WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Pluto Nash" Named Biggest Flop of the Decade

Posted: November 29th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Pluto Nash" Named Biggest Flop of the DecadeSubmit Comment
For years, we have thought that no film could be a bigger flop than John Travolta's "Battlefield Earth" or Ben Affleck's "Gigli." But now, according to an industry poll, Eddie Murphy's "The Adventures of Pluto Nash" has been named the biggest flop of the decade (2000-2010).

"Battlefield" came in second. But also beating out "Gigle" is "Land of the Lost," the film that helped Will Ferrell become the most overpaid actor in Hollywood. Even the much-loved "Grindhouse" made the list."

Take a look at the top ten list below that shows each films' estimated cost and domestic gross.

1. THE ADVENTURES OF PLUTO NASH
* Release date: August 6th, 2002
* Estimated cost: $100 million
* Domestic gross: $4.4 million

2. BATTLEFIELD EARTH
* Release date: May 12th, 2000
* Estimated cost: $75 million
* Domestic gross: $21 million

3. LAND OF THE LOST
* Release date: June 5th, 2009
* Estimated cost: $100 million
* Domestic gross: $65 million

4. GIGLI
* Release date: August 1st, 2003
* Estimated cost: $54 million
* Domestic gross: $6.1 million

5. TOWN AND COUNTRY
* Release date: April 27th, 2001
* Estimated cost: $90 million
* Domestic gross: $6.7 million

6. CATWOMAN
* Release date: July 23rd, 2004
* Estimated cost: $100 million
* Domestic gross: $40 million

7. THE INVASION
* Release date: August 17th, 2007
* Estimated cost: $80 million
* Domestic gross: $15.1 million

8. ROLLERBALL
* Release date: February 8th, 2002
* Estimated cost: $70 million
* Domestic gross: $19 million

9. GRINDHOUSE
* Release date: April 6th, 2007
* Estimated cost: $67 million
* Domestic gross: $25 million

10. THE SPIRIT
* Release date: December 25th, 2008
* Estimated cost: $60 million
* Domestic gross: $19.8 million

Pluto Nash on Robot Chicken:


Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 72 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 9:00:59 AM

what about Delgo? thats hands down worse then Land of the Lost. A Sound of Thunder was made in 2005 with a budget of 80 Mil. that was the worst movie i have ever seen. only grossed 11 Mil. this list is totally retarded. Those 2 are both Prime Examples.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 9:11:49 AM

That's hardly fair.

2009 isn't even over yet, and we all know that Avatar is only going to gross in 2.3 million.
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 9:15:40 AM

or WindTalkers, Around the World in 80 Days, The Alamo, Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within, STEALTH! that lost almost 100 mil. and the actual worst movie of all time is Town & Country.. i just made that Industry Poll look like Dandys cornhole.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 9:19:58 AM

how can Land of the Lost be higher on the list than Catwoman? They both cost 100 millions, but Catwomen grossed 20 million less.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 9:21:02 AM

You beat me to it, Spooky.

Let's wait til that piece of sh*t comes out before we jump the gun.

f*cking ugly, blue, retarded, monkey-cat-elf bitches
Ranma-Irias writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 9:25:07 AM

Freudian_Nightmare - yeah well asked! I don't understand that too. Land of the Lost is actually the only movie there that passed the 50 millions...it doesn't really belong on that list so yeah wtf is up with that?
Osiris3eagle writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 10:13:44 AM

How in the hell did Gigli cost so much to make? Are there some extravagant action set pieces in that movie that I'm not aware of? Or is the production budget the combined salaries of Affleck and Lopez?
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 10:23:00 AM

Agreeing with Bluto, Around the world in 80 days, Final Fantasy and Stealth had budgets over 100 million, and didn't make half of Land of the Lost's box-office. And again, if those numbers add up, Battlefield Earth cost 5 millions less than The Invasion and grossed 6 million more, and still it's higer on the list. Doesn't make any sense.
Mighte Migit writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 11:16:46 AM

wat about twilight. that sh*t deserves to be in that list
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 11:22:31 AM

I can't really, sadly, say that Twilight is a box-officedud.
triggax writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 11:28:50 AM

How in the holy jesus christ did Town and Country cost 90 million to make? Jenna Elfman and Garry Shandling... must have really high f*cking price tags...
Randal Graves writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 12:11:57 PM

The Spirit was one of the biggest let downs of all time. I left that theater wondering why I stayed past the first 10 minutes.
triggax writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 12:12:26 PM

Dude, twilight made 400 million worldwide on a 40 million dollar budget, its one of the most successful films of the last decade... New Moons made the same worldwide on the same budget and its only been out for a week...

Hey not defending twilight but why the f*ck would it be on a list of flops?
rabid writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 12:35:25 PM

All failures!
although, i can still watch Grindhouse repeatedly and laugh. Love those films.
Mighte Migit writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 12:43:05 PM

@triggax i guess ur right
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 1:15:11 PM

Hey Randel: I rented The Spirit from Redbox for a buck and still wanted my money back afterward. That movie made no sense at all.

The only thing I enjoyed about Pluto Nash was the robot servant played by Randy Quaid. Everything else sucked.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 2:23:45 PM

The Spirit sucked all right, but it also showed that Samuel L Jackson is incapable of sucking.
Syman404 writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 2:53:15 PM

Question. Why does everyone think Avatar is going to bomb? I'm curious. I know it's James Cameron and his '3D Revolutionist' ideals, but honestly, the movie has potential.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 3:23:42 PM

"the movie has potential."

AHAHAHAHAHAHAHA MILK CAME OUT OF MY NOSE THERE

A christmas movie that is:
-pg-13
-full of eco messages
-about the army
-competing with family friendly movies DURING the holiday season
-sh*tty

So, you think that avatar will make its 500 million budget or, hell, even the 250 million filming budget? Not a chance in hell.
bacci40 writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 3:24:02 PM

BlutoDaBoss21

delgo didnt have a 100 mil budget

Scrooge McDuck writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 3:55:12 PM

Spell Gigli right next time, though I doubt they'll be a next time. And that RC was hilarious. OH, and f*ck Rollerball to hell.
Ranger writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 4:05:50 PM

@bluto - Windtalkers was one of the few Cage movies I really enjoyed (mostly because it was based on a true story).

@Pluto Nash - just like the real life mission they derived the movie Blackhawk Down from. Did either ever really look good enough on paper to go ahead with it?

And Rollerball should NEVER, EVER have been remade. The original still stands as a classic. The only remake I surprisingly enjoyed from that era was 'I am Legend' from The Omega Man - and I really, really didn't want to like it (thx. God for Will Smith!).
Ranger writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 4:06:47 PM

And damn! All 'The Spirit' bashing on here... lol. It's in my pile of 'next to watch' DVD's on my table. Ugh!
Ranger writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 4:22:38 PM

How can a movie only take in $4.4 mil?

I could sell more f*cking tickets projecting it up the side of my garage!
The Phantom 95 writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 4:23:09 PM

i liked grindhouse and land of the lost was ok but the spirit and pluto nash sucked big time. P.S that skit was funny as f*ck robot chicken all day
hortys writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 4:56:53 PM

and why is land of the lost so high on the list when it's one of the only films on it to make 50% of it's budget back....
Ranger writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 4:58:05 PM

You meant 65% of it's budget back yes?

And... good point.

BigUnit writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 5:04:13 PM

SpookyCupcakes lol you must be blinded by ignorance… Avatar will make back its budget in international sales alone. Lol you fools make me geek.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 5:18:39 PM

You know, if Grindhouse had actually been a f*cking Grindhouse film it wouldn't have flopped. It'd've been quite a success!
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 5:20:33 PM

Also, if you think Regal and the other theater groups won't keep their nice new 3d projectors warm with Avatar for at least three months you're sorely mistaken. Get ready for the long haul with that one!
Kurskij writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 5:42:27 PM

@Ranger
I'm honored! Spirit is in my pile too. I mean dvd pile. For about half a year now... Ehhh... Porn takes so much time...
Goober3000 writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 5:47:36 PM

family selects what movies I watch
Goober3000 writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 5:47:49 PM

family guy**
Goober3000 writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 5:49:51 PM

although seth mcfarlen disses alot of good stuff and people sometimes...makes me wonder jealousy maybe?
Goober3000 writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 5:52:05 PM

from the look on eddie murphy's face i think dandy is standing there with his butt cheeks spread
StrongR3tard writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 6:06:24 PM

i don't know why land of the lost is up there so high, i thought it was a good movie if ya like will ferrell's retarded humour and go into it with low expectations
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 7:18:36 PM

For every $1 Will Ferrell is paid he only makes the studio $3 on average, whereas for every $1 Shia LeBouf is paid he makes the studio over $100. Interesting fun facts.
Ranger writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 7:22:57 PM

$3.26 vs. $160.
Ranger writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 7:24:37 PM

Apparently Ferrell has the best manager in the Biz, and Shia has the worst (granted Shia doesn't headline his movies... it's either Harrison Ford or Robots and Megan's tight-flat tummy... BA-BOING!).
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 7:27:55 PM

Ahhhhhhh Megan Fox...I'd like to eat her liver with some fava beans and a nice bottle of Chianti
Ranger writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 7:28:29 PM

Fvvvv-fvvvv-fvvvv-fvvvv....

Scrooge McDuck writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 7:30:19 PM

Who wants to see where Daddy works?
Ranger writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 7:39:34 PM

That's loaded like dandy's dad's shaft in dandy's arse!
Peter Parker writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 8:10:26 PM

New addition to the English language dictionary, the verb: To Pluto-Nash

To pluto-nash: an act or instance of failing or proving unsuccessful; lack of success; nonperformance of something due, required, or expected.

Examples:

> Gigli pluto-nashed like a motherf*cker.

> Dandy tried to f*ck a woman, but pluto-nashed miserably. Dandy asked the woman for his 10 bucks back. She kicked him in the nuts.
Ranger writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 8:12:25 PM

>dandy is so Lohan, it isn't even funny.

Cutting remarks by... SNICKERS!
If dandy were a man, he'd have nuts!
Peter Parker writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 8:27:41 PM

And some people say there are no intelligent discussions here. We're adding to the f*cking dictionary!

That's f*cking culture! f*cking culture, I say!
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 9:15:10 PM

A recent picture of Lohan gave me the biggest flop of the decade.
Peter Parker writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 9:19:48 PM

Ricky, where's the link to the pic?
I'm feeling masochistically self-destructive today...
Ranger writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 9:23:16 PM

I don't think it's any one specific pic of the Gaghan...

@Ricky - lol. I hear ya. A TV show in the past day just listed the 10 worst moms in entertainment. Lohan's mom came up (of course). But some of the pics of saw of her (the mom), had me thinking... that's not a bad MILF to nail.
tomeenucknfutz writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 9:54:09 PM

whats f*ckin new?
tomeenucknfutz writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 10:08:08 PM

kill my landlord, kill my land lord.
Hobo Michael writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 10:37:30 PM

That vid. was funny lol.

But that Pluto Nash movie must have sucked ?
i never even heard of it till now ?
MontoyaWA writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 11:25:04 PM

I enjoyed The Spirit, of course I didn't pay to see it though, so...
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 11:40:26 PM

"Avatar will make back its budget in international sales alone."

ADIJCSEIOFJWIORJVSWKJFVWKELJRVWLKEJRVJK

IM RED IN THE FACE f*ckING LAUGHING AHAHAHAHAHA
Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 1:12:50 AM

@Hobo - I've never seen it (apparently millions of other people didn't either...lol).

Never will!

I'm comfortably going to my grave knowing that fact.


whoever writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 1:30:41 AM

I thought the 2006 film Zyzzyx Rd was the worst performing film to get a theatrical release as it only made $20
rabid writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 2:17:29 AM

James Cameron has never made a bad film. Each and every work he directs becomes a modern classic and will sell into perpetuity. It doesn't matter how much was spent to make it. It's going to make billions and people will be flocking to see it. I don't see any way that it could fail.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 5:25:28 AM

http://www.nerve.com/CS/blogs/scanner/2008/05/01-07/lindsay_lohan_jeremy_piven_party-1.jpg

or

http://cm1.theinsider.com/media/0/70/45/lindsay_lohan_5.2.08.0.0.0x0.300x400.jpeg

All for you PP.
VDODSON writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 5:26:00 AM

Grindhouse, and the Invasion were both quality flicks.
Peter Parker writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 7:25:29 AM

@ Ricky:

Thanks, bud!
As odd as it may be, I've tapped worse than that after my usual Tequila Shot Friday!
Oh well...
BigUnit writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 7:42:42 AM

spooky - i would be willing to bet my life on it.
BigUnit writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 7:45:11 AM

i will be luaghing in your face when at the end of next month Avatar makes worldwide total of $500 million!!! im 110% positive its gonna happen.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 9:19:05 AM

Me too dude, me too... :(
j-man writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 9:40:53 AM

theres a film called Zyzzyx Rd . katherine heigl, it was very limited release but it only made $20 profit... as in $20 total
Peter Parker writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 9:51:14 AM

@ j-man:

You're right! And I was surprised it did so bad too, especially after seeing this:

http://chud.com/nextraimages/zr2by6.jpg
Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 1:24:40 PM

@Ricky - I think I like the 'invisible fence' dog collar on her ankle the best.

She's all class!
murphyslaw93 writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 3:05:32 PM

This is list is sh*t, there are so many movies that did so much worse and failed to even come close to their budget. Speed Racer? Didnt it only make 40 mil off a 120 mil budget? That seems much more disappointing than land of the lost making 65 mil from a 100 mil budget.

Grindhouse being on the list just makes me sad, it was such a great movie, just no one wanted to watch a 3 hour movie
Rich k writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 3:36:36 PM

meet the spartans?
Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 6:39:49 PM

@Rich - good call. I couldn't sit through the first 10 minutes of that movie.

I would have guessed the biggest flop of he decade would have been dandy's d*ck.
rabid writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 10:10:53 PM

Speed Racer cost $120 mil to make and it broke even. I actually own it. It wasn't as horrible as critics tried to make it out to be.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 12:57:11 PM

@ Ranger: No. To count as a flop, at least one person must see it, just to prove that it's exist at all.
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 3:22:28 PM

Good point (on dandy's head... not in his pants)!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved