WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First Look: Jackie Chan and Jaden Smith in "Karate Kid" Remake

Posted: November 30th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First Look: Jackie Chan and Jaden Smith in "Karate Kid" RemakeSubmit Comment
Today we have the first photo of Jaden Smith and Jackie Chan from the upcoming "Karate Kid" remake. Smith's character's name is Dre, while Chan's is Mr. Han, a maintenance man who becomes an unlikely friend to Dre. Check out the lo-res shot below.

Plot: In the new movie, Dre's Mom (Taraji P. Henson) moves to China for work and takes her your son with her. Not knowing the language, Dre immediately catches the attention of the local bullies, and before long, he is coming home with bruises. During regular service of the apartment, Dre meet the Mr. Han, the building maintenance man. Han spots the bruises and offers to teach the young boy martial-arts and the Chinese language.

"The Karate Kid" (or "The Kung Fu Kid") is directed by Harald Zwart (Agent Cody Banks, The Pink Panther 2) and has already wrapped principal photography, part of which took place atop the Great Wall of China. It is scheduled to hit theaters on June 11th, 2010.

Photo:


Source: People


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 78 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
zombie345trioxin writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 8:13:09 AM

This should be interesting. Looks alot more promising
than that spy next door movie. I do wonder if Ralph machio will do a cameo.
nope.com writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 8:38:05 AM

tyke still looks like he belongs in elementary... wtf is he gonna defend himself from, the candy corn gang?

GOD DAMN IT, who woulda thought Will Smith's kid would destroy a childhood memory like Karate Kid...
VDODSON writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 8:49:13 AM

Looks dandy as hell (dandy=gay), I hope it bombs. How old will the bullies be, 7? At least the original had characters in their late teens.
VDODSON writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 8:50:12 AM

''The candy corn gang'', hilarious sir.
Peter Parker writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 8:56:53 AM

The kid gets his ass kicked on a daily basis, who's gonna help him? The maintenance guy...

How come maintenance people are always martial arts masters? They can break large blocks of ice and tree logs with their bare hands, but there they are, shoveling toilet sh*t...
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 9:04:31 AM

Does anyone buy a gang of chinese 7-year olds to be some troublesome bullies? No offense China, but you're small, nerdy and communists. The black kid would be king in the locker-room.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 9:22:05 AM

Chris Tucker looks young.
ksplatt writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 9:35:11 AM

@Ricky--effin hilarious...but when i glanced at it i thought it was "lil" bow wow.
johnny_boy writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 9:55:21 AM

@nightmare,totally agree with what you said.lol. speaking of black kid, that black kid(will smith son) gets on my nerves. but i wish him luck in his career that is very hard to obtain but was just givin to his ungrateful ass cuz his of who is dad is.
johnny_boy writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 9:56:09 AM

@nightmare,totally agree with what you said.lol. speaking of black kid, that black kid(will smith son) gets on my nerves. but i wish him luck in his career that is very hard to obtain but was just givin to his ungrateful ass cuz of who his dad is.
Derp88 writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 9:56:25 AM

Will Smiths son is a horrible actor and will ruin this movie
Carpen7er writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 10:14:21 AM

Another black version of things...
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 10:15:03 AM

Actually believes Smith Jr is going to be one of the least things to ruin this crapfest. The presence of Jackie Chan isn't comforting. But the movie is at least in the hands of a decent director...Harald Zwart? Well okey then...
TRUEMAN writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 10:47:31 AM


@Pete

the maintenance people used their free time to work out and training, not for drink, steal mail, sleep and watch tv yeah all right

ps. this movie is going to sucks.
Peter Parker writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 10:50:55 AM

@ TRUEMAN:

"steal mail", LOL!!
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 10:58:51 AM

This movie is gonna suck. Way to f*ck up an 80s icon.
darthraige writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 11:03:53 AM

The original Karate Kid seemed like a dark movie back then which made it great. I feel this is gonna be too kid friendly. f*cken stupid.
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 11:48:56 AM

Jesus Christ this looks like such bullsh*t...suuuuuch bullsh*t.
Peter Parker writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 11:50:20 AM

Wax on...
Wax off...
Peter Parker writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 11:52:16 AM

"f*ck wax, grandpa! Gimme a f*cking gun!"
VDODSON writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 11:52:19 AM

I hope they contact Dandy to play one of the gay chinese kids love interest for the movie. There are just so few roles for our gay youth in America.
skooterz writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 12:03:48 PM

I'm sure he's a nice kid but he's a terrible actor. Why they're remaking Karate Kid at all I don't know. Karate Kid was awesome as it was, it didn't need a remake.

Also, lol@RickyGabrielBird.
Peter Parker writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 12:13:42 PM

Scene description:

Jackie Chan: Hey, kid, how do you feel about old men's penises?

Will Smith's kid: Eehehe... Uh, I dunno!

Jackie Chan: Wanna come to my room and see one for yourself? I'll let you play with it.

Will Smith's kid: Uh... Will you teach me karate?

Jackie Chan: Yeah, sure... karate... ehehe.

Will Smith's kid: Ehehehehe...

Jackie Chan: Eehehehehe... Ok, let's go.
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 12:59:29 PM

He is teaching him a special for of karate called: wangintheassfu.
rabid writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 1:01:56 PM

Of course it's going to blow. It's a movie for kids. If you go see this in the theatre, then you're creepier than a Chinese maintenance man.
Peter Parker writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 1:10:20 PM

Dandy's a black belt in wangintheassfu.
Kurskij writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 1:18:14 PM

Han spots the bruises and offers to teach the young boy martial-arts and the Chinese language.

And some love... Dandy style!
Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 1:22:31 PM

Damn! I sleep in and miss out on all the pedophile jokes!

That's just... DANDY!!!!!

Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 1:25:40 PM

I am NOT looking forward to the sex scene in this movie!
TeemSelami writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 1:45:43 PM

i bet that little kid has a bigger d*ck than jackie
Kill-the-director writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 2:17:25 PM

stupid idea and aweful director
Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 2:25:17 PM

@Teem - that's a SUCKers bet!

Vin12 writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 2:58:32 PM

jackie chan= only redeeming quality
lawman writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 3:06:20 PM

The Karate NIG!
Hobo Michael writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 3:06:51 PM

(f*ck wax, grandpa! Gimme a f*cking gun!)

LMFAO!!! Peter Parker You Rock!
lawman writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 3:09:29 PM

f*ck. You know someone had to say it. How about
Blacks on, Blacks off? Maybe Negrosan? Nig-Fu? Nigrate? Nothing? This racism is killing me!!!
Peter Parker writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 3:12:56 PM

@ Hobo Michael: Thanks, bud!
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 3:13:01 PM

He specializes in the form of the monkey.
Peter Parker writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 3:19:09 PM

@ lawman:

I was so busy with the pedophilia theme, I hadn't even thought of that yet!

Good call!
Rich k writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 3:22:20 PM

i think its funny how we all call him will smiths kid and not his name lol.

But seriously i bet 10% of america will kill themselves over this stupid, pointless horrible remake.
lawman writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 3:24:49 PM

Does he have to call Jackie Chan "Master"? LOL or "Massa"? Will he be enjoying any chicken in the movie?
hunter207 writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 3:28:09 PM

I cant f*cking believe this. They need new blood in Hollywood
Long Rod VonHugendong writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 3:28:40 PM

@Freudian_Nightmare

That Was Great, True...Very True
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 3:53:12 PM

So every time a black person calls another person master it's racism? Better change my surname then...
Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 4:15:03 PM

If he's taught the martial art style of: 'Drunken Monkey - Brake-Dancing!' - so when his attackers surround him, he drop the the ground and starts spinning, and all you see is the bad guys flying through the air --- I'll be FIRST in line to buy this DVD!

Someone just had to make a spoof of this flick (if this flick isn't the spoof itself).
Tizzle writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 4:15:04 PM

I feel so bad about Jackie Chan. He used to be my hero. Now this. I can't believe I'm saying this, but I miss Chris Tucker.
KaloVisor writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 4:37:43 PM

looks terrible...
Hobo Michael writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 4:51:04 PM

Idk? mayby it will turn out good?...

Who im i kidding this will proboly suck lol
Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 5:00:01 PM

Probably?!

This won't suck as much as Andy d*ck... but it'll be a close (closet) second!
Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 5:00:26 PM

@Tizzle - nice ultimate Chan burn!

Osiris3eagle writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 5:11:25 PM

Why Jackie why? You were my idol when I was younger.
Lowryder writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 5:29:42 PM

i bet dandy will be seeing this movie opening day
Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 5:41:17 PM

LOL!
lawman writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 5:47:09 PM

LOWRYDER>>With a hole punched in the bottom of his popcorn box!!!!
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 5:49:20 PM

Yeah he is hoping to see jackie chan get a taste of the dark meat.
TeemSelami writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 5:56:47 PM

@ranger that might be why i have no money.

I am praying little fresh prince will make fun of these chinks eyes
Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 5:59:59 PM

LOL!
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 6:01:06 PM

Black Kid? Chinese Man? Who they fightin'...the dreaded honkey cobra kai??
Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 6:04:36 PM

That or they're going to open up a combined Car Wash/Dry Cleaning business!
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 6:07:13 PM

@Ranger-LOL! I didn't know that Benetton had Leather ball caps in ther winter collection...
Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 6:16:54 PM

AF - your comments kill me to this day my friend!
synthetic1985 writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 6:24:36 PM

i have a few questions...first off, why is the title 'the karate kid' and not 'the kung fu kid'?...i thought they were trying to at least not piss off the fans of the original...second question, what would mr. miyagi himself think of this??...i understand the economy has been tough and mainstream writer's have no imagination because all they can write is remakes or reboots or prequels or sequels, as well as actors wanting to star in a iconic role of a remake, whatever...btw, Mr. Han is not a great replacement name for Mr. Miyagi...but that's just me talking...and someone on this site already said this 'karate and dreadlocks don't mix well together'...and why did they pick the name 'Dre' for jayden smith, on this film of all films?...i wonder what Dr. Dre thinks of this also
Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 6:32:28 PM

I don't think Mr. Miyagi gives much of a sh*t as Pat Morita has been having a dirt nap since Nov. 25th, 2005.
synthetic1985 writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 7:15:08 PM

@ Ranger, i know...just saying, i wonder what he would say...i was never a hardcore karate kid fan...but i think mr. miyagi is what really lured the crowd in...mainly because of his accent and choice words like 'danielson' or 'wax on, wax off'...kind of the same appeal that arnold had in kindergarten cop...'it's not a tuma!!'...this remake won't measure up to that level of appeal...i hope everybody involved with this film realizes that they're in for some harsh comments
Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 7:16:13 PM

I know Synth. Just yankin yer chain.

I too wish Hollyweird would get original and leave most of these remakes alone.

johnny_boy writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 9:05:17 PM

guess i gotta be the one to ask. Is this really a remake or just a complete rip off but trying to pass it off as a remake to justify it?
lost_addict writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 9:43:01 PM

Charles 'death wish' Bronson should shoot them both in the opening scene
Peter Parker writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 9:51:08 PM

@ johnny_boy:

They keep calling it a "remake", but it can't be. A remake takes the original storyline and converts it into an "updated" version of the original.
This is more like a reboot, which is the same as saying, they'll use the original concept created a few years ago and they'll freely adapt it into some type of dispensable summer kid flick.

Oh well... (sigh)

Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 10:35:46 PM

This can be the next movie Twilight fans spend their parent's $'s on.
CCBlev writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 11:55:37 PM

@ranger,
if the twilight kiddies spend their money on this, is there gonna be a lil black kid, claiming and old chinese guy bit him in the neck too and karate chopped his ass??
scarface85 writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 11:57:47 PM

sh*t isnt he to young?
Hobo Michael writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 12:09:59 AM

Crap i was trying to say (Who am i kidding)

my bad lol
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 12:48:48 AM

@CC - then 2 days later we find out the kid was lying.

takai writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 1:33:04 AM

That title is the douchebagery of WP at it's finest.

They've explained the plot for this movie multiple times, and it doesn't even resemble the first Karate Kid. It barely resembles Karate Kid II. (the one where they go to Taiwan.)

If you know anything about martial arts, you know that Kung Fu and Karate (as general as those descriptions are) are immensely different.

The plot is also just as believable as the first four.

I think the funniest thing about bashing Jackie Chan in this film, is the fact that they had to teach good old Pat karate, and Jackie has been training for 40+ years.

Whatever, I'll see it, because anything Will Smith touches is gold, and Jackie Chan has my support because he's effing Jackie Chan.
telur writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 2:53:51 AM

jackie chan look old
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 12:47:36 PM

Maybe Will touches Jaden and therefore he's his little Golden Boy.
takai writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 1:04:50 PM

hahahaha.


Yes Ranger, that is definitely a possibility.
lawman writes:
on December 2nd, 2009 at 7:57:46 AM

TAKAI>>>>> I think you meant to say Okinawa. The second KK was in Japan.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved