WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tom Hardy on Starring in "Mad Max: Fury Road"

Posted: December 3rd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tom Hardy on Starring in "Mad Max: Fury Road"Submit Comment
It was recently revealed that director George Miller has chosen Tom Hardy (Bronson, RocknRolla) and Charlize Theron to star in the upcoming fourth "Mad Max" movie, called "Mad Max: Fury Road."

MTV News now caught up with Hardy, who said that he has yet to have a conversation with Miller about the movie and that he has not officially signed on for anything.

"George hasn't actually confirmed that," Hardy said about him getting cast, adding: "The audition process had nothing to do with Max and nothing to do with the story or the script. It was unorthodox to the point where actually I could have been auditioning for anything. It was an anonymous read."

The actor quickly explained that even though he has yet to receive the role, "it's strongly coming in my direction. I would be preparing for that role. The Mad Max figure is a big figure, and I have to get my head around that."

Hardy went on to say that his goal is to not rehash Mel Gibson's performances. "He is Mad Max. I have to bring something entirely different and new to the stage," he explained. "If I get offered it and George really wants to go with me, then George will tell me exactly what he wants to do and we'll work together on the floor to create what it is that he wants to achieve. And I hope I can get that done for him."

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SACdaddy writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 9:39:05 AM

So is this gonna be a chatty, happy Mad Max? If he wants to do a different character, why not just call it something else and stop trying skim a buck off of Mel's act.

"George will tell me exactly what he wants to do and we'll work together on the floor to create what it is that he wants to achieve."

Did Miller get it wrong the first time?

SACdaddy writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 9:57:45 AM

Sorry, I just rather would have seen Mel back as an older more grizzled Max. All he has to do is get behind the wheel for this film, I don't see age getting in the way at all. Plus, from a financial stand point a Mel movie makes so much more sense. I can understand if Mel didn't want to do another MM film, I'm just saying it would have been much better than this.

Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 9:59:28 AM

So Mad Max isn't supposed to be a lone berserker? Sounds, well, stupid. New title is "Mild-mannered Max"
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 10:23:58 AM

Way to f*ck up another series of movies. jackholes
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 10:49:46 AM

I don't know why y'all are implying he is going to tone down the character. You shouldn't compare his actual personality with his acting abilities. If anything, I think that he will add more of a dynamic range to the character.
Johnny Neat writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 11:06:30 AM

As much as Tom is okey with me, I'd much rather Miller grab Sam Worthington for this role. I mean come one, Sam is the new it guy, Aussie & looks like a young Gibson. I see case closed.
vaodsi writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 12:33:34 PM

dude did people here see bronson?
tom hardy is the sh!t!
this will be cool
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 12:47:44 PM

I just don't see how they can take Mad Max in to something "entirely different", without taking out the "mad".
lawman writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 3:48:30 PM

What the f*ck? Everyone always bitches about reboots and prequels, well f*ck, heres a part 4. It will be picking up where the 3rd left off. Mad Max wasnt a bat sh*t crazy lunatic. He was a bad assed, tough guy who didnt take any sh*t. I dont recall reading ANYWHERE that they would be doing away with that. Oh, and FREUDIAN NIGHTMARE, GO f*ck YOUR MOTHER!!!
lawman writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 3:50:52 PM

SAC, I agree. I would have liked to see him reprise the role one last time. He could have pulled it off. I mean, in a situation like the setting of the movie, and with a character as rough as Max, he wouldnt just grow old and die! He would keep fighting, maybe smarter not harder. Could have been cool!!
victor arroyo writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 4:00:32 PM

Tom Hardy is the sh*t.

PEACE!
victor arroyo writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 4:12:54 PM

@vaodsi:

damn straight sssson!


PEACE!
HannibalK1ng writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 5:24:28 PM

what a goofy looking c*nt.
He was ok in rocknrolla, but Sam worthington is a better bankable option and will be even better once avatar/ clash of the titans come along
Spankfish writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 6:28:19 PM

I cant really see how its a Mad Max film without Gibson, as much as i hate the pissed-up, Jesus loving, knob.

Its like re-making Rambo with Vin Diesel, or Star Trek without Shatner......hang on.....
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 11:07:46 PM

Did you fanboys not learn your lesson the first, second, or third time when Daniel Craig, Robert Downey Jr., and Heath Ledger f*cked you stupid? I believe that Tom Hardy will give the underdog performance of 2011. Chris Hemsworth will be a close second.
SACdaddy writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 2:38:57 AM

@AA
1. Daniel Craig is more Bourne than Bond and his movies (except for Layer Cake) suck! Call Connery when you need to save the world, call Craig when you need to beat up Munchkins named Elvis.

2. Ledger was great as Joker. Jack was better.

3. RDJ? Still trying to figure what role you're referencing. He did make a good Chaplin :)

4. Hemsworth can't save Thor.
SACdaddy writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 2:48:09 AM

I can't wait for them to recast Indiana Jones.
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 3:37:53 AM

@SACdaddy Thank you for sticking by your opinions. I am often told I am too much of an optimist. The world will be ending one day and I will try to find something good to say about the apocalypse.
Carpen7er writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 9:42:13 AM

Mad Max...what about Gay Max ?
AYT BALL writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 11:13:00 AM

oh i see what you did, you changed the word mad to the word gay!.......too funny.........
lawman writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 4:36:04 PM

AYT BALL>>>>> LOL

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved