldn't mind owning.
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 2:10:02 AM

f*cking terrible!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 6:35:28 AM

I tried to bid on Stallone's pieces, but since I'm not wealthy as a motherf*cker, I was outbidded. However, I put my faith in that I'll get lucky on Steven Seagal's auction next week.
Ranger writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 2:08:30 PM

@Mink - no argument here. They're nothing I'd buy.
rocketman writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 5:24:59 AM

He would have never got invited to join Art Collage if that was in his portfolio let alone sell it for 90k.I love Sly in der movies but thats just plain bad as in junior school bad.
Once again it proves it's not what you know but who you know(or knows you?).
So do me a favour Sly,have a nice steroid butty for brekkie and get you're arse down the gym,pump some sh*t and get to making the Expendables 2:Der Bicep Returns.
barley_cat writes:
on December 7th, 2009 at 8:57:10 AM

I don't know Rabid.. Layers are created when you put MORE paint on top... his pieces suggest he may have been painting with his cat, then realised it was sh*t and went over it with his dog-hence the layers.

@ ranger: "thnx for your comment"- my pleasure? lol

It's Official! Channing Tatum to Star in "Gambit" Spin-Off

Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot

Christopher Nolan Hates Post-Credits Scenes, Here's Why

"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Daniel Bruhl is Villain in "Captain America 3" and "Doctor Strange"

Margot Robbie is Harley Quinn in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film

Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy

Jared Leto May Play The Joker in "Suicide Squad"

"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved