WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Edgar Allan Poe's "The Raven" Movie is Like "Se7en"?

Posted: November 23rd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Edgar Allan PoeSubmit Comment
Director James McTeigue (V for Vendetta, Ninja Assassin) sat down with Sci-Fi Wire to talk about his next film, "The Raven," which is a fictional story about what would happen if a serial killer challenged poet Edgar Allan Poe to solve a series of killings inspired by his own stories.

McTeigue named some of the classic Poe tales that will inspire some of the film's gruesome murders: "The Raven," "Tell-Tale Heart," "Premature Burial," "Murders in the Rue Morgue," and "The Cask of Amontillado."

"It's sort of 'Se7en' meets a series of Poe stories. It's set in 1850s Baltimore, and it's about creating Poe's version of 1850s Baltimore, him moving through it. So it has a lot of the Poe stories interwoven into it," said McTeigue, adding that Poe's real life will be used in the film as well.

Regarding casting, the director is looking for actors to play a 40-year-old Poe, but George Clooney and Brad Pitt need not apply. "No, I don't think they'd be the right choice," McTeigue said. "Clooney and Pitt, they're good actors, but in my vision of it, they're not the people I'm thinking of."

"The Raven" should begin shooting next year. "I've already done some initial location scouting," he said. "I'm in the middle of casting, and hopefully it'll get going by about mid-March."

Source: Sci-Fi Wire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
vaodsi writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 6:48:51 PM

sounds goood
Ari Gold writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 6:59:51 PM

Steve Buscemi with a moustache and grow his hair out a little and he'll look like that pic above.
hardcorehogan87 writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 7:09:29 PM

Yeah, actually sounds like a great concept; I just hope it translates well to the screen.
ElroyJohnson77 writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 7:28:44 PM

sounds like a good concept,I'm interested btw that steve Buscemi comment cracked me up, I can see it lol.
wonderBOY writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 7:36:33 PM

@ Ari Gold buscemi can play anything look at his roles in michael bay and sandler movies he made them work. he could play the shark if they remade jaws
Ari Gold writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 7:54:32 PM

That would be a remake I would watch wonder! Or you could probably just use John Cleese, he already has a moustache. Probably cost heaps less too.
CCBlev writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 8:29:35 PM

@wonderboy,
Dont say anything about remaking Jaws with the streak hollywood is on, you'll give em too many ideas
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 8:31:49 PM

good news all around, McTeigue is a great director
AP102390 writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 9:04:51 PM

Ari Gold brings up a good idea, but idk if i'd really want to watch Steve Buscemi solve murders in 1850's baltimore. idk who could do it offhand but there's gotta be an actor who could fit the part properly. i'd much rather this movie be modern day, however it might come off as being too much like Se7en. glad they got McTeigue to do it though, V For Vendetta is a great movie and Ninja Assassin looks like a lot of fun.
TheHundreds writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 9:41:32 PM

So Poe's a detective now? And wasnt he dead by his 40s? no no no none of this adds up
TheHundreds writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 9:48:58 PM

1850's baltimore serial killer copycating poe's stories sounds awesome though
dandythelion writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 10:17:39 PM

though i'm not much looking forward to the homoerotic "ninja" film he has coming out and i didn't think the changes to V for Vendetta were necesary he's still talented. And this sounds like a rather decent film. especially if they actually use Poe as a character. Go Being John Malkovich on it. I love it when they fictionalize historical figures.
guitar_dudester91 writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 10:18:46 PM

Ya I'm not up for this. It sounds like Hollywood is ruining another good thing. If it ain't broke, don't fix it. Stupid fags and women running holllywood now.
Osiris3eagle writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 10:27:22 PM

Sounds interesting, I'm down for this
rabid writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 11:22:22 PM

Sounds great, so long as it's not a comedy like the one with Vincent Price.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 11:22:24 PM

Depending on who they get to star in this, I'd shell out a few bucks to watch this.
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 12:36:05 AM

I swear I read this same story like two weeks ago.
vaodsi writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 1:11:22 AM

i'm not sure about the director... i guess it's casue this feels like a nolan movie..... just my opinion... which is known to suck.
vaodsi writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 1:12:40 AM

other opinion? FINCHER should have made watchman... zac did a much better job than i thought he would after the boring laughfest which was 300...
but fincher would have done it crazy... like the fightclub of superhero movies....
vaodsi writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 1:13:10 AM

who will they get to star... JOHNNY DEP will be rumored fo sho
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 5:41:27 AM

"The Raven" Movie is Like "Se7en"?

So... a crazy raven is be behead the pregnant wife raven of a raven cop only to have that dismembered raven head delivered to said raven cop husband and raven cop's raven partner?!

WTF?!
rfernandez writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 11:27:26 AM

This is a good idea. To bad Poe died in 1949, but I guess the wording "what would happen" says that its a fictional story so they can extend his life an extra 10 years.
thedudeman69 writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 1:41:09 PM

ha. That sounds f*cking awesome. I would love to see that.
vaodsi writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 3:22:04 PM

you mean 1849?
haha
it's all good man
vaodsi writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 3:22:22 PM

Poe and i have the same birthday
Ranger writes:
on November 25th, 2009 at 6:15:46 AM

Different birth year though?
Zackass writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 11:01:37 AM

Johnny Depp, done

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved