WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Steven Spielberg Abandons "Harvey" Remake

Posted: December 4th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Steven Spielberg Abandons "Harvey" RemakeSubmit Comment
Steven Spielberg has spent the last six months developing a remake of "Harvey," but for unknown reasons has now decided to abandon the project. He has already delivered this news to 20th Century Fox, which had already allocated soundstages on the Fox lot in anticipation of an early 2010 production start.

Many believe that his exit is due the problems he had finding an actor to take on the Elwood P. Dowd role, originally played by James Stewart in the 1950 film about a man who befriends a six and one-half foot tall invisible rabbit.

Spielberg's first choice was Tom Hanks, but since Hanks is often regarded as a modern-day Stewart, the actor didn't want to take a role played by the iconic star. Spielberg then spent several months convincing Robert Downey Jr, but the two men had trouble agreeing on the direction of the film.

At this point, it is not clear which project will be Spielberg's next, but candidates like "Lincoln" and "The 39 Clues" are still a possibility.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
wonderBOY writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 8:28:09 AM

lets hope this wont open the door again to the oldboy remake with will smith
Johnny Neat writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:41:51 AM

Steven needs to make a serious & honest, and I mean SERIOUS & HONEST, take on Lincoln already before Neeson quits acting too. Anyhow Hanks was the man for the job and Steven didn't pull the IOU card on him over his "The Terminal" favor as he should have.
VDODSON writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 10:41:59 AM

How about a Munich sequel. I never get tired of seeing a group of bad ass jews obiterate people. Israel is the number one bad ass country. If Palestine lobs a rocket over, Israel kills a hundred of their people. Not a bad ally to have, huh.
billofill writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 10:42:53 AM

THank Christ, or Buddah or what ever deity you choose.
Johnny Neat writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 11:38:46 AM

@VDODSON - Good f*cking point.
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 1:33:47 PM

I kind of wish the US would take Israels military stance then the current p*ssy ass liberal one we have right now.
Ranger writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 2:52:32 PM

Good!

Don't do this remake (ever).
The original is fine.
Go onto something... oh, I don't know... ORIGINAL!

Thx. for playing.
kmccarney88 writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 3:35:23 PM

Interesting, thats the second movie in a row that Spielberg has walked away from. I say he just needs to focus on a couple REALLY important projects like Lincoln, Pirate Latitudes and (most importantly) Interstellar and get on with them. All three of those movies could be absolutely incredible under Spielberg's direction (and he really needs a good film after the abomination, Indiana Jones KOTCS). According to IMDB.com, Interstellar is his next, I'm keeping my fingers crossed.
Ranger writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 3:48:22 PM

I love Spielberg. But I think he's lost his edge and zest. I'm sure it's age related. And a man in the Biz has never offered up, and given up so much of himself... he's probably just spent. I mean, Saving Private Ryan and Schlinder's List are enough for anyone's career.
Rosalie writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 1:09:14 AM

Don't despair! We still have "Tin Tin" to look forward to.
Cbr writes:
on December 5th, 2009 at 5:09:33 AM

Yeah, why not make those Halo movies.
m5dmb28 writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 1:30:12 AM

i thought lincoln was well into the process already? oh well. he should definitely concetrate on interstellar and lincoln, in either order. harvey was great, stewart was great, just leave it. too many remakes as it is.
Jedimax writes:
on December 6th, 2009 at 2:27:50 PM

Spielberg came and spoke to my film class a couple weeks ago. And I think what you have to understand about Harvey and Old Boy is not that these projects are ever dead or if they are ever really alive. He kind of just pokes his head into about 5-10 projects at a time and flows back and forth with all of them for a few months before he settles down. I think most of his focus is on tin-tin right now so IMDB telling you Lincon is in Pre-production is really not a definitive piece of evidence.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved