WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Watch a two Minutes "Avatar" Chase Scene

Posted: November 24th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Watch a two Minutes "Avatar" Chase SceneSubmit Comment
IGN has unveiled a two minute clip from the upcoming "Avatar" film, showing Sam Worthington's character being chased by the Thanator creature. Check it out below.

Plot: An ex-Marine finds himself thrust into hostilities on an alien planet filled with exotic life forms. As an Avatar, a human mind in an alien body, he finds himself torn between two worlds, in a desperate fight for his own survival and that of the indigenous people.

"Avatar" is directed by James Cameron (Terminator, Titanic) and is scheduled to hit conventional and IMAX theaters on December 18th.

Clip:

If you cannot see the player, click here.


Click here to read our exclusive "Avatar" preview.

Source: IGN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 66 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
HannibalK1ng writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 7:14:18 AM

Im looking forward to avatar but that clip looks plain bad. Nothing impressive about it at all, im thinking being immersed in the 3D and a massive screen could help.... still hopeful though
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 7:29:59 AM

pfff..i dunno what hannibal was smokin....cuz that looked pretty good! ill be watching this movie in 3D!
shayhiri writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 7:34:18 AM

purest awesome
nope.com writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 7:59:02 AM

wow that was craptastic
Bob82 writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 8:09:41 AM

I saw this scene in the 15 minute preview on 3D, it was really great. You could almost feel little leaves were right there in front of you, the level of detail is amazing.
TRUEMAN writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 8:10:36 AM

oh my go oh my god this movie suckS! even without SAM W. screen prescience very bad animation!
Peter Parker writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 8:17:06 AM

TRUEMAN, your other avatar was so much cooler, man!
Why the change?
TRUEMAN writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 8:31:52 AM

yo think so? this was animated but the gif broke, animated looks much better
Peter Parker writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 8:58:45 AM

Yeah, man. The angry Gollum was great!
TRUEMAN writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 9:08:51 AM

ok for your considaration!
Peter Parker writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 9:11:46 AM

AHAHAH!!

Nice going!! High-five, bud!
MovieFanAttic writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 9:22:04 AM

Anyone else here the sound effects from other movies?

I heard The T-Rex Roar from Jurassic Park
I heard the Velociraptor Scratching and Huffing from Jurassic Park.
I heard the Growl/Roar from Peter Jackson's King Kong.

Listen carefully. I think it's interesting when you hear sounds from other movies in a current movie.

PS: if you don't care, don't flame.
Peter Parker writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 9:27:03 AM

I heard the same fart as in the Smurfs. Does that count?
Derp88 writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 9:28:11 AM

I heard yo mamma
Akasha writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 9:28:31 AM

Not my cup of tea.
MovieFanAttic writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 9:31:25 AM

@ Derp88: That wasn't very nice..
MovieFanAttic writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 9:32:02 AM

@Peter: I should have known that there are no serious comments on worstprerviews. lol
Eben1277 writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 9:32:40 AM

Those thundercat people look a little more polished and realistic every subsequent video that is released, I think by the time they finally finish the movie they might look photoreal. I'm sure there are layers and layers of rendering and tweaking to be done to get them right.
Eben1277 writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 9:34:06 AM

where is spooky to instantly badmouth cameron and the movie??? I thought school was out this week.
wasted talent HK5 writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 9:42:36 AM

Watched Jay Leno last night - Arnold might be coming back to movies!
Eben1277 writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 9:43:59 AM

Dat wuld be FAHNTAHSTIC!
Peter Parker writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 9:46:00 AM

@ MovieFanAttic: Sorry, bud. I just couldn't hold that one in! (hold it in, fart, get it? Oh, God, I kill myself...)

Seriously now, I liked your angle with the sound effects. Most people are so busy paying attention to the visual effects, that they forget about all the sound work that a movie requires.

BTW: I think they used the same T-Rex from Jurassic Park. I could barely recognize him, with all the prosthetics on and all, but the roar gave him away! ;)
Eben1277 writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 9:49:37 AM

It was a stunt double T-Rex, PP, they just ADR'd the roar
Peter Parker writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 10:06:49 AM

@ Eben: "ADR'd the roar" eheheheheheheh...
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 10:27:43 AM

Still not seeing the big f*ckin deal about this movie.

That was the T-Rex from JP, had to be.
Ted Mosby writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 10:37:30 AM

Even in the sh*tty quality it looked impressive for real... gotta see it pop up somewhere in HD and i'll be convinced.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 11:06:49 AM

still looks like a cartoon to me :/
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 11:08:56 AM

"where is spooky to instantly badmouth cameron and the movie??? I thought school was out this week."

Aw that sweet, you want to hear my insanely accurate opinions! ^_^

It's funny, when I comment, you avatards say I'm bitching, but when I don't comment, it's because I'm "Too scared" or have been silences by the SUPERAWESUMGONNAc*mINMYPANTS power of "Avatar".
TRUEMAN writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 11:10:46 AM

i see the clip 3 times and stil dont get why Camreran sing up Sam W. for this sh*t, by the way where da hell gone the 500 million dolars the animation looks like the one on Beowulf!
BigUnit writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 11:43:49 AM

breath taking...
BigUnit writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 11:46:00 AM

at Peterparker - haha yeah i noticed that T-rex roar lol stevey speilberg help out with this? lol
Peter Parker writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 11:55:58 AM

@ BigUnit:

Cameron was probably just trying to tease Spielberg! ehe
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 11:59:41 AM

As Bob mentioned this scene was in the IMAX preview and the 3D was incredible. Just the amount of depth and attention to detail, so astonishing.

LOL @ the animation is bad remarks, it's f*cking mo-capped.
TheHundreds writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 12:35:24 PM

Looks like its been said a lot but this scene was incredible on Avatar Day can not wait for three hours of this.
Jedimax writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 12:56:58 PM

Did anyone else feel like the sound wasn't finished on this scene yet. It sounded to me like it wasn't mixed down, and that there is still room for sound effects to be added.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 1:35:11 PM

I don't remember the sound being this bad at the preview but yeah it definitely seems unfinished here you guys were spot on about the Jurassic Park sound fx I didn't even think of it the first time around.
thedudeman69 writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 1:52:00 PM

oh fox you and your clips
thedudeman69 writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 1:54:02 PM

I bet that monster was like 'OH OM NOM NOM NOM BLUE GUY OM NOM NOM"
tomeenucknfutz writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 2:34:55 PM

will a crack pipe come with the 3D glasses?
vaodsi writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 3:17:13 PM

I LIKE!
vaodsi writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 3:20:03 PM

Darknkight....
soooo truuuuuue

Mighte Migit writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 3:32:48 PM

looks great. the visual effects are great to, also it'll look better in 3D
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 4:03:05 PM

That just looked stupid to me. Wasn't intense at all. And if he dies does it even matter? Or is it like Matrix where if your avatar dies your wheelchair bound impotent ass dies too. Regardless, unimpressed with the direction.

I'm sure it's pretty 3D, but then we're talking about a gimmicky 3D movie, which isn't that cool at its core. /snoozefest
rocketman writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 4:17:53 PM

Why spend a sh*tload of money to animate a Jungle that looks sooooo real it realy looks like a Jungle?
Why not just film it in a REAL Jungle? Laziness?
Arrogance?
Anyway still looks sh*t and about 10 years out of date.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 5:09:04 PM

Because you don't have to deal with the hassles of shooting on location, you have full control over your environment, you have limitless capabilities. You want the sun over here in the scene than you can do that, he can't go around making real jungles and tailoring them to his liking unless he does it this way.
clydefamous writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 5:09:05 PM

Not awful, def. not mind blowing. Just a big weird cat on viagara chasing another weird cat.
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 5:28:29 PM

I liked it...still not jaw dropping....but i enjoyed it.
Dre-EL writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 5:37:17 PM

That looked awsome thanks to this movie i am now hopeful to see a genuine looking live action thundercats movie.

Cant wait for this ride i'll be seeing it in 3D.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 5:53:06 PM

"Because you don't have to deal with the hassles of shooting on location, you have full control over your environment, you have limitless capabilities. You want the sun over here in the scene than you can do that, he can't go around making real jungles and tailoring them to his liking unless he does it this way."

The point of being a director is to control your environment, and if you can't even do that, you shouldn't be a director.

Is that how lazy directors like Cameron are getting nowadays? have to make user friendly technology so they don't have to imagine anything to begin with? Another point of being a director is to being your creativity, imagination, and dreams to the big screen for everyone to see. Now tell me, where is the creativity, the imagination, and the dream in this movie, when all of it is done, on location, on a tiny computer screen?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 5:57:55 PM

This auto cgi bullsh*t is just a pointless luxury, Peter Jackson, who was a first time director when working on LOTR didn't need this overpriced piece of sh*t to see his environments in "real-time", you know why? Because he was a competent Man and he and his actors could imagine where everything would show up in the final product. I don't understand why this auto rendering software is revolutionary, because Directors and Actors don't have any problem with blue screens and green screens, tracking dots and such. This was a fun experiment, but a pointless one at that, and one that will leave Fox in the hole.
victor arroyo writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 6:15:06 PM

hahaha this cost half a billion, that James Cameron is crazy.


PEACE!
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 8:01:46 PM

They keep releasing parts of this film online and there won't be any left to see in theaters. Not that that's a bad idea...
MovieFanAttic writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 8:12:14 PM

@ mink: I think the movie is like 3 hours long...
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 8:15:41 PM

3 hours long.

the Watchmen directors cut was that length, but it couldn't fit in Imax projectors because it was "too long"

f*ck I can't wait for this to fail.
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 8:37:38 PM

"@ mink: I think the movie is like 3 hours long..."

f*ck, that's bad news. I'll be long dead from boredom before my popcorn gets cold and my Coke goes flat.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 12:34:47 AM

"The point of being a director is to control your environment, and if you can't even do that, you shouldn't be a director."

Wrong, no director can control their environment and if you knew half a damn thing about filmmaking you'd know that. I'll just attest it to your inexperience. Have you not heard horror stories of crews waiting hours on end just to get the perfect kind of light, or clouds or even rain? Like no director in the history of filmmaking has been able to control the environment. They're directors not some sort of nature god, they can only control their film and what goes on on their set.

"Is that how lazy directors like Cameron are getting nowadays? have to make user friendly technology so they don't have to imagine anything to begin with? Another point of being a director is to being your creativity, imagination, and dreams to the big screen for everyone to see. Now tell me, where is the creativity, the imagination, and the dream in this movie, when all of it is done, on location, on a tiny computer screen?"

Um this is his creation... the animals, the Na'Vi, the seas and new plant life all came from his brain. It doesn't f*cking matter how you go about creating it. It came out of his brain and he used a computer to bring it to life... so what. Is that any different from using prosthetics and mechanics to bring the Alien/Aliens to life? Any different from the construction of sets to create a scene?

I mean how the f*ck is Sam Raimi supposed to fully bring Spiderman to life without showing him swinging from buildings? Well he's gonna have to have an actor swinging from a web in the middle of Manhattan. We all know that's too dangerous and costly so he got people to do it on a computer. Is he less of a director for doing that? NO. He wanted to bring his vision to life and that's what he did.

How the f*ck are the Wachowskis supposed to pull off the full vision of the Matrix without the CGI? Same thing for James back in the Terminator days. Carpenter and the Thing, and Speilberg and his crew on Jurassic Park. You have to find a way to carry out your vision and it doesn't matter how you do as long as its successful.

You're bitching about using a tool... seriously kiddo grow up. You don't like the movie you haven't seen, thats ridiculous enough, don't go around making yourself look even more foolish.

The film btw is 2 1/2 hrs long. Not much shorter than 3 hours but at least it saves the IMAX intermission.
minkowski writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 12:56:25 AM

Face it dude, some people know nothing about either CG or filmmaking. And especially none about both.
rabid writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 1:46:51 AM

Wow! That clip was amazing! I bet it will be so much more suspenseful in 3D.
vaodsi writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 3:56:14 AM

wow... spooky... wow
darkknight said it all....
but....
wow
i'm really hoping you were being sarcastic.. but i don't think you were.....
wow.
jdl107 writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 4:22:46 AM

The scene right at the beginning when the monster hit the tree and all that sh*t flies off of it, that looked so fake. Like a bad youtube video using cheap effects.

"Run, definately run!"....

Oh no.... I don't know about this movie anymore...
takai writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 4:32:30 AM

So, I don't really understand some people. The closer we're coming to the release of 'Avatar', the more we see it being a mindless action movie with a 'cool' twist. Similar to the likes of, I don't know, Transformers 2? GI Joe? All the movies you love to hate?

Hmm... I'm sure Mink won't mind bashing the film when it turns out to be what I just mentioned, but what about the rest of you? Are you going to somehow convince yourself that 'Avatar' is something that it's not? (as in, a good movie) or are you going to face the facts and sacrifice your pride?

(Or is it going to completely blow everyone's mind, make 2 billion and legitimately surpass Star Wars?)

Whatever. It's not like I'll care either way. While you are being deceived by pretty colors and cool monsters, me and Spooky will be basking in the glory that is Watchmen Ultimate Cut.
minkowski writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 5:16:24 AM

Why would I mind bashing Avatar, Takai? It's a movie, not a person or a cute fluffy rabbit. It has no feelings.

You know, I don't give a sh*t about Avatar. One way or the other. Cameron lost me entirely with Titanic, and this looks worse. My problem with Spooky bashing the film has always been his apparent lack of understanding of CG.

He hates it, based on misinformation, I just don't care, even though I appreciate it as a technical milestone. What loses me on Avatar is the insipid story, not the visuals or the cost.

And you talk like I bash films for the sake of it. Do you ever think that perhaps you guys never, ever talk about any GOOD films?? That maybe most of the stuff coming out these days is crap? Or is it my fault that I can't stomach any damned movie tossed up on the screen?
takai writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 5:43:39 AM

I'm sorry, from our previous conversations about 'Avatar' I thought that you were favoring it for more than just the technical 'milestone' you view it as. My bad.

And, yes, I do think you sometimes bash films for the sake of it, but that's not really a bad thing.

I do like some bad movies, but there are good movies that not everyone views as good. Entertainment is all the same. A lot of it is just personal taste. Then there are the complete failures.

But anyways, I can agree that there is a lot of sh*t getting thrown up on the screen, and that it's probably a lot easier (and wallet friendly) to be more critical towards what Hollywood produces.
Jedimasta writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 1:06:59 PM

This is just awesome, love the action and the effects, really looking forward to watching this in a 3D cinema!
rabid writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 3:28:10 PM

I don't see what the complaints are. None of you have even see the film, which looks to be nothing short of spectacular, but you want to bash it like whiny babies becuase you think it makes you sound witty and hip. It doesn't. It just gives you away as someone who doesnt know how to have a good time at the movies.
takai writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 4:47:13 PM

To be fair, what you said (rabid) could be considered a typical fanboy response.

I'm going to see this movie, and if it's got enough explosions, I'll probably like it. :P

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved