WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Video: "60 Minutes" Profiles James Cameron and "Avatar"

Posted: November 23rd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Video: "60 Minutes" Profiles James Cameron and "Avatar"Submit Comment
"60 Minutes" aired a profile on director James Cameron and his "Avatar" movie on Sunday, confirming pretty much every bit of news, including that the film is approaching the $500 million price tag and that it is still unfinished. In addition, the video shows lots of footage not seen in any of the "Avatar" trailers and some insight into "Terminator" "The Abyss" and "Titanic." Check it out below.

Plot: An ex-Marine finds himself thrust into hostilities on an alien planet filled with exotic life forms. As an Avatar, a human mind in an alien body, he finds himself torn between two worlds, in a desperate fight for his own survival and that of the indigenous people.

"Avatar" is directed by James Cameron (Terminator, Titanic) and is scheduled to hit conventional and IMAX theaters on December 18th.

Video:


Click here to read our exclusive "Avatar" preview.

Source: CBS


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nope.com writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 3:09:06 AM

Great... profile for a vastly overhyped film in quite possibly ALL of cinema history
nope.com writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 3:17:34 AM

btw Texas can lick a**
vaodsi writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 3:35:00 AM

"Shut up and fly straight"

worst line EVER....
but i'm psyched for the visual aspect of the film anyhow.. even if the dialogue sucks.. it can't be worse than the star wars prequels "just being around her again is.... intoxicating"
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 4:16:30 AM

This is just getting me hyped to see it fail, and, within following weeks, we'll see news on WP about movies and studios pulling out of the 3-D fad, and hopefully that's all we'll ever hear about 3-D (until 2029 that is, I stick by my 30 years theory).

And you gotta adore cameron's ego, just because he thinks this will change the movie business forever, doesn't make it so.

Sorry Cameron, your movie looks like it's gonna blow harder than Lohan would blow for bus money.
BigUnit writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 5:39:30 AM

this film is going to make billions its obvious
TRUEMAN writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 8:17:36 AM

He has been working in this sh*t for 11 years an he is still working in finishing the movie i think he is deperate because the result of the product sucks, and real reason is Sam W. i hope he is working on digital erase that f*cker! them wil see a god movie!
SACdaddy writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 8:33:18 AM

5 marriages!?!? That's gotta be more expensive than the production costs for this film.

OJ as the terminator!?!? In a perfect world the exec that suggested this would be in a mental institution by now. But judging from all the crap that gets shoveled out of Hollywood these days he's probably somewhere running a studio and recommending Taylor Swift for the Barbarella reboot. We should be thankful that even at the beginning of his career Cameron had enough brains and balls to say no to something so utterly stupid. Guys like McG would have licked corn out of OJ's murderous ass if the studio told them to.

As for Avatar, the jury is still out. The 10 foot Thudercat is becoming more and more of a stretch for me though.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 10:16:47 AM

"this film is going to make billions its obvious"

In bizzaro world
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 10:27:38 AM

btw Nope.com is a homo with AIDS for his Texas comment
Snarebeast writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 10:53:15 AM

Can't say I agree with his theory of Avatar changing the entertainment biz forever. But I think the coming weeks are going to be quite interesting to watch. Quite interesting to watch indeed.
Bob82 writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 1:29:59 PM

This preview was kind of hard to watch, not because of Cameron or "Avatar", but because the host seemed that he was going to stop breathing and die at any second!
barley_cat writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 1:30:39 PM

"You don't ask a woman whilst she's having a baby whether or not she wants another" Haha love it!! This film looks great, totally over-hyped, i agree, and i'll deffo opt for the non-3D version. But i'm not knocking the 3D, some and i mean SOME 3D films are great, of course 3D cannot make a bad film good, but it can make a good film better!
Go Cameron, i like what i've seen so far!
BigUnit writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 1:51:42 PM

you guys watch, Avatar will make Dark Knight numbers, and more..
rabid writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 2:06:44 PM

I don't get where all the hate comes from. This film looks amazing. It's a work of art with some seriously hard labor behind it. And it's going to make some serious money.
TRUEMAN writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 2:45:42 PM

@rabid

Is not hate, we all love movies, and this movie has been making for like 10 years and now be see the results and sucks, begining with actors like SAM W. he must be deleted from the film he make the blue aliens looks like jarjarbinks, sorry man is the true!
1aco writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 3:20:22 PM

If a crappy movie like New Moon or wolf or whatever it called can make 140mil.. so there is still hope for Avatar... but if we look at how another 3d movie did like Jame carrey's A Christmas Carol in the box office so ahhhh... we have to wait and see..
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 4:18:19 PM

"you guys watch, Avatar will make Dark Knight numbers, and more.."

Nope.

"If a crappy movie like New Moon or wolf or whatever it called can make 140mil.."

Uh howabout no.

New Moon = a lot of fangirls

Dark Knight = a lot of fanboys.

Theres one universal rule you boys are forgetting: The reason why those movies made so much money is because they had fans of the books/comics/previous movies/etc. "Avatar" has none of that, only a couple hundred screaming fanboys and a toy line.

THATS. ABOUT. IT.
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 4:31:51 PM

As much as I hate to say it Spooky is right
SACdaddy writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 4:37:28 PM

@Spooky: You're forgeting one important thing. All of Cameron's films have been hugely successful. Why should this be any different? (rhetorical question, think I've heard your reasons a FEW times before)
gimple writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 5:38:43 PM

The brilliance of Avatar is that it doesn't have fanboys or fangirls. Nobody (well some, but not anything like Dark Knight or New Moon) is super pumped for this movie, yet it appeals to so many people. Most guys won't see New Moon, I'm sure most adults won't see New Moon (unless they have to take their daughters), however, Avatar on the other hand, has such a wide appeal to so many different groups of people. One screaming fangirl for New Moon in the end still pays the same amount for a movie that she isn't nearly as excited to see. Instead of making a movie that would appeal very much to one specific group of people, James Cameron made a film that sort of appeals to a wide group of people, all of which will be curious enough to pay the $11 to see the movie.
triggax writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 5:58:14 PM

"Theres one universal rule you boys are forgetting: The reason why those movies made so much money is because they had fans of the books/comics/previous movies/etc. "Avatar" has none of that, only a couple hundred screaming fanboys and a toy line.

THATS. ABOUT. IT. "

So i realize that they're kids movies but there are more original stories, without the built in fan base, listed in the 25 highest grossing all time films... and really the only films on that list that aren't orginal works of fiction are transformers, star wars (which technically is original fiction) batman and titanic...

Sooo.. based on what you're saying something like Harry Potter should be no.1 on that list? it doesnt even break the top 30... and that was the newest installment... So... Forrest Gump made like 700 million world wide... that makes no f*cking sense according to your logic.. Jurassic Park made a f*cking billion dollars and thats without adjusting for inflation...

Really fan boys or fan girls dont make the movie... Yeah dark knight made a lot of money initially on opening weekend based on the amount of fan boys.. but its real success came with repeat visits because of how good the film was... word of mouth etc...

You'll see, give New Moon two weeks once all the little girls have gotten it out of their system its not going anywhere... at all... because the word of mouth is "GAY"

So regardless of how big the built in audience is for this... how big the opening numbers are for this.. it makes no difference until the talk starts to spread on how horrible or how amazing it is... really... district 9 proved that again this summer... people talk.. movies do well.. it did better in its second weekend than its first...
Dre-EL writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 6:02:15 PM

Just as I thought, everything in this movie is animated, which means that the trailer I saw was completely awsome cause every image looked real.

I am pumped to see this move. All haters can get bent.
BigUnit writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 8:16:22 PM

avatar is going to make its money back in international sales alone, there has already been so much hype and will continue to be over hyped.. its james f*ckin cameron and they have been talking about this movie enough and for along time now, alota poeple are going to see it. That goes for all ages to, there isnt going to be just a distinct group of people going to see this film, everyone is. our parents, our grandparents, families and friends, its coming out during christmas time and also the fact that it is in 3D will shoot tickets sales way up by at least 100 mil more just right there. i dont get why you guys dont see that lol
DEADLYMIKKA writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 9:52:48 PM

consider the real world applications for the use of camerons live action to cgi streaming engine the governments will be able to sensor anything they want just by pressing a button. CHINA IS GONNA LOVE IT!!!!
SACdaddy writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 7:46:57 AM

The nice people of Japan probably all nutted in their bento boxes the minute the first trailer hit online.

ASIA LOVES CAMERON!!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved