WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Will Ferrell Tops Most Overpaid Actors List

Posted: November 18th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Will Ferrell Tops Most Overpaid Actors ListSubmit Comment
Forbes magazine put together a list of the most overpaid actors in Hollywood, placing Will Ferrell (Land of the Lost, Semi-Pro) at the top. The magazine took a look at 100 top actors based on their widely released films over the past five years.

It factored in the production costs of those movies against how much box office, DVD and other revenue they generated in order to come with an operating income for each film, which it then compared with the salaries the stars earned.

In Ferrell's case, the actor's films earned just $3.29 for every dollar he was paid. That's a pretty poor contrast to the $160 that Shia LaBeouf's movies returned to the studios for every buck he earned.

That figure, by the way, put LaBeouf -- who starred in "Transformers" in 2007 and "Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull" in 2008 -- at the top of Forbes list of Best Actors for the Buck. Also included on that list were Robert Downey Jr., Christian Bale and Dennis Quaid.

No. 2 on the overpaid actors list is Ewan McGregor, who made a slew of poorly performing movies after playing Obi-Wan Kenobi four years ago in "Star Wars: Episode III -- Revenge of the Sith." McGregor's films earned $3.75 per dollar he was paid.

The third most overpaid actor is Bill Bob Thornton, whose recent films include "Eagle Eye," "Mr. Woodcock," "The Astronaut Farmer" and "The Informers."

Also cracking the Top 10 list of overpaid actors is Drew Barrymore, Leonardo DiCaprio and Jim Carrey.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 36 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Detrimental writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 9:15:25 PM

Well of course. He's a fat slop of funny. He's a combination of fun and dumb. It's dumb fun.
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 9:25:35 PM

This is no surpise, but I am sure we can come up with a better list so I will let the fun begin with:

Robert Patterson

Whos next?
Peter Parker writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 9:41:27 PM

That picture up there, that's Ferrell's reaction to his 1st place on the list. He then added:

"I have a funeral at 4pm. Anyone wants to come with and get some p*ssy?"

f*cking genius!
Ari Gold writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 9:55:27 PM

It's only cause he has picked some sh*t movies over the years. He was awesome in Old School and Stranger Than Fiction was a great movie!

Shia can go drown himself in a bucket of semen. As if thats not a girls name? fag..
Charlie9 writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 10:20:28 PM

I'm only gonna see a Farrell film because of Farrell, I'm not gonna see a shia film because of Shia. Fair play Will, 4get LOTL sh*te and do just comedy again
Peter Parker writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 10:20:31 PM

Shia LaBeouf didn't make $160 for each dollar he was paid. That's a f*cking joke. Giant ass robots made that money and Indiana Jones made that money.
Pee Wee Herman could have been the leading actor in those 3 movies and they would would have made just as much money, if not more!
By this logic, Pee Wee Herman would be the Best Actor for the Buck...

f*cking moronic lists... Mine are way better!
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 10:22:21 PM

then let the list begin peter
Peter Parker writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 10:58:31 PM

Jeff: Let's teach Forbes how to put together a REAL list of the most overpaid actors. Some that immediately come to mind are:

- Robert Patterson (by Jeff, and I subscribe)
- Zac Efron
- Shia LaBeouf
- Nicolas Cage
Channing Tatum
- Miley Cyrus (except for the sex tape, she'll be worth every penny in that one)
- Tom Cruise
- Keira Knightley (flat chested bitch!!!)
- Julia f*cking Roberts
- Bronson Pinchot
- Tyler Perry
- Nicolas Cage (yeah, again!)
- David Schwimmer
- Matthew Perry

to be continued...
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 11:19:37 PM

lets not forget and rapper turned actor to include:
Common
50 cent
DMX
Eminem
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 11:20:04 PM

*any
wonderBOY writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 11:20:48 PM

@ peter parker do David Schwimmer and Matthew Perry even work anymore last i heard of DS was 30 rock and MP idk what he is doing
Popcorn101 writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 11:44:03 PM

eminem was good in 8 mile, and common was good in smokin aces, but how is leo on the list...? he is a great actor
Ranger writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 11:46:29 PM

@wonder - I hear ya. But each of the 'Friends' alumni will make $100mil EACH in their lifetimes on royalties. Thank GOD most of them DON'T work anymore. Schwimmer was best cast as a loser, *sshole in Band of Brothers!

Ferrel's BEST movie to date (my fav.) 'Winter Passing' (a drama of all things). He was invisible next to Katan in Roxbury. Clearly Will has the most capable manager in Hollywood.

@PP - lol. Keep those lists coming Bro! ie: Knightly... Cage (yeah, again!). Nice!
Ranger writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 11:52:13 PM

These list DO suck and are pretty loose in their criteria (and range of actor's considered).

@Popcorn - I'm a Leo Di, fan as well. I just suspect his high salary in a piece like 'The Departed' with so many other well-paid actors - even a great movie like that can only take in so much - thus Leo makes the list.

This list is VERY accurate to show that Ferrel just isn't worth his pay. Aside from his appearance in The Wedding Crashers, Winter Passing, Old School (tailor-fitted for his style as was 'Crashers') and 'I need more cowbell' - f'ing priceless... the man is so short on talent... like him or not... the income from his movies vs. his salary don't lie.
jwhite writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 11:59:08 PM

You all do realize that this list doesn't really mean anything except that movie going audiences love summer blockbusters, right? It has nothing to do with how talented an actor actually is. Leo DiCaprio has been mentioned a couple of times. Revolutionary Road was brilliant, but no one went to see it. Therefore, he would be ranked lower on the list. Forbes has only compiled a list of bankable actors, not great ones.
Peter Parker writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 12:31:33 AM

@ jwhite: Gee, really? And I thought Forbes had compiled a list of the most talented actors, using their new Talentometer machine! Damn, was I wrong!

Chill out, rocket scientist, we get it. This is just for laughs... and to name actors that we think are a waist of the planet's natural resources.

As for David Schwimmer, he still does voices for animated movies, has Rapunzel coming up next year. I even if it's just his voice, I can't stand it!

Matthew Perry still works (unfortunately). Did 17 Again (or, as I like to call it, Kill Me Again) this year and has a project called "Down and Dirty Pictures" coming up in 2010.

So yes, in one way or the other, these two "friends" still infect our screens.

Eminem has a special place in that list. He earns the Double Menace Award, worthless as an actor, worthless as a musician.
triggax writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 12:31:45 AM

"Bronson Pinchot"

He gets paid to act?
Peter Parker writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 12:39:25 AM

Glad you pointed that out, triggax. Bronson Pinchot does receive compensation of some sort. Not monetary, though. He gets d*ck.

... I mean that literally, he does gets d*ck.
Ranger writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 12:51:49 AM

f*ck PP!!!!

Beat me to it again!!!!
flymikei writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 12:52:18 AM

@Peter Parker, I wouldn't say Eminem's worthless as a musician; his last album has the biggest first-week album sales for all of '09... though I guess there's still a month for somebody to top it.

I'm not gonna get on you for his acting career though :)
Flav writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 4:02:11 AM

@Peter Parker

Julia f*cking Roberts.... whatever happened to her??
Ranger writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 5:18:28 AM

She got old... squeezed out a few puppies, and turned into a biach!
Peter Parker writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 7:27:50 AM

Julia f*cking Roberts still gets waaaaaaaaay more work than she deserves. She had Duplicity this year and has a sh*t load of new projects for the near future. One will be called "Eat, Pray, Love". (vomit!!!)

I always tremble when she is on screen. Every time she laughs hard, I fear the entire planet will be swallowed by that gigantic creature she has on her face (some people say it's her mouth, I believe it's a demon in lips shape).
JFARO writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 9:23:01 AM

Shia LaBeaouf is a trash bag and Billy Bob Thornton's Bad Santa was far better than the new Indiana Jones and Transformers slop combined.
AzSol writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 10:40:15 AM

All of his movies lately have sucked, he needs to go back to doing funny sh*t like Old School
SACdaddy writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 11:29:47 AM

Lets not forget:

Nicole Kidman
Renee Zellweger
Queen Latifah
(guess I should have just said the entire cast of Chicago minus CZJ who's just hot enough to justiify her pay)

Hugh Jackmon (sorry, after Wolverine and Au-Chinese water torture-stralia he needs a huge paycut)

The Waynes Bros.

Jon Voight (spends way too much time on FoxNews sh*tting on the "liberals" that pay his ridiculous salary. Stop biting the hand that feeds you douchebag!)
goat1202 writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 1:00:06 PM

Will Ferrell is awesome, f*ck anyone who says otherwise. LOTL was complete sh*t but Ferrell prevented it from being absolute diahrea.

What about Jack Black, now theres a guy who tries waaay to hard to be funny and ends up just being a fat piece of sh*t. Even as a voice actor hes a piece of sh*t, in fact substituting a piece of sh*t for Jack Black would be a hell of a lot more enjoyable than wasting time trying to understand why Jack Black just ass raped the genre of Comedy for an hour and a half.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 1:29:20 PM

Seems to me that Will Farrell's "shctick" is wearing thin. Time to come up with a new act.

Still, it will be 5 more movies before Hollywood gets the point and stops paying his giant salary.
Kindlegolas writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 1:57:53 PM

I agree with that Shia thing, he does NOT make the money for movies...Look at who he's worked with: Will Smith, Harrison Ford, Keanu Reeves.. All of these people were the box office draws to the movies, NOT Shia Lebouf.

Also, most of the time Will Ferrell is f*cking funny.

Ewan McGregor did a damn good job of playing Obi Wan Kenobi, Billy Bob Thorton is only funny when he's bitching out little kids while he's drunk.

Leo Dicaprio is a damn good actor, just look at all the awards he's been nominated for, and the huge blockbuster movies he's been in
Eben1277 writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 2:26:49 PM

These motherf*ckers are crazy. The only reason Will Ferrel movies make ANY money is because of Will Ferrel. To compare that to Shia's dollar worth returns when he's been in movies that are really starring a franchise name and special effects is total bullsh*t.
rabid writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 3:19:09 PM

I don't understand how Billy Bob Thornton finds work.
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 3:31:51 PM

I Forgot about jack black he should stick to tenacious D
SACdaddy writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 3:38:09 PM

Just looking at this picture of Will Ferrell makes me laugh. With Anchor Man 2 in the works he should prove his worth again. He and McKay can do no wrong.
Ranger writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 10:01:29 PM

@rabid - yeah BB is either loved or hated. There doesn't seem to be much middle ground with his fans/non-fans.

If you haven't seen him in Slingblade or Monster's Ball (well... OK, the sex scene with Halle Berry... could have co-starred John Goodman for all I care... but...). Give those a view.

Me? I liked him in Bad Santa, Bad News Bears, The Astronaut Farmer, Pushing Tin... I just like it he's that laid back.

Plus he got to fill up Jolie like a hot water bottle, so loosen the man's leash will ya?!
rabid writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 11:15:31 AM

I've seen all those films, and Slingblade was the only one that I enjoyed. Pushing Tin was good, but I didn't care for Thornton's performance. And Jolie isn't any sort of prize to brag about.
I went to see his band play a few months ago, but he was such an *sshole that most the crowd left disgusted in the first 30 minutes.
Ranger writes:
on November 21st, 2009 at 5:48:20 PM

@rabid - you're right... Pushing Tin wasn't spectacular. Slingblade... hard to top that!

As for his band. That CD is on my list to buy, but you're right... he's been an ass on stage and that interview I saw him in as well. I don't know what his problem is (lately... or just in regards to the band). Maybe he's into depression, or it's just a character akin to Joaquin Phoenix of late.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved