WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

JJ Abrams Wanted Matt Damon in "Star Trek," But Not as James T. Kirk

Posted: November 24th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
JJ Abrams Wanted Matt Damon in "Star Trek," But Not as James T. KirkSubmit Comment
When JJ Abrams first announced that he will be directing a "Star Trek" movie, a rumor immediately appeared online that he was looking to cast Matt Damon as Captain Kirk. Damon later denied everything, saying that he has spoken to JJ Abrams about the rumor, but the director wants a much younger Kirk.

Now, two years later, Abrams tells MTV News that he actually considered Damon for "Star Trek" and even had discussion with the actor about the movie. But it wasn't for the role of Kirk, it was for Kirk's father.

"I went to Damon for the role of Kirk's father, and he declined in the most gracious and understandable and logical of reasons," said Abrams. "We lucked out with Chris Hemsworth, and he did a great job. Maybe it would have been distracting to have someone as massively famous as Matt Damon in that role."

Abrams wasn't the only one who though that Hemsworth was a good choice. Director Kenneth Branagh recently cast the actor as the lead in Marvel's "Thor" movie.

Click here to read our "Star Trek" review.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ari Gold writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 6:40:45 AM

Im thinking this might of been on here before?
Agent Calavera writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 8:02:58 AM

Im backing Matt Damon. he's come along way since Executive #2 in Chasing Amy

love him
AP102390 writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 8:11:01 AM

he's a great actor but i agree that it would've been a little too distracting. the opening sequence would've been annoying to watch in theaters because the entire theater would be going "ZOMG IT'S MATT DAMON NO WAI WTF I DIDN'T KNOW HE WAS GOING TO BE IN THIS MOVIE!!". instead, we got to pay attention to what was going on and not who was playing kirks father. Chris Hemsworth did a great job though.
Peter Parker writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 8:19:58 AM

MATT DAMUN!!!!

- f*ck, yeah!
Derp88 writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 8:52:07 AM

MATT DAMMMOOOONNNNNNNNNNN
lost_addict writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 9:35:36 AM

durka durka Muhamad jihad!!!
CCBlev writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 10:02:59 AM

ah durka durka!!
tcu21 writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 10:08:30 AM

I always thought Matt Damon was kind of Streisand but he's rockin the sh*t in this one. lol
Randal Graves writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 10:23:23 AM

@Ari Gold

I'm sure I've seen this on here before this too. I guess WP ran out of spiderman 4 rumors.
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 10:31:51 AM

Now I can't get the I'm f*cking Matt Damon song out of my head. Damn it.
Ted Mosby writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 10:32:05 AM

as famous and as big of an actor that damon is... he wasn't too distracting when he made his cameo in Euro Trip lol it was a god cameo but it didn't "distract" me to much. Love Damon.
KatManDu writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 11:17:04 AM

I'm glad they gave the part to a less known actor. too many roles are given to big name actors when a less known actor is enough.

I enjoy Matt Damon's movies alot, I agree his cameo in Eurotrip was alone amazing. Remember scotty doesnt know.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 11:26:49 AM

I thought that WAS matt damon
BigUnit writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 11:47:41 AM

im glad he didnt
FFantasy1984 writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 12:16:47 PM

I like Damon a lot, I think he's a good actor, but I'm glad that Hemsworth got the role. I think that the casting for Star Trek was perfect.
TheHundreds writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 12:42:19 PM

The older post like this said matt damon was supposed to be in the movie and they assumed as Captain Kirk. This is saying he wasnt approached to be the kid, he was approached to be the father.
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 1:12:36 PM

@FFantasy - well said.
thedudeman69 writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 1:51:45 PM

OMFG. Yes.
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 1:53:23 PM

The ONLY way I'd want to see Shatner in the next movie (and I don't really - because he's a d*ck - and Spock's appearance in the first was borderline lame-o, and coincidental within that story - so that boundary was already pushed) - would be to appear as young Kirk's grandfather. But even at that I don't see the point.

Sorry a bit off/on topic...

I'm just getting Starsky & Hutch cameo appearances... ugh!
LegacyAR writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 2:37:50 PM

I love Star Trek just he way it was, everything and everyone was perfect in it!
tomeenucknfutz writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 2:41:30 PM

Isn't Damon a member of F.A.G.? I think I remember ready that in Cosmo some time ago.
Kurskij writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 3:44:19 PM

"I went to Damon for the role of Kirk's father, and he declined in the most gracious and understandable and logical of reasons"
- WTF, JJ? Me blowing up in a space ship? During the first five minutes? Not killing anyone with me ninja skills? I'm Jason Bourne for f*cks sake!
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 8:09:14 PM

Instead they got the guy with alligator skin to play the smooth-skinned Captain Kirk. Yeah, Damon is a bit too old for sure, and too distracting, but he would've brought some class, charm, style and likability to the character.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved