WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sam Raimi to Make His Own "District 9"-Type Movie

Posted: November 29th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sam Raimi to Make His Own "District 9"-Type MovieSubmit Comment
About two weeks ago, we wrote about a five-minute short called "Panic Attack" that was put together by a commercial director and FX specialist Fede Alvarez. The short shows Earth being ruthlessly attacked by giant robots that came out of the fog.

Now comes word that Sam Raimi (Spider-Man) was so impressed with Alvarez's "Panic" that he decided to sign him to develop a new sci-fi film. "There will be robots," confirmed Alvarez, adding that the movie will have a budget between $30 and $40 million.

Apparently Alvarez was offered more money, but Raimi wanted to make sure that the helmer had enough freedom to develop the project his way, knowing that more cash meant less control.

Raimi bringing on an unknown director to helm a sci-fi story for around $30 million is exactly what Peter Jackson did when he hired Neill Blompkamp, also a commercial director, to make the $30 million "District 9" that went on to gross almost $200 million worldwide.

Short:


Source: FilmJunk


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 64 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
rocketman writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 8:47:20 AM

Rami,do us a favor and f*ck off.Cheers.
f*cking one trick pony,Evil dead has a lot to answer for.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 9:08:46 AM

Hey hey hey, Raimi is a great director, f*ckface.
blinkbomber writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 9:26:02 AM

i did love this short very much. and i loved District 9, so i guess it's not surprising that i love this idea.
Kurskij writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 9:35:12 AM

This thing looks sh*t. I mean, like sh*t.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YhaihTpATfo - people make better looking movies without Sam Raimi.
rocketman writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 10:35:12 AM

@spooky he ruined Spiderman,end of story.
and don't call me f*ckface.
AYT BALL writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 11:12:21 AM

so have a go at him for spiderman, dont have a go at him when hes moving with the times and doing something new!
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 11:12:27 AM

hey f*ckface...he only ruined Spiderman 3, and that wasn't even his fault...you can blame the studio executives for forcing Venom...also haven't you even seen Drag Me To Hell, a bloody brilliant horror movie...
johnny_boy writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 11:22:23 AM

know what? raimi didnt do well with spiderman 3 cuz of producers,especially when he used $250 million for the film.by using a large amount of money they had more control of the project.its good to see he learned from that huge mistake and decided to use a smaller budget with this upcoming film,which small budget films is where he shines.he redeemed himself with Drag Me To Hell so i have confidence in him that he'll give us one hell of a movie.
triggax writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 11:51:12 AM

One trick pony? Rocketman, wtf.

Ill give you 4 reasons why Raimi kicks ass outside of the evil dead...

The quick and the dead, the gift, a simple plan, Drag me to hell... DARKMAN f*cking darkman dude... Darkman was f*cking awesome... I suppose thats 5 but, really, and then all the evil dead films, the first 2 spidermen... really the guys made ONE bad f*cking movie.. ONE, even crimewave was dope... That's such a ridiculous claim... Lets drive all of the good directors out of town because we get upset about 1 movie out of 20... f*ck sakes, even For love of the game was a good f*cking movie.. and I hate baseball movies...
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 12:04:10 PM

Awesome short film. Would definitely be cool to see it developed into a feature.
M-Cat writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 12:06:17 PM

we need email follow-ups for comments. what's with the comment system?
Randal Graves writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 12:09:06 PM

Raimi is God. Evil Dead 2 is proof.
danielplainview writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 12:12:23 PM

The latin-american version of sky captain and the world of tomorrow, mixed with the 28 weeks later soundtrack... not bad at all...
rocketman writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 12:16:44 PM

Don't like what he did with spidey(1,2+3),never seen any other of his films that i thought were anything other than 'ok'.
Evil dead 1 his best film to date.
vaodsi writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 12:30:33 PM

well aat least it's only "like" district nine in terms of budget... for a second i thought raimi was doing a rip off and thought "dude you are better than that!"
however, in the past he has produces some poor stuff like messengers 1-2
Goober3000 writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 12:43:15 PM

iv never been fond of robot movies but i am fond of raimi and i like his thought process with this like johny_boy stated. hopefully it will be a good movie with a surprise evil dead 4 teaser trailer (just dreaming)
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 1:02:27 PM

Never did see Drag Me To Hell but since most of you are giving it positive reviews I think I will go down to my local Blockbuster and rent it.
rabid writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 1:13:22 PM

As long as Raimi is directing, there'll be a reason enough for me to watch.
rabid writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 1:14:44 PM

Drag me to Hell was fantastic... and really funny if you're counting all the times someone gets something vile vomited into their mouth.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 1:29:37 PM

Drag me to Hell was fantastic... and really funny if you're counting all the times someone gets something vile vomited into their mouth.


Sounds like a typical Saturday night for me. ;-)
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 2:19:40 PM

@triggax: I'm with you on this one, but please, do not refer to The Quick and the Dead when defending Raimi. Not even The Gift. They're better of not mentioning. And besides, Army of Darkness will speak for Raimi as he's alive.
OneTime writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 2:28:14 PM

lmao drag me to hell was brutal...painful and completly retarded.
Syman404 writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 2:48:58 PM

Although I do like Sam Raimi's movies, I absolutely hate his version of Spiderman. I was in love with the 90's animated tv series and was expecting a peter parker more along those lines. I think Tobey Maguire is a REALLY bad choice for Peter Parker, and the movies are too, Kid-ish.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 3:14:12 PM

"spooky he ruined Spiderman,end of story."

No, he didn't, the studio tried to get too much control of spiderman 3, too bad your silly ass wouldn't know that.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 3:19:35 PM

"Evil dead 1 his best film to date."

And the new dandy is *drum roll*


ROCKETMAN!

you are a f*cking idiot if you honestly think that Evil Dead 1 was better than Army of Darkness, Evil Dead 2, or Spiderman 2.
Hobo Michael writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 3:34:06 PM

Forget this crap i want to see some
SPIDEY ACTION!!! :) SM4 MAY 5TH 2011.
CCBlev writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 3:40:00 PM

@spooky
rocketman can never be as bad as dandy is. only Dandy can be so gay he has his own special aids, aids that efron and lohan can only dream of getting
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 3:53:43 PM

Is this music from something? Sounds horribly familiar.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 3:58:41 PM

"Apparently Alvarez was offered more money, but Raimi wanted to make sure that the helmer had enough freedom to develop the project his way, knowing that more cash meant less control."

See Rocketman? Raimi lived and learned.
Mighte Migit writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 4:03:03 PM

not bad not bad at all
jaz_mayor writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 4:15:32 PM

One problem Neil Blompkamp is a good director. This guy is a good FX director.
jaz_mayor writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 4:17:31 PM

Also Raimi didn't kill spiderman 3 the fans did by constantly asking him to put in venom in the movie.
Ranger writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 4:20:52 PM

Yeah Spooks... save your grief for dandy the twat. rocketman is a good sh*t.
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 4:33:27 PM

@Scrooge McDuck That's the song from 28 Days later. Also this looks like that game Earth Defense Force lol.
The Phantom 95 writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 4:38:33 PM

why is rocketman bitching about sam raimi ruining spider man 3 for? lets leave that in the past it was ok for me. this looks good and i liked D9 best movie ever
The Phantom 95 writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 4:42:35 PM

and btw drag me to hell was the best horror movie since the reboot of friday the 13th
TheHundreds writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 5:31:24 PM

this is stupid
Kurskij writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 5:37:21 PM

Spooky quit it!
Rocketman is a rocketman which means his a good fella.
And, yeah, while Raimi is a great director, SM3 was one sh*tty movie. For one reason or another.
Kurskij writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 5:39:20 PM

@CCBlev

Only dandy can be so gay that he has his own gayness. Dandy style! Some kind of agaygayness, i think.
CCBlev writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 5:50:05 PM

@Kurskij
Well whatever is, the gayness defies science, its so gay, it made bruno himself go straight
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 7:33:37 PM

District 10: The Reckoning

Giant Robot Fan Boy Squirt-a-thon! ^_^ T_T o/
wonderBOY writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 7:50:07 PM

is evil dead 2 a remake cuz why would he go back to the cabin its stupid still a great movie though
wonderBOY writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 7:50:18 PM

is evil dead 2 a remake cuz why would he go back to the cabin its stupid still a great movie though
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 7:52:02 PM

Yes, it's a remake.
vaodsi writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 8:18:47 PM

i thought the friday the 13th reboot sucked......
but my opinion suck's sometimes too
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 8:30:45 PM

The day you try to make sense of Evil Dead canon is the day the universe implodes.
Ari Gold writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 8:52:28 PM

Didn't the gift have Katie Holmes boobs..? That was great! Like I only saw those two minutes but the film was amazing, from what I saw. Back when Holmes was hot.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 9:01:23 PM

Agreed Ari, they were some awesome boobs in that film. God bless Sam for letting those things run free.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 9:04:09 PM

Here is a link to some playful kittens.

http://blog.mrskin.com/data/skinterviews/167/holmes-gift-1.jpg

Spankfish writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 9:30:36 PM

The track is called "In the house - In a heartbeat" by Brian Eno. And yes, its on the 28 days later soundtrack.
Kara writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 9:39:41 PM

war of the worlds.....
tomeenucknfutz writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 9:51:52 PM

bruce must not be able to make his f*ckin rent again
Hobo Michael writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 10:02:41 PM

BOOBIE'S! :)
billofill writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 10:15:05 PM

To the morons Raimi said on the commentary for Evil Dead 2 that it isnt a remake he just had to recap the events of Evil Dead and couldnt use footage from the original film cause he didnt own it. As for Rocketman Evil Dead Really? his best film? What are you f*cking retarded?
Ari Gold writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 12:14:48 AM

Thank you Ricky, those boobs made my day.
kagai writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 12:50:12 AM

I like Raimi, and love most of his movies, but Drag Me to Hell sucked balls. The "gross out" scenes seemed completely overused for this movie and thrown in just for the sake of gore; and Evil Dead 2 is my favorite horror movie from him, so I don't hate gore.

The story was horrible. Evil gypsy can summon demons from hell to stalk and kill, but can't pay her mortgage; just what I want in my horror movies, lame ass social commentary. What? One of the 50 freaking people at her house couldn't help her out? Not to mention that you could see the ending from last Tuesday. Hell, you could see most of the "twists" coming in this movie from a mile away.

It wasn't scary, it wasn't very funny, it was just a stale, cookie cutter, disappointment.

However, I think that Raimi is a really good director and a good writer and I'll always be ready for any of his new movies.

As for the post, if Raimi thinks the guy deserves a chance, I say give him a chance. I just wonder why the aliens sent all those ships and wasted all those robots, to blow up a city, when they could have just shot a missile from outer space. I guess that wouldn't have been so special "fx'ey"
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 2:28:08 AM

I thought Drag me to Hell was alright until the last 20 minutes which I thought were brilliant, really fun and entertaining. There were entertaining bits before then but the end really brought it all together.

Also, Army of Darkness is the weakest of the three Evil Dead films. One is great, two is even better, then Darkness falls beneath the first. Kind of like the Spiderman series but not to such a harsh extent. I'm fine with Raimi I think he's a solid director, watched Darkman again recently... love it.
prabuwiz writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 7:16:53 AM

i dunno!! looks similar to 'war of the worlds'.
SACdaddy writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 9:15:32 AM

@Rocketman: I was starting to lose respect for Raimi too before Drag Me to Hell came out. Like you, I'm not a fan of most of the Spiderman films either but that's really the only time he's f*cked up. With smaller budgets he seems to do better work. At least from a producer's stand point it sounds like he's learned exactly that (check his producing credits and you'll see mostly low budget films and TV shows). As a director he needs to get back to roots, drop the huge budgets, and never make another PG-13 movie again!
rocketman writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 10:28:13 AM

@Sacdaddy
I do prefer the older stuff he did,Evil dead was a breath of fresh air when it came out,2 quite good fun,didn't care too much for 3.As for Spidey as soon as i saw the Green Goblin that was it for me,hit the wrong note from the off.He never captured the coolness of Spidey IMO,the cheekyness all the wise cracks just fall flat when Toby delivers them.I would much prefer a full reboot with a new cast(Tobys 30+? ferfuksake) then i can enjoy it again(hope).As for a return to his roots i do think he would be more at home on the finges of hollywood rather than at the mainstream center.
SACdaddy writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 11:07:07 AM

Green Goblin killed it for me too. It only got worse when James Franco took over. Doc Otopus was such a good character and well done that I can't hate on the entire series.

I have a feeling that, like Peter Jackson, Raimi has a good eye for potential talent. He did find Bruce Cambell, got Billy Bob nominated for an Academy award (must have been a slow year for film), and turned Bill Paxton into a serious actor. I thought this robot short was pretty nice, so maybe he's found the next rising star.
skooterz writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 12:11:34 PM

Raimi is an okay director, though he's far from the best.

The song in the video sounds so damn familiar, but I can't place it.
skooterz writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 12:13:16 PM

Neeevermind. Looked through the comments, the I remember where I heard it now.
Rich k writes:
on November 30th, 2009 at 3:29:05 PM

reminds me of war of the worlds, and hasnt there been enought alien movies lately?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved