WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Warner Bros' Plan for the "Superman" Franchise

Posted: November 26th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Warner BrosSubmit Comment
During the last few months, Warner Bros has been releasing statements about how the studio will not pursue a "Superman Returns" sequel anytime soon. Now, Thompson on Hollywood has found out Warners' real plan for the franchise.

The project is currently on hold until the studio resolves all the legal issues with the heirs of the character's creators. The goal is to settle with the Siegel and Schuster families, and then work out a deal with them to merge all the Superman rights.

Executives at Warners are eager to get a new "Superman" movie off the ground and have been gathering pitches that have been coming in. And even though the studio already lost the rights to Superman's origins, after the merger, Warner Bros are likely to reboot the franchise, which will once again include the origins that we have seen hundreds of times.

Source: Thompson on Hollywood

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 26th, 2009 at 7:51:10 AM

Can't we just let Superman die. Honestly, he is probably the most boring superhero...ever.
nope.com writes:
on November 26th, 2009 at 7:51:42 AM

f*cks sake who CARES about the origins... people who don't know about the "send my only son to Earth" from the destruction of Krypton should see the Donner film, watch Smallville, hell go and buy a comic book...

EVERYONE knows this and another 20 minutes of including this in a reboot will only suck the energy out of people waiting patiently for Clark Kent to emerge in Metropolis.

Just like everyone knew how Bruce Wayne came to be, the crime alley scene only lasted 1 minute and even though Batman didn't debut until almost an hour at least it showed something new that wasn't exposed to people before (what Wayne did after the mugging/killing of his parents)
nope.com writes:
on November 26th, 2009 at 8:12:18 AM

And please please please, don't debut Lex Luthor right off the bat... f*cks sake I'm tired of seeing that bald mother eff in live action. Want Superman done right? Here you go free of charge...

Superman - Clark Kent shows up in Metropolis (NO ORIGIN, show Krypton exploding with KAL-EL's ship flying toward Earth while credits roll and just do the comic book flips showing Clark Kent's early life), meets Lois Lane, Lois is obsessed with Superman who debuts by saving a disaster caused by Toyman, Metallo is the main terrorist villain who Superman has to kill and conflicted when he feels guilty even though much of Corben's human component was already gone after his transformation.
Theme - Acceptance

Superman 2 - Superman is beloved by all humans and is engaged in a relationship with Lois Lane (w/o Lane knowing he's Clark Kent), Lex Luthor emerges as the savior of falling companies thus keeping business in Metropolis rolling and is hailed as the hero by giving hope in a recession plagued nation, but he's also concocting a plan with Braniac who plays as the main villain. Superman feels conflicted in his relationship as he desperately wants to tell Lois his secret since Superman has no private life outside in the world.
Theme - Identity

Superman 3 - Doomsday emerges.. need I say more? Though this time there's no clone of Superman or multiple Supermen storyline. This encounter will be the first 15 minutes of the film and quickly the aftermath of Superman's "death" and importance of a Superman in the crime riddled world. Darkseid then enters, tons of things happen and here comes Superman back from the dead to stop the evil lord. Supes reveals his identity to Lois Lane and proposes.
Theme - Humanity

I take back my original proposition
nope.com writes:
on November 26th, 2009 at 8:25:55 AM

and oh I forgot one thing..
f*ck Seasons 1-8 of Smallville..

took you 9 years to finally get things right and moving? Doesn't matter since that show has been 8 years of elseworld stories and a cheap retcon turns things around in the next year.. unbelievable
nope.com writes:
on November 26th, 2009 at 8:28:45 AM

btw Superman 4? Zod and small appearances by Parasite/Livewire

.. though any film after an appearance by Darkseid will seem small
nope.com writes:
on November 26th, 2009 at 8:31:58 AM

and NO John Williams theme.. look we ALL loved it when it was paired with Christopher Reeve's seemingly Earth-Two Superman movie (look at Superman Returns at how dorky it turned out in the 21st Century)

Make a new iconic theme, something epic like the new Star Trek theme, the two note Batman theme, hell even the animated Superman Doomsday theme. EPIC... what it needs to be
lokopr writes:
on November 26th, 2009 at 10:35:52 AM

origins again?? WTF!!...is that hard to make a movie that he is an adult already an have some flashbacks of the origins and continue with a present story?? gee!!
Ranger writes:
on November 26th, 2009 at 10:59:02 AM

@nope - 'f*ck Seasons 1-8 of Smallville..'

Well said! Although... Season 9 looked most hopeful (still does), yet they're already back to the extended formula of prev. seasons whereby 2 our of every 3 episodes has NOTHING to do with Supes 'destiny'... ugh!

Warner's (with these delays)is full of sh*t... why?

They ALREADY have what they need to move forward. We do f*ckING NOT NEED THE ORIGIN RETOLD!!!!!!!! Yet they own the rights whereby he can fly. Good. Great... ditch the origin (already done very well in the Christopher Reeves / Mario Puzo's - screenplay).


No offense to retards (like dandy), but they really, REALLY need some ORIGINAL THINKERS in the Biz.

@Freudian - sorry, don't agree. Supes is (supposed) to be the MOST EXCITING of Superheros. But with the box-thinkers in the biz, we have had to endure seeing Supes get jerked around by Lois for f*cking decades (so sh*tty, Raimi thought to duplicate that sh*t in Spidey (EMO) III with M.J. yanking his web (and not in the good way) for 2 hours).

WB... you SUCK!
You're really doing a 'dandy' job with this one!

Dre-EL writes:
on November 26th, 2009 at 11:15:42 AM

They should do a romantic love triange Lois & Clark style, where superman has to deal with feelings he has developed for wonder woman.
Wonder Woman shows superman what its like to be loved simply for who you are cause she loves Clark, Kal-El and Superman.
Lois feels threatned by wonder woman cause she feels that the two of them being super powered are perfect for each other, she eventually lets go of her fantasy of she and superman hooking up and finds comfort in the arms of her friend and partner Clark.
The movie shows a lot of reasons why superman and wonder woman are perfect for each other, in the end it all boils down to one thing.
The heart wants what the heart wants, Clark is in love with Lois.
At the end there is the big reveal Lois gets her fantasy hook up superman and her friend Clark.
Ranger writes:
on November 26th, 2009 at 11:30:30 AM


No love triangle.
Yes to a 3-Way.


Supes just get on with his Supes sh*t and start moving plants... flies through suns... meets with the Green Lantern Corps. on OA as a guest speaker (cross-marketing), saves Earth from earthquakes, volcanoes... etc. And FINALLY dumps all this romance stuff. He should even tell the world he's Clark Kent... can no longer do that... so he's Supes 24/7.

Because except for Supes 1&2, and I liked most of Singer's Supes (don't know what he was thinking with giving The Last Son of Krypton that homely, sickly bastard child)... Kal-El has pretty much been portrayed a dandy (ie: p*ssy) on TV and in film.
Ranger writes:
on November 26th, 2009 at 11:31:50 AM

@Dre - Wonder Woman is just too lame-o of a stand alone character. Invisible plane? Ugh! And having her in a Supes movie would dilute his destiny and power worse than they have already in his movies (just my opinion).
Dre-EL writes:
on November 26th, 2009 at 11:51:53 AM

@RANGER- Yes by all means ditch the invisible plane(I cant believe it still exist), but wouldnt you like to see him slap that amazonian ass or suck on Power Girls tits.
Who said he always has to fall for a farm girl or fiesty reporter.

Would love to see that 3 way though.
Ranger writes:
on November 26th, 2009 at 1:01:35 PM

lol - 'wouldnt you like to see him slap that amazonian ass or suck on Power Girls tits?'

Do you even have to ask my friend?!?!

rocketman writes:
on November 26th, 2009 at 2:03:58 PM

Oh great another origin story,cue lots of Lois Lane bullsh*t.
rocketman writes:
on November 26th, 2009 at 2:13:56 PM

nice synopsis

And when will Hollywood realize that the majority of people who like comics are male.We don't want f*cking romance we want Action and Adventure,daring doo,ass kicking fight scenes the odd pair of tits and some splosions.
Not hard,save the romance for f*cking Twilight.
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 26th, 2009 at 3:14:23 PM

Wonderwoman needs to ditch the invisible plane for and invisible outfit, just do the movie naked
Hungry Tacco writes:
on November 26th, 2009 at 3:43:06 PM

id watch jessica biel play wonder woman naked no problem, it could be the worst film ever made and have good reviews from me at least.
but seriously about this superman series. f*ck the origins. we've seen it over and over. its time for him to fight a supervillian. i say metallo, brainiac, or doomsday...
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on November 26th, 2009 at 4:50:56 PM

'...but wouldnt you like to see him slap that amazonian ass or suck on Power Girls tits.

I read that as the Powder puff girls at first!

On another note, bring back Mr Pryor. Even dead this dude is better than most.
nope.com writes:
on November 26th, 2009 at 4:54:21 PM

@Rocketman, lol you just KNOW that Singer was high-fiving himself after ripping off that "romantic flying" scene from the Donner film and did the movie just so he can do that "tribute".

I still remember walking out of that theater and turning to friends asking... "did Supes even punch someone in that goddamn movie?"

f*cks sake that was a p*ssywhipped Superman.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 26th, 2009 at 5:24:17 PM

@ Ranger: Superman is really bland. He's the mightiest of all superheroes, and yet he fails to defeat Lex Luthor. He's too nice, doesn't have any real flaws. And really, taking off your glasses and comb your hair backwards isn't a disguise. Although, there we have to blame all idiots living in Metropolis, that fails to see any resemblence.

However, I must confess, making Darkseid the main villain and f*ck things up would be fun, or make a movie based on Superman: At Earths End.
rocketman writes:
on November 26th, 2009 at 6:08:23 PM

Thats Supes major problem,f*ckING LOIS,litrally.
We wants the Super not the bloody soap opra bullsh*t.Remember the tv show with Dean Kane(i think) sarted off entitled as adventures of Superman (roughly) and ended up as Lois and Clark or some crap...bloody barmy.
Ranger writes:
on November 26th, 2009 at 7:13:00 PM

@Freudian - you're right. They have made Supes out to be a whipped p*ssy (and not even the good kind!).

Darkseid is after my time in comics. Supes at Earth's end interests me to no end though. THAT would be an EXCELLENT 3-movie EPIC! If... IF the pussies at WP EVER read a comic and learned what Supes should and could be.

As for glasses and hair combed back not being a disguise... apparently it is... lol. And you're right (again), apparently everyone in Metropolis are just dandy and can't figure sh*t out.

rabid writes:
on November 26th, 2009 at 10:04:23 PM

is it really news if there's no news?

WB has a Superman plan. He's a golden goose and they're not idiots.
lost_addict writes:
on November 27th, 2009 at 12:34:42 AM

opening scene:

Sup and Lois are at niagra falls memorizing some of the old days when superman tells to lois he's gonna get some hot dogs(wink wink),as he goes bad ass villain(don't give a f*ck who)calls out:"superman!!!say goodbye to lois,motherf*cker!!!",BAMMM,bad ass villain slashes lois head off in front of superman shocking face and fly off...
minkowski writes:
on November 27th, 2009 at 1:18:09 AM

It wasn't Darkseid that caused Superman issues after his return, it was Mongul.

And really, you don't need themes. You just need to show Superman doing awesome sh*t. I keep telling you guys that they need to just bring him into the forefront with the first film. You don't need a long-winded origins intro, but a little back story, some cool flashback, something inventive with respect to his past. Set him in the first film as the hero everyone loves. That's usually the way it goes. No need for acceptance, the guy goes around making everyone love him in like five seconds. He can fly, he's handsome, smart, brave, daring and indestructible. Done. He's accepted. Yeah, people are a little more complex, but Supes isn't some bungling teen hero like Spiderman, f*cking up every one of two jobs. He's almost perfect.

So in he first film, give him someone other than Lex. Make Lex background. So you need a somewhat believable villain. Perhaps Atlas, someone that's going to give Superman a challenge. Or even Brainiac, though I find it's best to stay away from space aliens. A scrapper. Lots of intense devastation as the two fight across Metropolis. Or a battle across the Earth. Perhaps have Bloodsport in the background, a shadowy figure with loose ties to Lex.

In the film's beginning Superman inevitably meets Lois and the two fall in love by films end, forming some sort of relationship that challenges Lois' ability to love a man from another world and Supe's ability to have a weakness while learning what it means to love a human.

The second film finds Superman perhaps even a little bored with his role as Earth's protector. He does the mundane. Bank robbers, purse snatchers, the occasional middling mutant, and he keeps Lex in check which takes no little to effort. So his life is pretty uneventful. He is loved by most. He starts to question if earth even needs him anymore, or if they ever did. He's even a little down about it, preoccupied by a life that rarely presents a true challenge. This even interferes with his relationship to Lois, perhaps even disrupting it. Perhaps the two question their relationship. Maybe they wonder if it will last. (this is the setup, not the entire movie, just a reflection on Superman's life up to this point. so you can't ignore the relationship dynamic) So before you even get to the second act, Superman is embroiled in a building crisis. Perhaps an event at STAR labs or something that just presents plenty of buildup.
Then comes along Doomsday before the end of the second act. Monster, killer, city smasher. Superman spends the next 40 minutes or so with other (minor) Superheroes like Blue Beetle and Guy Garner. Maybe even help them launch their own films.

Finish the film with the most climactic, epic, amazing beautifully shot battle. Think the artistic merit and cinematography of Sin City with the adrenaline of a Matrix battle scene, but for twenty minutes. Superman dies. End the film with a short shot of some shadowy silhouetted guy looking over Metropolis from a chair and monitors. Like in the comics when you KNOW its Superman. Hell, even give him the longer hair. Hook people in right there for the third film. Superman dead, Lois in tears, the world agape from the death of their greatest hero.

Third film, the world has simply moved on. Lois has not. Shots of Superman's memorial site. Maybe even have a superman pretender that screws with Lois. The sudden obliteration of Coast City and the arrival of a new threat. The revelation that this wannabe Superman is actually the messenger, the lackey of a someone like Darseid, or Mongul, Preus or Brainiac (again). The false Superman was there to play magician, making the main bad guy's advance to earth, to prepare for an easier attack. Superman returns from the dead, weakened. Reunites with Lois and then heads in for major battle with the new bad guy. Epic fighting, some heroes fall, Superman get rejuvenated, demolishes the pretender and takes out the main bad guy. Perhaps Lois and Supes say 'I do' perhaps not. At the end, have Doomsday somewhere in the half-dark laughing menacingly. No need for a close-ended story and no need for sappy love triangles.

Anyway, just something I threw together in a few seconds, nothing that I would ever consider a solid story or even a rough outline. More like painting by tossing random colors at a canvas and seeing what pops up.
minkowski writes:
on November 27th, 2009 at 1:22:34 AM

And no, you cannot make a movie or a series of movies even on At Earth's End. Not only is that series open-ended on both ends, it's an Elseworld's one shot series. It would never ever work in the format of a film without alienating ever single viewer.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 27th, 2009 at 3:33:10 AM

I haven't really read At Earths End, I just think the ending is so dumbtastic, that I want to see it on the screen.
Cbr writes:
on November 27th, 2009 at 7:51:28 AM

Why a reboot so soon? The last one did not suck that mutch.
minkowski writes:
on November 27th, 2009 at 8:05:48 AM

Just make Superman gay, and have him f*ck dandy to death. Happy ending for all.
triggax writes:
on November 27th, 2009 at 11:01:21 AM

I'd watch that, I never realized why studio's don't go with the obvious choices, IE listen to the fans..

Either way... Mink I think you've hit the nail on its proverbial head. I would watch superman f*ck rape dandy for 2 hours.. f*ck rape HER to death.. only if it was a her... If dandys a tranny... I want nothing to do with that scenario...

Good synopsis though. Thumbs up.
barley_cat writes:
on November 27th, 2009 at 12:41:00 PM

i thought the second one was meant to be about his kid. super asthma kid...Oh and I am legend had a poster of a superman vs batman poster, so i bet that will be the 3rd or 4th movie...
Ranger writes:
on November 27th, 2009 at 1:52:11 PM

@mink - I like the end of Earth story with Supes.

It's like T3 - Judgment Day happens even with the 'important' people knowing it's coming. Despite their efforts to make sure it doesn't happen... it still does. It takes away the possible illusion that we're control the future and destiny.

Same with Supes and the End of Earth story. Despite mighty Kal-El... Earth still goes sh*thouse.

But no worries. We'll never see it. Hollywood doesn't have the balls to make a solid 3 movie epic about the greatest superhero of all.

Bring on f*cking asthma kid, and Lois the bitch for another 90 minutes.
LordLlewellyn80 writes:
on November 27th, 2009 at 7:41:01 PM

If they do go ahead with a Superman reboot (although there's no need for it), then his origin should not be used. Who gives a flying hellfish!?! They should just bring in Clark Kent at the start. New guy in town, out of place. Then, gradually, bring in Superman. Little peek here or there, then bring him to the front just after the halfway point. No-one cares where he comes from, just about who he is. Then, if they ever reclaim the origin rights, it can be used in a later film when Zod, or someother Kryptonian badass comes down.

All this enables them to push on with the reboot all the sooner, so we don't have to hear the bitching about reboot plans.
minkowski writes:
on November 28th, 2009 at 1:25:14 AM

ranger, bud, I think you're missing something. AWE, the Superman part, is kind of in the middle of the entire story. There's stuff after and before, especially before. So you'd have to write all that in. Lots and lots of characters that most people have never heard of. Because it's an elseworlds comic, the locations are very different from the normal world of Superman. I don't think people would want to see that, that's why most Superman comics are set in a world recognizable similar to this one, not in Elseworlds. Elseworlds is just a place to safely play with convention, toss things up and do to the canon of CD comics what you cannot do in the regular comic series. Its a sandbox, a chalkboard for scribbling ideas and concepts. It would be very difficult to introduce people to that kind of world in one movie, and you'd have to if you expect them to come back for two more, especially when people, myself included, are expecting the film to resemble this world.

But yeah, I agree that a Superman needs to be SUPER and not just middling and mundane for sure, like the other films. I think I can forgive the first four films because they're old and VFX was difficult and expensive, but SR had no excuses whatsoever to take the dull, unexciting route, while f*cking royally with canon.
minkowski writes:
on November 28th, 2009 at 1:28:06 AM

Thanks Trig. Boring night here. Where's dandy? Getting f*cked in the back room of a billiards-and-bar with a cue stick and a jar of mayonnaise?
Ranger writes:
on November 28th, 2009 at 2:37:31 AM

@mink re: dandy the twat! lol.

Thx. for the update on Elseworld... that too... after my comic days.
rocketman writes:
on November 28th, 2009 at 6:21:12 PM

Sorry,got to ask whats all this Dandy stuff about?
Ranger writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 5:48:27 AM

Oh... basically dandy is a twat (and not the good kind either).

Ref: http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=15922&count=0


rocketman writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 8:44:17 AM

LOL so if we don't like Twish*te we are all Fags?
other way round methinks.If i wanted to stare at a 2 hour long Loreale advert for goths/virgins i would already be swinging from the rafters.
Ta for the heads up.
Ranger writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 4:29:23 PM

U bet.
Long Rod VonHugendong writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 9:04:33 PM

I hope Brandon routh is gonna be Superman again

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved