WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Joss Whedon on Why "Dollhouse" Was Cancelled

Posted: December 4th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Joss Whedon on Why "Dollhouse" Was CancelledSubmit Comment
Now that there are only a few episodes left of "Dollhouse," show creator Joss Whedon sat down with Chicago Tribune to talk about what he believes were the reasons for the TV series' cancellation. In a polite way, he explained that Fox ruined the show that he originally envisioned.

"The show didn't really get off the ground because the network pretty much wanted to back away from the concept five minutes after they bought it," said Whedon. "And then ultimately, the show itself is also kind of odd and difficult to market. I actually think they did a good job, but it's just not a slam-dunk concept."

He continued: "We always found ourselves sort of moving away from what had been part of the original spark of the show and that ultimately just makes it really hard to write these stories."

"[Part of the problem was] the other implications of what was originally supposed to be somewhat more of a fantasy. The real-world version of [this kind of activity] was I think what made the network really twitchy and I can't really fault them for that. I just thought when I went in and pitched it ...you know, it frightened me too [but I thought] we all got that that was what we were doing."

Source: Sci-Fi Wire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
TRUEMAN writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 8:26:24 AM

this sh*t was cancel because he needs to show more boobs on his series like baywacht!
Johnny Neat writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:39:06 AM

Whatever they did never worked for me or on me. I felt it was garbage female vehicle on a suspect TV station. Now if they cancel Fringe I'll have serious beef seeing as they are trying to ruin that show to. I mean take it back to Tuesdays damn it!
VDODSON writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:44:01 AM

It was cancelled because it sucked. Sons of Anarchy is now king of prime time, no one can touch it.
VDODSON writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:44:31 AM

Fringe is pretty good, hope it makes it through.
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 10:36:03 AM

I am with trueman on this one more boobs were needed
VDODSON writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 10:51:59 AM

Trueman hasnt been wrong yet, he is the voice of Spain. Shame on WP for censoring his insightful remarks.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 11:36:25 AM

Spanish chicks have great boobs!
Trueman has it good, the lucky bastard.

And "Dollhouse" got canceled because of its misleading title. Made people think it was porn. People saw the first episode and they were like:

- "So... when are we gonna see some f*cking?"

Of course they didn't care about it past the 1st episode!
rabid writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 12:24:50 PM

Dollhouse was a great show that started off slow. It was obvious it was all over when the network failed to air the season finale, which was the most creative and original episode of any tv show this past year.
It skipped forward far to the future and showed the full scope and ramifications of the series. In my opinion, the missing episode should have been made the very first episode, and the entire tv watching world would gasp a big WTF?
It was a very serious science fiction show with a political angle. Unfortunately the network forced Whedon to turn it into ineffectual soap.
Moral of the story: Whedon and Fox do not mix.
warlord writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 12:43:14 PM

cuz it suck'd?
thelibradragon writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 2:25:59 PM

I liked the show. Than again, I also like watching old school reruns of 90210, naked on my couch, while pouring hot nacho cheese on my chest and letting my cat lick it up.
TeemSelami writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 2:36:36 PM

this show was f*cking retarded you can't get people to stay home and watch tits with out showing tits. plus this show, angel, and tv buffy suck c*ck if you watched there is a chance you do too.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 4:24:21 PM

joss should focus on a Dr. Horrible sequel
debbylm567 writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 5:28:29 PM

Big Brother & More. This show is actually great if you looked at the premise. What would happen if it was possible to wipe our memories & program us to to anything/ be anyone someone wanted us to be. Joss is an amazing creator and if only they put Dollhouse on a night where it could have been seen by a larger audience and would not always be pre-emted.
angelus04 writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 7:24:15 PM

Joss is a genius and Fox is not the right network to put his show on. Rabid is right Fox and Whedon do not mix hell look at the debacle of Firefly showing the episodes out of order and moving the show to another night without letting anyone know. Buffy and Angel stayed on the air because the WB knew what they were doing they didn't try to limit Joss's creativity or show episodes out of order. Angel however should have had another season but that's besides the point at least it got 5 . Dollhouse was lucky to get 2 thanks to Fox and their poor mismangement of anything that isn't American Idol or their other crappy reality shows. The sad fact is Fox is not the right network for shows like Dollhouse, Terminator Sarah Connor Chronicles, and Firefly. Also sadly some people just don't get Joss's genius which isn't his fault there are alot of idiots out there
CJP writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 8:00:17 PM

Angelus...HELL YEAH!!!
rabid writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 12:59:44 AM

There needs to be some sort of Buffy/Angel reunion tv movie... The comic books are way too good and too much of a tease. It just makes me crave more episodes.
Dre-EL writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 3:16:41 PM

I feel like they tossed a coin as to which show to cancel, this or Sarah Conner, we told them this show sucked from the very begining, they should have known better, now everybody looses.

Bring back T:SCC.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved