WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Why Theater Popcorn is So Delicious

Posted: November 22nd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Why Theater Popcorn is So DeliciousSubmit Comment
We all know that theater popcorn is bad for you, but how bad is it? The Center for Science in the Public Interest has just released a report that a medium popcorn and soda combo at Regal Cinemas is equivalent of eating three McDonald's Quarter Pounders with twelve sticks of butter. That's 1,610 calories and three day's worth of saturated fat.

Regal says that its medium popcorn has 720 calories, but CSPI's lab tests found that those numbers were understated. Regal's medium had 1,200 calories and, thanks to being popped in coconut oil, 60 grams of saturated fat, the kind of fat that clogs arteries and promotes heart disease.

A "small" at Regal has 670 calories and 34 grams of saturated fat. That's about as many calories as a Pizza Hut Personal Pan Pepperoni Pizza. Except the popcorn has three times the saturated fat.

AMC, the second largest theater chain after Regal, also pops in coconut oil but has smaller serving sizes. Its large popcorn has 1,030 calories and 57 grams of saturated fat. That's like eating a pound of baby back ribs topped with a scoop of Haagen-Dazs ice cream. Except that the popcorn has an additional day's worth of saturated fat.

Third-largest chain Cinemark pops in heart-healthy canola oil, making its large 910 calories with 4 grams of saturated fat. Though popping in canola gives this chain's popcorn far less saturated fat than its competitors, it's almost as high in calories and has the most sodium about twice as much as Regal or AMC.

Source: CSPINET


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 37 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
CAPTIAN CRITICAL writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 7:15:12 PM

dam! that's why we sneak our own goodies in!
gimple writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 7:25:52 PM

Well it's so damn expensive I never buy it in the first place.
OneTime writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 8:23:58 PM

i never eat it..dont wanna end up looking like an american.
wonderBOY writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 8:31:25 PM

is this American popcorn in Australia theres no butter on the popcorn but twice the salt which taste like sh*t
murphyslaw93 writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 9:33:03 PM

Well I always get M&Ms anyway...but i sneak em in cuz M&Ms are like 4.50 and popcorns like 3 bucks more
Ranger writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 10:15:26 PM

I gather it would not be so delicious were one to use Lohan as dip.
Osiris3eagle writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 10:36:54 PM

Amen to sneaking in food. I'll be damned before I spend 4.50 on a dollar bag of M&M's.
wonderBOY writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 10:37:32 PM

this is what passes for news these days weezle wozzle
pjmbdm writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 10:40:04 PM

The AMC by my house (Orange County, CA) let's you bring in food/sodas in from the outside no problem. That's why I buy a soda at the 7-11 and spike it with booze before I walk by the pimple faced teen that takes my ticket. Comedies are so much funnier while buzzed/drunk. Seriously though, I go in with Wetzel's Pretzels, pizza, subway bag, etc. no problem. Love it.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 11:21:14 PM

dear geniuses at worstpreviews: a 'stick' of butter is 810 calories. 12 'sticks' of butter would be 9720 calories.

now, going to the CSPINET website, i see that it's 'pats' of butter, which are 36 calories, according to fatsecret.com. so, 12x36 = 432 calories for the butter. a quarter pounder is 510 calories. 3x510 = 1530. total would be 1962 calories, which is still different than the 1610 calories they're equating the popcorn to.

i guess my point is, the tards at worstpreviews need to check their english and the tards at the CSPINET need to check their math. come on, people!
Goober3000 writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 11:48:45 PM

Mr. Pib + Red Vines = Crazy delicious!
rabid writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 12:09:51 AM

I stick to theatres where you can drink and I bring my own food.
vwkombi writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 12:11:27 AM

The popcorn from the theatre i go to isn't so bad, but not worth the f*cking price it goes for.

I hear though it's heavenly for stoners.
lost_addict writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 12:39:45 AM

"Why Theater Popcorn is So Delicious"

cause Ranger is putting his special sauce there...
Osiris3eagle writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 1:39:40 AM

hey pjm probably don't mind because they are charging you 12 dollars per ticket. Everything's overpriced in SoCal. The tickets here average 5-7 dollars, and they are nice theaters.
ilovebatman writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 1:57:56 AM

Hey i work at Pizza Hut!!! Their badmouthing my employers!! But its true. We soak the pan sh*t with a lot of oil.
Ranger writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 3:01:14 AM

@lost_addict - my sauce ain't that special. I'm spilling it all over the place.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 3:59:34 AM

and guess what? I don't give a sh*t!
Ranger writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 4:29:18 AM

lol.
Ranger writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 4:29:34 AM

Now THAT's tasty popcorn!
dandythelion writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 5:29:53 AM

I don't understand why tehy don't manufactue healthy popcorn for theatres now.. it's not even expensive and it just seems like an obviously good move. it tastes no different, just kills you at a fraction of the speed.

@CAPTAIN CRITICAL--did you actually, jsut use the word "goodies" ?
Eben1277 writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 9:04:48 AM

whats wrong with some goodies now and then?
Dfresh writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 10:20:20 AM

When I was a kid my mom would sneak food and candy into the theater. And I never questioned the logic. Then, I took a job as a projectionist at a theater and learned we only recieved a small percentage money off the ticket sales. Its the money made from consessions that pays employee wages, electricity and insurance. We eventually went out of business because we just werent making enough money to keep the lights on. So now whenever I see a movie I always make sure to pick up a little something from concession.
rabid writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 12:40:28 PM

I liked it went they actually popped the popcorn. These days, the theatres get it delivered in large bags and then refill the popper machine and pretend they made it. Sometimes its pretty stale.
skooterz writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 1:16:49 PM

I can't afford that expensive crap. I just head to the Target that's like 100 feet away and get it for like ninety percent cheaper.
Ranger writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 1:32:31 PM

@dandy - did you just use the word 'jsut'?
Long Rod VonHugendong writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 4:08:28 PM

I mean Who gives a Flying .... ya know people know that the greasy butter is no good for you, its what makes the movie experience what it is ya know. If youre gonna shell out some big buck for the stuff it better taste really good haha
Ranger writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 6:16:43 PM

I say the very same thing about whores.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 11:28:53 PM

I don't eat AMC popcorn since i got violently ill off it one July4th. Landmark popcorn is better.
aphid regress writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 10:46:03 AM

This is why I work out. Not to look great, but to be able to eat junk food when I want and not turn into Michael Moore.
BaileyLock writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 1:02:31 PM

3 quarter pounders and 12 sticks of butter sounds delicious. i'm going to go get that popcorn tonight!!! i eat that stuff all the time and guess what, i excercise too. so if you are fat and it's not because of your genes chances are you are a lazy ass.
tomeenucknfutz writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 2:59:59 PM

My popcorn tub has a hole in the bottom.
Ranger writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 6:58:23 PM

Who's doesn't?
barley_cat writes:
on November 27th, 2009 at 1:18:12 PM

lol @ bailey. popcorn sucks, it's all about the nachos.
Goober3000 writes:
on November 27th, 2009 at 8:27:50 PM

If the seats are packed i'll buy some popcorn. That way about 20 minutes in I get stinky f*cking gass and when I fart people below get up and leave. Then I take there seat. Got me to the front row when 300 came out.
Goober3000 writes:
on November 27th, 2009 at 8:28:42 PM

LOL @ tomeen
Hobo Michael writes:
on November 28th, 2009 at 10:20:47 AM

I hate popcorn :/
i think it taste like crap!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved