WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Stephen King is Writing a Sequel to "The Shining"

Posted: November 25th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Stephen King is Writing a Sequel to "The Shining"Submit Comment
Last Thursday, Stephen King was promoting his new "Under the Dome" novel at Toronto's Canon Theatre and also talked about his next book, which he said he has been working on since last summer. The new book will be called "Doctor Sleep" and that it will be a sequel to one of his most popular novels, "The Shining."

The reason for the follow-up is because the author believes that the first novel never explained what happened to young Danny and his psychic powers. And even though King ended his 1977 book on a positive note, he believes that the events that took place at the Overlook Hotel must have left Danny with lots of emotional scars.

The Torontoist was at the event and described what the author has in mind for the follow-up:

"Danny is now 40 years old and living in upstate New York, where he works as the equivalent of an orderly at a hospice for the terminally ill. Danny's real job is to visit with patients who are just about to pass on to the other side, and to help them make that journey with the aid of his mysterious powers. Danny also has a sideline in betting on the horses, a trick he learned from his buddy Dick Hallorann."

Source: Torontoist


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 5:21:03 AM

Go away King, The last good book you ever wrote, will EVER write, is From A Buick Eight. So, please, stop with the billsh*t. After the Sunset, Duma Key and Under the Dome, to name but a few, sucked.

And you know, just know, that of King is getting Sequelitist, it means he is finally, totally, on empty.

And don't ge wrong, I was a huge fan of his. Was. Blaze and IT are two of my favorite non-fiction books. But he lost somewhere with his Bachman abortions and those last four Dark Tower disasters.
minkowski writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 5:46:36 AM

billsh*t? It's bullsh*t, dumbass.
minkowski writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 5:46:48 AM

Ok, thanks. Sorry.
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 6:23:22 AM

"I was a huge fan of his. Was. Blaze and IT are two of my favorite non-fiction books."

Huh? Stephan King never wrote any non-fiction books...
minkowski writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 6:32:23 AM

I meant fiction, not non-fiction. Give me credit, its f*cking early as hell and I haven't had my jack and coffee expresso.

And he did write non-fiction. On Writing is one and these are the others:

http://www.stephenking.com/library/nonfiction/
guitar_dudester91 writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 7:43:14 AM

Here comes Hollywood with the Sequel adaptation!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 7:54:22 AM

Uh-oh, This immediatly reminded me of Millers "300,000" book
LastActionHero writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 9:04:37 AM

His books have spawned some of the worst movies of all time.
lawman writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 9:44:09 AM

Mink, I cant argue with you since I havent read any of his new sh*t. I am a huge fan though. After what you say, maybe i SHOULDNT read any of his new sh*t, I might no longer be a fan. I loved Dolans Cadillac!
makingcircles writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 10:29:33 AM

My biggest issue with King's books is there aren't enough pictures.
NatG83 writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 10:49:36 AM

Hmm...should we be happy that they are not rebooting or remaking (again) The Shining?

Yeah, this sounds bad for King. Is he really that tapped for ideas? Well...yeah, probably. The Shining isn't the same without Jack.
ksplatt writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 12:28:32 PM

smells worse than lohan's vag. sh*t, brb, just puked on the carpet.
atn5022 writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 12:38:39 PM

@last action hero

they have also made some of the best movies. shawshank, misery, the green mile, the shining
DoucheNozzle writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 1:07:24 PM

Yeah, I think The Mist turned out to be a good movie. I get why some don't like it, but I felt it was a clever throwback to old-school horror movies, which is even more effective in the black-and-white version.
WLDBLL writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 1:42:13 PM

movie movie movie movie movie movie movie movie movie moviemovie movie movie movie moviemovie movie movie movie moviemovie movie movie movie moviemovie movie movie movie moviemovie movie movie movie moviemovie movie movie movie moviemovie movie movie movie moviemovie movie movie movie moviemovie movie movie movie movie
rabid writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 2:46:58 PM

Awesome. I always wanted to hear more about Danny since he was the main character of The Shining. The 90's remake of The Shining ended with the realization that Tony had been Danny all along sending back psychic warnings from the future.
Daniel Anthony Torrance.
Rich k writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 3:24:07 PM

comon you guys, this could accually be good, it at least sounds kinda good.
Goober3000 writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 3:41:19 PM

The shining one of my all time favs...interesting idea to see what became of the little sh*t...although I am going to miss Jack and Loyd
c-prime writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 4:12:00 PM

Damn, I'm offline for 24 hours and minkowski makes his gallant return to this site to grace us with his hilarious and toxic commentary. f*cking awesome, man. It's about damn time. You guys f*cking tore up that "Twilight" thread. Just wish I could've been here to watch that sh*t go down live.

Anyway, I was at the airport yesterday and saw a copy of King's latest novel at the book shop: "Under the Dome". I might've bought it, but it was so damn heavy and overblown AA said they'd have to charge me $50 for an extra carry-on.
Aaron writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 4:54:07 PM

I liked Lisey's Story.. but I'm not a huge fan.

@makingcircles - Marvel is doing a comic run of the dark tower - some of the most gorgeous art I've seen in a graphic novel.. Every page is like a cover piece.
tomeenucknfutz writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 5:01:35 PM

@Aaron - no doubt on the DT graphic novels. nice
rwhyan writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 5:50:45 PM

Under the Dome is amazing.
BobMcBob writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 6:24:15 PM

sounds awful
Peter Parker writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 8:17:46 PM

"The new book will be called 'Doctor Sleep'"

That's so funny, I call my baseball bat the exact same thing!

Regardless, 'Doctor Sleep' isn't the best title for a book. Kinda screams out 'boring'.

Then again, if the point is to read myself to sleep, in the words of the great Zohan... "This could be good".
moseshatesyou writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 9:08:39 PM

Why make sequels when you can just remake it....
rabid writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 10:48:50 PM

Has he been readin Warren Ellis' Doktor Sleepless?
minkowski writes:
on November 27th, 2009 at 2:24:49 AM

"AA said they'd have to charge me $50 for an extra carry-on."

I'm surprised you didn't get arrested for trying to bring on-board a bomb.
that_guy writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 9:54:26 PM

In my opinion - Under the dome is a great character driven read and flies by quite quick, sure it's cheesy, mostly unrealistic, that's fiction.
I'm a pretty big King Fan, though The Shining is spectacular on it's own and works purely because King was a drunk in that era. Doctor Sleep begs the question: what's the point of continuing the story as it sounds more like a slow drama than the rip roaring horror The Shining.

This mink fella sounds like a bit of a fool but hey....

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved