WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Happy Gilmore Swing is Now Illegal in Canada

Posted: November 25th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Happy Gilmore Swing is Now Illegal in CanadaSubmit Comment
In the movie "Happy Gilmore," Adam Sandler's character is a hockey player who is forced to play golf in order to save his grandmother's house from the IRS. Armed with only natural ability, Sandler is shown using an unorthodox swing, which requires a running start to hit the ball.

It's a good thing that Happy doesn't live in the real world, because a judge in the Supreme Court of Nova Scotia, Canada, has just ruled that the "Happy Gilmore shot" breaches a duty of care on the golf course and is thus illegal to use.

According to THR, this new law stems from a case in which the plaintiff sued after an incident in which the defendant tried to impress his golfing buddies during a bachelor party that included beer, tequila and marijuana.

On the 16th hole, under the influence, the defendant showed off his "Happy Gilmore shot" and struck the plaintiff in the wrist, then in the chest, causing permanent damage to the radial nerve. The plaintiff no longer was able to return to his former work as a woodsman on account of the incident.

And even though professional players believe that the swing is perfectly legal, the judge ruled that "the defendant's behavior was not among the 'natural risks' of golfing."

Sounds like all the blame fell on the swing and not on the fact that the defendant was drunk and stoned.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 50 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ari Gold writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 5:00:48 AM

Wow. Good one Canada.
solidkryptonite writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 5:04:13 AM

...Oh Canada...
Ranger writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 5:20:45 AM

I've played that 16th hole stoned and drunk.

It's a bitch!
Peter Parker writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 5:47:53 AM

"Happy Gilmore Swing is Now Illegal in Canada"

Why would they want to make it illegal for people to have group sex?
Ranger writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 5:55:42 AM

Because it was radial un-nerving to some?
Derp88 writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 6:18:24 AM

Are they hoping this will decrease the amount of Aids flying around Canada?
minkowski writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 6:26:57 AM

Sorry, ranger, but that was probably too clever to pass as humor here.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 8:04:17 AM

Whats next, Harmonize pst AND gst taxes, raising the sale of books, groceries, and clothes? oh wait...

Well, what about something ubsurd, like making it legal to smoke weed, but illegal to have posession of it? oh, wait...

Well, hold on, there's gotta be something retarded that canada hasn't done yet, OH WAIT, I GOT IT!

What about if canada made it legal so that if someone breaks into your house, and injures themselves, the homeowners would get sued and not the guy breaking in?

...

It exists? Really?

I'M MOVING TO THE f*ckING UNITED STATES.
minkowski writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 8:17:39 AM

At least the US doesn't have tort and criminal laws that stifle freedom of speech. A minister in Canada was recently prevented by law, by a court ruling, to never again utter disparaging remarks about homosexuals again. They call it 'hate speech' legislation, and if the guy ever does, he faces enormous fines (on top of those he already paid) and serious jail time.

That's Canada, politically incorrect capital of North America. They're so PC, terrorists just love the place because the law protects them more than innocent people.

"What about if canada made it legal so that if someone breaks into your house, and injures themselves, the homeowners would get sued and not the guy breaking in?"

That's actually happened in several Western nations and is actually far more common in Britain than the US.

"Well, what about something ubsurd, like making it legal to smoke weed, but illegal to have posession of it? oh, wait..."

It's not legal to smoke weed in the United States, Spooks. Not at all. But it is sometimes ignored in favor of arresting distributors.


And I didn't understand the first sentence you typed, so...
Peter Parker writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 8:38:25 AM

"Happy Gilmore Swing is Now Illegal in Canada"

In a related story:

"Canadian Swingers Come To The US To Have Sex"
LastActionHero writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 8:55:24 AM

Good to see there are a lot of important things going on in Canada...lol. What a joke of a country.
KindredMac writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 9:37:30 AM

Hey Spooky... Just make sure the intruder never leaves your house..... Unless you live in the downtown sections of Montreal, Ottawa, Toronto, Winnipeg, Calgary or Vancouver you have to have a good amount of property to bury a body! And if you live along the Lakes or the St Lawrence river, you can always dump the bodies there too... I'm just saying...
Ranma-Irias writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 9:52:37 AM

stop making fun of Canada! This is aboot dignity! Aboot respect!
MontoyaWA writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 10:06:53 AM

Must have been Judge Smails
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 10:32:00 AM

Well f*ck now I can't play golf in Canada.

Oh well
makingcircles writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 10:32:57 AM

Did the judge happen to be The Honorable Shooter McGavin"?
Dre-EL writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 10:35:05 AM

WOW Canadians are so stupid
Horsemoney5 writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 10:51:57 AM

omg...
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 11:22:01 AM

Uh, minkowski?

Those laws I reffered to are laws in Canada, not the U.S.
ksplatt writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 12:31:50 PM

god damn them and their flappin heads and beady little eyes...

CAN I FINISH? CAN I FINISH PLEASE? ok, im finished.
Porter Montoya writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 1:32:00 PM

I guess people who get their facts about Canada from a movie website shouldn't be expected to have anything intelligent to say, but really, this is some ignorant bullsh*t.

"Let's base our opinions on an entire country from a few newspaper headlines we remember seeing." How about I do that with the U.S.? Do you want to know what morons you would all look like then? Fortunately, some people are a little more open-minded and objective. But don't trust me, I'm just a stupid Canadian. I ride a polar bear to work and eat maple syrup three times a day.
Porter Montoya writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 1:36:44 PM

Also, just so you all know, Nova Scotia isn't another name for Canada. It's one province. It would be like me saying (hypothetically) that pornography is now illegal in America, though it was only made illegal in Utah.
triggax writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 1:50:11 PM

f*ck all of you... This is a film site, if you stupid f*cking americans weren't so busy killing each other you might actually know something about canada, but you dont, I dont come here and try and disgrace your piece of sh*t country, i come here to talk about f*cking movies, so do me a favor.. give me the same benefit..
goat1202 writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 2:00:25 PM

lol funny how silly Americans think some old fag judge is a clear representation of ALL Canadians.....I got one word for ya.....Dubbya, lol that dumb f*ck set you Americans back hundreds of years, and you morons voted him in TWICE!!! Take a good look at yourselves and eachother before making judgement calls on other nations. Peace.
rocketman writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 2:00:52 PM

@ Portor
Nice,i'm British and i just simply love a nice cup of tea,takes ones mind off ones bad teeth/tooth.

rocketman writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 2:11:03 PM

doh sp.
@portEr
I will say one thing to the Americans with no offence meant at all.
If the sh*t hit the fan in America,say attacked by China/aliens/whatever there are not many countrys who would stick by you in this world.Canada would (Britain too*)the rest of the world though would more than likely sit back and laugh.Not us boys though.

*If you're nice:)
Lordchristo writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 2:51:08 PM

"Dubbya, lol that dumb f*ck set you Americans back hundreds of years"

So Goat, that means one President set us back to before America even existed? Wow, I didn't even think something like that was possible. Oh, and we can make fun of other countries all we want, because we're better. So suck it.
rocketman writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 2:58:43 PM

I think he means the NEXT few hundred years.
And yes Dubya did ruin your rep in the world a hell of alot more than some of you chaps think.
i still luv ya though,now if you would just send Megan Fox via DHL over to my house i will put a good word in for ya ;)
rabid writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 3:33:42 PM

yeah, it'll be decades before we can wash off the Bushstink.
Rich k writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 3:36:54 PM

I love that movie.
Mighte Migit writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 3:37:18 PM

f*ck that dumbsh*t judge i'm still doin the happy gilmore swing
Goober3000 writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 3:53:30 PM

HAHAHAHAHA THAT'S HILARIOUS!! If I ever go to Canada first thing im going to do is get arrested for doing the "Happy Gilmore" shot hopefully i'll nail sombody in the wrist and chest like that guy did!
Alfonzo3000 writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 3:53:32 PM

Its Not Canada Its Nova Scotia
Ranger writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 4:00:21 PM

lol... exactly.

I wouldn't make any sweeping generalities of Canada in general others wouldn't want to be made of their country.

All countries have their quirky governments.
rocketman writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 4:32:00 PM

@ Rabid
As far as bush goes he Demystified the POWER of America to the rest of the world namely Russia and China with Iraq and almost used up all goodwill with its allies.
Like i say though i still luv ya,you gave us Rock n roll,Star Wars,boob jobs,porn,fast food,MOVIES,Pam Anderson in Baywatch,Electric Giuitars,king kong,High Times magazine,Worst Previews,men on moons,Modern Warefare 1,2's ok not quite as good as 1 though.HAMBURGERS and the internet.
Cheers America.
Ranger writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 5:13:53 PM

Pam Anderson on Baywatch yes... but she's still Canadian (I think that was your point though).
dhkenobi writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 5:14:35 PM

Ok, here's my defense if I was the guy who swung the club...

"He shouldn't of been standing there."

Defense rests.
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 5:21:37 PM

"Beer Tequila and marijuana" soooo true.... my home and native land.
rocketman writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 5:35:45 PM

Yup kinda like the TV and jett engine,American as apple pie.
Syman404 writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 5:39:31 PM

"Oh, and we can make fun of other countries all we want, because we're better. So suck it."

You're not better. You're a country trying to keep it's full-of-debt economy by invading other countries and destroying their economies in order to keep your economy. You're that *sshole bully in the playground who steals everyone's lunch money and inflicts fear on everyone in order to be the "top boss". The US itself, is run by criminals and the people don't even see it because they are blinded by media control and dumbed-down education.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 5:50:44 PM

Why are all you canadians getting butthurt?

I'm a canadian, I can take a roasting once in a while!
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 6:30:19 PM

"Talk about a..hole..in..one." that blows though
Peter Parker writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 8:27:53 PM

"Happy Gilmore Swing is Now Illegal in Canada"

- Here's what Sharon Stone had to say about that:

"What are you gonna do? Charge me with Happy Gilmore Swinging?"
moseshatesyou writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 9:19:02 PM

They should make any new Adam Sandler movies illegal in Canada and the rest of the world would follow.
Charlie9 writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 9:44:46 PM

Blame Canada!
hunter207 writes:
on November 26th, 2009 at 1:06:17 AM

@ Syman: Some Americans do see

Think about that
Blade12322 writes:
on November 26th, 2009 at 8:42:57 PM

shut the hell up you retards
do you know what you're talking about?
Canada's justice system is way better than America's
im not saying its perfect but its UNDOUBTABLY better

so you think this is a stupid law? listen up Mink and friends, why dont you go search your own countries stupid laws before you talk sh*t

http://www.dumblaws.com/laws/united-states/new-jersey

theres an example
idiots
minkowski writes:
on November 27th, 2009 at 2:49:43 AM

"You're not better. You're a country trying to keep it's full-of-debt economy by invading other countries and destroying their economies in order to keep your economy. You're that *sshole bully in the playground who steals everyone's lunch money and inflicts fear on everyone in order to be the "top boss". The US itself, is run by criminals and the people don't even see it because they are blinded by media control and dumbed-down education."

Buwhahahaha! What abunch of idiotic, recycled leftist bullsh*t. Come back on here with that garbage and I'll bitchslap you so hard you'll think you're your mama.
barley_cat writes:
on November 27th, 2009 at 12:43:04 PM

jesus, this made me giggle
bkg4991 writes:
on November 29th, 2009 at 4:06:15 AM

defendant- "what the f*ck aye?"
judge- "you watch your ass i eat pieces of sh*t like u for breakfast"
defendant- " you eat pieces of sh*t?"
judge- " .....NO!"

...goddamn i love that movie.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved