WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Robert Downey Jr Might Make Only "Sherlock Holmes" and "Iron Man" Sequels

Posted: November 28th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Robert Downey Jr Might Make Only "Sherlock Holmes" and "Iron Man" SequelsSubmit Comment
Robert Downey Jr recently revealed that he is planning to quit acting after making a few more films. In an interview with Empire magazine he has now revealed that he wouldn't mind if those films are only "Iron Man" and "Sherlock Holmes" installments.

"To tell you the truth, I would be happy to bounce back and forth between Sherlock Holmes and Tony Stark until I am forcibly retired," he said. "And also, fortunately, not unlike Iron Man, there is a way to continue along the lines of it and not become increasingly embarrassed by my greying hair and ropey muscles."

Downey added that future installments of "Sherlock Holmes" have already been planned out. "Between Guy [Ritchie] and me, the missus (producer Susan Downey) and Joel Silver (producer), we definitely know what we would like to do for the next two sequels," he said.

Source: Empire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on November 28th, 2009 at 5:14:09 AM

so tired of actors "retiring"
Sonic writes:
on November 28th, 2009 at 6:51:23 AM

As long as he's doing Iron Man film iam happy with that.
Peter Parker writes:
on November 28th, 2009 at 6:51:29 AM

These actors that are always thinking (and talking) about retiring, remind me of people who are constantly saying they'll commit suicide.
"One day I'll kill myself. I can't take it anymore."
Do they ever kill themselves? NO!!!

Same thing with actors on their way to "early retirement".

Here's a suggestion, if you're gonna quit acting, or commit suicide, don't talk about it... JUST DO IT ALREADY!

Whiny ass bitches...
bozman007 writes:
on November 28th, 2009 at 7:23:44 AM

Wait a minute, you mean to tell me that Downey is up for doing sequels to his movies? I mean, I know all actors pretty much do that, and there are probably more sequels being crapped out now than original movies, but he is too?

Is it a slow news day or something?
wonderBOY writes:
on November 28th, 2009 at 7:56:26 AM

why does he want to quit when he just came back from the slumps
minkowski writes:
on November 28th, 2009 at 8:47:52 AM

What a vane wuss. He's a afraid of looking old in front of the camera. What a self-indulgent twat. I mean, does he think he's better than Harrison Ford?
minkowski writes:
on November 28th, 2009 at 8:59:45 AM

Wait, who really wants to see him in anything outside Iron Man anyway?
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on November 28th, 2009 at 10:03:47 AM

Consider a hollywood suicide instead.

For reference see Adam Sandlers career.
pomme writes:
on November 28th, 2009 at 12:18:01 PM

and Spielberg movie next year?!

don't spealk ,guy!
just do it!
Jedimax writes:
on November 28th, 2009 at 1:03:35 PM

Yeah you see the reason thats not happening is Jr. Agent who must be you know a genius, is going to find him a roll that will win him a best actor of the year. Then maybe he will retire.
darkraven28 writes:
on November 28th, 2009 at 1:45:29 PM

I guarantee that if he does retire and god forbid his marriage does wrong, he'll relapse like a mother f*cker. I honestly don't want to see that. It seems that acting for him had become a replacement for the drugs up to a point (outside of that case of herbal remedies he's always playing with in interviews).

Don't quit, Downey! We need youuuuuuuuuuuuuuu!! And yes, I'm serious.
LegacyAR writes:
on November 28th, 2009 at 3:52:54 PM

As much as I love him as Tony Stark and I'm excited to see him in Holmes, he needs to keep doing other films as well. If not, we won't get performances like in Tropic Thunder and even in Charlie Bartlett.
Blink_pimp_182 writes:
on November 28th, 2009 at 4:30:08 PM

If he does any movie like kiss kiss bang bang I'd watch him forever. That movie is better than iron man
murphyslaw93 writes:
on November 28th, 2009 at 4:34:27 PM

My favorite actor wants to limit himself to two franchises: a Marvel franchise (that in my opinion was very overrated) and an Arthur Conan Doyle adaptation that has yet to be released. I guess he doesnt realize that hes gotten an Oscar nomination recently for an out-of-the-blue comedy and other films like Kiss Kiss Bang Bang and Good Night and Good Luck were highly appraised. My advice: keep it going another ten years Rob, wait till your Harrison Ford's age before you decide to come out of hiding only for famous franchises.
Ranger writes:
on November 28th, 2009 at 4:34:56 PM

He's going to retire...
NO wait! He wants to do sequels~
NO wait! He'd work on sequels until he's 'forcibly retired!'

f*ck off! Go to work. Take your $'s. And shut the f*ck up!

RDJ can't handle being responsible... being this booked-up so steadily.

Put up or shut-up Downey.

Quit and they'll replace you before your ass is out the door.

These f*cking whiners are getting to be a joke.

The only one (lately) I've respected that 'retired' is Swayze. That's how a real man retires!

God Bless you Patrick!

Back to your nose candy Downey! Do you want a bib with that? To be burped after a snort?!

What a dandy!
BigUnit writes:
on November 28th, 2009 at 7:35:27 PM

everyone has to retire at one point you nubs..
thedudeman69 writes:
on November 28th, 2009 at 8:59:22 PM

LOL.

He'll run out of money after he gets bored and starts going on drug binges again
Ranger writes:
on November 28th, 2009 at 9:10:42 PM

My thinking exactly.

@BigUnit - true. But our comments are directed towards those that talk about retiring all the time... yet don't. Either do it (retire)... or keep quiet and working in the Biz (like they can make this kind of money doing anything else?).

How many movies ago did Viggo say he was going to retire? How many decades ago did Shatner say he was going to retire?
LastActionHero writes:
on November 28th, 2009 at 9:14:53 PM

He wouldn't be missed from any other movies anyway.
Ranger writes:
on November 28th, 2009 at 9:20:30 PM

Agreed.
minkowski writes:
on November 28th, 2009 at 9:59:27 PM

"If not, we won't get performances like in Tropic Thunder and even in Charlie Bartlett."

Tropic Thunder was stupid as hell. I couldn't even finish the film, and I just sat through Straightheads (Closure), so that says something.

Charlie Bartless was good, I liked the film, but Downey's role was a breeze. He didn't do much at all, just acted like Downey on a mild sedative, relaxed and tranquil, so I won't give him props for that role.

On the other hand, his performance in TT was a lot more drastic and expressive, but I found the film so unwatchable and boring that I can't really give him any credit whatsoever. But again yeah, CB was a good film.
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 28th, 2009 at 10:03:39 PM

I think he said this same sh*t, like a week ago. He won't quit acting at leaset until he is forced to which means he ODs on blow.
minkowski writes:
on November 28th, 2009 at 10:23:11 PM

bartlett, not bartless.
johnny_boy writes:
on November 28th, 2009 at 11:54:24 PM

whatever. long as we see him entertaining us as tony stark in iron man,avengers and cameos in other marvel films,it doesn't matter. or unless he wants to star in a movie about a douche bag with aids,staring as the main character, Dandy
minkowski writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 12:12:43 AM

lol. Dandy get's no respect. d*ck in his ass, c*m in his hair, but no respect.

And I really like Downey, he's a capable actor, but lets face it. The guy's resurgence really began with Iron Man I think, and if he hadn't taken that role, a role that 'suits' him perfectly, then I wonder if anyone would've bothered bringing up his name. I mean, he wasn't doing too well until IM, even though I think starring in Zodiac was a good decision, as having your name on a Fincher film is never a a bad thing.
Ranger writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 5:03:46 AM

Well said Mink.

And RDJ really pushed to get the IM role.

Before that (despite his Oscar nom.) his career was a fart in a hurricane.
Ranger writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 5:12:23 AM

And YES, I AM down-playing RDJ. I KNOW he's talented. I KNOW he does good work (before I get any RDJ fans screaming at me). I'm just a LOT tired of these guys pissing n' moaning all the time.

You want to retire... RETIRE!

In his favor, I gather (despite his outwardly appearance) that's he's a bit (lot) shy, and insecure and hasn't fully enjoyed living under the microscope, as he hasn't seen this kind of attention since his drug/jail days. I think he's a pretty private guy. But where else can he make this kind of bank, with his talents?
johnny_boy writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 6:55:13 AM

@ranger, i'm a big downey jr fan,but the truth is the truth.everything you said is real. everything well said.
blinkbomber writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 9:36:15 AM

geez, i didn't realize so many people were on the verge of Downey-hating.

i thought that with his self deprecating nature and all, he prolly just meant that he prolly won't have what it takes to be the next Harrison Ford and likewise. plus he seems to be against Hollywood as much as we are... not movie-making, just Hollywood.
triggax writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 12:08:18 PM

I love RDJ... And I mean his wife IS a producer, maybe theres just more room for him to invest these days and thats something that he'd rather do, VS being thrown in the public eye again risking to lose it all... Because we all know, if it happened again, this time around, it would be WAAAAAAAY f*cking worse... He went from being just plain old Robert Downey Jr. to being ROBERT DOWNEY f*ckING JR SUPERSTAR!! Right....people forget that the guy was a complete drug addled loser for most, if not all of the 90's... Im gonna guess that there is a lot of battling addictions left in this guys life... that sh*t doesn't just go away.. Securing himself into roles that he feels safe and comfortable with seems only natural for a recovering addict... He's not setting himself up for any huge disappointment.. I mean.. Being a producer he can do from home, little to no involvement, no mandatory staff parties and dealing with other coke head actors, I could imagine that being so big in hollywood that there is A LOT of women, drugs, booze.. all sorts of sh*t... Not something that someone whos been in recovery for the last 10 years would necessarily want to be associated with.. so by limiting his roles and the amount of work hes doing in hollywood, hes narrowing the chance for relapse, and I think thats extremely noble of him.. As for this complaining sh*t.. Theres a huge f*cking difference between making a statement and complaining.. I dont think the guy complained about it once..
Ranger writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 4:26:42 PM

Thx. (last 3 posters).

@johnny - same. I'm a Downey fan. I just think (as you've taken my comments in the light in which they were intended) these guys get pretty thinned out coming out with something new to say with the dozens of interviews they have to give out every month.

@blink - no RDJ hate from me (see my comment to johnny).

@trig - geez. You start posting kind, balanced comments. We won't know what to do with you.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved