WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Schumer Working on New Comedy
Aug 27th, 2015
Christopher Meloni Joins "Holding Patterns"
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Love the Coopers" Comedy, with John Goodman, Ed Helms and Olivia Wilde
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for Nicholas Hoult's "Kill Your Friends" Crime Thriller
Aug 26th, 2015
James Franco is a Tech Billionaire in "Why Him" Comedy
Aug 26th, 2015
General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 20th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Jungle Cruise," Based on Disney's Theme Park Ride
Aug 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Blunt Force Trauma," with Mickey Rourke and Freida Pinto
Aug 20th, 2015
First Trailer for "Victor Frankenstein," with Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy
Aug 19th, 2015
"Prometheus 2" Delaying Neill Blomkamp's "Alien 5"
Aug 19th, 2015
Freddie Highmore and Odeya Rush Join "Holding Patterns"
Aug 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Matt Damon's "The Martian" is Here!
Aug 19th, 2015
Post-Apocalyptic "Zorro" Reboot is Moving Forward
Aug 19th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for "Star Wars: The Force Awakens"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at "Star Wars: Rogue One" Spin-Off Film
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Aug 18th, 2015
New Photo From Pixar's "Finding Dory"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for "Carol," with Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for Kevin Hart's "Ride Along" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
First Posters for "Alice in Wonderland" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
Bradley Cooper is a Chef in "Burnt" Trailer
Aug 15th, 2015
First Look at Black Panther on "Captain America: Civil War" Set
Aug 13th, 2015
First Look at Dolph Lundgren in "Kindergarten Cop" Sequel
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" is Here!
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Life," with Dane DeHaan as James Dean
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Trumbo," with Bryan Cranston and Helen Mirren
Aug 13th, 2015
Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?
Aug 9th, 2015
James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot
Aug 9th, 2015
Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews
Aug 8th, 2015
Three Actresses in Talks for "Gambit" Female Lead
Aug 8th, 2015
Trailer for "By The Sea," with Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie
Aug 8th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Robert Zemeckis Wants Motion-Capture to Get an Oscar

Posted: November 29th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Robert Zemeckis Wants Motion-Capture to Get an OscarSubmit Comment
LaTercera sat down with director Robert Zemeckis (Polar Express, Beowulf, A Christmas Carol) to talk about his love of motion-capture animation and the future of the technology.

"I'd say that the appropriate thing would be to create a new [Academy Awards] category," he said. "Like when Walt Disney made the first animated movie. He got a special award since no one had ever done that."

It's true that Disney's 1939 "Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs" received an honorary Oscar for innovation, but is motion-capture animation as big of a step forward in movie-making as regular animation was in 1939?

For some reason I think that even though Zemeckis has been perfecting the technology for years, the Academy will ignore that and give James Cameron's "Avatar" the Oscar for best motion-capture film.

Source: LaTercera, FilmDrunk


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 9:09:46 AM

"He got a special award since no one had ever done that."

No, he got a special award because it was a genre of movie that would last around to this very day.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 9:14:44 AM

Zemeckis is turning into a real *sshole over all this motion capture nonsense. He just wants a specific Oscar category cause he plans to keep pumping out these pieces of sh*t one after another til he wins something. I don't really care what the method is for making a movie. To me, "A Christmas Carol" is no more visually stunning then "Up". Plus having Jim Carrey involved made me lose interest almost immediately
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 9:22:16 AM

"A Christmas Carol" is no more visually stunning then "Up".

Yes. This this this.

Motion Capture is absolutely USELESS if its a full cgi environment (with the exception of Tron 2, considering thats about the only movie that should ever be using motion capture)! I can't understand his thought process anymore, he's the only one pumping out this garbage, well, him and cameron.

A poor craftsman blames his tools, which is what Zemekis is doing. He loves motion capture so much that hes blaming the oscars for his sh*tty movies.
blinkbomber writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 9:22:55 AM

i don't think they would've used the "predicting the future" method for determining whether Disney would get an Oscar or not.

just because someone is the first to do something doesn't necessarily mean there is or isn't going to be a second, third, and so forth.
Kurskij writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 9:38:20 AM

Well, I want that Pirates porn-movie to win an Oscar. But who f*cking cares?
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 11:25:42 AM

Robert Zemickis cares, and that's a reason as good as any...Beowulf for (vice)President!
triggax writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 11:31:53 AM

They should give Andy Serkis an oscar for his motion capture work, the guys f*cking ridiculous.
vaodsi writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 12:26:23 PM

new category
ridiculous
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 12:54:52 PM

I saw A Christmas Carol a couple of weeks ago and he still hasn't gotten the eyes right. Everything else about the character's bodies was realistic but the eyes looked fake/dead. Even when one character was looking directly in front of another character, it was like one blind person looking at another.

He should try again when he gets this corrected.
vaodsi writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 1:43:30 PM

spooky.... my friend.. you make no sense....
so the oscars are his tools? so he is blaming them?
i agree that bad artists blame their tools... but he's not blaming mo-capture.. so
do you think before you type?
wow i just sounded mean. sorry. ;)
darkraven28 writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 1:49:41 PM

You have to make enough good movies in this way first before it's deserving of any recognition. In this case, Zemeckis is just taking a technology that used to be used for the Mortal Kombat video games and spending abhorrent amounts of money to use the same technology to make animated movies all based on pre-existing written works. It's no great achievement to me. Try an original script filmed in that fashion and then we'll talk.

Will Avatar end up being that original script? Who can say? There is still some question as to exactly how original it is at this point given all the talk of potential lawsuits that may come of it. But it at least seems MOSTLY original so let's see that and we'll go from there, mmmkay?
Peter Parker writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 1:51:56 PM

I want porn to be included in the Oscars as a new category.
Comparing to "serious" films, the actresses are often better... and the scripts too!

Wishful thinking?
rabid writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 2:23:18 PM

The motion capture in Avatar looks to be pretty amazing and perhaps worthy of some award. I'll have to wait and see to know for sure.
The only other film I can think of where the motion capture was outstanding was the last Ninja Turtles film. But like Spooky said, it works best with realistic backgrounds, and they used just lightly animated film of whole city blocks and alleyways. It worked great, especially once added into the rain.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 2:29:17 PM

I just don't understand his boner for this technique. It's pretty the much the same as a live-action movie, but it's looks like videogame-cutscenes. And that's no fun. Beowulf could have been awesome, all you got was non-playable characters.
shadaypr writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 2:40:13 PM

Zemeckis'motion-capture is just not that good.
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 3:47:21 PM

I seriously think this guy has cracked. Such a gigantic boner for himself and motion capture.
stevethemoviehater writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 4:21:29 PM

f*ck motion capture
Metafact writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 4:28:16 PM

You want a special Academy Award for motion-capture? What, one Oscar that you didn't deserve is not good enough for you?
The Phantom 95 writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 4:53:36 PM

hey this is what he does we can't stop him. so far he got only two movies that zemeckis made with the technology was beowulf and a christmas carol.
DestructionsWombat writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 5:33:07 PM

no
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 8:58:35 PM

Isn't motion capture just lazy mans animation?


Spankfish writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 9:39:18 PM

If they ever do make an oscar for mo-cap, then wont like 1000 video games be in the catogory for it then as well? As its used in nearly every one of them now. He still wouldnt win it then. And the game devs would deserve it as they output their product on an xbox360, not on a super computer the size of a battleship that can run a sub-continent like Cameron.
tomeenucknfutz writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 10:10:14 PM

@PeterParker - im with you
Peter Parker writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 10:35:52 PM

@ tomeenucknfutz:

You're obviously a man of good taste!

"cheap booze and even cheaper women" - Pure genius!
tcu21 writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 12:55:34 AM

I think motion capture is so pointless, either go fully animated or just make it live action. I'm sure you could make Beowulf without having to make Ray Winestone look like he's not 52 and overweight, just don't cast Ray Winestone. And there's definitely no way a live action Christmas Carol movie is possible, how could they ever make a young person look older with make up, simply unheard of.

Here's how that Oscar ceremony would go:

The nominees for Best Motion Capture film are
Polar Express Robert Zemeckis
Beowulf Robert Zemeckis
and Christmas Carol Robert Zemeckis
and the winner is....hahaha just f*cking with you Robert, we'd never have a category this retarded.
tcu21 writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 12:58:51 AM

Btw what's with the little opinion paragraph there at the end WP? No one cares if Zemeckis has been perfecting it, if what he's doing is perfection the initial product must burn eyes out of their sockets and if James Cameron does it better in Avatar (which it looks like he does) then he does it better, get over it. Since when are Oscars given for trying?
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 1:43:26 AM

Motion Capture is huge and it doesn't need a f*cking academy award to signify it's importance. Those awards mean sh*t when it comes to integrity. Motion capture adds to the realism, hand crafted animation has no weight, its hard to nail the inertia behind every little move, especially when it comes to doing chase scenes and action bits, body is just too dynamic. That's where motion capture comes into play. I don't understand how that innovation is interpreted as pointless.
nriq writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 3:08:18 AM

I think they will ignore him... This Motion Capture is somewhere in between two poles... Itīs not Live Action Film nor is it Animation... Itīs a weird mix that I still canīt get used to... like watching mannequins walking and talking... creepy. Please! Can someone tell Zemeckis to return to making good cinema?

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"

Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved