WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Fox Says "Avatar" Will Definitely Make a Profit

Posted: November 24th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Fox Says "Avatar" Will Definitely Make a ProfitSubmit Comment
Fox Filmed Entertainment chairman Jim Gianopulos spoke to Reuters about the studio's upcoming "Avatar" movie, denying reports that the film cost $500 million and that it will likely lose money.

"That's a ridiculous number," he said. "It has actually no relationship to the actual cost of the movie. People keep repeating a number, which was as if you added the cost of building the studio 80 years ago to the cost of 'Avatar'."

Gianopulos said that the actual budget is much smaller than reported, but he declined to give a specific number. "The movie was quite expensive, there is no question about that," he continued. "But viewed now, from the perspective of its completion and having seen it, it's a formidable work and money well spent."

When asked if the movie would make a profit, the chairman said: "I have no doubt about that." He pointed to the number of theaters "Avatar" will appear in as his main point that the film will be a success.

According to Gianopulos, "Avatar" will play on over 8,000 3D screens worldwide and more than double that number in 2D. Movie goers generally pay a significant premium for tickets to 3-D pictures.

Click here to read our exclusive "Avatar" preview.

Source:


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 44 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 7:31:50 AM

at 400 millio plus....ya...your gonna make a profit no matter what, jimmy cameron is known for these kina moves. people saying its gonna suck...hell they said the same thing about The Abyss..and the guys from South Park f*ckin love that movie
Derp88 writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 7:35:29 AM

This movie will make a zillion dollars
nope.com writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 7:59:35 AM

lol whatever makes you sleep better at night Fox
Agent Calavera writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 8:06:39 AM

Easily done... IMAX costs me like 8?

and ive just found out the massive Odeon near me aint got 3D!!!!!!
warlord writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 8:07:41 AM

yea it will but not enuff to pay off the 500 million back
AP102390 writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 8:07:50 AM

definitely... not.
VDODSON writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 8:11:58 AM

Its the exact same technology that was used in the live action Garbage Pail kids movie. This is nothing new, I hope it bombs. He should of cast smoking hot Kat Dennings
TRUEMAN writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 8:13:11 AM

not a chance the must digital delete SAm W. from the movie for that result come out!
Derp88 writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 8:27:47 AM

Sam Worthington will grab Trueman by the throat and make his bitch ass watch the whole movie,after its finished he will make Trueman bow down before him and give him a flying snap kick to the neck.
TRUEMAN writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 8:30:34 AM

@erp88

hahaha in your dream f*cker! is he try to do that he will break a nail and cry like a sissy girl like he is, SAM W. LOVERBOY!
Derp88 writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 8:51:18 AM

Sam Worthington is already cast in every single movie for the next 50 years,he is going to infect the world with Aids.
stevethemoviehater writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 9:10:18 AM

i hope this does well so we get a titanic 2 hopefully some day
Dre-EL writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 9:13:06 AM

I remember people saying the same thing about waterworld, but of course that wasnt a Cameron flic.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 9:18:50 AM

The effects look like garbage so far, the story doesn't seem to be very good and the trailer is just a jumbled mess. No way I'm seeing this until it's on TV.
MovieFanAttic writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 9:26:23 AM

The Cake's A Lie!
lost_addict writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 9:36:28 AM

in the words of dr.evil:"rrrriiiiight"
Eben1277 writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 9:42:25 AM

get real, worldwide income this movie makes back it's cost without breaking a sweat, and most likely turns a decent profit. Everyone said Titanic would tank, yet it made a billion in worldwide ticketsales and went on to win best picture and best director, in spit of the fact that, at best, it's a mediocre (albeit visually stunning) movie. The majority of moviegoers aren't "smarts" that sit around debating the stupidity of the movie industry and talking all kinds of sh*t on WP, they are "marks" that buy the product they are sold.
tcu21 writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 10:09:18 AM

How do you say liar in Smurf language? haha
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 10:35:51 AM

HE f*cking smurfed to us.
triggax writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 10:45:53 AM

Trueman... You're f*cking hilarious...

Where the hell are you from?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 11:05:23 AM

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAH yea, when hell exists, then freezes over!

and Trueman is f*cking hilarious, he barely knows english
VDODSON writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 11:13:08 AM

''He barely knows english''...hilarious sir.
TRUEMAN writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 11:16:37 AM

sorry @Spooky in from Spain, and im learning english and @Derp88 of course he has Aids he is gay every one knows that
BigUnit writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 11:17:57 AM

the movie is going to make a profit, anyone who thinks diferent is just a clown.
Peter Parker writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 11:19:04 AM

@ TRUEMAN: Bienvenido, chaval!!!
TRUEMAN writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 11:20:04 AM

Joer! Me cago en SAM W.
TRUEMAN writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 11:39:02 AM

he guys look at this sh*t !!

http://www.filmschoolrejects.com/news/twilight-fans-get-a-much-needed-intervention-neilm.php
Peter Parker writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 12:07:27 PM

@ TRUEMAN:

Holly f*cking sh*t!!! That was hilarious!!

Honestly, thanks for that link. Good find!
VDODSON writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 12:12:25 PM

i like Trueman, he's a character. Wish you the best with your english lessons.
RoadDogXVIII writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 12:13:10 PM

I hope this movie does good. Just hearing "Guardians at the Gate" at the end of the trailer was instant love. But Jimmy Cameron better make "Avatar" more than just a film only known for an incredible trailer ("Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen").
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 12:51:07 PM

With that many screens playing it, it's kind of hard for it to not make a profit, even if it's not the standard 3x the budget affair. Next three weeks shall be interesting.
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 1:03:42 PM

@Eben - the Titanic really did sink.
thedudeman69 writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 1:50:04 PM

They also said Wolverine was "accidently" leaked onto the internet. I really dont believe them.
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 2:26:47 PM

@thedude - good... don't. These 'leaks' are nothing of the kind.
LegacyAR writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 2:35:16 PM

I know that I'll watch it and I can guarentee everyone on this message board will too because you wouldn't be on a movie message board if you don't watch one of the most hyped and expensive movies ever.

And I still don't know why people are ripping Sam W. for. He was in one movie and I thought that he did a great job in it. Its pretty easy to see that the guy knows what he's doing, James doesn't f*ck around when it comes to his movies.
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 2:39:30 PM

I have NO DOUBT this movie will make a profit.

As for what Legacy (above) just said... I haven't ripped into this movie (age, patient warrior... and all that bullsh*t... lol).

It's a wait and see and a must watch, no doubt. This movie... will actually get my ass into a theater.
tomeenucknfutz writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 2:39:30 PM

Shows how dumb Megan Fox is. She actually thinks she'll make a profit off of this and she isn't even in it! stupid, stupid girl.
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 2:45:21 PM

As for this article...

I'm not sure what comparing a large sum of money has to do with building a studio 80 years ago.

Get this... read between the lines on ALL these Avatar news/interview clips.

I'll just bet: this movie was actually cheap to make (seriously). What better way to hype a movie than to add: Cameron's name to it (he always comes out on top - he's clearly one of the best) - and say a movie (incl. it's new 'technology' to produce) cost half a bil! And this will get 24,000+ screens to show it.

I think this is all smoke & mirrors. I think we're being scammed (but in a good way). I don't think this 'animated' movie - avec 3D - WITH this new 'technology' was expensive at all... I think the movie will deliver entertainment. And it sure has us all talking/debating about it.

Nice work (again) Cameron. You have drawn us into your web of genius/insanity.
Peter Parker writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 2:53:40 PM

@ tomeenucknfutz:

"Megan Fox"... loooooooooool! Nice...
Kurskij writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 3:52:51 PM

Reuters: Mr. Gianopulos, do you really think Avatar will make a profit?
Gianopolosusopulos(os): Well of course, News Agency Reuters! We think it will make close to quadrizillion dollars.
R.: Is this a made up number?
G(osss).: Yes.
R.: How is it possible that Fox has made a movie that doesn't suck?
G(ssss).: I'm not sure.
R.: What's wrong with you surname? It sounds more like a name for Ron Jeremy's d*ck...
G(ssss).: I'm not sure.
R.: Thank you. BTW, Fox sucks your surname.
Aaron writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 5:03:37 PM

no 3d equipped theaters where I'm at.. patooheh.
victor arroyo writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 6:19:39 PM

@tomeenucknfutz:

hahahahahahahaha
Iron Josh writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 6:53:47 PM

Step 1. Denial
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 8:00:37 PM

Avatar WAS an expensive film to make, and NO it did not cost 500 million, that's just patently f*cking stupid. Apparently people are getting too far into the idiot-generated hype. More like 200mil +, and yes, there is no tech in Avatar, and YES, all that new tech plus all the advanced upgraded old CG tech costs lots of money, so I have no idea where some of you are coming from with your opinions.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved