WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Quentin Tarantino was Offered to Direct "The Green Lantern"

Posted: December 2nd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Quentin Tarantino was Offered to Direct "The Green Lantern"Submit Comment
Quentin Tarantino is apparently a big comic book fan, using Marvel's "Sgt Fury and His Howling Commandos" as the basis for his "Inglourious Basterds" film.

But he came much closer than that to bringing a comic book movie to the big screen. "I was offered 'The Green Lantern,'" Tarantino told MTV News. "Not since it's been a script, but just like, 'Hey we own the 'Green Lantern.' Would you like it?'"

Tarantino refused to take on the project and Warner Bros ended up hiring Martin Campbell (Casino Royale) to direct with Ryan Reynolds to star.

"There is a little part of me that's like, 'Wow, if I was in my 20s, this would be the genre I'd want to specialize in," he said. "But they weren't making them then, or at least not the right ones. But there also is an aspect where I've kind of outgrown that a little bit."

He added that he is no longer interested in adapting any previously established franchises. "It wouldn't be an existing comic book character," he said. "I'm a writer. I'd want to use my imagination and not have to fight with geeks' memories of how this character should be and, 'Oh, I cast an actor as opposed to a bodybuilder' or it's not as good as the way [DC Comics artist] Neal Adams drew him.' If I were to do something like that, I would want the fun of coming up with the superhero myself."

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Dre-EL writes:
on December 2nd, 2009 at 8:58:57 PM

I dont know but GL doesnt seen like a Q picture to me. I guess I should be thankful he's not doing it.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on December 2nd, 2009 at 9:19:22 PM

I can just imagine The Corps sitting around in a diner talking back and forth very nonchalantley about saving the universe and Sinestro and sh*t like that for 45 minutes before any action takes place
telur writes:
on December 2nd, 2009 at 9:23:22 PM

bullsh*t, they don't really serious with Tarantino. His movies too much talking.
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on December 2nd, 2009 at 9:53:50 PM

this would be sooo f*cking awesome, but I understand where he is coming from as well as the people who don't support this...
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 2nd, 2009 at 10:05:51 PM

Can't see him doing it
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 2nd, 2009 at 10:11:03 PM

Well, seeing as how f*cking terrible the green lantern script was, I am all in f*cking favour of seeing Tarantino directing.
LegacyAR writes:
on December 2nd, 2009 at 10:59:04 PM

Don't act like you've read the real script Cupcakes so you sound like a badass. Wait till the movie comes out before you start talking sh*t about it and who should have directed it.
rabid writes:
on December 2nd, 2009 at 11:07:38 PM

hahahah yeah right. I love Tarantino, but he's the uber-sh*t-talker.
blinkbomber writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 12:23:43 AM

actually, Spooky, why dont ya throw a bone? i'd love to read an early draft of the GL script.

only early script draft i ever read was for Eternal Sunshine, and while most of it was the same, a key scene in the ending was deeply... deeply missed.
rabid writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 12:59:28 AM

he's probably just read the script overview from last year that got posted all over the net. If it is that one, it underwent a rewrite a few months ago.
Hey Spooky, what's the name of the villain in this picture?
jdl107 writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 1:49:23 AM

"I'm a writer. I'd want to use my imagination and not have to fight with geeks' memories of how this character should be"

I only wish I could meet this man and shake his hand. Because goddamn, even the geeks are bitching about Adrien Brody, even though that Nimrod explained it perfectly.

Quite funny, he explained, and people bitched some more.
J.A.Ottley writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 3:31:44 AM

Hey Blinkbomber

send me an email mate, i'll send ya the script. I sent it to Spooky and yeah it ain't all that brilliant

email me at
stormingshadowcat@hotmail.co.uk
eddie499 writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 9:20:44 AM

Good decision, Q!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 9:36:37 AM

QT for president! A honest man with integrity in Hollywood.

@jdl107: Spot on
Johnny Neat writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 11:15:46 AM

For once I agree with him.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 3:43:11 PM

post your email and I'll send you the (craptacular) draft

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved