WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Paul Thomas Anderson Takes on Religion in Next Film

Posted: December 3rd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Paul Thomas Anderson Takes on Religion in Next FilmSubmit Comment
Variety has learned that director Paul Thomas Anderson (Magnolia, Punch Drunk Love, There Will be Blood) is currently working on his next project, which is a period drama starring his long-time collaborator Philip Seymour Hoffman as a founder of a new religious organization in the 1950s.

The untitled film is being set up at Universal Pictures, which will decide whether to give Anderson $35 million to develop it as soon as he turns in a finished script.

In the new movie, Hoffman will play "The Master," as in "master of ceremonies," a charismatic intellectual who hatches a faith-based organization that begins to catch on in America in 1952. The core is the relationship between The Master and Freddie, a twenty-something drifter who becomes the leader's lieutenant. As the faith begins to gain a fervent following, Freddie finds himself questioning the belief system he has embraced, and his mentor.

Anderson's goal is not to scrutinize self-started churches like Scientology or the Mormons, as much as to explore the need to believe in a higher power and the point when a belief system becomes a religion.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Peter Parker writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 8:58:15 AM

Paul Thomas Anderson, aka Great f*cking Director.
This is looking promising...
eddie499 writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 9:15:23 AM

Agreed. He's never made (and probaly never will make) a bad movie.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 10:00:40 AM

Show him the money! 35 mill is nothing...
stevepoots writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 10:18:50 AM

ive been waitin a long time to read that headline.. bring on the amazingness
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 10:21:35 AM

Sure I will give it a try. If the scientologist don't kill him before it is made.
Johnny Neat writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 11:04:49 AM

Paul Thomas Anderson is a wunderkind. The man has directed all of his films with such skill that I can't look away from his work. Magnolia made his talent unquestionable but There Will Be Blood was his Citizen Kane. I can't wait!
VDODSON writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 11:20:14 AM

There will be Homo's was the original title. Dandy was forced to drop out due to artistic differences.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 11:26:52 AM

Can't wait for next weeks headline:

"Church Of Scientology sues Paul Thomas Anderson because they say new movie is slander"
Peter Parker writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 11:33:08 AM

"There will be Homo" - LOL!!
lawman writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 11:33:25 AM

Scientology should sue Avatar. Isnt it kind of the same thing as their religion? f*ckING LOONS!!!
vaodsi writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 12:34:43 PM

I'll watch this
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 12:45:52 PM

Just cause Avatar is about aliens, doesn't make it scientology. Scientology is about crazy-ass stuff that make rich people throw away their money. Hmmm...that actually sounds like Avatar.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 1:22:35 PM

Didn't TWBB already sort of express his opinion on religion? Whatever, new PTA is always a good thing, even his lesser films (Hard Eight, Punch Drunk Love) are pretty damn great.
blinkbomber writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 2:16:52 PM

Paul T. Anderson should punch Paul W.S. Anderson in the face. Just cuz I would love it.
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 2:29:47 PM

There Will Be Blood sucked.

And by that I mean it was f*cking awesome.

Bring it.
rabid writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 3:03:52 PM

This movie cult sounds a bit like Scientology. They should name Hoffman's character F. Don Holbert or something snarky like that.
thedudeman69 writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 3:18:25 PM

Wow. This sounds like a amazing idea for a movie, and I think P.T. is a great director.
lawman writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 4:14:01 PM

In Avatar, the guy is ocupying an alien body. In Scientology, supposedly, aliens occupy our bodies! LOONY f*ckS!! (I know I said that before but they really are crazier than sh*t house rats).
lawman writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 4:14:01 PM

In Avatar, the guy is ocupying an alien body. In Scientology, supposedly, aliens occupy our bodies! LOONY f*ckS!! (I know I said that before but they really are crazier than sh*t house rats).
Peter Parker writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 4:19:06 PM

"They're among us!!!" LOOL!

They eat placentas... 'nuff said!
lawman writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 4:28:51 PM

PP>> Shut the f*ck up! Really? I didnt know that. They f*cking eat placentas? That makes them a little cooler than I thought. Trust me, 5 minutes on each side, some onions, and some Texas Pete's hot sauce on a seeded roll, and you got yourself Placenta burger heaven!!!!
Peter Parker writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 4:45:38 PM

@ lawman:

Sounds too me like we're coming up with some pretty good ideas for a Scientology restaurant!
A place like that would make a killing in NY and CA right now!
rabid writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 5:05:26 PM

You could call it "The L. Ron Cupboard"
Spankfish writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 6:13:55 PM

@ Rabid, funny as f*ck.

More abuse given to weird cults can only be a good thing.

Tried that stupid test they have on the Sciencebollocks web site. Doesnt matter what answers you give, you always need treatment off them. Good sales pitch.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 6:26:30 PM

We have the idea for the business, we've got a name, let's get started on the menu...

- Placenta burger
- Alien beefsteak

... more ideas?
rabid writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 10:50:39 PM

Xenuchinni salad with Clear dressing.
and for dessert... nuclear volcano cake. Tho maybe there should be a low-glycemic menu for dianetic diabetics.

and while they wait, Patrons could use the salt and pepper shakers as an e-meter and read their operating theta level off the napkin holder.
Spankfish writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 11:28:02 PM

And you could have a f*ck off massive box for everyone to just throw their cash in.
Porter Montoya writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 2:36:23 AM

PTA. My man. I've been hounding his IMDB for weeks waiting for news. This makes my day.
dub031 writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 11:29:07 AM

PTA and PSH = There Will Be Oscars (watch...*walks away looking at u like david blaine...*)

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved