WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Judd Apatow on "Superbad," "Pineapple Express" and "Funny People" Sequels

Posted: November 20th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Judd Apatow on "Superbad," "Pineapple Express" and "Funny People" SequelsSubmit Comment
Director Judd Apatow appeared on the Funny or Die Writer's room to answer some questions from fans and talk about many topics, including sequels to "Superbad," "Pineapple Express," "Anchorman" and a "Funny People" spin-off.

"I can't get them to make a 'Superbad' sequel," said Apatow. "I begged, but they don't want to ruin it. They think its a gem of a movie, and they don't want a crappy second one. There is a little talk about the 'Pineapple Express' sequel. You probably have a better shot of seeing that."

Regarding "Anchorman," he said: "I do not know the status of 'Anchorman 2.' I'm ready. I'm ready to put on my producer hat."

Finally, Apatow answered a question regarding a Randy movie, which would be a spin-off to this year's "Funny People." "I think you should Twitter Aziz Ansari and tell him that you want that movie," he replied. "Aziz may be concerned that more people think he is Randi than Aziz. That may be his hesitation. I'm all for it and I will try to make that happen."

Source: ustream


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
OwenWilsonsNose writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 6:11:04 AM

Comedy sequels usually blow, but I wouldn't mind seeing a "Randi" spinoff.
c-prime writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 9:29:42 AM

They talked the "Randy" character up to death leading up to the release of "Funny People" and the f*cker wasn't even remotely funny. Just a ham-handed parody of Dane Cook and every other physical "comedian" that's too mired in the choreography of their hand gestures and movements to actually tell decent jokes. He was one of the most agitating things about the film...well, that and the last 40 or so minutes. I almost wondered for a second if the cast and crew were being ironic, but in light of all these spinoff talks, that's clearly not the case. I vote a hard, resounding "no" to this entire idea. The damn thing has absolutely ZERO potential.

As for "Anchorman" and "Pineapple Express", sure, go and make sequels to those. Why the hell not, I guess.
victor arroyo writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 10:14:13 AM

Hell to the yes, Judd Apatow is the f*cking man.

But as much I'll like to see all this sequels I think is not a good idea, it's better if they work on 3 new original movies.


PEACE!
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 10:22:38 AM

I would rather see a superbad sequel than a f*cking pineapple express sequel
atn5022 writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 10:33:07 AM

@c-prime

that was the point of the randy character, and thats why he was funny, cuz they were blatantly making fun of dane cook
Bold Wrecks writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 10:35:21 AM

The only one of these possible movies that sounds like it could actually work is Anchorman 2. Superbad and Pineapple Express sequels would be mediocre at best, and Randi is too annoying to be a main character.
rabid writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 11:00:35 AM

Pineapple Express and Funny People were nigh on unwatcheable. I wouldn't mind watching a sequel to Superbad or Anchorman though.
AzSol writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 11:17:38 AM

He should just make new movies. Sequels to these would more than likely ruin the originals and suck d*ck.
Snarebeast writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 12:37:00 PM

I would watch a Pineapple Express sequel. Don't know where they'd go with it, but I thought the first one was hilarious. I'd also watch Anchorman 2.

Funny People was extremely disappointing. It was way too long and halfway through I thought I had unknowingly gotten up and walked into a completely different movie. Kudos to them for trying out something a little more dramatic, too bad it didn't work out so great.
Peter Parker writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 1:05:10 PM

Pineapple Express sounds like a sex fetish.

... then again, everything sounds like sex fetishes to me.
Ranger writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 1:26:55 PM

I got your back on that one PP (but not in the child-molesting, fence post humping, way of dandythelion).
Peter Parker writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 1:42:17 PM

Dandy's just upset he can't taste Pattinson's d*ck. He takes out his anger on a Kristen Stewart poster in his room, to which he throws arrows at. I think his juvenile crush on Pattinson is just adorable.

BTW: Throwing arrows at people, also one of my fetishes!
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 1:44:56 PM

Man i wish Funny People wouldve been as funny as i was hoping it would be...I would only see a sequel to Pinapple Express that would actually be sweet
billofill writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 1:55:40 PM

I thought word was the Pineapple Express and Superbad would meet up in a duel sequel.
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 2:56:30 PM

Funny People was one of the worst movies i have ever seen, i was so angry at that movie
Lowryder writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 3:01:16 PM

does this guy just want to ruin all the great movies that have come out in the last few years?
c-prime writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 5:29:29 PM

@ atn5022: Still, man, it was really just a excessive amount of lameass hype, even for comedy purposes. Whether Apatow was going for irony or not, the whole promotional idea backfired tremendously. They just took it way too seriously. They gave that character so much more attention than was rightfully necessary that his intentions got lost in the shuffle. I began to think he was being completely serious after a while. Plus, he was only in a few scenes to boot (though I'm not complaining about that). Frankly, I don't think many viewers came away from the film with an appreciation for the irony that Apatow possibly implanted in Randy.

And, anyway, the effect of Apatow's supposed subtleties would be lost entirely if they were to do a spinoff with his character. Making the film simply indicates that he does, in fact, find physical comedians of that nature funny (at least when they're created by him).
SACdaddy writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 6:09:58 PM

Somebody actually saw Funny People other than me? Whenever I ask people about this movie they look act me like I was talking about the lost ark of the covenant or something. f*ck sequels to stoner films other than the Lebowski!
Flav writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 6:18:33 PM

He's milking the franchise, trying to make more money in his pockets. Judd doesn't give a sh*t about the studios as long as they give him money.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 6:20:31 PM

I should really get round to watching Superbad and Pineapple Express. I loved Anchorman for the fact its such a quotefest.

Those look like tampon boxes behind him...
HideousSecretion writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 6:48:30 PM

Okay, Superbad was funny but it wasn't such a cinematic masterpiece that we have to protect it from all the possible harm of a sequel. And if the studios don;t think Apatow is capable of making a successful sequel to comedy gold what does that say about Apatow? Especially when the film industry is killing itself with sequels and remakes?
murphyslaw93 writes:
on November 21st, 2009 at 10:30:44 AM

Superbad is no gem, its very good and pretty funny, but no gem, and sorry Apatow, but a sequel would probably blow and make the already overrated original even worse. A Pineapple Express sequel would be interesting, but I cant see where they could possibly go with it, and again it would ruin the first one (which I still immensely enjoy). A Randy spin-off: I'm indifferent. Funny People was very good but Randy had like 2 scenes, not nearly enough for me to say, I'd love to see that guy on his own.
The Worm writes:
on November 21st, 2009 at 10:42:47 AM

seth and evan wrote superbad when they where like 14. no wonder it was so funny. its been being wrote for like seven years.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved