WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ryan Reynolds Says "Green Lantern" Won't Drag Out the Origins

Posted: November 30th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ryan Reynolds Says "Green Lantern" WonSubmit Comment
Ryan Reynolds sat down with MTV News to talk about his upcoming "Green Lantern" movie, calling it an origin story that - like "Iron Man" - will have lots of memorable moments when the character isn't in costume.

"I think you walk away from this first film, and the moments that you remember and the moments that mean so much to you, not unlike 'Iron Man,' are the moments where the guy is not in the suit," he said. "That to me is the tough thing to get right and that's something that they did get right [in 'Iron Man']. You see why this guy's in the suit, and that's what's interesting to me. Not that he is in the suit, but why."

Reynolds acknowledged that part of the reason why "Iron Man" got it right, is because the story simply focuses on a man building a battle armor. "The Green Lantern," on the other hand, asks the audience to accept a bit more since it focuses on a test pilot who receives a super-powered ring from a dying alien.

He went on to explain that the film will be an origin story, but it won't drag out the character's pre-superhero life. "It is [an origin story] to a certain degree, but it's not a labored origin story, where the movie [truly] begins in the third act," he explained. "The movie starts when it starts. We find out Hal is the guy fairly early on, and the adventure begins."

Click here to read more about "The Green Lantern."

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Dre-EL writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 7:25:43 PM

Sounds good and I trust Martin Campbell not to f*ck this up.
I hope the suit looks better in the movie than this picture on WP.
synthetic1985 writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 7:37:07 PM

that sounds better for this....that they're showing origins in flashbacks...i hate it when studios use origins to start off its first movie, gets really boring seeing that for every comic film
Peter Parker writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 7:49:00 PM

Reynolds looks like the lost element of the Village People in that suit.
rabid writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 7:54:14 PM

In the recent Green Lantern animated movie, they tell the origin in less than ten minutes and then move on to the main plotline.
And if they create their costume using the willpower of their rings, then it makes sense that he wouldn't know how to form the outfit immediately. I'm just curious how they're going ot pull off the Domino mask.
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 7:57:38 PM

The original headline read Ryan Reynolds Says "Green Lantern" Won't Drag Out the Massive Power Ring Fisting of Lohan.
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 7:59:21 PM

I am sure dandy will see this for the men in tight leather
Coasterkid345 writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 9:49:00 PM

Thank god! Drawn out origins is the reason I hate superhero movies. I mean, Spiderman's origins weren't even finished by Spiderman 3!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 11:29:25 PM

no sh*t, nothing is dragged out in the script, its just "bang zoom bang bang bang lame backstory sh*tty anticlimactic ending CUT TO BLACK"
Hobo Michael writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 12:25:26 AM

Ryan Reynolds seem's like a cool dude &
Green Lantern sound's like it could be a cool movie.
wonderBOY writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 2:22:53 AM

why is he comparing this to iron man there totally different such as iron man was good
rabid writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 2:35:13 AM

and you know that Green Lantern sucks because of yr magic crystal ball?
J.A.Ottley writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 4:20:20 AM

ROTFLMAO, plz tell me that the picture is not Reynolds in the actual suit?

It looks, like Green Lantern has just eyeed up Dr Manhattan with Batman and Robin.
Jeez that is a campy suit...

And seriously they need to stop comparing comic book films to each other.
Iron Man was good because it was well written, had great plot and character development as well.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 4:24:24 AM

Well, origins are pretty important in in superhero-movies that will try to start an franchise. Many people doesn't know anything about these superheroes. Superman, Batman and Spidey are well-known for all, but Green Lantern may be very unknown outside the inner circles.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 4:51:26 AM

I dont trust MTV News. I only watch MTV for 'My sweet 16th...'

oops there i go again.
Sonic writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 6:48:47 AM

So less yupping more fighting?
Ranma-Irias writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 7:39:34 AM

well as long as the movie is good, has character development and a plot! that's good to me. I just want to see a very good movie.
TRUEMAN writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 8:59:11 AM

i dont like this dumb ass, he is more flash material, for green lantern i like most the john Stuart story bring 50 Cent to this sh*t
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 9:35:49 AM

Well, 50 Cent can't be the answer to everything. Hell, he's not the answer to anything. He should do what he does best, giving head to Eminem and Dr Dre
billofill writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 11:32:35 AM

Trueman im sure John Stewart and Guy Gardner had cameos in the script to this if memory serves me right.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 1:29:26 PM

"and you know that Green Lantern sucks because of yr magic crystal ball?"

Uh no, if you can read, then you'd understand that I read the script, and it sucks.
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 3:38:51 PM

@J.A. - no... that's a fan-built pic. I don't think any real pics of RR in the suit are out there yet.

Hollywood1086 writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 5:18:06 PM

i love ryan reynolds
J.A.Ottley writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 6:54:22 PM

@ Spooky

I agree, especially the whole ring part near the end, your probably remember it...just too corny.

@ Ranger
Thanks, i was gonna say, is campy films returning :D

@ Trueman
You said it man, RR is definately more Flash material
rabid writes:
on December 2nd, 2009 at 4:47:31 AM

I know the script. I've read it in comic book form a hundered times and seen it in several cartoons. Hell I even saw the last time they filmed it and called it The Last Starfighter.
I don't see how it could fail.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved