WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Cameron Created a New Language for "Avatar"

Posted: November 25th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Cameron Created a New Language for "Avatar"Submit Comment
Four years before "Avatar" was scheduled to be released, director James Cameron contacted USC professor Paul Frommer, who is a linguistics specialist, to create an entirely new language that will be spoken by the Na'vi aliens in the film.

"The constraint, of course, is that the language I created had to be spoken by humans," Frommer told LA Times. "I could have let my imagination run wild and come up with all sorts of weird sounds, but I was limited by what a human actor could actually do."

But even though the language was created with humans in mind, "Avatar" actors still struggled to get the words out correctly. "It was so hard and I was really concerned about it," said Zoe Saldana. "I didn't think I could get through it. I'm not good with languages. All the actors, we worked together. It was the only way."

Between the movie and the game, Frommer has a bit more than 1,000 words in the Na'vi language, as well as all the rules and structure of the language itself. And in case there will be a sequel or a prequel to "Avatar," Frommer is continuing to build on the language.

Click here to read our exclusive "Avatar" preview.

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 5:30:01 AM

Cameron created nothing. He got some linguist to do his work. Cameron just rips off everyone else and passes his stuff as original. His most original film was Titanic, a film about two morons on a historical sinking boat. Two-thirds of the move was weritten before the script existed. The rest he lifte from Harlequinn romance novels.

Everything else in all his other movies, he ripped off from books he read while trucking.

"And in case there will be a sequel or a prequel to "Avatar," Frommer is continuing to build on the language."

One is wuite enough, I'm, pleased to say. But they'll be another Transformers, so why not another Avatar.
Ranger writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 5:38:35 AM

Anyone else see the irony of Zoe Saldana admitting difficulty with languages having been previously cast as Uhura - communications/linguist cadet aboard the USS Enterprise?!
Peter Parker writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 5:44:12 AM

He had to create a new language alright, to be able to ask Fox for more money in several different ways!
Ranger writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 5:51:54 AM

Yeah... I wonder what the word 'beg' is in Na'vi?

dandy, you'd know.
minkowski writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 5:52:53 AM

"Anyone else see the irony of Zoe Saldana admitting difficulty with languages having been previously cast as Uhura - communications/linguist cadet aboard the USS Enterprise?!"

Yeah, that's true, but when it comes to Abram's Star Trek, I forget the film was ever made. The last ST movie was Nemesis IMO. Abaram's film is just "f*cking and Shooting in Space for Young Idiots".

On that level, it works. So I can forgive the irony. She wasn't more than eye candy anyway and hardly ever played much of a role on com. She was too busy pissing off Alligator Skin and sucking Mock Spock's c*ck.
minkowski writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 5:55:18 AM

"Yeah... I wonder what the word 'beg' is in Na'vi? "

Dunno. In English it translates to "Please Watch this $200 mil film".

In dandy-ese, it translates to bending over naked with a mangina in front of a glass picture window down in the red district.
Ranger writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 6:01:58 AM

LOL!
Derp88 writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 6:10:41 AM

I believe the article was supposed to say "James Cameron created Aids"
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 6:37:55 AM

The next Avatar will cost just $20 to make it the tech is already there now :)
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 7:30:20 AM

James Cameron Created a New Language for "Avatar"

Yeah, it's called bullsh*t. Fox is really into it.


SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 8:01:14 AM

"HOLY CHEZE ND CRAKERS GUISE!!!!

CAMERON MAED A LANGEJE 4 AVTAR?!?!?!11.1.?!1/1/

DIS MAN IS A GENIUSS!!!!!! NOBODY ELSE HAS EVUR DONE TAHT!!!!!

U HATURZ HAVE NUTHIN 2 SAY NAO DO U?!!?1/1/!!

jus wait, u KNO ull b whatcin it on dec 18"

When I get home, thats what the IMDb board will look like.
TRUEMAN writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 8:12:08 AM

the new language es based on the stupid accent of SAM W. ( retard sissy girl language ) some people says that!
Peter Parker writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 8:51:34 AM

TRUEMAN, Sam W and Avatar stories here on WP wouldn't be the same without you!
lost_addict writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 9:26:33 AM

why did you make a f*cking cartoon,Jim,WHY???
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 10:14:04 AM

Great fan boys are going to go ape sh*t and want a f*cking dictionary. right dandy in your case it would be fangirl, but you know what i mean
NatG83 writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 10:58:10 AM

Another waste of money for the film. Did they really need to create a language for the Na'vi? I think they could have used an existing language and the average movie goer would have no clue.
Peter Parker writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 11:09:35 AM

I think I now know how to use Cameron's new language.
Here are a few examples:

English "Avatarian"
| |
- Mo'money = It's a new technology
- I'm waaay over budget = It's a new technology
- It'll make profit = It's a new technology
- How much is it? = It's a new technology
- I can rip off Fox = It's a new technology
- I'm scared sh*tless it'll fail = It's a new technology
- I'm behind schedule = It's a new technology
- Giant smurfs = Avatar


Simple enough...
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 11:54:37 AM

Don't forget

Dandy = Loves to get raped by his two dads everynight
Jedimasta writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 1:03:03 PM

This is great, just love it, sounds very interesting. Hopefully there will be some kind of book about the language, like you can find it about other species (f.e. the Klingons)
TRUEMAN writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 1:33:21 PM

@Pete

yo miss:

Sam W.= sucks, sissy girl, dumbass, bad actor, and blue gay giant smurf!
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 1:33:32 PM

"Cameron created nothing. He got some linguist to do his work. Cameron just rips off everyone else and passes his stuff as original. His most original film was Titanic, a film about two morons on a historical sinking boat. Two-thirds of the move was written before the script existed. The rest he lifted from Harlequinn romance novels."

? Is he supposed to animate it himself too? And do all the voicework? Its not his job to create languages, its his job to manage the project. So what if he got somebody else to create a language for him? He can and he did. "Stephen Spielberg's best movie is Saving Private Ryan, but he pretty much just ripped off World War 2 and had a fat teacher pretend to be a soldier". Yeah, we can all reduce a movie to nothing in a sentence but I'm personally much more impressed with creating a movie (and in this case an entire reality) out of nothing. Cameron probably ripped off the ideas for flying reptiles and big flowers from life on Earth too, but theres only so much bitching that can be done about it. Renaissance painters ripped eachother off, and so did (especially) the impressionists. That doesnt mean I can't enjoy looking at their paintings.

He has to at least keep this film within a relatable reality, because he needs such a vast audience to flock to it. The important thing is that technologically he's advancing the art of film making, so that in the future more creative film makers can swim in the pool under the ice he's broken. I don't understand everyone's huge f*cking problem.
Porter Montoya writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 1:47:14 PM

I don't understand people's problem either. Was it your tax dollars that went towards making this film? No? Then what do you have to bitch about. You think it looks stupid, then don't see it. It might be amazing. It might suck. Who knows.

As for Cameron ripping people off, well I don't think he ever tried to mask that this is basically the story of Pocahontass. Subtlety has never been Cameron's forte, but that's not how he makes films. Some people hate it, but there's a place for it. I'm personally not a fan of the big budget, brainless blockbuster, but Cameron is the king of the blockbuster and his movies are wonderful to look and and enjoyable to watch, unlike Michael Bay.
rocketman writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 2:18:22 PM

Watched Terminator 4 last night for the first time and witnessed Sam Worthingwhatever 'perform'for the first time. Oh dear,Camerons resting this film on his shoulders?
Yeah good luck to ya Jim.
rabid writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 3:01:53 PM

Impressive. Anthony Burgess did that for many of his novels like The Wanting Seed and Clockwork Orange.
Alan Moore wrote a novel, the first chapter of which is in caveman.
vaodsi writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 3:40:56 PM

i thought worthington did pretty good with his badly written role in t4. At least cameron didn't go the george lucas route and cast hayden christensen for his sci-fi franchize.
Goober3000 writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 3:49:48 PM

i also made my own language back in 2nd grade
Ranger writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 3:59:10 PM

Profanity gets me f*cking by just fine.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 4:45:28 PM

"Then what do you have to bitch about."

The fact that this money could have gone to something more important instead of a stupid luxury for film makers.
Aaron writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 5:01:23 PM

boo......hoo...
TRUEMAN writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 5:32:28 PM

@rocketman

I have been telling for like a year this movie is going to sucks because SAm W., is a very bad actor! you will see this sh*t look the episode of south park dancing with the Smurfs!
tomeenucknfutz writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 5:57:24 PM

i dont give a f*ck how much money they spent to make this. Until they let me smoke and piss in my jug in the theater, I'll wait for the dvd release.
rabid writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 6:50:40 PM

doesn't your town have a drive-in?
Ranger writes:
on November 26th, 2009 at 1:54:49 AM

Yeah... they call it 'The Lohan!'
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 26th, 2009 at 5:29:18 PM

I wonder of far he went with language. I mean, the japanese invented a word for making a girl (or Dandy) to a spunkbucket.
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 1:33:39 PM

i know all of you will hate me but... what is it with you and avatar? i mean, james cameron makes good movies and i know that the first trailer sucked on purpose but, come on, give it a break... but the movie itself looks cool

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved