WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"New Moon" Fails to Beat "Dark Knight" for Best Opening Weekend

Posted: November 22nd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"New Moon" Fails to Beat "Dark Knight" for Best Opening WeekendSubmit Comment
"Twilight" sequel "New Moon" grossed around $141 million this weekend, failing to break the record for best opening weekend of all time. The film bumped "Pirated of the Caribbean" ($136 million) to take third place after "The Dark Knight" ($158 million) and "Spider-Man 3" ($151 million). "New Moon" still holds the records for best midnight gross and best first day gross.

The film also performed well internationally, grabbing another $118.1 million, for a total worldwide debut of $258.8 million.

The amazing numbers helped make this the second-best weekend ever at the domestic box office in terms of overall ticket sales, trailing only the weekend that "The Dark Knight" opened.

Assisting the weekend's performance was Sandra Bullock's "The Blind Side," which did far better than expected by opening to an estimated $34.5 million. Even the badly-reviewed "Planet 51" debuted to $12.6 million.

In limited release, Nicolas Cage's "Bad Lieutenant: Port of Call New Orleans" grossed only $257,267 from 27 theaters, for a mediocre per-screen average of $9,528. Meanwhile, Penelope Cruz's "Broken Embraces" opened in two locations for a per-screen average of $53,799, earning a total of $107,597.

Click here to read our "New Moon" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 36 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cleveland Shaquisition writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 7:16:49 PM

Couldn't beat the Dark Knight? Well, times are tough. Parents just can't dish out money to their 12 year old daughters like they used to. Damn this recession.
Ranger writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 7:23:59 PM

The only way Twilight could beat TDK would be to infect it with AIDS.
gimple writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 7:24:48 PM

"Pirated of the Caribbean" ?
Ranger writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 7:32:00 PM


dandythelion writes - (re: Twilight's opening weekend $'s 'destroying' TDK's opening weekend ticket sales):

"no surprise.

yes please..go kill youselves over this Dark Knight fans.. please do me a favor."


Wrong... yet again dandy. So suck on it!

Gates writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 7:43:04 PM

"In limited release, Nicolas Cage's "Bad Lieutenant: Port of Call New Orleans" grossed only $257,267 from 27 theaters"

This should have been rephrased in this article as. "Cage has moved into an apartment with Carl Weathers and Wesely Snipes this weekend."
CCBlev writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 8:13:33 PM

@gates,
Dont forget Van Damme now has a roomate :)
vaodsi writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 8:13:56 PM

it's not the recession... it's just that their are only so many junior high girls in the world. no herterosexual male is going to see this... unless their girlfriend threatened to castrate them if they did not see it with them... even then.....
a. Dump the girlfriend
b. Get castrated
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 8:22:34 PM

it's only gonna hold the record until Avatar comes out anyway
vaodsi writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 8:26:37 PM

naw.. as much as i think avatar is actually gonna be cool and worth seeing.. it is not going to be the next dark knight or titanic.... but i hope i'm wrong
fuller45 writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 8:31:31 PM

You're a fag if you saw this movie.

/closecase
nope.com writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 8:35:39 PM

Not surprising as all the fat tweens and unattractive cat owning whores went on Friday.. which is why all the good looking people stayed indoors for once
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 8:47:11 PM

My Mom, GF, and Sister are dragging me to this thursday.....god help me.
LegacyAR writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 8:49:53 PM

It start to die down pretty soon. Everyone that wanted to see that has seen it by now.
holtlt writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 9:11:11 PM

guess the first day half of the nation went to see it and realized its a piece of garbage and tried to convince the rest not to see it
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 9:34:42 PM

"Not surprising as all the fat tweens and unattractive cat owning whores went on Friday.. which is why all the good looking people stayed indoors for once" -nope.com

LMFAO!!!! Oh man that is too true.
AshTrey writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 9:52:49 PM

THANK GOD! NOW THIS VAMP sh*t COULD HOPEFULLY END SOON
WV-Films writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 9:55:35 PM

sigh.........thank god. That would have been scary.
TeemSelami writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 10:10:50 PM

batman vs vampires faggots and p*ssy fight scenes lose to the caped crusader
mustardayonnaise writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 11:25:04 PM

"New Moon Fails to Beat Dark Knight for Best Opening Weekend". <<< headline could just as well read "New Moon Fails to be a Good Movie unlike Dark Knight"
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 11:28:52 PM

Good......serves them right for having sparkling vampires that also moonlight as emos!!

@Ranger

We did it!
synthetic1985 writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 12:25:53 AM

there's still a third film coming...and it probably won't even stop there...but i guess that's just how it goes in hollywood
Horsemoney5 writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 12:34:09 AM

Thank God!
lost_addict writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 12:38:31 AM

what would jigsaw do to the 'twilight' characters?
Hunter9794 writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 2:02:37 AM

Because The Dark Knight was obviously aimed at all demographics, not just nerdy teenage boys. Leave it to the fanboys to hop on the "Twilight haters" bandwagon. You officially are rebelious teenage girls. Congrats.
Ranger writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 2:59:02 AM

Thx. And your Mother is a whore.
takai writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 3:32:50 AM

Give whatever reasons you want, but a garbage film like Spider Man 3 was only 7 mil. away from your holy grail. Never forget that.
Sonic writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 6:39:41 AM

TDK Rules!!!
Peter Parker writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 8:33:22 AM

So, first Oprah announces the end of the show and now New Moon falls short of another record.
What a tough end of week this was for dandythelion, uh?
Dre-EL writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 9:36:48 AM

"Twilight" sequel "New Moon" grossed around $141 million this weekend, failing to break the record for best opening weekend of all time.

I shouldnt be so surprised, I hoped it would get that far but it came way too close to TDK.
As a result I have now lost a bet with my GF thus now I have to take her to see this flic.
AzSol writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 10:35:45 AM

I'm so glad not to be a twi-tard, being at the theater with all those emo kids would suck hard.
Ranger writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 6:01:36 PM

I gather some of those emo twi-tards do suck pretty hard.
nwfluigi619 writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 7:47:00 PM

No way this crap of a movie could beat TDK.
TDK = Best Movie Ever
barley_cat writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 9:07:31 AM

You know, i'm probably setting myself up for a flow of hate here, but i'm going to say that i loved the film. Of course i only liked it because i have read all the books, and compared to Twilight, i feel this is the best book-film adaptation i have ever seen, the acting, the sets, even the emotions were just as they were portayed in the book.

However, as a film on its own, it did suck as a sequel to the pile of crap that ws Twilight. If i hadn't have read the books, 1 i wouldn't have watched it, and 2, i wouldn't have follwed the storyline! There are a lot of important parts missed out thinking back, and when i watched it i think the only reason i did not realise this was because i knew them anyway.

What is it everyone doesn't like? The storyline? Or the film itself, because i strongly feel that the film, the techniques and the acting was extremely well done!
Peter Parker writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 12:51:20 PM

@ barley_cat:

The hate here isn't unjustified. For some reasons, fell free to check out the link bellow. Good article. Should be enough to give you a different perspective.

http://otahyoni.livejournal.com/130432.html


Cheers.
Peter Parker writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 12:51:51 PM

* "feel free..."
barley_cat writes:
on November 27th, 2009 at 8:30:25 AM

Ok Peter Parker, Fair play, Thats a good review, So are we agreeing on the fact that it's not the film thats bad, but the book it was reffering to?

I'm not a extreme twilight fan btw, i just found it an enjoying read.. i understand why some people don't like it though.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved