WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Robert Downey Jr to Quit Acting?

Posted: November 20th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Robert Downey Jr to Quit Acting?Submit Comment
Most of Hollywood actors and actresses have threatened to quit acting. In the last year, we've already had Angelina Jolie, Sean Penn, Viggo Mortensen and Jennifer Connelly. Now, you can add Robert Downey Jr to that list. Yes, the same guy who finally just became a leading man after decades in Hollywood.

"I have no set plans for my future," Downey told Entertainment Weekly. "I've never had it this good this is my day in the sun and I certainly don't want to look a gift horse in the molars. But [my wife] Susan and I want to begin to be in our lives as much as we are in our jobs. I'd love just to sit here and say, 'What movie's playing tonight?' I'd love to finish the new book about D-day I'm reading. I love painting, I love music."

He went on to say that he will likely do a few more flicks before calling it quits. "I can only be a guy on a call sheet probably maybe a couple more times," he said. "It's something I'm so grateful to have in my palm, and yet I already see its inevitable decay."

Downey concluded by saying that if "Sherlock Holmes" performs well, he will likely have to come back for several sequels. "I could be busy for the next 5 or 7 or 10 years," he added.

Source: Entertainment Weekly


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
CCBlev writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 6:30:14 AM

Please Robert don't quit. Your one of the best out there, well if you do pleaze don't go after a rap career!!
CCBlev writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 6:30:49 AM

Please Robert don't quit. Your one of the best out there, well if you do pleaze don't go after a rap career!!
CCBlev writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 6:31:09 AM

Please Robert don't quit. Your one of the best out there, well if you do pleaze don't go after a rap career!!
CCBlev writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 6:33:02 AM

Damn computer triple post sorry everyone
Agent Calavera writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 7:03:44 AM

Actors need to stop moaning, wish i could live the sweet life!
i3u7n5 writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 8:48:12 AM

If Sherlock Holmes is as retarded as it looks this might not be such a bad idea for awhile.
Ranma-Irias writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 8:52:07 AM

as much as I like Robert Downey Jr. I get what he says, movie making is more hard than it looks and the guy has a busy scheduale (Spelling?) anyway he wants to just be with his wife, live his life instead of working, I'd be extremely happy to see him in more movies...I guess if he quits in 10 years I'd understand, at least he is not quiting right now he just saying that he wants to quiet down a little.
nitishbhat writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 8:53:08 AM

oh sure.........he is on top of his game right now and what could be a better time to quit than this????
just dont do this and keep making gr8 movies
warlord writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 9:19:38 AM

till the money run's out
lost_addict writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 9:27:57 AM

just make more 'iron man' sequels...you can rest between...and stay away from the white powder
johndillinger writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 9:31:07 AM

WP i really hate these articles. "(Actor's Name) To Quit Acting? enough already
victor arroyo writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 10:17:39 AM

f*ck, I undestand what he's saying but f*ck, what about iron man, avengers and sherlock.


PEACE!
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 10:19:50 AM

Quitting acting is not being busy for the next 10 years
victor arroyo writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 11:00:32 AM

you bet your sweet ass it aint
rabid writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 11:17:23 AM

In other words, he's got all this money and he wants to go out and enjoy spending it.
Can't blame him.
darthraige writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 12:34:47 PM

He's one of the new school old best if that makes sense. Ya know? The Arnold, Willis, Stalone of this century. haha
LastActionHero writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 12:35:12 PM

Outside of playing Ironman he wouldn't be missed.
FFantasy1984 writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 12:43:15 PM

I really like him, but to be honest I like most of his movies before the became the star in blockbusters better than ones like Ironman. I do like Ironman, but I like some of his older stuff.
Osiris3eagle writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 12:55:02 PM

he's not going to quit, just like all the others aren't going to quit. Take a break sure, but never act again? ha!
I saw an interview with Mortensen a week or so ago and he addressed the rumors about him quitting and he laughed it off saying it's not true, that he just has other interests he wants to pursue, but he will continue to act in movies.
Ranger writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 1:25:07 PM

@johndillinger - exactly... this isn't news of any sort.

RDJ will quit acting... some day. No sh*t!

They do this to jack up their price (Shatner did this piss n' moan story after EVERY Trek film).

RDJ sounds like a typical depression case. Was on drugs in the past because 'his future was uncertain' - same thing he says here. Now his future is guaranteed... he still bitches.

Go read your f*cking book Bob, go f*cking paint something. He wants out because he's been under a microscope since Iron Man, actually had a word schedule for the past few years and his nose is missing the blow.

@warlord - exactly... 'til the money runs out.
pomme writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 1:39:46 PM

LOL it's the joke of the year!
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 1:41:12 PM

I understand where RDJr is coming from, Im sure he wants to quit on a high note, but he is kickin ass as an actor again and I'd hate to see him retire...but that's on him
tcu21 writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 1:48:04 PM

I like how quickly people interpret what he said as he's going to quit acting. Come on people. He's got at least 2 more Iron Man movies to do, at least one sequel to Sherlock Holmes is imminent, the Avengers which won't even be around till (best case scenario) 2012, and whatever sequels that spawns. RDJ isn't going anywhere for a long time, unless he falls off the wagon.
Ranger writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 1:57:43 PM

I'll bet he WANTS to fall off the wagon. This is the most 'responsible' he's been with his career ever... and I'll bet the pressure is getting to him (understandably). But people can't turn down the kinds of $'s they get offered (understandably).

And you're right... I too think he's around 'til he falls off the wagon.
Lowryder writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 2:59:34 PM

he better not f*cking bail now, we still got iron man 3, the avengers, and possibly a iron man 4 on the way, it will suck if we get a new tony stark
TeemSelami writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 3:40:59 PM

just like he quit smack.
Flav writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 6:18:55 PM

Why? He's on a roll.....
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 6:23:04 PM

Good actor and talks alot of sense. Would prefer him to stick around.

For me, he dragged Tropic Thunder to the finish. I would not have watched that film if it was not for his awesome part.
HideousSecretion writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 6:46:06 PM

Yes, cause making millions to read out loud for 6 months is such a tough job. I enjoy his acting but if he quits it isn't the end of the world.
SACdaddy writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 7:06:28 PM

Whatever works RDJ, you've earned it. But I've got to tell you, the powder usually comes calling when you've got a lot of time on your hands. Stay off the slopes Sherlock!!!
Ranger writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 8:06:55 PM

Best said SAC.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on November 21st, 2009 at 10:25:55 AM

Those other actors, I couldve cared less about, but Robert Downey Jr. is my favorite actor so now this is serious. He better not quit, the man is a legend, go back to his earlier movies, he is unbelievable in Chaplin and Natural Born Killers, and now he is a finally a leading man and he is just as amazing. Hes gotta stay acting for at least another 10 years before even considering retiring
Ranger writes:
on November 21st, 2009 at 1:29:43 PM

They don't quit these jobs... they can't afford to (spending habits). The only way someone leaves Hollywood is you're washed-up (and RDJ is at his peak... so that's not a concern) or via death (which is with RDJ considering his past).

Hopefully he's smarter these days.
Rich k writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 3:47:05 PM

Is he taking drugs again?
Ranger writes:
on November 23rd, 2009 at 10:40:41 PM

I doubt he ever stopped Rich.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved