WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Predators" Director Explains Adrien Brody Casting

Posted: December 1st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Predators" Director Explains Adrien Brody CastingSubmit Comment
About two months ago, it was announced that Adrien Brody (King Kong, The Pianist) and Topher Grace (Spider-Man 3, "That 70s Show") have been cast in the upcoming "Predators" reboot. Considering that some of the original film's cast included such muscle-men as Arnold Schwarzenegger, Carl Weathers and Jesse Ventura, it was a big surprise that Brody and Grace were hired.

ComingSoon has now caught up with director Nimrod Antal to find out his reasons for the move. "I think when we cast Adrien, there were a lot of people going, 'What?' but at the same time, if we cast a Vin Diesel in that role or if we cast anyone who is Arnold-esque, we would have been attacked for doing that," he explained. "So we decided early on to go in a very different direction as far as the casting process, but it turned out fantastic."

Antal continued: "He plays a mercenary in the film and if you look at the guys in Iraq and Afghanistan today, they're not 'yolked-out' Schwarzenegger-looking guys. They're all very wiry and thin guys, and I think it's going to play well."

The leaked script for the movie includes a part for a mysterious man, who lives on the Predator planet and has been avoiding being caught by the monsters for years. Many believe this role is being saved for Schwarzenegger. "Time will tell. We'll see," said the director.

In addition, KGNB News is reporting that the "Predators" production has been filming at Canyon Lake gorge in Texas. The location will serve as the distant Predator planet.

Source: KGNB News, ComingSoon


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 38 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Last Acting Hero writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 5:32:10 AM

Ooo well yeah that does make sense, the mercenaries in Iraq and Afghanistan are "thin". Too bad this movie takes place on another f*cking planet!The predators are supposed to be challenged hunting an anorexic with a beak as a nose!? I know you're really big bird Adrien Brody. Come out of hiding! You aren't going to fool me you out of work son of a bitch big bird! And screw you too you son of a bitch nimrod. I don't even know what to say about you because you're name is nimrod. Annnd topher grace...ranger, or mink, or that guy that doesn't speak english from spain with golem from lotr as an avatar, help me out here.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 6:37:05 AM

I like the casting. Brody can act and he can buff up. Look at Christian Bale. And Topher, well, it wasn't really his fault Spiderman 3 sucked. They really f*cked up that Venom-character, so it wasn't much he could do. And besides, he's going to play a serial-killer here, so we know he's going to die in a horrible way. Take in comfort in that.
Ranma-Irias writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 7:29:31 AM

well i have nothing against Adrien Brody. he is a great actor.
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 7:43:05 AM

@Freudian I agree man. I don't think venom being a sh*tty villian was Grace's Fault. I actually kind of like Topher Grace.
Ari Gold writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 7:46:13 AM

This is the problem we have these days. We have no real action stars! (Jason Statham, possibly the only new one) Christian Bale is not an action star!! Don't get me wrong, I liked Bale in Harsh Times and American Psycho, but he's not the same. Gone are the Schwarzeneggar, Willis, Stallone and f*ck even the Van Damme days. If you grew up in the 80s and 90s you were spoilt for choice! All we get now is romantic comedy bullsh*t or PG13 crap! Those old school movies were heaps fun..

I love how Nimrod tries to defend this, he is effectively saying that this cast will be more realistic.. It's a f*cking Predator movie! Aliens with faces that look like Lohans minge, that's not realistic what so ever.

I remember in the first film a Pred picked up Arnie by the neck, Adriens head would pop off if that happened. It'd be nice if we had a more physically imposing cast. I'm looking forward to seeing Trejo in this.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 9:10:04 AM

I enjoy the fact that cast actors you would not expect in this type of action movie. I really hope they go the "B-movie Grindhouse" route. "Predator" movies are like I alot of sci-fi in that they are well done, A-list movie production value B-movies. Not too sure about the whole "Another planet" setting. If Brody can f*ck up some giant bugs and King Kong, then I can't wait for him to kick a Predator in nuts and take his f*ckin' lunch money!!
Peter Parker writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 9:19:24 AM

Of course this makes total sense, Adrien Brody will play the Alien. He'll use his lethal nose as weapon.
SACdaddy writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 9:27:00 AM

@Ari: so true.

When I found out that the director of Armored (PG-13 why?) was doing this and not Roriguez I immediately flushed all expectations. The Brody/Topher casting just makes it circle the bowl faster. A possible Arnold sighting is the only thing keeping this terd afloat. The original's testosterone driven cast worked as great contrast to the alien Predator they were fighting. It was the central driving force of the f*cking movie! Since they went away from that element every Predator film has sucked. The same thing happened to the Alien series after the second installment. I hate contradict some dildo named Nimrod but Vin Diesel would have been perfect for this film. Say what you want to say about his acting skills (or lack there of) he's still a pretty intimidating mofo. And if it makes the director feel any better, I know several Navy Seals that look just like the guy. Surround him with a bunch of stone-faced killers and ex-UFC/Pride washouts and you've got a film. Better yet, just throw a Predator in the Expendables and call it a reboot? I'd watch that in a heartbeat!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 9:32:04 AM

@ Ari Gold: I do agree to a certain degree, it's a Predator-movie, so keeping it realistic is out the door a long while ago. And I also loved those sh*tcrazy actionfilms, but at the same time think it's was just a child of it's time. With the CGI we've entered a new era, an era big-budget spectacles. Just mindless actionfun doesn't cut it anymore. Rambo was kind of a boxoffice-dud (although it ws great fun). Maybe The Expendables will bring back those glory days, only time will tell.
Spankfish writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 10:42:41 AM

I hope to god, allah, buddah and anyone else who can help, that this film is good.

I hope they dont go in the total cgi route, you cant beat a man in a suit with a daft mask on. One of the many ways Lucas ruined the Star Wars prequels was by putting everything in cgi, from toilet roll holders to every Clone Trooper. Where was the guy bumping his head on the door as it opened?

I think the beefed up hero days are long gone, they were a product of the cold war era. Now its all skinny guys with gadgets and ninja skills, not a meathead with an M60 killing everything that moves.

I get the feeling there is going to be more running through undergrowth than shooting guns in this one.
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 11:32:21 AM

This guy has not seen very many spec ops people has he? No they are not roid raged but they are pretty f*ckin big.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 11:51:01 AM

Jeff, Brody's nose has all the size they need.
The nose will do all the fighting as well.

They actually wanted to cast only the nose, but the contract stated that Brody had to come attached to it.
rocketman writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 12:30:27 PM

Not all Spec ops are massive(some are),makes em stand out a mile when undercover,plus try running 30 miles carrying a pack as well as all that excess bulk.Lean and Mean,short too some of em.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 12:40:19 PM

@ Spankfish: Yep, totally agree. And besides, the movie is going to feature Danny Trejo (a real badass for once) and some russian UFC-fighter, so it's not only thin guys.
Kurskij writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 1:12:57 PM

"Predators" Director Explains Adrien Brody Casting

"That was one awesome blowjob!"
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 1:15:57 PM

I just noticed believe it or not, jesus his nose is f*cking huge.
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 1:27:49 PM

At first I thought this was about child predators and vin-dandy was the star.
Osiris3eagle writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 2:06:24 PM

holy sh*t I live 25 min from Canyon Lake...I'm sneaking on set.
rocketman writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 2:08:51 PM

@Sacdaddy
A Preadator in the Expendables is about as batsh*t crazy amazing as it gets,Sly if you're reading.......
BigUnit writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 2:52:34 PM

what happend to Rodriguez? i was pumped when i heard he was directing it...
rocketman writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 2:53:48 PM

Or hows about Rambo as the guy on the Alien planet if Arnie won't do it?Dumb as f*ck but i would pay to see it.
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 2:55:52 PM

I grew up in canyon lake texas, thats cool I might actually watch this to see if I recognize anything.
BigUnit writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 3:59:06 PM

and straight up it should have been the Expendables cast v.s. the predators, now that would be bad ass and a hell of a flick in my opinion
Rich k writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 4:01:14 PM

i was kinda mad about them remaking this, still am, but i accually think they know what they are doing and kinda look forward to hear more about it.
BigUnit writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 4:57:56 PM

Ari Gold- couldnt have said it better, there arent to many "arnold" type actors anymore, the action hero is a dieing breed in the film industry at least for now.. i thought Dwayne "the Rock" Johnson could have filled in that role but i dont know, his last few films, lets just say career enders.. lol
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 5:08:58 PM

What do you mean by career enders? He has Tooth Fairy coming out...or was he coming out as a fairy?
Ari Gold writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 5:22:27 PM

Well, I think we can all agree The Rock is more of a Disney actor than an action star.

I would actually like to see Vin Diesel make a come back and choose some better roles. I remember first seeing him in Pitch Black, the guy was a beast! But poor movie choices will kill you.

Ideally the cast for Expendables would of been awesome to see in a Predator movie. Lets just hope that The Expendables is big enough for an old school action movie come back!
Peter Parker writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 5:30:49 PM

Here's a new concept:

The Expendables VS Twilight. Gay vampires and sensitive gaywolves getting their asses kicked by mercenaries.

Santa, if you can read this...
BigUnit writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 5:33:19 PM

Ari Gold- no way, I'm sorry but i would have to disagree with all respect, but look back at his career, scorpion king, walking tall, The Rundown was awesome, your telling me hes strictly Disney actor?! oh please... i see action star potential all over

As for Vin diesel I would love to see those two more Ridd*ck films he has been talking about, with a potential R rating im pumped.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 5:54:11 PM

Spankfish, read the rest of the interview. He says they are going to go practical as much as possible, so you probably don't have to worry. Oh, Rich K, this isn't a remake, this is a sequel (thus the possible Arnie cameo) that will possibly restart the franchise.
Ari Gold writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 6:09:50 PM

@PP

I would be happy just to see Terry Crews unleashed on Twilight.

@Unit

I'am aware of those movies, but I'm fairly sure none of his movies were R Rated. I didn't mind The Rundown (its called Rumble in the Jungle in Australia, how dandy huh) The Rock has the look, but I don't think I'm alone here in saying he needs to pull his head out and quit all these Tooth Fairy movies etc
Ari Gold writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 6:27:11 PM

I just looked up The Rock on IMDB, he's done way too many girlie man movies.. Someone needs to get him a bag of cement.
Ari Gold writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 6:27:12 PM

I just looked up The Rock on IMDB, he's done way too many girlie man movies.. Someone needs to get him a bag of cement.
Ari Gold writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 6:27:16 PM

I just looked up The Rock on IMDB, he's done way too many girlie man movies.. Someone needs to get him a bag of cement.
Ari Gold writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 6:29:02 PM

oh get f*cked.. triple post, how does that happen?
wonderBOY writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 6:29:42 PM

they need to put carl weathers in this movie he cant even afford to make a stew anymore. he has lowered himself down to burger king
rabid writes:
on December 2nd, 2009 at 5:39:24 AM

So you people think that Predators only hunt weightlifters? Get over it. Brody is a great actor.
lawman writes:
on December 2nd, 2009 at 8:27:34 AM

JEFFW1978>>> Spec-ops are not huge. They are in good shape. I work with a lot of Blackwater guys as well as a few former SEALs. They are actually built like a slightly more muscular Brody. Read the book "Lone Survivor". The author was a SEAL. He talks about how he was pretty large framed and his other team members were thin and wiry and how he had a hard time traversing the Afghan moutains but the rest of his team were like mountain goats due to their thinner frame.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved