WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"New Moon" Destroys "Dark Knight's" Best Opening Day Record

Posted: November 21st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"New Moon" Destroys "Dark KnightSubmit Comment
"Twilight" sequel "New Moon" grossed almost $73 million during its opening-day at the box office on Friday, easily beating "The Dark Knight," which was the previous record holder with a bit over $67 million. This news comes after "New Moon" set a record for midnight performances.

Initial forecasts put the likely first-weekend total for "New Moon" at around $85 million, but now it is expected for the film to soar way past that with ease. "Dark Knight" currently holds the record for biggest opening ever with $158.4 million. Come back tomorrow to see if "New Moon" beat those numbers.

The original "Twilight" released a year ago this weekend collected $36 million in its first day of release and $69.6 million in its first weekend.

Click here to read our "New Moon" review.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 56 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ted Mosby writes:
on November 21st, 2009 at 7:06:38 PM

Good...GOD... -_-
c-prime writes:
on November 21st, 2009 at 7:08:21 PM

Alas, never underestimate the power of the p*ssy.
Adamtheflash writes:
on November 21st, 2009 at 7:19:21 PM

you've got to be kidding me
defiant1 writes:
on November 21st, 2009 at 7:23:31 PM

i'm gonna save my money and go see the rifftrax showing next month. the teenyboppers can keep this vampire crap.
Kid_A writes:
on November 21st, 2009 at 7:26:00 PM

...However, "New Moon" cannot pass nearby "The Dark Knight"; one is a masterpiece, the other is teen slasher.
Mighte Migit writes:
on November 21st, 2009 at 7:27:41 PM

wtf
nope.com writes:
on November 21st, 2009 at 7:39:57 PM

thank the tweens and their parents for escorting them to this "movie"
Osiris3eagle writes:
on November 21st, 2009 at 7:41:37 PM

This only means we'll have to endure even more of this bullsh*t in the future...God help us all.
SeWerin writes:
on November 21st, 2009 at 8:06:17 PM

This is the second sign of 2012
marighand writes:
on November 21st, 2009 at 8:08:58 PM

sad
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 21st, 2009 at 8:09:24 PM

Stll no surprise, that was the most amount of teenage girls I have see in on place since high school, or was that rangers house
scarface85 writes:
on November 21st, 2009 at 8:17:28 PM

@c-prime
i agree with you.
theoey writes:
on November 21st, 2009 at 8:19:01 PM

The world is over as we know it.
wonderBOY writes:
on November 21st, 2009 at 8:19:44 PM

who is watching ths everyone on the internet and people I know have never watched twilight and hate it
wonderBOY writes:
on November 21st, 2009 at 8:20:26 PM

the Mayans were right they just got the date wrong
vaodsi writes:
on November 21st, 2009 at 9:06:18 PM

well it doesn't have any legs casue it sucks (no i have not seen it.. i refuse to give this money.... but i know it sucks casue look at the gay posters and screaming twelve year old girl reactions? not to mention it's tomatoemeter.)
well when (if) batman three comes out, it will kill this
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 21st, 2009 at 9:36:03 PM

Let me save you the trouble of seeing it:

Gay vampire breaks up with little boy looking girlfriend.

girl gets depress and does stupid sh*t

falls for gay looking indian kid (not the ones with dots on their forehead)

indian kid turns in to wolf and has gay wolf sex(j/k)

girl finds out gay vampire is trying to commit suicide (can't blame him)

she goes to italy to save him from other gay vampires

they come back to america and he proposes to the wolf

the end
c-prime writes:
on November 21st, 2009 at 9:38:54 PM

Thanks, scarface85. There's an unofficial addendum to my quote that, I feel, needs to be related. I wish I made it up myself, but the honor belongs to Kris Kristofferson. It's a line he said in a deleted scene from "Blade II", I think.

"Never underestimate the power of the p*ssy. A hair off that thing could send a freight train up an 8-mile grave."

Truer words have never been said. God bless Mr. Kristofferson. And f*ck "Twilight".
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 21st, 2009 at 9:42:56 PM

Well, I'm going on a rampage at my local bookstore!
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on November 21st, 2009 at 10:28:53 PM

Hey Jeff: It was definantly Ranger's house.
Peter Parker writes:
on November 21st, 2009 at 10:53:14 PM

"Police on Long Island had to shut down a mall appearance by teen pop singer Justin Bieber (15 years old) after thousands of young girls showed up, and got a little too wild.
...
People started screaming, 'Justin!' And they ran forward and the ropes collapsed," said 13-year-old Aimee Macchi. She said she was knocked to the floor in the rush. 'Everyone was pushing. There was no room to breathe.'"

- Yahoo News
-----------------------------------------------
"'New Moon' Destroys 'Dark Knight's' Best Opening Day Record"

- WorstPreviews
-----------------------------------------------

Well, there you go, folks. The signs are unequivocal. The end is near, and we now know it's coming in the shape of deranged impressionable little girls.
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 21st, 2009 at 11:05:28 PM

I thought it was ranger's.

This just in: the world will soon be ruled by young impressionable girls, bringing upong the end of days once their monthly visitor comes!
dddarne writes:
on November 21st, 2009 at 11:40:31 PM

I think this news makes me want to go hang myself
takai writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 12:23:01 AM

Now you know how Star Wars fans felt when TDK "beat" them.

Like I've said before, ten years from now a Pixar film will beat TDK. Not because it'll be a better film, but it'll have better fans.

It's ok though. At least Star Wars fans have the actual ticket sales to fall back on. TDK fanatics have no fail safe.
BigUnit writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 12:31:26 AM

i didnt see that coming. bhahaha..... GAY!
FFantasy1984 writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 12:42:45 AM

Is anyone really surprised, give it another year or two and some other fad will come along and break this record. It's the way it goes.
Vlahka writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 1:34:34 AM

So this is the film that finally beats Titanic.
-apocolyptic- writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 2:27:19 AM

Pretty much proves that the majority of people are stupid. The trailers sucked the book sucked the first movie sucked. I don;t mean in any critical sense. I mean in a laymans terms sense. But yet here we are seeing a crap movie do good.
BrandoFresh writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 2:30:48 AM

Dark Knight fanboys are crying right now. I'm going to see New Moon in the next few days. It sounds cool to me.
Shakazooloofoo writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 2:39:03 AM

Is "Destroy" really the right word for a 6 million dollar difference?
Ranger writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 3:39:33 AM

Ummm yeah... this is only 'beating' TDK by $6mil.

It's not who leads the race... it's about who crosses the finish line.

Even a HUGE fan of Superhero movies... I'd wait for a couple/few weeks before going to see a film I wanted to see (like TDK) in theaters... so my $'s are never counted on opening weekend.

Are these figures surprising? Not at all.

But let's see who FINISHES this race.



PS: was gone most of the day smelling theater seats after the teens (sometimes even after they left the showing).
TeemSelami writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 4:48:45 AM

i had a pretty great glory hole in the ladies restroom of my local theatre
Ranger writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 4:59:42 AM

You Teem... are my new Hero!!!
dandythelion writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 5:22:16 AM

no surprise.

yes please..go kill youselves over this Dark Knight fans.. please do me a favor.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 6:05:42 AM

Well, it's not surprising, but utterly annoying. This will not, however, beat TDK total box-office.

@ Takai: Star Wars sucked, and deserved to be replaced by TDK. When, and more important if, a third Batman gets done, by Nolan, the throne will be re-taken.
Supersweetguy writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 7:09:17 AM

So What? New Moon was not bad, not good either. It's still a mediocre film. Even if what you said about New Moon was true, there is still no way this film is still that good.
Sonic writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 7:33:13 AM

Jesus Christ almighty!!!!!!!!!

There is no GOD:-0
Kill-the-director writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 9:47:30 AM

this is a sad day. i would rather have a lost boys 3 than this pile of sh*te
lost_addict writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 9:53:44 AM

half of this planet is women...they like movies like 'titanic' and 'gay vampire is hot aka twilight'
TheStig writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 10:28:56 AM

@takai-THANK YOU!

if someone with half a brain could figure out to adjust for inflation then none of these new fad type movies are even going to be talked about...


by the time Iron Man 2 comes out this summer and then all the other new superhero flicks (Spidey 4, TDK 3, etc) this number will continue to be beat because tickets will be at 15 bucks a pop...so calm the f*ck down. The world is not ending it is simply getting more expensive.



Oh and btw. Dark Knight was an extremely average film with with the cover of greatness due to one brilliant performance...
ian_918 writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 10:46:23 AM

I rather shove a hot lead dildo up my ass then see this. I HATE TWILIGHT.
fraazjo writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 12:04:10 PM

... dammit
Snarebeast writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 12:23:09 PM

You know, it's not that I'm disappointed that one of TDK's records have fallen. I'm a big boy, I can handle it, and it doesn't affect how I view the quality of it.

But did it have to be this movie? I mean, really?!
synthetic1985 writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 12:36:37 PM

hey i'm a dark knight fan....at least the dark knight HAD a reason to be watched, mainly because of heath...and at least the dark knight had other crowds besides pulling in teenage girls to make their numbers...why else was the dark knight better to watch?...because it was something for everyone...unlike twilight...and don't think i'm using the dark knight as the only reference...plenty of other movies, too many to list, are more deserving than twilight as well, interview with a vampire is a great example, the lost boys is another...twilight was overly hyped...and they knew what they were doing to lure in their core audience...just watch, the numbers will be even scarier for some when it's on dvd...the scarier part is there's still a third one coming...anyway i'm done ranting on this one
crimsonshaft writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 1:42:55 PM

New Moon had $73 million and Dark Knight had $67, I wouldn't say that is destroyed. Factor in higher yet ticket prices plus New Moon also made $8 million more in its midnight shows than dark knight. It will drop off fast. Say what you want about comic book fanboys but they can't hold a candle to screaming tweens. I mean Hanson. c'mon.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 3:47:14 PM

"no surprise.

yes please..go kill youselves over this Dark Knight fans.. please do me a favor."

Further proof of Dandy being the most feminine man of all time
Kurskij writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 3:49:50 PM

Dandy, you sound like you used Teem's glory hole! Or more like Teem used you using the glory hole.
BTW, what's with the photo? Aren't you supposed to be a man?
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 3:58:09 PM

Thats right PP, because litter boys are never deranged.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 4:21:58 PM

Ranger writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 3:39:33 AM
-------------------------------

Careful Ranger. You might get a knock on the door from Chris Hanson.
Peter Parker writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 5:07:01 PM

@ Kurskij: Dandy says he's a man. He's even said he has a girlfriend. However, he refuses to have sex with her, unless she's using a 30 inch strap-on and a Robert Pattinson mask.
His girlfriend f*cks the next door neighbor when she's in the mood for some sex with a man.

... Dandy does the same thing.


@ HorrorJunky4Life: Little boys shall save us all, by using slingshots and baseball bats to kick the living crap out of "Twilight" fans and preventing complete world domination by pussies.
TeemSelami writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 6:07:12 PM

@ Ranger you inspire me to be more creative in my sexual deviance
Ranger writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 7:21:50 PM

That is possibly the nicest thing anyone has ever said to me.
Ranger writes:
on November 22nd, 2009 at 7:22:35 PM

@Dandy - You seem sad.

Do you have sand in your vagina?
aether writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 1:21:03 PM

this franchise needs to be put to sleep like the sick diseased animal it is
Ranger writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 6:17:31 PM

Hey... leave Lohan out of this!
bacci40 writes:
on November 24th, 2009 at 2:52:41 AM

ok, first the twighlite bitches and their moms destroy the first day of comic con...then they kill batman...whats next?

im not worried about global warming, for i see no future for the human race

none of these girls should be allowed to procreate

i still think its funny that none of them, nor their parents have any prob with a teen girl getting banged by a 90 year old vampire...no matter that he looks like a teen

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved