WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Idris Elba Joins "Thor"

Posted: November 20th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Idris Elba Joins "Thor"Submit Comment
Idris Elba (RocknRolla, Obsessed) has joined the cast of "Thor," Marvel Studios' film centering on the Norse god of thunder. Chris Hemsworth will star as Thor; Tom Hiddleston will play Loki, and Natalie Portman is the love interest Jane Foster.

Elba will play Heimdall; as the guardian of Asgard, he stands on the BiFrost Bridge ready to defend the city from intruders.

Plot: The story sees the god of thunder Thor, a powerful but arrogant warrior whose reckless actions re-ignite an ancient war. As punishment, Thor is cast down to Earth and forced to live among humans. Once here, he learns what it takes to be a true hero when the most dangerous villain of his world sends dark forces of Asgard to invade Earth.

"Thor" is directed by Kenneth Branagh (Frankenstein) and is set to begin filming mid-January in Manhattan Beach, California. It is scheduled to hit theaters on May 20th, 2011.

Click here to read more about "Thor."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 47 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 5:37:42 AM

I'm sorry that I'm going to sound like a racist, but a black norse god? I like Idris, thinks he's a good actor, but a norse god he's not. Norse people are white as the snow, that just don't seem to go away, and that was the main reason Hitler loved us so much. Although that won't count for much.
rocketman writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 6:12:05 AM

Doesn't look too Scandanavian to me?
I suppose the new Brad Pitt film where he plays the KING OF THE ZULUS will even it out.
Tom Cruise for a Shaft reboot?
Serously the guy is a great Actor and i'm sure he will do a god job but all this PC casting sh*t is getting on my tits.
rocketman writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 6:20:20 AM

If they don't cast a white actor as The Black Panther then Hollywood is RASIST! shoe on the other foot bitches?
OwenWilsonsNose writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 6:20:22 AM

Maybe he was an indentured servants to the gods.
OwenWilsonsNose writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 6:22:40 AM

Well said rocketman. If we see a black captain america, than i demand a white Luke Cage.
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 7:05:38 AM

I hope you guys are kidding. If not, you are f*cking idiots. I am sure Johnny Boy and a few others will drop-by to post their disapproval of a black actor being cast in Thor. "I don't care if he is the best actor, he better look the part which has been imagined differently by a slew of illustrators." He was cast as Heimdall; not your precious Thor, Loki, or Odin. I am sorry for "overacting" a little early but that sh*t is old.

This is the best cast a Marvel movie has ever had.
rocketman writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 7:30:47 AM

@AA
Don't you think Scandnavian people might get a little offended? NO? Like I said the guys a good actor.And if you are going to make a film about NORSE mythology i think they should cast Northern Europeans seeing as thats where the Vikings were from.That is all.I'm not ranting about a Black guy who got a job forf*cksake.Put it this way...They are making a film about say,The Life of Fidel Castro,who would you cast? Jett Lee? Denzel Washington?
It's got f*ck all to do with racism and more to do with casting an Actor who FITS THE ROLL,white,black,pink green whatever..bottom line the guy does not resemble a f*cking viking.idiot.
Hitodama writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 9:11:33 AM

He is a good actor. I had no idea he was english for a long time, but I'm kinda fed up with all this PC casting. I didn't bother reading the column so i assumed he was playing a human character. He doesn't look like one of the Aesir at all, infact he's exactly the opposite.
I hate to sound like I'm all caught up on colour(I'm srsly not), but as a comic fan this just sucks for me.
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 9:13:59 AM

When you compare the casting of a FICTIONAL interpretation of a God from Norse Mythology with the casting of Fidel Castro everything you say comes off as idiotic...

I am just saying that by your statement: "And if you are going to make a film about NORSE mythology i think they should cast Northern Europeans seeing as thats where the Vikings were from," Idris Elba (England) fits the bill more so than Chris Hemsworth (Australia). I could give you the fact that Idris Elba's parents are from different parts of Africa and he would still be closer to Europe than Hemsworth from Australia. That is just if you want to get geographical.

The only reason why I am arguing with you is because you are complaining about the altering of the race of a character for whom race doesn't play an important role. Sure, he is a Nordic God but again he is a supportive character who isn't related to Thor, Loki, or Odin. You want to see Triple H get this part, right?

I can't believe you go to a Marvel movie looking for historical mythological accuracy. I can understand arguing for a iconic hero but not a supporting player. Sorry, but you are coming off as a bit racist to me.
warlord writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 9:15:32 AM

a black norse god this must be a joke!?
VDODSON writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 9:22:21 AM

Everyone knows that all Norse gods that existed were white, lol. Who gives a sh*t, the guy can act. Great cast, cant wait to see it. And f*ck you owenwilsonsnoose about the indentured servant comment.
RepoMan20 writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 9:32:03 AM

fictional characters, you can really only tell us what racr they are if you've been to Asgard. Maybe it's completely asian
RepoMan20 writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 9:35:02 AM

*race
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 9:48:12 AM

Idris Elba's black?
rocketman writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 10:14:52 AM

@AA Don't you dare call me racist.
And seeing as most Aussies were from Britain,and most brits at that time were decended from the Northern Tribes ie Celts,Vikings(ruled by for years)and of course Anglo Saxons casting an Aussie as a norse character in a film based on Norse gods then providing he can act then sure.I will argue that Idris Elba is even a better actor,from what i've seen of him the guy can act VERY well,he just does not look Scandanavian.Thats all,i'm not in the klu klux klan or the Nazi party so please do not play the easy race card and call me a racist.Like i stated before i only think if you are making a film the cast should fit the rolls that the subject matter contains.
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 10:20:55 AM

He is an ASSGUARDIAN
rocketman writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 10:28:06 AM

Irony alert.

Just wikied Heimdall to find out more about him...and he was called by some The White God?
Now that could come off as racist if he goes round calling himself that so i could understand why they perhaps didn't go with a white guy
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Heimdall
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 10:28:35 AM

@Rocketman There that wasn't hard. I am sorry for being a d*ck but I am just tired of the "Then blah blah should be cast as blah blah" talk. I apologize for implying you were a racist. That wasn't nice. I just get heated when people start arguing looks over better actor for a Marvel movie. They could be planning a crazy CGI/human interpretation of some of the supporting characters. I guess this is the best time to get angry over casting but we seriously have no idea what they are going for yet. The people that have signed on to this movie give me very good hopes for it, as I have said and will keep saying.
VDODSON writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 10:31:30 AM

Racist bastards, I think the addition is great. They should give him a sword, and a pet dragon.
TRUEMAN writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 10:41:03 AM

Who really cares about this sh*t anyway?
victor arroyo writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 10:45:06 AM

Idris Elba is the sh*t!

but WTF?!?! is like when they said that will smith was gonna be captain america, It's just wrong and retarded.

Idris Elba could be:

Bishop from x-men, the new green lanter, spawn, blade, the black panther,
steel (hahahahha), the vulcan, deathlok, etc.

If Idris Elba gets to be the guardian of Asgard, Ricky Martin could maybe play Odin...

PEACE!

rabid writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 11:02:57 AM

Heimdall was most recently reincarnated on Midgard in the comics as a black man living in New Orleans.
In mythology, he's called the whitest of gods, but his children go on to form all the foreign races to the nordics.
So I don't really see a problem with a multicultural pantheon. Some of the other gods in Asgard are not of the whitey Aesir as well.
rabid writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 11:04:14 AM

Their are asians and hindis living in Asgard too.
rabid writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 11:04:32 AM

*there
victor arroyo writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 11:16:25 AM

@rabid:

you sounded gay...but you made a very good point and you made me realize that it is a good idea based on the comic book and the "multicultural pantheon" thing that you said has nothing to do with what people are saying, it's not that they don't want a black man in the movie, it's just weird that they put a black norse god thats all.

But I repeat, you have it right my friend (comic book wise)


PEACE!
nightjunkie writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 11:24:45 AM

@rocketman

You're a racist. You may not think you're a racist but you are. Your comment is completely idiotic. Its a Marvel summer comic book movie not an "Oscar-bait" historically accurate drama movie. Saying Tom Cruise playing Shaft makes you sound all the more stupid and racist, you're comparing a single individual playing a known black character with a black man playing a character in Norse mythology. Go play in traffic....
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 11:44:45 AM

Does it really f*cking matter?

The studios will always do what they want and could give two sh*ts about sticking with anything close to being like the comics.
rabid writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 11:52:09 AM

He was also reincarnated as a latino in the 90s comics. I think that may have been during Warren Ellis' run.
At any rate, his sword allows him to choose any disguise when he visits Midgard.
Peter Parker writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 12:10:49 PM

@ nightjunkie: Go cut yourself, Dr Phill Wannabe.

The Tom Cruise comparison was mostly for humor purposes, but it certainly makes its point. You're the one who's completely idiotic for failing to realize that.

Supportive characters or not, they all have very defined characteristics.
It's not like it's up to everybody's imagination to picture supportive characters as we wish.

There's probably a good reason why they chose Elba to begin with and I trust Branagh knows what he's doing.
rocketman writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 12:25:15 PM

@Nightjunkie
No i'm not,my above posts were more about 'not sticking to the SUBJECT MATTER''and nothing at all with race.
rocketman writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 12:28:40 PM

@rabid
I never knew that,fair point.i thought he was just a big viking guy who guards a bridge and hits people.
Makes more sense now.
Ranger writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 1:00:48 PM

I just woke up. Whazzup?!
My eyes are foggy,
I like rubbing my balls.
No coffee yet, and
I have to take a dump.

G'day!

jeffw1978 writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 1:31:52 PM

welcome to the world of the living ranger
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 2:48:33 PM

I'm not that pleased about the stuff Marvel has done to the Norse mythology, but as a scandinavian it's hard to see any others but white dudes playing the norse gods. And yes, that will sound racist, but I'm stating facts. And I don't give a damn about how they look in the comics.
HideousSecretion writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 6:40:08 PM

Great, color blind casting ruins another film.
HideousSecretion writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 6:40:46 PM

Hey, maybe Kenneth Branagh can remake Othello in which EVERYONE is black?
SACdaddy writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 6:48:13 PM

Not who I would expect to be cast as a Norse God but is it any worse than Charleston Heston being cast as a Mexican or Cate Blanchett being cast as Bob Dylan?
SACdaddy writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 6:56:54 PM

Do Scandinavian people actually still believe in Norse Gods? If not, what the hell does it matter what color they are? Especially such a minor chararcter. I don't remember anyone raising much hell when Billy Dee Williams was cast as Harvey Dent. Now Will Smith as Captain America is a whole different thing!
shinwillow writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 9:53:53 PM

Amazing. I don't remember this much bitching and moaning going on here when The Last Airbender's cast was announced. It seems some folks only mind when it's white characters being replaced by PoC. Just Amazing.
Peter Parker writes:
on November 21st, 2009 at 12:41:53 AM

@ shinwillow:

Peter Parker: Knock knock
shinwillow: Who's there?
Peter Parker: People of
shinwillow: People of what?
Peter Parker: Shut the f*ck up, turd!
aarttyst writes:
on November 21st, 2009 at 12:56:41 AM

he is a good actor who cares about his skin color? and b.t.w. let them cast a white man to play black panther, who the hell cares? it's just a movie. and rockman... how the hell do you misspell racist? the guy right before you left a comment with the word in there.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 21st, 2009 at 5:33:18 AM

No we don't believe in the norse gods, sadly, cause they totally more badass than Jesus, Mohammed and all other f*ckers. But, still, its weird to see a black norse god.

And Shinwillow, seriously, The Last Airbender? Nobody knows anything about that stuff, and as factor of that, they will not know, or care, if someone is replaced.
rocketman writes:
on November 21st, 2009 at 6:36:05 AM

@ Aarttyst
Easy,i'm thick.
Hitodama writes:
on November 21st, 2009 at 7:06:46 AM

You guys are hilarious. Honestly, you're calling everyone who doesn't agree with having a black Norse god a racist? I think you need some perspective. No one's saying they're going to boycott the damn film, I for one am eagerly awaiting it's release. At least Idris Elba is a fine actor, it could have been a whole lot worse.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 21st, 2009 at 9:12:40 AM

Yeah, I'm also psyched to see it, maybe not as much as when Brian Blessed was set to play Odin, but still very excited. Kenneth Branagh usually knows what he's doing.
rabid writes:
on November 21st, 2009 at 12:51:40 PM

Yeah, last week both Hopkins and Blessed were listed on IMDB as playing Odin. This week Blessed's name is out of the cast completely.
seveltoto writes:
on November 11th, 2017 at 2:40:27 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved