WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Crow" Reboot to be a Dark Superhero Film

Posted: November 23rd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Crow" Reboot to be a Dark Superhero FilmSubmit Comment
Io9 caught up with producer Ryan Kavanaugh, who revealed that the script for "The Crow" reboot is finished and that he expects to get a green light in a few months.

"'The Crow' is definitely going to happen, we're just getting all the pieces together right now," he said. "It's not officially greenlit, but it's going to happen. I think in a couple months we could have the package together for sure."

Kavanaugh added that they're in discussions with actors right now and that the new film will not be a remake of the original. It is a relaunch of the whole franchise. "We're approaching it differently," he said. "It's really a whole relaunch of the franchise, much more of a dark superhero type."

Regarding the main character, Kavanaugh said that he will be "much more present day" and "he'll have makeup, but it will be different. The best way to compare it is the first 'Batman' and 'Batman Begins.' In terms of their look and feel and character."

Source: io9


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ari Gold writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 6:56:32 PM

Oh f*ck off..
triggax writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 7:10:46 PM

Yeah okay thats really lame and gay how much producers talk up their films... But i suppose if you invest dollars in something name dropping couldn't hurt your success... But in all honesty.. Im a big fan of the original Crow film with brandon lee... I wonder who would make a good crow for this reboot?... This may sound a little off base but I always though that given a couple more years Lou Taylor Pucci could pull that sh*t off...
CyberpunkCentral writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 7:12:38 PM

The Crow Begins?
JonDrama writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 7:13:30 PM

Yea, f*ck off
ElroyJohnson77 writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 7:15:09 PM

Another reboot, that's whats up...Psych! ha seriously I hope they can do something original within this not so original framework they call "reboot". I'd have to see a trailer cause this does not get me excited.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 7:32:55 PM

Relaunch? Is that the new term that we're gonna keep hearing from all these jackoff producers for the next few years? I can't wait til they "relaunch" the "Free Willy" franchise and make it darker and more up to date and compare it to "Batman Begins".
wonderBOY writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 7:33:53 PM

the crow is not even a superhero or even a hero
moseshatesyou writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 8:15:32 PM

they should make a movie about rebooting a reboot so you reboot while you reboot........reboot
CCBlev writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 8:18:26 PM

Brandon Lee's about to come back from the grave and beat their asses for this disgrace and I think I'll help him
WV-Films writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 9:41:23 PM

Oh good, cuz the first one isn't dark at all.
dandythelion writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 10:14:35 PM

The Crow is such a mediocre film. What is with the massive fanboy d*cksucking going on about it? really? you dumbf*cks are all over The Crows d*ck just like the TWILIGHT tweens.

you're equally annoying too.
Ranger writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 10:46:21 PM

@VW - beat me to it.

@dandy - you talk a great deal about c*ck... I wonder why... pillow-biter.
Ranger writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 10:47:15 PM

@moseshatesyou - lol. I thought the same thing.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 11:03:09 PM

No. Just no.
rabid writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 11:20:10 PM

The Crow was one of the first adult comics I ever read. I spent months drawing the character in sketchbooks. I'll see any incarnation of it. There are several great Crow storylines they could bring to the screen. I think there's been five or six people become the Crow.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 11:43:51 PM

@Ari, John Drama

I agree also

@Dandythelion
The Crow is a fantastic, not the best, but good! Only reason they shoudl reboot the franchise was because there shouldn't have been a franchise, theys hould have ended it with number 1!
Peter Parker writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 12:10:04 AM

@ Dandythep*ssy:

"What is with the massive fanboy d*cksucking going on about it? really?"

It's beyond your comprehension. Only men get it.
LegacyAR writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 12:50:22 AM

I for one love the crow. I loved the first movie and even enjoyed the second. A story about loss, and the pain it brings is a classic storyline and the crow shows a very dark side of it. I agree with everyone else when they say that its dark already. I really don't know how they'll make it any darker.
LegacyAR writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 12:55:46 AM

And everyone might as well get used to every movie that had sh*tty sequals to be rebooted "just like Batman Begins" because its not going to stop. Everyone knows that X-Men, Fantastic Four, someday even Spider-Man is going to have their reboot "just like Batman Begins". Its worthless to bitch about it because its not going to stop them from copying what Christopher Nolan did with that franchise after its horrible choices with Forever and Robin.
vwkombi writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 1:52:58 AM

@ Dandy

I don't think it's a secret that everyone here with more than a double digit IQ has taken your ignorant opinions and tastes as void.

@ Rabid

Yes, i think they should adapt one of the other Crow comics, rather than rehash an already done story or make up some sh*t.

Wasn't there one where some pregnant woman got killed in a terrorist bombing and came back to avenge her unborn child?
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 1:56:45 AM

And the best part is that the director who did Sean Connery's magnum opus, is directing this darker, grittier and more realistic take on The Crow. A never-ending stream of awesomeness.
Tebeck writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 2:17:23 AM

Ive had way past enough with this reboot garbage. Ive got 3 tons of dynamite and a bag of c-4. Whos with me to dismantle the opressive establishment?
bacci40 writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 2:43:03 AM

ok....now i know that hollywood is retarded

the crow's appeal in both comics and the movie was that it worked on two levels

action/horror for the guys, tragic love story for the gals

making it a dark superhero story misses the point entirely

this movie/franchise could easily grab the twilight fans who are now to old for that sh*te

VDODSON writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 4:28:13 AM

If I saw Dandythep*ssy in person, I would punch her in the mouth. c*nt muscle.
blinkbomber writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 5:10:13 AM

again, second that.

the crow is a sacred modern tragedy. anything further the mythos is welcomed, to me at least.

i mean come on... they already hit rock bottom with wicked prayer. theres no possible way this one could be worse than that!
blinkbomber writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 5:11:59 AM

but if there is a way it could be worse, it'd prolly end up looking like...

(who wants to tackle this one?)
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 5:24:41 AM

@VDOD - LOL!
Hollywood1086 writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 7:56:22 AM

UGH every "reboot" is just trying to be batman begins...it's so ridiculous.
warlord writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 8:09:48 AM

are thare no new ideas no new storys we dont need remakes reboots or reimages just new ideas
Dre-EL writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 9:15:42 AM

I agree with the first post

f*ck Off
MovieFanAttic writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 9:30:24 AM

weren't these movies already dark enough?
KatManDu writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 10:53:23 AM

The Crow...good
Concept....Good
Remake.....BAD
Talking *ssholes...BAD
Christopher Lee dying...FRANCHIZE DEAD
MyCircusLife writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 11:01:49 AM

Christopher Lee?! Dude, wrong bloodline. He's a 500 year old faggy vampire. I think you mean Brandon Lee.
KatManDu writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 11:08:01 AM

f*ck. WHY WOULD I COMPARE SUCH A SELFRIGHTEOUS ASS HOLE TO THE GREAT AMAZING BRANDON LEE. AHHHHHHHHHH
mastitch69 writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 1:27:56 PM

I hope everyone signing on to do this goes straight to hell.
thedudeman69 writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 1:40:37 PM

jesus christ, does every f*cking character that is not a superhero have to be turned into one?
Kurskij writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 3:57:15 PM

Ahhh, Dandy, I love you, girl!
My 5$ says that you touch yourself in places with a Big Purple Dildo while writing those things!
f*ck it! 20$!
lawman writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 5:23:05 PM

I dont get the comparison to batman. So if that theory is right then this reboot will have the crow acting like a cartoony c*nt!! See, the forst Batman movies were sh*t! They were campy, gay, and for children. The new ones, aside from Bales GAYLORD growling, are dark, dangerous, and f*cking cool as were the ORIGINAL Crow movies. DO NOT DO THIS KAVANAUGH, YOU MONEY HUNGRY ASS HAT!
lawman writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 5:23:41 PM

Oh and P.S. f*ck YOU DANDYTHELION!
vagos1268 writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 3:25:07 PM

good luck if it will be imax with warner bros blesing then i'min!
darkraven28 writes:
on November 26th, 2009 at 2:19:36 PM

Eh, f*ck off. No one has matched Brandon Lee's power (yes, I said power, damn it!) in the original version. Vincent Perez came kind of close (so sue me; they're my thoughts), but not quite. And all this reboot sh*t is pissing me the f*ck off. What the hell happened to ORIGINAL scripts???

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved