WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Universal Introduces DVD/Blu-ray "Flipper" Discs

Posted: December 1st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Universal Introduces DVD/Blu-ray "Flipper" DiscsSubmit Comment
Universal Studios Home Entertainment announced today the introduction of dual-format discs containing both Blu-ray and DVD versions of some of their films. The new "flipper" discs will launch on January 19th, 2010 with the superspy thrillers "The Bourne Identity," "The Bourne Supremacy" and "The Bourne Ultimatum," premiering as individually packaged Blu-ray discs.

For the first time, consumers will have the ability to choose between Blu-ray and DVD formats, simply by flipping a single disc. With complete utility in one convenient package, the medium can be used on any DVD or Blu-ray compatible player, game platform or computer, making it ideal for anyone planning to upgrade to Blu-ray at a future date as well as current owners of both Blu-ray and DVD systems. Each side of Universal's flipper discs includes the entire movie as well as all available bonus features, with the Blu-ray side featuring BD exclusives such as U-Control and BD-Live.

"Universal's flipper discs are the perfect way for consumers to future-proof their collections while still enjoying their favorite movies on all their existing DVD players," said Craig Kornblau, President of Universal Studios Home Entertainment. "The flipper disc offers an easy way for viewers to convert to Blu-ray now or at any time in the future, confident in the fact they will be able to experience their home entertainment purchases in the highest quality picture and sound when they do."

No word on the pricing, but it will likely be at least the cost of the regular Blu-ray discs, which could turn-off shoppers who are not currently planning to upgrade their DVD players.

Source: Universal


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 6:45:09 PM

OH thank God they are talking about this!

I thought (by the headline) they were releasing that f*cking Dolphin to DVD!
wonderBOY writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 7:08:11 PM

^ me too
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 7:13:28 PM

I would have preferred the Flipper movie release, I already have a ps3 heh.
hybridthry84 writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 7:24:05 PM

I like the idea. It means that I could buy their Blu-ray discs to watch on my PS3 and still be able to take them over to a friends house to watch on a standard DVD player. Hopefully these will not cost more (or at least not much more) than normal Blu-ray discs.
AP102390 writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 8:04:42 PM

Ranger i thought the exact same thing. i was concerned.
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 8:08:04 PM

They shouldn't cost more. Movies like Up and Coraline come with a DVD copy already at no extra charge. If they are more expensive it will be a load of crap.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 8:53:14 PM

uh, still pretty pointless if you have a blu ray player, because you don't need the f*cking dvd, and its pointless if you have a dvd player, because you dont have a f*cking blu ray player.

sh*t idea, who's behind it? Cameron?
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 9:12:06 PM

HDDVD's all had this option if I remember correctly.
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 10:37:04 PM

I was suddenly hungry for fish when I read this headline. mmmmmmmmmmm flipper steaks
StrongR3tard writes:
on December 2nd, 2009 at 12:02:04 AM

kinda pointless since movies are free anyway off the interwebs
LegacyAR writes:
on December 2nd, 2009 at 1:33:56 AM

I like the idea of the movie coming with the dvd and blu ray together but I don't want them on the same disc at all. I hated it when they had full-screen and wide-screen on opposite sides, and I'm sure I won't like this either. Just put the dvd along with blu ray disc like Up and the other disney movies did.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 2nd, 2009 at 3:14:43 AM

This sounds like they just trying to make more money of the regular dvd-discs. Greedy dandys. Also thought it was about the dolphin, and now I wish it were.

I so want a dolphin...
Ranger writes:
on December 2nd, 2009 at 4:38:05 AM

Who doesn't?!
rabid writes:
on December 2nd, 2009 at 5:29:13 AM

makes no difference to me. I have blu-ray and there are only a handful of movies where the quality between dvd and bluray make a difference.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 2nd, 2009 at 7:00:37 AM

The japanese...
barley_cat writes:
on December 2nd, 2009 at 9:10:41 AM

"OH thank God they are talking about this!

I thought (by the headline) they were releasing that f*cking Dolphin to DVD"

Lol Ranger... so did I.. and I was all hyped :(. I loved flipper


KindredMac writes:
on December 2nd, 2009 at 9:57:43 AM

This is the best thing that could happen to the home disc market.
A) Cut down on packaging costs.
B) Cut down on retail space needed for two formats.
C) How many times have you wanted a certain movie on Blu-Ray and got the DVD version of it as a gift? Gone with this method!
D) Netflix, RedBox, Blockbuster need to carry one format that has a wider range of customers, as in all of them...

BTW, HD DVD never had this option. If HD DVD or Blu-Ray would have done this from the beginning there wouldn't have been a format war. Period. Whoever would have done this from the beginning would have bitch slapped the loser down so fast it would have been criminal.

I say Kudos to Universal for doing this!

Now I can have my Blu-Ray version for my HD viewing pleasure and still be able to rip a version to my iPhone with HandBrake using the DVD side.
MontoyaWA writes:
on December 2nd, 2009 at 11:08:01 AM

Yes, HD-DVD did have this option, and pretty much did this from the beginning. It wasn't all films, but quite a few. The problem was, and probably will be with these disc is that the cost of these combo discs are outrageous. You still end up paying like $40 for a single movie, just to have it in two formats.

This is old techonology and a complete waste of time. They need to make buying Blu-Ray's cheaper not coming up with ways to jack up the prices.
KindredMac writes:
on December 2nd, 2009 at 1:07:34 PM

I stand corrected about HD-DVD hybrids... but the hybrids were very rare to find in the wild. I never heard of them until today and I was keeping an eagle eye on the format war so goes to show that Hollywood didn't do their homework properly.
Snarebeast writes:
on December 2nd, 2009 at 4:20:02 PM

I'm a little disappointed. My Blu-Ray collection is nice, but it's nothing without the hi-def adventures of Elijah Wood and Paul Hogan.
ugotjewed writes:
on December 2nd, 2009 at 5:27:39 PM

Ranger i also thought the same thing hahahahaha
barley_cat writes:
on December 3rd, 2009 at 10:54:47 AM

What they should do is release all the old 90's Nickelodeon & Disney Channel series on DVD/ Bluray! Now that would be great.


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved