WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Alec Baldwin Now Wants to Quit Acting

Posted: December 1st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Alec Baldwin Now Wants to Quit ActingSubmit Comment
I'm starting to lose count of how many actors have been planning to quit acting. Angelina Jolie, Viggo Mortensen, Robert Downey Jr, and now you can add Alec Baldwin to that list.

"I don't have any interest in acting anymore," Baldwin told Men's Journal. "Movies are a part of my past. It's been 30 years. I'm not young, but I have time to do something else."

The actor's career today is as impressive as ever. He is the star of the Emmy-award winning NBC comedy "30 Rock" and was recently selected to co-host the 2010 Academy Awards with Steve Martin.

Baldwin added that he will quit acting after "30 Rock," "in a couple of years," mostly because he considers his film career a failure. "I consider my entire movie career a complete failure," he said. "The goal of movie-making is to star in a film where your performance drives the film, and the film is either a soaring critical or commercial success, and I never had that."

Another reason why Baldwin may be considering making this move, is because of his interest in politics. But due to his constant offensive comments about Republicans and specific politicians, he may have trouble winning an election.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 60 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
lost_addict writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 5:12:25 AM

didn't he stop acting 5 years ago?
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 5:32:59 AM

I am ok with him quiting.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 6:30:51 AM

i don't mind him quiting, as long as he can do some cameos as himself
johnny_boy writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 7:21:31 AM

alec baldwin is gonna quit acting?! did he call his daugther a rude lil pig again?
scarface85 writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 9:14:02 AM

f*ck now every body wants to quit acting
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 9:40:04 AM

Isnt he still running F.A.G?
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 10:13:34 AM

I thought he already quit. When did he ever truly act?
victor arroyo writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 10:22:53 AM

f*ck! he just made his comeback.

Love 30 rock.


PEACE!
pomme writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 10:24:23 AM

Bla bla bla!
TheBlackCat writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 10:32:19 AM

Do the world a favor.
Zackass writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 10:36:27 AM

What about Beetlejuice?!?!!?
Spankfish writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 10:45:55 AM

This is a new tactic. Not done a devent film for a while, say your going to quit acting, people pay attention to you, think "Oh yeah, Alec Balwin, we could use him.", new roles come flooding in.
eddie499 writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 11:31:06 AM

WOW. The most successful of the Baldwins calls himself a failure. What does this make his brothers?
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 12:40:11 PM

Oh eddie... don't go there... lol.

@Spankfish - exactly.

'Remember Ryan. Most things in that room don't react well to bullets.'

I like Alec in Red October and Nuremberg. And he's one of the best guests ever on 'Inside the Actor's Studio' and 'SNL' (ie: Schwety Balls).

But Spank is right. The reason could simply be for more attention, thus more roles. Again (I've mentioned this before), Shatner said this same thing after every, single Star Trek movie.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 12:43:51 PM

All the brothers are succesful, what you talking about? Stephen made The Usual Suspect and...well, William starred in...at least Daniel has Vampires...nevermind.
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 12:52:02 PM

LOL... I was wondering where you were going with that.
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 12:57:10 PM

Stephen has been in some pretty lame, dark sh*t. My fav. of his was: 'Zebra Lounge' - a bored, married couple (I know: 'bored' and 'married' in the same sentence is redundant), try out the swinging lifestyle. Of course Stephen and his wife are dark and f*cked-up!

Hey... we're making a movie about a nut-job (before the Producer and Director can say another word, the Secretary is already bringing in the phone #'s for the Baldwin brothers Agents).
Dre-EL writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 1:27:57 PM

I say good ridance to Alec, who needs ya, we arent begging you to stay.

The best thing Stephen ever did was the usual suspects.
For Daniel it was backdraft.
I'm sure there was another brother who did a TV show. Law & Order or Homiside or something.
Metafact writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 1:30:42 PM

"The goal of movie-making is to star in a film where your performance drives the film, and the film is either a soaring critical or commercial success, and I never had that."

What a narrow-minded way of gauging success as a film actor. Okay, so maybe he never "starred in a [successful] film where his performance drives the film," but that's true of a lot of otherwise accomplished actors. Plus, he's completely ignoring the memorable supporting roles he's taken on in huge critical and/or commercial successes like Glengarry Glen Ross, The Royal Tenenbaums, The Aviator, and The Departed. There's also that small matter of the Oscar nomination he recieved for The Cooler. Gary Oldman and Christopher Plummer have yet to recieve a single nomination, does that make their careers a "complete failure," too?
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 1:39:20 PM

@Dre- good calls on his brothers best movies... I'd agree.

@Meta - very true. And even Alec himself was credited by James Lipton on Inside the Actor's Studio for taking those smaller, character-driven roles that make up a lot of his career. Plus he didn't speak here of his theater career... which is also successful. Plus: 'Ghosts of Mississippi, The Good Shepard (when DeNiro comes to your house because he wants you in his movie... you KNOW you've made it!), Pearl Harbor, etc. I think Alec has filled up a decent part of Hollywood.

Lol... I did just look up his career and see he was in Pluto Nash - ugh (but uncredited, thank God!).

Yeah, I can ONLY see this as an attention-getting mechanism.

Grow up Alec! You and Downey go have a couple of beers, snort a few lines and cry in your own vomit.
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 1:50:21 PM

Plus Alec got to throw it into Kim Basinger for a while. And it doesn't get any better than that my friends!
TeemSelami writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 2:20:37 PM

yeah he'll quit acting just like he moved to canada when bush was re-elected
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 2:34:37 PM

Was that Alec? I forgot about....

No... wasn't that Stephen?

Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 2:35:10 PM

It had to be Stephen, because when I heard about it, I thought: 'Who gives a sh*t where you live!?'

Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 2:36:26 PM

Sorry... that was Stephen and the move to Canada if Obama won (of which he now claims he was joking).
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 3:06:38 PM

I was going to move to jamaica if Obama won, but the miltary said no.
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 3:15:37 PM

I was going to move into Abigail Breslin crotch if Obama won. But she started yelling: 'STRANGER! STRANGER! STRANGER!' - then the cops were involved... so that all went by the way-side.
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 3:18:55 PM

^LOL
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 3:24:45 PM

Wasn't Alec the leader of F.A.G?
darkraven28 writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 3:48:38 PM

William did Backdraft. And he RULED in it. Only a badass can play a good firefighter and screw Jennifer Jason Leigh on top of a fire truck. Bad ass only.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 3:54:26 PM

No, William was backdrafted by Kurt Russell and Scott Glenn ruled that movie. Get your facts right.

I heard Dakota Fannings crotch were open for business...
BigUnit writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 3:59:58 PM

Alec Baldwin
BigUnit writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 4:00:57 PM

biodome CLASSIC! lol wait that was stephan...
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 4:03:04 PM

@F_N - Dakota was my first choice. Her screams in 'War of the Worlds!' gave me wood!
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 4:03:30 PM

Especially when she saw the bodies floating down the river... BA-BOING!
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 4:05:14 PM

Dakota Fanning's crotch is open for buisiness?

Is she still jail bait?
Rich k writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 4:09:21 PM

shutu alec and make bettlejuice 2, because you know hollywood wants to.
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 4:10:33 PM


No. She's 14 and from Georgia... so she's fair game.

And when the hell did you start getting so particular?!

What happened to my wingman: 'If she's old enough to walk, she's old enough for cack!'?
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 4:22:17 PM

And if you had been her cousin you could've boned at 11...between the teeth
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 4:22:53 PM

OK... I'm back into the cold shower!
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 4:34:01 PM

Jail bait makes it more exciting.
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 4:38:44 PM

And is it still called pedophilia if the kid is dead? (OK... that's from t-shirt hell. Don't shoot the messenger!).
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 4:42:14 PM

This just in J-Lo has a sex tape out incase anyone cares
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 4:45:17 PM

Not me!

And just how far back was the camera to get her whole ass in the frame?!?!?!
Tizzle writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 4:48:42 PM

Beetlejuice. I rest my case. But you know what? If all these A-listers want to quit acting that's fine. More room for me.
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 4:50:04 PM

Haven't seen it yet just passing on the news. Don't know if I am going to watch it.
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 4:50:41 PM

A-Lister????
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 4:51:47 PM

Butt it's only her ass, and although it's a fine one, it's still only an ass. Where did all the good ol' regular f*cktapes go?
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 4:55:32 PM

They're in my safe.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 5:01:29 PM

Safe? You greedy bastard. Why won't share it w...qait, there's no Dandy in them? Cause in that case you can keep them the safe and throw the key in the depths of Mordor.
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 5:06:00 PM

They wouldn't be precccciouuuussssss if dandy were in them.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 5:09:51 PM

True, just pre-pus
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 5:31:31 PM

AHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHA
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 5:33:14 PM

AHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHA
johnny_boy writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 6:24:53 PM

@ Ranger regarding Abigal Breslin comment.... are you sure she said "stranger"? she was probaly saying "Ranger" as let you know its her and to get up in it.
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 6:33:13 PM

OH sh*t!!!

I blew that opportunity then (as she would have I)!!!
Vin12 writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 6:39:11 PM

he was never really one of my favs so im ok with this
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on December 2nd, 2009 at 1:46:31 AM

Hey Alec, which do you want? Your career or one like Kato Kaelin's? And since it has made you a fairly rich man, I rest my case and please shut the f*ck up.
rabid writes:
on December 2nd, 2009 at 4:44:47 AM

Dammit, no! He's the only respectable Baldwin. Hang in there Alec. Don't let that ice queen Basinger or any dipsh*t republicans get you down.
Ranger writes:
on December 2nd, 2009 at 3:43:03 PM

I'm a fan of Alec there rabid.

But the other Baldwin's didn't set the bar very high... lol.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved