WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Here We Go: Trailer for "Paranormal Effect"

Posted: November 19th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Here We Go: Trailer for "Paranormal Effect"Submit Comment
Now that "Paranormal Activity" has become an enormous hit, everyone knew that it would spark lots of copycats attempting to duplicate its success.

Simius Films has now announced that it has completed their first production, called "Paranormal Effect," which is a supernatural film about one of the most famous Japanese curses. Check out the trailer for the handheld camera movie below.

Plot: Visiting her native Japan with her American boyfriend Darren, Reiko is disappointed to see him spend most of his time filming local stereotypes. Already upset, Reiko draws the line when Darren walks into a forbidden cave, which, according to local beliefs, enshrines shinto gods since the dawn of time. From then, Reiko and Darren start witnessing strange things happening around them, some of which they manage to catch on camera. Will they have time to understand what is upon them before it is too late?

"Effect" was "found" and edited by two Japanese producers, who will release the new film on DVD in January.

Trailer:

If you cannot see the player, click here.


Source: Simius Films


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
DeathMaster writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 7:06:12 AM

Hahaha, that's just awful. Seems like a graduation project, come on.
CJP writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 7:08:36 AM

So that's ripping off Ju-On, The Blair Witch and it's in home invasion rip off Paranormal Activity...good...doing 3 all at once is pretty original!!!
BigUnit writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 7:10:39 AM

GAY!
BigUnit writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 7:11:27 AM

"Paranormal Activity" was god awful... now we have to deal with more of these stupid ass movies.
EvilDeadAlex writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 8:07:59 AM

What a cheap/sh*t rip off
Peter Parker writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 8:28:16 AM

The only scary thing I was able to see here was the chick's acting.
That's one scary bad actress!!!
Eben1277 writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 9:45:18 AM

Asylum must be pissed Simius beat them to the punch.
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 10:24:26 AM

Her acting was pretty f*cking scary. But she did have a decent ass.
triggax writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 10:32:51 AM

Agreed, not a bad ass...

The guy in this film looked a lot like Ed Helms... but im also slightly retarded, so I could be wrong.
victor arroyo writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 10:37:13 AM

Paranormal activity was gay and this is like getting a d*ck in your ass while you watching The View.

But I admit Paranormal activity was a "good" movie.

PEACE!
Derp88 writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 11:07:10 AM

Pathetic,the people who made this need Aids in there lives
warlord writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 12:43:36 PM

more fanny shots!!!!
tucsonkid writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 12:58:28 PM

Paranormal Activity was a good movie , it was a lot better then I thought it would be,especially since I have witnessed things of that sort in my old house before moving, it home and freaked everyone out around me.So for being low budget was a great movie,but this I don't think so.
rabid writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 2:27:34 PM

I like Paranormal Activity. It was the only film out this year with genuine scares.
This movie looks weak, but I'll probably watch it anyway being a big fan of kwaidan.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 3:49:41 PM

Well, at least this and paranormal activity are on the same level of quality.
BigUnit writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 4:12:11 PM

wow that still just boggles my mind that people thought "Paranormal Activity" was actually a good movie. Poorly written, no dialog what so ever, not to mention extremely low-budget, sh*ttie acting, and terrible ending, do i need to mention more? Oh and just plain garbage.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 5:02:06 PM

f*ck yes I agree!

The budget was like 170 thousand or something retarded like that, right? It f*cking shows. Whats worse is all the money is making, which just provides a commentary on how f*cking stupid movie going audiences are nowadays.
BigUnit writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 5:08:17 PM

SpookyCupcakes- i feel the same way and finally! someone agrees with me on here about PA..
triggax writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 5:39:49 PM

Yah no i feel the same f*cking way... biggest f*cking joke.. i watched that sh*t forever ago and thought it sucked.. i dont know where these hypes start but its somewhere dark and smelly...

And i could be wrong but i think the budget was like 16,000 or some sh*t.. PA is a cheat of a horror film.. its a pile of sh*t.. I give the guy credit for making the money he made... that took more talent than the movie itself... but yeah... by far the worst hyped up horror movie... you know, atleast with the blair witch it was some what interesting and followed a story... PA just blew monkey c*cks...
Dre-EL writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 5:46:45 PM

Lame + Rip Off = EPIC FAIL
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 6:24:31 PM

"Asylum must be pissed Simius beat them to the punch."

This commment is underappreciated, I lold so hard i came a little.

Also, the only good low budget cult horror film was Evil Dead.
triggax writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 6:43:48 PM

Dont forget about evil dead 2...
BigUnit writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 7:14:29 PM

army of darkness lol
Tavobore writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 11:58:17 PM

WTF!!! Is this some kind of "Paranormal Project of the Witch"? jeje. This is crap. Not even an independent movie, it's more like a solo mission of a blind filmaker.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved